Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frank Keane BMW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭LoveDucati2

ned78 wrote: »
    No they don't.

seriously, what is wrong with you, are you 10 years old or something.

Would you just go and phone a dealer and actually talk some sense:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

lol, okay. The conversation went like this. Hello me? This is me speaking. :pac:

Sorry I meant a manager that actually deals with ordering.

I worked for 5 years as a Manager of a particular franchise LoveDucati2. Now for the love of God, stop lying and stating lies as facts here, you've done nothing else since you joined, and it's becoming ridiculous. You're as bad as estebancambiaas and Rosie used to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭cancan

How is it rotten? A motor dealer is entitled to have 'yellow regs' on it's forecourt without paying the VRT, as a motor dealer has a TAN number with the revenue that makes provision for that.

Not only are the simi full of ****e (see below), they are now trying to undermine the value of cars they sold to their own customers over the past few years.

Very classy way to run a business.

Red Alert on Non Registered UK Vehicles

Dear member,

We are sick and tired of seeing Irish residents driving around in UK cars on which VRT, Road Tax etc. has not been paid. They can only do this because they know that they will get away with it.

We are awaiting proposals from the Revenue/Garda Task Force, to deal with this issue but we cannot wait to see what is planned. We are building up to stronger action over the coming weeks if we do not see real action. The continued lack of enforcement is seriously affecting legitimate motor businesses and is contributing to the loss of jobs right around the country.

In underlining to Revenue and the Gardaí that we are taking this issue on to a new level we want to collect information from members all over the country on just one week-end to illustrate the level of the problem. And this is a very important exercise as it is clear that the authorities do not seem to accept that the problem is as big as we say it is.

This weekend, beginning Friday 10th October and ending on Sunday 12th October, we are asking all members to encourage their staff to take details of all vehicles in their area, which are being driven by Irish residents on UK plates (Please avoid collecting details on cars driven by tourists or genuine visitors, as this will only devalue our information). We need as much real information as possible:

* Make, model and registration.

* Name of owner & Address of owner (if known) or the Reason for believing it is being driven by an Irish resident.

* Location where seen

* Details, if you know, of how long it has been illegally driven.

Please put the collected information together and forward it to us at the special email address - illegalcars@simi.ie

We will forward this information to the appointed official in Revenue and the Gardai with a demand for action and feedback on what they are doing. We are not prepared to give them any more time to do their jobs. This week-end gives us the opportunity to inundate them with information on which we can demand action. Please help us to get this problem solved.

The Government need revenue at present, let's give them the opportunity to collect it and to provide us with a level playing field.

Please pass this on to all your staff and help us make next weekend a successful start to our focused campaign against this unacceptable practice.

Regards,

Director
    SIMI

I cried long and hard when I read the above first, wondering what sort of monster would import UK cars and take money from sick children in hospitals...
    Looks like they got the level playing field and more, by importing, and then have the law on their side to leave them yellow till reg/sale day.

I'd be pissed if i bought a irish dealer bmw in the past few years, and now the dealers are trying to undermine it's value, by importing semi official BMW's from england.

Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Those looks like the words of people who appear desparate to me. I still am not convinced that the problem is anywhere near as widespread as these people think it is. If you took all unregistered UK/NI cars off the road tomorrow, the market will not recover I think, it wouldn't make a difference. Same for people selling cars at the side of the road. The problem with the industry is that it is simply uncompetitive, lacks credibility and is not open to change.

cancan wrote: »
    Looks like they got the level playing field and more, by importing, and then have the law on their side to leave them yellow till reg/sale day.

But they haven't altered the law in any way, so how could it be claimed it's a rotten state of affairs? The ability of a Dealer, any Dealer to retain cars on UK plates has been around for a very long time.

Reading between the lines of what some posters are saying on boards in the last couple of weeks regarding Dealers bringing in UK cars, you'd swear they think it's okay for individuals to do it, but for not for Dealers?

The SIMI (And I hate them as much as the next person) are just saying that people driving around on UK plates, living and working in Ireland should have to pay their VRT. Same as we do on this forum ... nothing untoward there, but their method is ridiculous, asking people to snitch on each other.

Darragh29 wrote: »
    If you took all unregistered UK/NI cars off the road tomorrow, the market will not recover I think, it wouldn't make a difference.

Exactly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Unbelievable - why do you make so much up? It is widely known by people working in the industry here that BMW Ireland is effectively a regional office of BMW UK and order their cars through the UK. Indeed BMW UK represent Ireland at volume planning meetings in Germany and in fact set Irelands sales targets for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

You're being shown up as being very ill-informed with a large chip on your shoulder, LoveDucati2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,442 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Lose that attitude problem, or you're gone from here...

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

unkel wrote: »
    Lose that attitude problem, or you're gone from here...

So you will ignore a moderator calling me a liar,

and then issue a threat for pointing out Ned is childish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,442 ✭✭✭✭unkel

So you will ignore a moderator calling me a liar,

and then issue a threat for pointing out Ned is childish?

Banned for a month for discussing moderating decision on thread. Seriously, think about my remark about your attitude and review your recent posts in the motors category. If you come back after your ban like this, you won't last long here...

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

From today's IT....
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/motors/2009/0128/1232923368619.html

I think it's refreshing to hear of BMW taking the lead in being more positive and constructive about the UK imports situation rather than the FUD coming from SIMI and the other dealers in the article. I could nitpick the prices they are selling these for and the length of the warranty they are offerring but I won't because I respect the approach they are taking and I don't begrudge them wanting to make money.
    Case in point: BMW's pragmatic approach to imports
    BMW IRELAND has taken a pragmatic approach to the problem of used imports from the UK. It is importing selected used models from the UK in order to avail of weak sterling and to pass on savings to Irish customers.
    Speaking to The Irish Times, Michael Nugent, sales director of BMW Ireland, said: “We are pointing out to potential customers that you need not go to the UK to avail of the currency situation as we have access to a fleet of used cars from there.”
    Rather than putting out the message that importing from the UK is bad and that there may be issues down the line, the brand is taking a realistic stance. “There are two choices at the moment – one is that you fight it like that or you decide that this is the new game and embrace it. We are very much taking the latter view.
    “When you look at the amount of BMWs that have been imported over the last number of years, we take the view that we should make the best of the business. Customers want to buy a car from a dealer, they want to trade in and they want the warranty but are looking at the value available in the UK and hopefully this will provide an answer,” says Nugent.
    The BMW fleet of imports comprises the vast UK fleet of demo, staff and fleet BMWs, all of which have remained within the BMW system and this means that they can stand over the cars and provide full 12-month warranties and pass on the savings to the customer.
    “Our cars have the same specification apart from the speedometer, which is in miles, and if people want that changed we will of course do it,” says Nugent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭knuth

bf wrote: »
    They are probably doing it to keep profit margins up, as there is potentially little profit margin in the "Irish" stock they currently have. Take the car in this link - one like this can be picked up in the UK for the equivalent of €24k from a BMW dealer + €7k for VRT ryanair flights, ferry etc, so say €32k all in...

Chances are Keane's got this out of the BMW network at a wholesale price, so there is a healthy level of profit for them in it if they get it away at anywhere near €40k.

This car stands them in somewhere around the €20k mark today as VRT isnt paid yet, how much would an "Irish" 320d coupe be standing them in?

As an earlier poster pointed out, if you cant beat em join em!

€7k VRT for an 08 BMW? WHERE? :rolleyes:

lordlame wrote: »

Methinks that that sarcasm is misplaced. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭bf

lordlame wrote: »

At your local VRT office!

VEHICLE REGISTRATION TAX (VRT) ENQUIRY
    Vehicle Registration Tax (VRT) Calculation. CO2 emissions input by Revenue.
    DATE: 28 January 2009 TIME: 20:06
    STATISTICAL CODE: 40686629
    MAKE: BMW MODEL: 320 E92
    VERSION: D E92 SE 2DR / SPORTS COUPE (NON-CONVERTIBLE) / MANUAL / DIESEL /
    CO2 EMISSIONS: 128</STRONG>
    MILEAGE: 10000 MILES
    DATE OF FIRST REGISTRATION: JUNE 2008
    OPEN MARKET SELLING PRICE: €36907
    RATE OF TAX: 16%
    VEHICLE REGISTRATION TAX:
    (payable on enquiry date) €5905

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

robbie99 wrote: »
    From today's IT....
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/motors/2009/0128/1232923368619.html

I think it's refreshing to hear of BMW taking the lead in being more positive and constructive about the UK imports situation rather than the FUD coming from SIMI and the other dealers in the article. I could nitpick the prices they are selling these for and the length of the warranty they are offerring but I won't because I respect the approach they are taking and I don't begrudge them wanting to make money.

Thats good to read Robbie. Not sure about warrenties though, reality is a UK beamer has a 3 year warrenty, an Irish one has two. It should really mean a UK one should be worth more!! If Frank Keane is selling a July 2008 uk car, its in warrenty till July 2011. Not sure where the 12 months is coming from!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

I dont think you will see BMW Ireland getting into commercails for the X3, X5, and X6. They cant be that desperate if they want to deny themselves that potential business because it isnt premium enough.

It's not about the business being premium enough, its just that there's not enough demand for them to make commercial X3/X5/X6 jeeps. Most people looking for commerical vehicles actually use them for work related purposes, but the X series jeeps when commercialised still have carpets, door panels, etc, and really aren't suitable for carrying tools and equipment. Hence, only a few people get them commercialised each year, and it would make no financial sense for BMW to go and make a commercial product line.

BMW would do it if there was enough profit. For profit there must be sufficient demand too ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Plus the market for commercial jeeps has totally collapsed along with the building trade. In fact a lot of dudes who 'went out on their own' in the building trade have now gone back to using transporters / hiaces. The way things are at the moment using a luxury suv as a to carry tools around in is just plain stoopid. What would you think if you were having an extension done and the builder pulled up outside your gaff in a commercial X5?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭knuth

I payed €7k for a fricking Renault, 1 year older to! *loads shotgun*

• Subscribers Posts: 16,718 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

mail from Frank Keane today:
    In this regard we want to highlight some of the benefits of buying an Irish or UK BMW Premium Selection Approved Used Car from Frank Keane.

We have a full range of BMWs at UK prices.
    Value equal to Northern Ireland and UK dealers without the hassle of purchasing outside the Republic of Ireland. We will look after the registration of the imported car.
    Price quoted is on the road price. No additional VRT or registration costs unlike importing a car from Northern Ireland or UK privately.
    Covered under Irish Consumer Protection laws with an established dealership unlike used cars purchased or imported privately.
    All BMWs sold by us have undergone a rigorous 120 point check by our BMW Approved Technicians.
    Minimum 12 month BMW warranty.
    Minimum 12 month emergency service cover.
    Full service history verified independently. This means there is no risk that the vehicle may be 'clocked', stolen, insured write-off or major repaired car.
    Highly informed and competitive trade in prices. Avoid the hassle of trying to sell your current car yourself.
    Low road tax e.g. Road tax on a BMW 3 Series or BMW 5 Series starts at €156 for a full year.
    Financial service and insurance advice available from our fully certified Business Manager, Susan McQuaid, who will help make your dreams of owning a BMW possible.

all very well, but based on the pricing on their website, their 'UK prices' are actually uk prices + vrt + 10,000 euro.

copacetic wrote: »
    mail from Frank Keane today:

all very well, but based on the pricing on their website, their 'UK prices' are actually uk prices + vrt + 10,000 euro.

In fairness, nothing wrong with that as long as they are coming in cheaper than an 'Irish' car of the same spec, etc. In fact I would imagine they would be higher spec on average.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    In fairness, nothing wrong with that as long as they are coming in cheaper than an 'Irish' car of the same spec, etc. In fact I would imagine they would be higher spec on average.

except that they are claiming they are UK prices. i.e they are lying?

Without getting all technical they are buying ex-demo and ex-lease stock at UK PRICES, importing same, paying VRT and giving warranty, etc. and you're still paying less than you would for the same 'Irish' car here. So let them at it I say.

Without a shadow of a doubt, they have added in a nice profit margin here, but if an IE dealer can source stock in the UK, transport same over, pay VRT, give warranty, save you hassle, time and money - let them at it!

Is there an echo in here?

Without getting all technical they are buying ex-demo and ex-lease stock at UK PRICES, importing same, paying VRT and giving warranty, etc. and you're still paying less than you would for the same 'Irish' car here. So let them at it I say.

Without a shadow of a doubt, they have added in a nice profit margin here, but if an IE dealer can source stock in the UK, transport same over, pay VRT, give warranty, save you hassle, time and money - let them at it!

? are you kidding? They say they are selling them at UK prices, them buying them at UK prices is nothing to do with it. There is nothing 'all technical' about it.

You aren't paying less than you would for 'Irish' cars, they have priced their UK cars the same as the Irish ones as far as I can see. They don't give any more warranty than a UK BMW dealer does and none of their list of benefits are anything more than a UK BMW dealer gives either.

They have saved you the hassle of a days trip to the UK, but are charging you 10k for that. The only difference now is that they used to say that their Irish cars were somehow better than the UK ones. Now they want to sell you the exact same UK ones at a 10k mark up and laugh all the way to the bank.

Is it any wonder dealers are going out of business?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 master-d

Was at a second hand car dealer the other day and was talking to him in the office about how I was considering going North and discused the prices with him, he pointed out that it was a bad idea to buy imported car because a lot of them were clocked, crashed and that "its not uncommon for the engine and gearbox to fall out of an imported car"......the guy obvously didnt realise that most of the cars on his forecourt still had the yellow registrations on them......

btw I have no problems with Irish dealers importing uk cars just thought it was funny he was telling me all the disadvantages of imported cars when the car he was actually steering me towards was an import!

? are you kidding? They say they are selling them at UK prices, them buying them at UK prices is nothing to do with it. There is nothing 'all technical' about it.

You aren't paying less than you would for 'Irish' cars, they have priced their UK cars the same as the Irish ones as far as I can see. They don't give any more warranty than a UK BMW dealer does and none of their list of benefits are anything more than a UK BMW dealer gives either.

They have saved you the hassle of a days trip to the UK, but are charging you 10k for that. The only difference now is that they used to say that their Irish cars were somehow better than the UK ones. Now they want to sell you the exact same UK ones at a 10k mark up and laugh all the way to the bank.

Is it any wonder dealers are going out of business?

Ya got points going on there dude that I gotta agree with, however the Irish Motor Trade is f**ked right now and if any dealer can keep jobs going by buying in UK stock, saving customers hassle and money, make a profit, and still keep themselves and their staff in jobs I say fair play to them! It's the UK companies setting up here with Dublin address' and UK phone numbers that are killing the trade.

well I wouldn't disagree with that, but if they added say 3 or 4k, even 5k profit then that would be fair enough and they would likely do a lot of business and work off the turnover.

I mean I said 10k is what they are adding on, but thats based on retail pricing in uk. Assuming they are getting their fleet cars etc at trade then it is prob more like 15k they are adding.

I'm with copacetic on this. That 10k is the markup being added on top of the UK retail prices. Don't forget that the UK dealers have their own markup to take care of their sales commission, discount, overheads etc. I can't imagine the Irish dealers not being able to source these cars at the same trade prices that the UK dealers get them for.

I suppose it's up to the Irish dealers to figure out how much of a premium we're willing to pay to avoid the hassle of importing privately but for many saving 10k in exchange for a couple days work is a no brainer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭scanner1

Keray's East Gate in Cork have a load of them now as well, I think what it will also do is hoover up a lot of the cheaper ones in the UK, I was looking before christmas on the BM uk used website and a there was 4 or 5 2008 cars (318D)under £15,000. now all are over 15k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

This is unbelievable greed on the part of BMW. They're not saving you any money- they're charging about 15k Euro for the luxury of bringing in a car from England. I'm sorry but that is a complete rip-off. Take the car below for example, which was posted on the first page of this thread:

Brewster wrote: »

Here is a 2008 320d coupe for sale in the UK for less than £20,000 sterling. It is being sold by an authorised BMW dealer. Frank Keanes would easily be able to buy this car for £19k sterling (maybe even cheaper through the trade). According to XE, £19k sterling converts to just under 21,000 Euro. Add in €1,000 to transport the car, plus the VRT of €5905, and the total cost comes to €27,905.

Now, Keanes are asking for €43k for the car they imported. That is scandalous. It's an absolute rip-off. I agree with copacetic; they're importing cars from the UK, but only pricing them slightly cheaper than the Irish equivalent, and hoping to make a huge profit in the process.

I'll be off to England to buy my next car.

http://atsearch.autotrader.co.uk/ni/cars_popup.jsp?searchform=&modelexact=1&lid=search_used_cars_full&photo=1&state=block&sort=3&hassearched=Y&make=BMW&min_pr=75&source=0&model=3+SERIES&max_pr=&miles=1500&agerange=6&mileage=3&postcode=sw19+3rq&variant=&bodyid=6&trim=&fuelid=2&colour=&transmissionid=1&keywords=&ukcarsearch_full.x=43&ukcarsearch_full.y=3&start=1&distance=337&adcategory=CARS&channel=CARS&id=200903326894211

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,303 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

That car possibly also has VAT on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

kbannon wrote: »
    That car possibly also has VAT on it!

How much would VAT be?

21.5% (before VRT IIRC) as the mileage is under 6,000km

Would the VRT be judged to be on the retail value of a new car or on a used car?

21.5% (before VRT IIRC) as the mileage is under 6,000km

Would the VRT be judged to be on the retail value of a new car or on a used car?

the VAT would be on the invoice price. it would be 21.5% of that. However you would get the 15% VAT off in the uk so you would only add 6.5% on to the UK price.

VRT isn't affected at all by the VAT, as it is calculated on the OMSP here.

It's all moot, if I may say so, there are plenty of cars that VAT wouldn't be applicable to for the same price.

VRT isn't affected at all by the VAT, as it is calculated on the OMSP here.
    The revenue effectively regard it as a new car in terms of VAT because of the mileage.
    Is the VRT charged on a car with this number of miles charged on the OMSP of a brand new car or on a used car with 6k Kms? There may not be much of a difference but its better in the buyers pocket I'm sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

It's all moot, if I may say so, there are plenty of cars that VAT wouldn't be applicable to for the same price.

Dealers have to pay the 6.5% VAT difference on an imported car either way.

If they can claim the UK VAT (depends on the car) then they recover 15% on the UK invoice price and pay Irish VAT of 21.5% on the sell price.

If they can't recover the VAT in UK (so-called "margin" vehicle) then they pay 6.5% VAT on the invoice price plus 21.5% on their gross margin.

Either way it's the same for the dealer. Private importer is not exposed to the VAT difference unless the 6 mths / 6k kms rule applies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Wheresmejumper8

This sums my attitude up completely.

Its worth pointing out that BMW Ireland are essentially part of the same company as BMW UK (unique for IE motor industry bar Porsche I think), thus the BMW Ireland dealers can cut out the middle man by buying straight from the UK wholesaler. I think thats what they mean by "UK prices". Sure there is a margin in it for the Ireland dealer but an open market determines that its no different from the UK dealer margin...

I keeping seeing the €10k mentioned repeatedly in this thread, which is a ridiculous sum - surely in an open competitive market with 16 BMW dealers no-one could get away with such a margin!!

Personally I think its refreshing to hear a company talking realistically about this stuff... too much scar mongering coming from others inc SIMI "clocked" "no warranty" "stolen" "crashed" - drives me mad :mad:

One more point - ive done some checking on BMW's & the IE specs are IDENTICAL to UK with the only exception of the km/h clock and some technology stuff like connecteddrive which isnt offered here.

To be honest, none of it really matters!
    I was talking to a sales rep from Keanes and he was telling me that nothing is selling - UK sourced or otherwise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

To be honest, none of it really matters!
    I was talking to a sales rep from Keanes and he was telling me that nothing is selling - UK sourced or otherwise!

Well that just about sums the whole situation up....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭conlonbmw

I keeping seeing the €10k mentioned repeatedly in this thread, which is a ridiculous sum - surely in an open competitive market with 16 BMW dealers no-one could get away with such a margin!!

Some dealers here are importing with up to 15k margin. The 520d for sale for 42k here has 10k built in. These dealers are full of it.

BTW we order our cars from Germany, why do people think they come from UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,731 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

conlonbmw wrote: »
    BTW we order our cars from Germany, why do people think they come from UK?

Cos they come in from the UK?

Are you claiming you work for Conlons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

R.O.R wrote: »
    Cos they come in from the UK?

Are you claiming you work for Conlons?

Yeah thats what I want to know !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

As far as i've been aware any BMW thats ordered here comes in thru the UK...

Is there something im missing??:confused:

All BMW's are manufactured in different countries, so it's incorrect to say they all come from Germany. The X5 and Z4 are manufactured in the USA, the X3 and MINI Crossman will be manufactured in Austria, the MINI in the UK, etc. They are distributed to Dealers in Ireland and the UK through a UK vehicle distribution depot.

Brewster wrote: »
    Well that just about sums the whole situation up....

No it doesn't! Motor Dealers (or any other industry for that matter) cannot afford to lie down and hope all this will pass soon, because it wont. No matter whar Frank Keane or any other dealer are making on importing stock from the UK if they can pass some of this on to potential customers at least they are being pro-active about it. I'm sick to the teeth of watching / listening to doom and gloom every day of the week. We have talked ourselves into a recession with all this negativity. Fair balls to any company that try and climb their way out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭conlonbmw

No it doesn't! Motor Dealers (or any other industry for that matter) cannot afford to lie down and hope all this will pass soon, because it wont. No matter whar Frank Keane or any other dealer are making on importing stock from the UK if they can pass some of this on to potential customers at least they are being pro-active about it. I'm sick to the teeth of watching / listening to doom and gloom every day of the week. We have talked ourselves into a recession with all this negativity. Fair balls to any company that try and climb their way out!

You cannot talk yourself into recession.

Virtually 70% of all dealers will go bankrupt this year.

They have millions worth of overvalued assets, similar to the banks.

There is no way out for now.