Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IPSC Practical Pistol

• 27-05-2008 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭

I'm sure many of you have read here about Practical Pistol and have heard all the stuff about
    • The stringent entry criteria,
    • Required training,
    • Minimum participation requirements to maintain your competition license.
    • High Costs in participating
    • etc.
    And wondered what all the fuss was about? Why go through all of that? What in a fig roll could be the attraction?

I'm sure you googled it and found a lot of videos out there on YouTube.
    It is hard to tell the wood from the trees between IPSC, USPSA, IPDA and all the other forms of Dynamic Pistol Shooting.

Someone sent me a link to this video and it is one of the best IPSC examples I have seen.

Some of the Clips, such as the first one, are from the Desert Classic in the States. One day, when the bank is empty and I am good enough.....

Enjoy.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=8417338884026540279&q=&hl=en

B'Man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Very good link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

Nice vid. So does Practical of this kind take place in Ireland, and is it under the IPSC banner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Bananaman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭les45

astraboy wrote: »
    Nice vid. So does Practical of this kind take place in Ireland, and is it under the IPSC banner?

No , and if you are interested in coming to have a look at a IPSA/IPSC sanctioned match you are more than welcome . By the end of the year the IPSA will be issueing a document outlining stage design guidelines and what is regarded as acceptable to both the DOJ and the IPSA . Trains , Planes ,Automobiles , ladders , jet skis , handcuffs , etc etc will not form part of any IPSA stage design brief .

John FitzGerald RD IPSC/IPSA

In case there is any confusion I did say, in my opening statement:
    Some of the Clips, such as the first one, are from the Desert Classic in the States

And it is these very stages that mean I will head there one day.

B'Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,200 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Bananaman wrote: »

Just checked the link.Get hosting 365.com.Whazzup???

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Gerri

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Just checked the link.Get hosting 365.com.Whazzup???

Bill not paid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭packas

Website being moved to new server. Won't get it completed for another 3-4 hours.

Pat.

Website sorted !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Double-Alpha

Someone sent me a link to this video and it is one of the best IPSC examples I have seen.

B'Man

This has got to be the worsed possible advertisement for IPSA / IPSC shooting that I've ever seen. I'm quite surrprised at the B'man putting this up and knowing of all the bad press we've been getting recently. So much for an experienced shooter. :eek::eek:

We do not jump out of airoplanes, shoot out of or into cars, shoot at human shaped figures or shoot from moving buggies etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

Have to agree with you Double Alpha.

A bit of thought is needed before posting crap like that. It might be ok in the US of A but not this side of the pond especially with the scrutiny practical is under.

Come lads, put the brain in gear before hitting the send button:rolleyes:

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

Fair Nuf.

I agree that we would neither have the inclination, the ranges nor the props to build anything like that in Ireland and according to IPSC rules you can never re-use a stage design anyway.

It is from the Desert Classic in the "good old U S of A" where they are bit are fond of a bit of dramatic license.

I'll keep me gob shut in future.

Nuf said.

B'Man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Fair Nuf.

I agree that we would neither have the inclination, the ranges nor the props to build anything like that in Ireland and according to IPSC rules you can never re-use a stage design anyway.

It is from the Desert Classic in the "good old U S of A" where they are bit are fond of a bit of dramatic license.

I'll keep me gob shut in future.

Nuf said.

B'Man

Sod the begrudgers :pac: We know it was US of A and we all know what that means :rolleyes:

One thing not to forget when looking at "stuff" from USA with regard to guns. In Ireland we use firearms for sporting purposes i.e. hunting & target shooting. In USA they use them for sporting purposes & self defence. That puts the USA in a whole different mindset when it comes to firearms. Personally I like the idea that we are only allowed them for sporting purposes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Double-Alpha

Sod the begrudgers :pac: We know it was US of A and we all know what that means :rolleyes:

Quite right Bunny Shooter, you and I know all about the style and mix of shooting in the USA, but what about the likes of recent TV show doing an article on Practical Shooting and showing the likes of that to Joe Public, again all one-side and nothing to do with IPSA / IPSC, I'm sure that all hell would break out.

Sometime ago I beleive that the Gardai were given the website address of the IDPA guys as an example of Pratcical Shooting !!!!

This is not the image that I would like bantered around about my sport.

That particular competition is world renowned for the props them employ in their stages. They are obviously using a military range and have access to military wrecks. Not a lot of places in the world will have those facilities and in fairness that particular competition is the only one in the world that will have anything like that.

It is run by USPSA which is the US Practical Shooting Association.
    They still employ the old "metric" targets, which are also used by IPDA which may give that impression. Those targets have been phasing out for a few years now and the US are the only country that really uses them anymore. There is a 2009 amendment to the IPSC rulebook in progress and it abolishes the use of those target types only allowing classic and reduced size classic targets.

I will compete for the Irish Teams for the European Championships and will compete for the Irish Teams for the next World Shoot but all waffle aside - I'm still gonna sign up for that one of the days aswell.

The problem is that you will be competing against the worlds best on stages that are literally unique in the world so you can have absolutely no chance to practice. Nobody in Ireland is to that standard yet, least of all me. By next year, however.......

The problem is you cannot book a spot - you sign up a couple of years in advance and there is a raffle to decide who goes. Only about 300 places.

We all have a plan, for which there is very little hope, to snorkel with a whale shark, ride an elephant across India, to dive with a humpback whale, pay off the credit card etc. This is just one of mine.

B'Man