Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a boards.ie singles mingle 28th November

• 03-11-2008 03:45PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭

here´s an idea..instead of speed dating how about hosting singles boards beers in a decent pub? I will add a poll to the events forum to get an idea of numbers interested.

the worst that could happen is you could make a few friends..and i would say its a good idea to be friends/ get to know someone before dating them first?

the only condition for attending these gatherings is that you have to be single and willing to have a bit of craic!

Would the 28th/ 29th suit people? If the events successful we could try a more organised speed dating/ themed gathering..

Suggestions for venues welcome, please see the events forum if your interested, cheers.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055411452

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I'm pretty sure T.P. Smiths would be cool wth having an other boards event.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Given the amount of threads in various fora about how to meet someone/where are all the good men/women, I would say this is a good plan and as you say worse case scenario is you meet a new bunch of people. IMHO do a hidden poll or PM thingy and do it by invite so you get a good proportion of men women(or men/men women/women if that others thang). My 2 cents.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭snorlax

right I modified my posts to make it a singles beers..sure if its a success there´s no reason why we can´t get more adventerous/ organised..

a casual beers for singles..and the worst that could happen is we could make some new friends and have a bit of craic!

how do you get more PR for an event like this?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,368 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

snorlax wrote: »
    how do you get more PR for an event like this?

Ask the Admins/SMods to post a site announcement. Request some banner ads to be made. Get some sigs done up and made available to everyone for use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Bah i liked the idea of speed dating.

"oh, ive dated like 68 girls this week! :D:pac:"

Pick a date, pm Kharn about contacting T.P. Smiths or getting another venue,
    once you have those details sorted I will be happy to flaunt/pimp the event in my sig.

Hhhmm maybe making it a speed date type of thing might be a good idea.
    A higher mingle ratio, and as the failed Miyagi said you'd have an even mix.

If I was going to be interested in such a thing. I'd like to keep my boards identity out of it too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'd chicken out of turning up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭PurplePrincess

Can we make a wish list of male boardsies we'd like to attend:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

Galvasean wrote: »
    Bah i liked the idea of speed dating.

"oh, ive dated like 68 girls this week! :D:pac:"

sluh :p

Like, oh my Gawd, stop objectifying us and stuff! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

you can, but most of us good ones are off the market ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭PurplePrincess

Like, oh my Gawd, stop objectifying us and stuff! :eek:

Ah you love it
    Iago wrote: »
    you can, but most of us good ones are off the market ;)

Our loss!!!

Ah you love it

Ssshh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

sluh :p

LOL!

Great idea, hope it works out for ye, always people on here mentioning things like this so I'm sure there'll be great interest in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Sorry to be a kill-joy, but would it not be full of men?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Sounds like a short list...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

I'm guessing that would likely happen, best thing to do would be to have a set ratio ie. 50/50. Means that the place wouldn't be a sausage fest which in all fairness is very likely to happen given it's the internet (or am I stereotyping too much?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

I doubt it. I'm guessing that ladies lounge is full of blokes, and not one of us is here in an ironic capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Nuravictus

I doubt it. I'm guessing that ladies lounge is full of blokes, and not one of us is here in an ironic capacity.

Its really "The Transgender Lounge". So yea its full of men.

There were as many women as men at the hollow'een beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭kingtut

looks down through list and can't find his name.....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Thaedydal wrote: »
    There were as many women as men at the hollow'een beers.

Yeah, but how many were single?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭traffic_cone

This is not a dating website!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

and your point is?:confused:

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

That is something which has been said time and again and a few time even by me in certain threads usually to innaproptiate comments in threads. It still stands.

IF people want to have a singles mingle then why not, there is a big difference between that and every thread decending into how you doin.

You felt so strongly about the issue that you registered a new account just to say it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭traffic_cone

You felt so strongly about the issue that you registered a new account just to say it?

I did not register a new account. I signed up in June. That was my first post as I only ever use boards to read the threads. I felt passionate enough about this dating thing to comment on it.

If you want to hook up with someone use a dating website, as this is not one of them! I have seen people being warned / banned in the past for suggesting this kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

But it is a social website, inspite of the likes of me somehow ending up here:confused::p, a mingle doesn't necessarily have to be about dating, but if dates do result then who are we to complain about other people potentially finding happiness together?

farohar wrote: »
    who are we to complain about other people potentially finding happiness together?

Bitter :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Bitter :mad:
    Well, as the Pope himself once said:
    "Mmmm... lemony...":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

why oh why did these ideas never fly why i was single??
    Iago wrote:
    most of us good ones are off the market ;)

there's plenty of tappable poon on here :pac: anyway i'd be interested to see what fair and workable solutions are brought forward to stop this being the worst sausage fest in history....will it be by invitation? cause otherwise there might be a wave of horny nerds rushing into TP Smiths and how can ye stop them? i dont have the exact boy:girl ratios from the regular boards meet ups but from what i've seen its pretty bad and as this has a 'singles' tagline i can see it being far worse. i think yee should go for a 2:1 boy:girl ratio, its the best you can hope for...but then again it'll might end up all the lads milling around the 3 hottest girls and all the girls milling around the 3 hottest boys.....and then you have the potential stalker issues....i dunno, i am prone to focusing on the negatives....anyway, i think its a brilliant idea in theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Zirconia
    Boycott Israeli Goods & Services

If you want to hook up with someone use a dating website, as this is not one of them! I have seen people being warned / banned in the past for suggesting this kind of thing.

Wow, i didn't realise you could make yourself a moderator on your first post!

There's no online dating going on here; nobody is trying to pull on this thread. They're trying to arrange a social event off-site, which I believe is something completely different.

there's plenty of tappable poon on here :pac: anyway i'd be interested to see what fair and workable solutions are brought forward to stop this being the worst sausage fest in history....will it be by invitation? cause otherwise there might be a wave of horny nerds rushing into TP Smiths and how can ye stop them? i dont have the exact boy:girl ratios from the regular boards meet ups but from what i've seen its pretty bad and as this has a 'singles' tagline i can see it being far worse. i think yee should go for a 2:1 boy:girl ratio, its the best you can hope for...but then again it'll might end up all the lads milling around the 3 hottest girls and all the girls milling around the 3 hottest boys.....and then you have the potential stalker issues....i dunno, i am prone to focusing on the negatives....anyway, i think its a brilliant idea in theory.

You'd never know. Maybe the vast majority of people will go there to have a bit of fun without the ultimate goal being to get rogered at any cost.
    I also heared there were more girls than guys at the Haloween beers.

oh well thats promising:)

although halloween and dressing up will mean that female posters were over represented at the resent boards...

i'm not saying that a good rogering will be everyone's ultimate goal but lets be frank, there are an awful lot of lonely men on the internet, far outnumbering the lonely women - that is scientific fact*. Don't get me wrong i think this is a deadly idea but i just think it'll take a bit of planning.

*may not be scientific fact.

Don't worry, we have ways of dealing with pervy weirdos.

i know you do but unfortunately human beings are not equipped with ban buttons, your mod powers are rendered useless in dark secluded corners of bars and nightclubs :p

Well I'll tell you now if you are going to refer to the female posters on this site as
    Tappable poon

You should not bother going, I am sure that the poster who happen to be single and female have more self respect then to what to date someone who will refer to them as fúckable vaginas.

If you are so concerned about it being a sausagefest and not being charming enough to get yer hole then I suggest you try escorts.ie

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

I did not register a new account. I signed up in June. That was my first post as I only ever use boards to read the threads. I felt passionate enough about this dating thing to comment on it.

i met my OH through boards, as did a very large number of people here but i am agree it is not a dating site and i dont think there should be a singles only night.

why not just go to a regular boards night out ? i mean it not as though they never happen. from what i can see there are meets ups every week

i know you do but unfortunately human beings are not equipped with ban buttons, your mod powers are rendered useless in dark secluded corners of bars and nightclubs :p

If there is someone behaving in an objectionable manner they will be asked to stop, if they don't then the staff of the venue will be informed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Zirconia wrote: »
    nobody is trying to pull on this thread.

speak for yourself :cool:

Why do you take umbrage if people want to organise a casual meetup for singles? Makes no sense.
    As Zirconia points out you're not a mod, you're a three post lurker with some weird axe to grind. That's fine, but I would love to see your logic. Are you trying to set up a dating site? Have you some moral issue against it? Does it upset you that people may meet in an online community and may happen to get together? As I say your objections make no sense. As far as warnings and bannings, the only time I've seen that(indeed warned them myself) was to cut down on random in thread noise and muppetry.

The thing about boy girl ratios.
    I have friends who would like the idea of a singles event.
    I'm sure all of us do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

there's plenty of tappable poon on here :pac:

Was this meant to be witty? Clever? Ironic?

It certainly isn't welcome, give it a rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

If you are that worried about security of Boards.ie memebers then i'm sure i can sort out a few fully certed and insured Door Staff to keep an eye on things for boards.ie and liase with bar staff and venue security.;)

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Well I'll tell you now if you are going to refer to the female posters on this site as

You should not bother going, I am sure that the poster who happen to be single and female have more self respect then to what to date someone who will refer to them as fúckable vaginas.

If you are so concerned about it being a sausagefest and not being charming enough to get yer hole then I suggest you try escorts.ie

eh...
    my tappable poon comment was accompanied by a :pac: which as you know means that i was taking the piss. chill. and i wont be going becuase i'm not single. the reason i'm interested is that i have been using this site for a very long time in various forms and the suggestion of this type of singles event was always frowned upon in years gone by. no g'em, not trying to be witty, clever or ironic...just being lighthearted, which isnt against the charter, yet. i will now give it a rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,848 ✭✭✭✭cormie

boards isn't a gambling website, but people meet to play poker
    boards isn't a sports website, but people meet to cycle and play football
    boards isn't a dating website, but if people want to meet up, what's the problem?

If I was an owner of boards I wouldn't like my customers being told what my site was and was not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

the reason i'm interested is that i have been using this site for a very long time in various forms and the suggestion of this type of singles event was always frowned upon in years gone by.
    I'll admit that at first I wasn't crazy about the idea - if nothing else it just sounded very exclusionary for the non-single folk! But the board is changing, and we do now have social orientated fora (tLL, BGRH, Nocturnals) so I suppose it's inevitable that there'll be a call for these kinds of events to be held.

Having said that, I think I'll agree with pfb - there's single and non-single folk at regular boards meet-ups, and the site seems to be doing fairly ok at producing boards couples :pac:
    just being lighthearted, which isnt against the charter, yet.
    You're right, it isn't, but the comment was still inappropriate given the forum you posted it in. We're all well able for a bit of a laugh but those kinds of comments really don't have any place. No harm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

...just being lighthearted, which isnt against the charter, yet.
    I thought it was. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

It might be a better idea to simply do a "traffic light" system for a Boards Beers, rather than having it definitely a singles night.

That way everyone can go, you can make a public marker as to your attitude towards being approached and you'll get better numbers and so on.