Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

World Matchplay 2021

• 15-07-2021 7:46am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭

I'm looking forward to this one as it's very open looking tournament. Suljovic dropped out due to medical reasons

Starts Saturday

Draw

2021 Betfred World Matchplay

Draw Bracket

(1) Gerwyn Price v Jermainne Wattimenna

(16) Jonny Clayton v Dirk van Duijvenbode

(8) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Devon Petersen

(9) Dave Chisnall v Vincent van der Voort

(4) James Wade v Luke Humphries

(13) Krzysztof Ratajski v Brendan Dolan

(5) Rob Cross v Ross Smith

(12) Glen Durrant v Callan Rydz

(2) Peter Wright v Danny Noppert

(15) Joe Cullen v Chris Dobey

(7) Michael Smith v Ryan Searle

(10) Jose de Sousa v Gabriel Clemens

(3) Michael van Gerwen v Damon Heta

(14) Daryl Gurney v Ian White

(6) Gary Anderson v Stephen Bunting

(11) Nathan Aspinall v Mervyn King

• Registered Users Posts: 20,336 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

All the seeds through this evening.

Dave Chisnall 10 – 8 Vincent van der Voort 

Jonny Clayton 10 – 7 Dirk van Duijvenbode 

Gerwyn Price 10 – 4 Jermaine Wattimena 

Dimitri Van den Bergh 10 – 5 Devon Petersen 

• Registered Users Posts: 6,542 ✭✭✭bassy

was,nt a great night of darts,wattimena is piss poor.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

Durrant Rydz match is desperate to watch

Shocking stuff

Good match there with Dobey and Cullen. I was Surprised how easily Humphries bet Wade, thought it would've been closer

• Registered Users Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Decent first 2 matches tonight

TbL

Think MvG’s decline is terminal

I thought it might have been the lack of crowds that was affecting his form but he’s a shadow of his former self and I can’t see him winning much anymore

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭boomdocker

jeez the state of yer man Rydz with the comb over

Reminds me of Kenny Cunningham before he got sense and shaved his head

Ratajski really 'beating up' the boy Callan Rydz here... 7-3 at second break... Very poor averaging from Rydz.. Stick a fork in him 😀

Some quality darts here in the Dimitri v Price match... The Belgian up 3-2 at break, and a break up. Very poor finishing from Dimitri - I think he missed 6 at double 12 in the 2nd last leg. Nice bit of psychology from Price; when he was throwing at 124 (with Dimitri waiting on 161).. He hit treble 20, and instead of going for 14s, he nails treble 8 😁 All for nought, as he misses tops, and the Belgian eventually (not the next throw) took the leg 😁

Naughty Price - done a Dimitri pirouette/about turn after winning leg 15 to go within 1. He must have been practising. Give him 9/10 for technical merit 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Johnlynch1970

atmosphere is excellent great to see fans back at the darts

Do I not like to see Price getting his ass handed to him.. Great entertainment this 😊 Three ahead (11-8) and Dimitri's on throw.... AWWWWWWWWWhhhhh - Belgian nails a bull finish... 12-8!!!

Undoubtedly Price is a great player but there’s something unlikeable about him, the aggression the mocking of his opponents, hope DvdB hands him his ass

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 7,524 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Dimitri did just that. Great to see. As cringy as the dancing is Price mocking it was poor form. Delighted for him.

I think Dimitri's got some great moves!! Same ones all the time - but he does have some rhythm 😊

Seen the clips of Price on twitter. Delighted he got bet.

I hope Ratajski goes on to win this, hasn't had a good year since the Worlds and the crowd gave him serious amount of stick for no reason against Humphries

• Registered Users Posts: 13,282 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Price is great value for the viewer, so often I'm on the edge of my seat watching his matches.

Wrighty v Smith up next. The one I'm looking forward to is MvG v The Asp (due off approx 8.45). Has the potential to be a cracker that one!!!

In this upcoming match I can see Smith getting tired, just like when he struggled to get over the line against Jose. I see Wrighty winning easy enough - 16-7/8/9 , or somewhere in that region. Think the MvG-Asp match could be the closest of tonight's two encounters. I think MvG wins, but can't see him winning by more than two.

Very few 'Splinters' here 😁

Hoping for a few hours of pandemonium & fantastic dartistry..

Enjoy

Majority of this match been BDO level stuff.. Very poor from both so far

• Registered Users Posts: 7,524 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Smith was mouthing off as if he'd won the tournament the other night when he beat Jose. I didn't see the game tonight but it's no surprise that he was hammered. The lad needs to change his attitude and fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,711 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

VDB does have a head for hitting

Mon Wrighty.. !!

Wright looking comfortable so far going into the first break

Wrighty's hittin some serious scores here... So close to that D12 😙

When he’s on it Wright is just fantastic to watch. Incredible stuff!!

TbL

He's class how he can switch parts of his darts during a match and quickly adapt his throw

• Registered Users Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭shockframe

That last session was phenomenal from Wright. Fair play.

gonna be a very good final :) i hope snakebite wins :) both lovely lads,but snakebite is great guy and no acting the clown he just gets on with it.

i fancy snakebite to win a close one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Dimi not off to a great start tonight...

EDIT: How it's gone so far:

• 4-1
    • 8-2
    • 10-5
    • 12-8
    • 17-8
    Post edited by TheChrisD on