Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girlfriends period 6 days late

• 05-08-2008 7:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

Well the title says it all. We are both freaking out but dont believe there is anything major to worry about. We have had unprotected sex but not 'full' unprotected sex if you know what I mean.

Everytime we have had full sex we have used a condom or else I have pulled out.

The more stressed she is about it i guess the less chance of it coming. She has had loads of stress in the last few weeks....reclocating and looking for a new job and too much going out and too little sleep. Can this cause a late period?

How late can periods be without pregnency being the cause? She is going to do a test tomorrow but is scared ****less or the result

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

http://www.positiveoptions.ie/

If no other type of contraception was used there is a good chance she is pregnant a test will tell. Pulling out is not good enough if you are trying to avoid a pregnancy. Yes stress can delay a period for a week or two depending on the woman
    and what other types of contraception she is using.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

have any girls got any advice pls? how late can periods be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 x-xRaCheLx-x

Depends on her situation re where she was in her cycle when ye had unprotected sex but all the same without protection theres a huge risk... even when you're using condoms, the worry is still there,

She's probably freaking out and thinking of her options, what she'll do, what family and/or friends would say... there's alot of coulda,woulda,shoulda-ing going on right now and the one thing that really will put both of your minds at ease is going to see the doctor...

I've literally just come out the other side of that experience and despite having done 4 pregnancy tests at home and they all being negative, I was still worrying constantly.... Went to the doc, she took a test and said "Wouldja ever stop worrying, cos your not pregnant but the worrying is just making you later and later"

The waiting is what makes things worse, and if the two of ye are fighting cos you're so stressed, its just making things build and build...

my advice is take a test or go to the doctor... you have to know before you can consider anything else! Best of luck!:)

cheers for the advice.

i was relatively calm up until today when i started getting worried and when she saw me getting worried she started getting even more worried.

she said that she felt it coming on last week as in she had all the usual signs of being really tired and really emotional on thursday and friday. she even had cramps on sunday.

im hoping all the worrying she is doing is making her late.

assuming its a 28 day clycle she was due on july 30th..

can i ask how many days late were you?

to make matters worse and probably adding to the worry is the fact that she is out of the country at the moment

holy **** absolutely freaking out here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

As ^

Silly me has been through this several times, often for over 6 days.

Believe it or not I was 17 days late... and then I got my period the day I went to the feckin doctor! I had all the usual cramps and emotional stuff aswell... its so confusing and frustrating and you're backtracking and trying to figure out WHEN it could have happened etc... are the parents on either side clued in? My mother copped on when I was a 8 days late (I'm a moaner, she's nosy, she ALWAYS knows) so I had a week of her shoving pregnancy tests under my nose and saying "this one is 99% accurate" "do you know when you're ovulating??" and the most frustrating "How could you have been so stupid?"

Its so so hard but a number of things could cause her to be late, stress, putting on/losing weight, even being extremely pre-occupied with something (I was a week late in june aswel due to stressing about my holiday, money etc and as soon as I got there and relaxed, got my period straight away)... hopefully she can try and relax a bit on holiday and then everything will sort itself out...

YOU need to relax to... we cant make our periods come any faster and when fellas start panicking, it gets scarier than it already is... especially the thoughts of what would you do were she preganant (stay, go, hang around for a while and then disappear... its very f*ckin scary)... dont push her to talk about it... but try not to go "for f*cks sake could you not just get it already" (as my frustrated fella tended to say every 15 mins)

Fingers crossed!:)

thanks a mill for advice.

that at least gives me something positive to think about. i know we were careless but the chances are small that she is pregnant.

have tried to be as supportive as possible and have been telling her that there is nothing to worry about..apart from 1 freak attack i got today!

she has been under unreal stress for the last week or 2 so hopefully that is contributing to it.

i dont get the fact that she has all the signs and even the cramps and she still has not got it yet?

neither parents know anything but when she gets back she would definately tell her mom if it still hadnt come..

hopefully will be able to sleep better tonight after that msg!

i dont get the fact that she has all the signs and even the cramps and she still has not got it yet?

if you are trying to convince yourself that something (anything, not just periods and stuff) is happening, you can bring those kinda things upon yourself, start to get cramps and all cos your mind is telling your body to do these things... i was the other way around after a couple of days... started feeling sick in the mornings and thinking i could feel kicking in my stomach:eek:

I know it doesnt happen to everyone but when you are that worried and preoccupied over the one thing anything can happen y'know?!

Just tell her to relax, enjoy her holiday and if it still hasnt come by the time she gets back, just bite the bullet, go to the doc and see where you're at!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

Hello OP,

I know its very hard but do try to stay calm, your mind really does start working overtime during a scare.

It depends on your GF's usual cycle, if she is normally bang on 28 days then this is a worry but by no means conclusive, myself my cycle varies anything between 24 and 32 days but has been known to go to 37 days the odd time.

As the other posters mentioned stress really will affect it, if you both try to stay calm it will help. Its no co-incidence that as soon as a woman gets a negative test she will often come on a few hours later!

As for the withdrawal method, myself and my BF have used it successfully for a year, with condoms and the occasional MAP of course. If you go by the conventional wisdom and the letter of the law, medical advice usually warns that there is a little "pre-ejaculate" released prior to actual ejaculation. Although this is true, I read somewhere that scientists have yet to find viable sperm in this fluid. Its often blamed for pregnancies but its thought its more likely that the incorrect use of the withdrawal method is to blame....anyway.....just something I've read.

I hope everything works out for ye, you can get tests that can tell you 4 (i think even 6 now) days before your period, so she can check straight away and put you both out of your misery.

As you said though she is 6 days late (supposing a perfect 28 day cycle) -she is best off using the first urine of the morning as the hormone is concentrated in the urine at that time.

Ok best of luck OP and try not to panic, I hope ye will be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭litup

Why doesn't she just do a test?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

op I don't mean to sound mean but it does sound like you are looking for someone online to tell you she is not pregnant! Ultimately the test tomorrow will tell you. As already said late periods do happen, albeit pregnancy using the withdrawal method does too!

That being said you both need to calm down as there is nothing you can do either way until you know for sure

let us know how it goes either way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

litup wrote: »

That's exactly what I was thinking! Why is she waiting til tomorrow? Just do the test, get it over with,

If it comes out negative then happy days she might relax a bit and her cycle may return to normal.

If it comes out positive (an option which you for some reason I can't understand don't think is realistic) then you're better off finding out sooner than later so you can both look at all the options.

But really, I don't want to get preachy or anything but "when we don't have a condom, I just pull out" is ridiculous! If she's not pregnant I would talk to her about other forms of contraception (i.e. the pill) to use aswell as condoms, because if you continue like this, it's only a matter of time before she does get pregnant.

Best of luck with it all OP, but I don't know what you're waiting for? Why do the test tomorrow when it can be done today?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

tests are most accurate in the morning if its the first pee of the day as the hormone levels will be at their highest/purest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

My ex was once 14 days late!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

I think shes pregnant tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭chuckles30

If she's not pregnant this time, maybe she should go to her doc about getting the pill or some other form of contraception to prevent this happening again in the future??

Archimedes wrote: »
    I think shes pregnant tbh.

thats not fair... it could be anything, absolutley anything, it could be pregnancy but it could also be from stress-induced problems to a hormonal or medical issue... People can be weeks late and not be pregnant...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

I've been over a month late. I can't even tell you how much I freaked out. And I was always using protection at the time..

DO NOT stick with the 'pulling out' thing. That does NOT work. I can't believe the amount of people that actually think that's an acceptable form of contraception....

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I remember being told in school that the name for those who used withdrawal as a method of contraception was: Parents.

My sympathies OP, I hope you get the result you want and can stop worrying, and get the chance to never put yourselves through this again.:)

But if worst comes to worst, there is plenty of advice and help out there. It wont be the end of the world.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

We have had unprotected sex but not 'full' unprotected sex if you know what I mean.
    Everytime we have had full sex we have used a condom or else I have pulled out.

Contradict yourself much? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I assume you will cop on to yourself after this and start using condoms full time and/or she will go on the pill?

If she's not pregnant then count yourself lucky, because it's very possible that she is.

Well.......did she do the test? Is she or is'nt she?

I think this will probably be the fright you need. You need a proper form of protection other than the withdrawl method! If shes not pregnant this time, its only a matter of time before she is pregnant if ye don't cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 don65

Why did all these people who were "17 days late" / "a month late" etc not just do tests??? Why put the two of you through loads of worrying for days and days when you can just do a test and find out??

don65 wrote: »

Why did all these people who were "17 days late" / "a month late" etc not just do tests???

I did 5 tests, all of which were negative... thats my point in that its best to do a test because then you know where you stand... i knew I wasnt pregnant but needed to go to the doctor to try and figure out what else could be causing me to be so late...

hey,

so she did a test and its negative. she is doing another one tomorrow to be sure as it is most accurate in the morning.

thanks to the ppl with sound advice.

to all the prechers out there, we had discussed the pill and she was due to go on it when she got her next period in september

shes still worried why her period is late but hopefully will come in next day or two.

btw i realise that pulling out is not an acceptable form of contraception.. it was used twice (2 times too much)...

also as i stated she is in a foreign country at the moment and found it really hard to get a pregnancy tezt but eventually got one this evening so thats the delay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

I did take a test, eventually. But I hadn't told the OH because didn't want to worry him needlessly... took me ages to just gather the nerve to take it on my own.

Was practically sick with nerves over the whole thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Sometimes the "oh ****, am I up the duff?" nerves make the period even later - the only way to tell though is to take a test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

hey,

so she did a test and its negative. she is doing another one tomorrow to be sure as it is most accurate in the morning.

thanks to the ppl with sound advice.

to all the prechers out there, we had discussed the pill and she was due to go on it when she got her next period in september

shes still worried why her period is late but hopefully will come in next day or two.

btw i realise that pulling out is not an acceptable form of contraception.. it was used twice (2 times too much)...

also as i stated she is in a foreign country at the moment and found it really hard to get a pregnancy tezt but eventually got one this evening so thats the delay

That's great news OP, hopefully when she does the morning test aswell she'll calm down about it and her period will return. Also, good to hear you are planning on looking into more effective forms of protection. Glad it's worked out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

Aw nice one OP !!! :D

Im glad for ya ;)

Nice one, hope the 2nd one turns out just as well! Best of Luck!:D