Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,861 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Sure but what does that have to do with vaccines for COVID-19? Are you suggesting that Pfizer, J&J and Moderna bribed the FDA for approval? I'd like to see proof of this if so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

You are 100% correct.

To underline the stupidity of this latest wheeze, the QR code merely confirms that a named individual has received injections.

That individual could be sitting at home, while the QR is being checked at The OnlyVaccinated Inn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,617 ✭✭✭timmyntc

So now you need your covid cert + photo ID, and to give your phone number for contact tracing, every time go to a cafe.

Presumably the QR scanners must display a name then to go with the vaccination status

So now pubs will need someone standing on the door all day to check certs I guess. And maybe they'll have to stamp hands too and regularly check stamps - otherwise outdoor people who come inside to use the bathroom could infiltrate the vaccine only area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭brickster69

What about the toilets. Will they have separate ones for outdoor diners and indoor diners ?

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

The QR scanner will just show the name and a green tick that the QR code is legitimate or red if its not. That's it nothing else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,620 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I see Pubs enforcing this for a weekend at most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭alentejo

I think about 50% of restaurants, cafes and pubs will remain closed. You cant make money trying to enforce that.

I suspect cafes will remain take out only.

Am i correcting in think that if a party of 6 people book a table, all 6 have to give contact tracing details - If this is the case, its unworkable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Russman

True enough I'd say. Unless they pick some unlucky one who's not enforcing it and throw the book at them early on. Sort of a shot across the bows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Russman

I assume the bar/restaurant in sports clubs would be under the same rules ? How is, say, a golf club, going to enforce these regulations ? I'm not against them in principle, they just seem a bit unworkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

That was always by personal choice, it was never made mandatory to assume any substance if you wanted to gather with your mates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭celt262

All pubs are now required to have a portaloo outside for the unwashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Fun.

So last year when indoor opened, the conditions required that everyone had to have a table and contact tracing details had to be provided to the premises.

Practically all places ran this by having customers queue at the door until someone came, got their details and sat them at a table.

And for weeks everyone here has been saying, "It was fine last year, why can't we just do what we did last year?!"

Now apparently the additional 5-second step of checking covid certs is too much, and what we did last year is just completely unworkable.

Ye lads will complain no matter what they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,617 ✭✭✭timmyntc

This time, you have to make sure that no unvaccinated people find their way indoors - aside from using the bathroom.

SO you cant just check at the door, you'll also have to do some kind of spot checking inside too. Also last year advice was 1 number per table for contact tracing - advice now seems to be every person needs to provide individual contact details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,966 ✭✭✭User1998

Just like last year only one person needs to give contact details

Nope, everyone does now, tbh it's no big deal personally, only takes a few seconds & alot of places I've been already have a form set up, scan a QR code with a link to google docs or something similar. Easily done all while waiting for a table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭brickster69

The government have employed teams to do on the spot checks for pubs.

german.jpg

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,282 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Suppose not having the €9 meal makes things a bit easier now

As another poster said even though its frustrating the way you need covid certs etc but this tool might prove it will be very hard to close Hospitality again unless a massive massive new variant emerges

But as we know all too well NPHET will want restrictions back with a drop of a hat if things become pear shaped

That thing was my biggest bugbear, some places were grand about it and did like little bar snacks 2 for €9 etc but it was just the pain of heading out for the evening and knowing I was going to waste money in a few places ordering food I knew I wouldn't eat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

What about mask wearing, social distancing and hand sanitizing? Up until yesterday they were the most effective ways to prevent the transmission of the plague but suddenly they are not valid anymore and you need to be jabbed.

It wouldn't be that they took the p1$$ for the past 18 months wouldn't it? If pharma companies only interest was not financial but instead they were really looking after the greater good, why they don't start mass production of this vaccine and take liability of what they produced? Why they don't involve big companies like Bayer, Roche, Novartis? why such companies don't produce a vaccine themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,282 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Yep you can say that again, some places also let you take away your food instead

Loving the fact now is the spontaneity is slowly coming back and you can drop in for just a few drinks whenever you want (obv within opening hours and capacity )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

I wouldn’t say it’s unworkable. Of course it’s doable but it’s an enormous waste of time, and much more onerous than last year.

imagine a party of six diners, before they can be shown to their seat each persons document has to be checked and matched to their ID, then their name and contact details recorded. So you’ve six people standing at the door while each one is processed for entry ahead of being shown to their table. Presumably queues forming at peak times.

Tech-savvy places will likely find a way to expedite but plenty of places wouldn’t have the capability to have that in place for Monday.

Aside from the colossal waste of a staff member’s time they will be spending that time unnecessarily interacting with customers when interaction is supposed to be minimised.

One contact per group is enough for tracing purposes (contact tracing that likely still won’t cope anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

I suggest nothing I just outlined a recent event with evidence that FDA apprval isn't all its made out to be

You want proof? wouldn't we all like to see proof 🙄

you have misinterpreted my entire post and replied with a tangential question - I strongly believe you aren't here for discussion just to score points in your head and you're doing that badly.

have a nice weekend

It might be no big deal to you but to me its more evidence of how far behind other countries we are.

what is the point of vaccinations if i have give contact details at the door to sit and have a cup of tea in starbucks.

I will have to stand in a queue in close proximity to others while a staff member checks “ papers”, last year we were warned by others this would happen and we called these people crackpots.

I cant go indoors anyway, fully vacced since early June and still waiting for digital cert, cant access helpline and Minister responsible is in the Gaeltacht.

I cant see restaurants in country towns opening, too much hassle, they cant even get waiting staff snd they now have to employ bouncers at every door.

They would make more money batch freezing food and handing it out in containers, such a sad depressing world we are creating.

I was literally doing a skit with the lads the other day using this very same thing...brilliant...AAHHHH monsieur le pitité

where are the Dreyfuss's........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,448 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

You need photo ID, vaccine papers and contact details to get a coffee or a burger. Christ on a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭landofthetree

We are absolute outliner in the free world.

We have a government who are terrified of the hard left. Pandering to them and their voters who will always hate the government and never vote for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭323

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

To me it sounds like the government saying we said we would allow you open but we intend making it so onerous you might consider not opening.