Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BBQ etiquette - Coping with the changing face of BBQ in the current Economic Climate.

• 07-06-2008 11:25AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭

We all know that BBQ is like sex, even when it's bad, it can be pretty good.

Still ... as the BBQ season swings into full effect, I thought I'd fire up this thread* to stimulate discussion on BBQ etiquette.
    Personally, I fear that BBQ as we know it will change, what with the credit crunch and all.

For example, I recently attended a BBQ where guests had to bring their own food, dessert and fuel. :eek:

Share your BBQ horror story ... we're here to help.

*didja see what I did there ? BBQ / Fire it up! ... hehehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I think there are a few essential points for a successful BBQ.

The first is probably turning up on time. No point in arriving when the food has been eaten and they other guests are getting into the swing of things.

Never turn up with what can be perceived as better food than the host has provided. Not everybody is into those namby-pamby skewers and stuff. Most people just like a good bit of meat, possibly a sausage and a cuddle afterwards.

Fuel, you say? Now that is an odd one. Then again, if a host is any good, they would have ensured they had enough fuel for cooking. If, however, they had to fire the BBQ up at a later stage and then ran out of fuel, well that can't be helped.

Another point is when you staying over after a BBQ, if indulging in early morning amorous activities, at least have the decency to keep it to a level that those in the next village cannot hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭trout

Should vegetarians be welcome at a BBQ ?

trout wrote: »

Absolutely.

If nothing else, for amusement. Though I believe cooking those veggie burgers is an art in itself.

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    Another point is when you staying over after a BBQ, if indulging in early morning amorous activities, at least have the decency to keep it to a level that those in the next village cannot hear.

Ummmm ... therein lies a tale, I'm thinking. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

With the current economic turn down, the state of america and raising fuel prices it is leading people into being tight asses... If I was invited to a BBQ and expected to bring everything bar the kitchen sink why bother myself? I would stay at home and do it myself.

General etiquette would decree that when attending a BBQ you bring something for the generous hosts whether it be in the form of alcohol, munchies or even more meat. The most recent BBQ I attended I brought with me alcohol and a nice supply of marinade for the hosts to encourage them to have another BBQ sometime soon ;)

Ah ... Marinade.

The gift that keeps on giving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Home made also :D
    I was fearing some people would think I'm cheap so as I said I brought with me the gift of wine and beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,275 ✭✭✭DenMan

Ah yes BBQ season is indeed in full swing. We don't need a reason, it's the summer and even with the tiniest bit of sun it's time to get that BBQ going. Lidl is a great place to stock up on supplies. Burgers are awesome, the frankfurters taste great and the beer selection totally rocks.

I prefer to to boil the chicken and ribs before I marinade them as when they are cooked fully the marinade easily absorbs right through the meat. Soft and tasty when applied to the BBQ. And a nice cold one while you order people about.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Wilburt wrote: »
    General etiquette would decree that when attending a BBQ you bring something for the generous hosts whether it be in the form of alcohol, munchies or even more meat.

Agreed. I always bring something to the table out of courtesy. If i am not in the position to bring anything i'll lend a hand either constructing the BBQ or doing some of the grilling.

At this point I would like to turn the debate to the topic of charcoal. Not the fuel suggested above, but the art of cremating every morsel of food into slivers of carbon.

Observe the attached photos, Brother Trout. These were taken this morning by me as I was feeding the masses amassed in my back garden. Notice how most of the food actually bares a passing resemblance to it's original form. Take the sausages, for example, notice how they are nicely browned and would not double as some sort of projectile for a terrorist weapon of mass destruction.

I believe the art of not cremating food, with or without flames, is one that only a select few can master.

It always helps when you have ample quantities of fuel :cool:

Yes, it is hard to cook sausages three times, over 50 minutes, without cremating them.
    Having said that ... what else are you going lob at hitlercat in the wee small hours of the morning ?

/Edit - Second picture, top right ... is that evidence of a BBQ egg ? Impressive.

Yes, the vegetarian amongst us obviously wasn't interested in meat, at least not the meat on the BBQ, so I had to provide something for her.

I'm an equal-opportunities host.

I'm hungry now so I am ... :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

My most recent BBQ was just a few friends, and we used one of those disposable BBQs from Aldi. Tasty foods though, tasty foods. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

The more vegetarians the more meat for me and the other meat eaters,
    as long as they are not the prissy kind who cry or talk about the poor animals
    and start trying to kill the mood with their disapproval.

when it come to BBQ vegetarians know your place...

My most recent BBQ was just a few friends...

Just to clarify, did you BBQ and then eat your friends, or eat WITH your friends ?

It's a small point, but one that's important to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Just to clarify, did you BBQ and then eat your friends, or eat WITH your friends ?

It's a small point, but one that's important to me.

With them. My friends aren't very tasty looking, I don't imagine they'd make a good meal.

Thanks for clearing that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

We were invited to a BBQ last year and weren't told it was BYO so we just arrived with the booze.

I was mortified, and had to leg it down to the local centra and buy some shitty chops that had been probably lying there for days.. They tasted rank and while we munched on those rotten chops (for about an hour, they were so tough) everyone around us was eating succulent steak and chicken.

They aint getting invited to any of my BBQ's this summer..

You could always invite them to yore BBQ, and tell them not to worry about food.

Then when they arrive, tell them it's BYO ... sure everyone knows that.
    For a moment or two, they will think yore joking ... then, as the penny drops, you can tell them to fcuk off.*

That will learn them :mad:

Poor show. For shame.

*this may not actually be good advice, yore mileage may vary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

We were invited to a BBQ last year and weren't told it was BYO so we just arrived with the booze.

I was mortified, and had to leg it down to the local centra and buy some shitty chops that had been probably lying there for days.. They tasted rank and while we munched on those rotten chops (for about an hour, they were so tough) everyone around us was eating succulent steak and chicken.

They aint getting invited to any of my BBQ's this summer..

Now that is just not funny. What kind of eeeejits don't bring their own meat to a barbie? :cool:

Seriously they sound like a grand people altogether, a wonderful addition to any party. BY Feckin O? Feck off the lot of them. Or you could try Trouts idea but have a gang of people there in on the whole thing, just to add extra authenticity like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

I'll add a question. Are Gas BBQ's real BBQ's?
    You can't call yourself a through master of the BBQ unless you can cook a dozen sausages over the coals without cremating them.

I would say that a gas bbq with out any coals what so ever is just a cooker on wheels.

I'll add a question. Are Gas BBQ's real BBQ's?
    You can't call yourself a through master of the BBQ unless you can cook a dozen sausages over the coals without cremating them.

I'm going to go out on a limb here, and say that Gas BBQ's are perfectly acceptable.

Charcoal is for purists with loads of time on their hands ... and reeks of effort.

Gas is quicker & easier.

This opinion is in no way biased by the fact that I fail at charcoal BBQs ... no sir. :cool:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

If you are the host of a BBQ and you have people staying over you should use the utmost discretion in relation to any out of character behaviour or sounds which may occur. this is due to the amount of alcohol consumed.

you should also make sure there is actual hot water for showers in the morning especially if there has been night time games.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,368 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

irishbird wrote: »
    you should also make sure there is actual hot water for showers in the morning especially if there has been night time games.

If said night time games actually take place during daylight hours is there a dispensation for the hot water requirement?

Zaph wrote: »
    If said night time games actually take place during daylight hours is there a dispensation for the hot water requirement?

The nudie-prod game can be quite messy any time of the day or night, so showers are pretty much compulsory, in polite company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

You could always invite them to yore BBQ, and tell them not to worry about food.

Then when they arrive, tell them it's BYO ... sure everyone knows that.
    For a moment or two, they will think yore joking ... then, as the penny drops, you can tell them to fcuk off.*

That will learn them :mad:

Poor show. For shame.

*this may not actually be good advice, yore mileage may vary.

Yeh good idea, I am going to invite them to one this year and say we heaps of grub, then while the rest of us are milling the juicy steaks I'l throw a few manky old sausages on for them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Last BBQ I was at we had a gas BBQ. We smashed it up good an fashioned it into a makeshift coal BBQ. It wreaked of manly awesomeness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

BYO? I have to say I've never heard of that before. Who the **** invites people to their house for a meal then expects them to bring their own food?

The BBQs I get invited to, the host always lays *everything on - including the booze.

*Out of politeness I always ask if I should bring anything and for some reason I'm always asked to bring some coleslaw. Suits me - I bring something I don't eat anyway and get food and beer in exchange....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Thaedydal wrote: »
    The more vegetarians the more meat for me and the other meat eaters,

They also do something with that strange green leafy stuff that some people put in bowls. Saves putting it in the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Lets clear something up RIGHT NOW! It's a BBQ! They're your friends (supposedly). If you are such a fcuking tightwad to make them bring their own anything (other than partners), they won't be your friends for much longer nor do you deserve them! It's a BBQ, you are not only showing off the fact that you can cook bit's of dead animal while drinking a beer and farting, you are also showing you are enough of a provider that those who are invited can be sure of a warm welcome, good food and a decent beer! If they want to bring their own offerings well and good, but it should NEVER, EVER be required! If you don't agree with the above, well, there is a cocktail and a frilly dress for you in tLL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

We have disposable BBQ's here that are the business. They only cost €2 and are ready to go, throw in a match and throw on your steaks, burgers and sausages. There is then an area in the park for dumping the remains, very efficient!! For €10 you can have a great meal and get well drunk while laying out in the park admiring the wimmin :D .... and everyone brings their own as the BBQ are too small for feeding more than 1!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,977 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I did a bbq at least once a week in my first house over here. Massive yoke out the back.

It's essential to cook all your meat in beer. When the steaks, chicken, sausages etc are half cooked throw about half a can of beer across the top. It gives the meat extra flavour and makes them far juicier. It's an old Aussie tradition apparently and one that I'll definitely be taking back to Ireland with me.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    It's essential to cook all your meat in beer. When the steaks, chicken, sausages etc are half cooked throw about half a can of beer across the top. It gives the meat extra flavour and makes them far juicier.

Interesting.

Duly noted for next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Interesting.

Duly noted for next time.

Throwing beer on a gas BBQ mightn't be the best idea in the world Tom.

might not be too bad, if he doesnt add the coals as wells :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

Lets clear something up RIGHT NOW! It's a BBQ! They're your friends (supposedly). If you are such a fcuking tightwad to make them bring their own anything (other than partners), they won't be your friends for much longer nor do you deserve them! It's a BBQ, you are not only showing off the fact that you can cook bit's of dead animal while drinking a beer and farting, you are also showing you are enough of a provider that those who are invited can be sure of a warm welcome, good food and a decent beer! If they want to bring their own offerings well and good, but it should NEVER, EVER be required! If you don't agree with the above, well, there is a cocktail and a frilly dress for you in tLL.

that's fine if you have a well paying job, but I'm in my early 20's, I am in a fairly shítty paying job, but it has good prospects. When the money gets better I'll have no problem providing the food, but until then I supply some meat, and the others bring some aswell. at least this way there will be no shortages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,977 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

DesF wrote: »
    Throwing beer on a gas BBQ mightn't be the best idea in the world Tom.

My barbie was gas and I lashed the beer on. It does kick up a monster flame if you douse the meat in one go but do it gradually and there's no problems. I've done it in the kitchen with my steaks on the pan.

You've never seen Brother Tom trying to operate a gas BBQ.

He was trying to add coals at one stage ffs. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,654 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Only to other people's barbeques. More meat to go around then.

Victor wrote: »
    Only to other people's barbeques. More meat to go around then.

what if the vegetarian brings banoffe?

Vegetarians are obliged to bring banoffee to BBQs

It's the law.

The ground they walk on will be worshipped.

Which reminds me, what is the shelf-life of banoffe?

Should be ok this evening I'd say.

DesF wrote: »
    Should be ok this evening I'd say.

Looks like it's banoffe for dinner so.

The same as the shelf life of the cream in it.
    If the cream is ok then your grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Personally, I fear that BBQ as we know it will change, what with the credit crunch and all.

Yes I was going to have a BBQ recently but was unable able to raise the leveraged mezzanine finance required, my brokers were only prepared to offer convertible bond secured against assets. I had the option of offloading some private equity secondary market but what with the credit crunch and all that was never going to happen. I had a pizza instead.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Lucy Lu

Looks like it's banoffe for dinner so.

Thats if there is any left when you get home :p

right you all heard him - down on the ground and worship me, you lot :D