Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting a "D" reg for imported car

• 10-03-2009 10:29AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

Just wondering if you can get "D" number plates for a car even if you don't reg it in dublin (Mayo)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭artielange

use a friends dublin address as when registering it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Unless you know someone living in Dublin that could register it for you. Other than that AFAIK, no, no you can't.

Edit: Jinx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Use a friends address in Dublin and then fill out then change of address section at a later date when you have all the documents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,488 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Use a friends address in Dublin and then fill out then change of address section at a later date when you have all the documents.

Downside is that you add an extra owner to the car.

On a side note don't the VRO use your PPSN address?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

bazz26 wrote: »
    Downside is that you add an extra owner to the car.

Don't think so. I've had 3 addresses on my VLC, new cert each time, same number of owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭positron

You need proof of address to register where ever.

Once you have paid the VRT, you can go online to motortax.ie to pay the tax, and you can change the address to whatever you want there, before you pay the tax. Just the address though, you can't change the name of the owner there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I shouldn't think so - you can change the address without changing the owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Why do you want a D reg?
    I remember hearing people doing this before as they thought it would improve the resale value - is taht it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Usually, especially if its something high end. Its retarded but apparently true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Damomayo

deadwood wrote: »
    Why do you want a D reg?
    I remember hearing people doing this before as they thought it would improve the resale value - is taht it?

Yeah .... easier to sell a "D" reg in different counties rather than "MO" also might be seen as being on better roads than a rural plate and less likely to have had a hitch ........ even if it only influences 20% of ppl its worth it.
    BTW tks for responses

There's entirely the opposite too though. One might think a D reg has spent its whole life stuck in gridlock traffic rather than open roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

Stephen wrote: »
    There's entirely the opposite too though. One might think a D reg has spent its whole life stuck in gridlock traffic rather than open roads.
    Open roads in Mayo? Only open roads up there are the bog roads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,412 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Bogger77 wrote: »
    Open roads in Mayo? Only open roads up there are the bog roads!!

I'd take a car that was driven down the Swinford/Charlestown bypasses daily over one that did the M50.... but thats not a standard driving pattern there I'd guess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Yeah, I think this D reg thing is a myth. If it's not, I'd say it's more like 1% of people, not 20. Seriously, if 2 cars for sale there's plenty of other things to influence you before the reg plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

There is a certain level of snobbery out there. My sister even said it to me when I was buying a car in Cork, she wondered why I would want to be seen driving in a car from Cork? I laughed at her for a while and then informed her that actually it was a D reg anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

I would think twice about a d reg or would at least want to know how long it was in dublin because of the reason mentioned earlier i.e. car stuck in traffic - clutch near burnt out etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Quint wrote: »
    Yeah, I think this D reg thing is a myth. If it's not, I'd say it's more like 1% of people, not 20. Seriously, if 2 cars for sale there's plenty of other things to influence you before the reg plate.

Its very much true, especially for high end stuff.

>>> http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=site%3Acarzone.ie+D+reg&sourceid=navclient-ff&ie=UTF-8&rlz=1B3GGGL_enIE234IE234

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Look for a car from Leitrim... sure they don't even have roads there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,754 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

no it's not, got an offer for my car as trade-in last week, and was asked what reg. When told it was 06 G, not 06 D, got offered -Eur700.......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,754 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

axer wrote: »
    I would think twice about a d reg or would at least want to know how long it was in dublin because of the reason mentioned earlier i.e. car stuck in traffic - clutch near burnt out etc.

or, that it's really been owned and used by some cute hoor from Mayo, and the D thing is a ploy......:p :p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I doubt it's a myth. I do think it's stupid, but I do have to admit - if I was buying a car from somewhere like Donegal where they have a reputation (rightly or wrongly) of hockeying a car around, at the back of my mind, I might think of making doubly sure the car gets a more thorough inspection.

Maybe some of the guys in the trade can say if the reg makes that much of a difference?

Chet T16 wrote: »
    Jasus, they advertise it like it's an extra! But as said before, the car might have 30k miles, but double the time on the roads as a normal 30k mile car.
    galwaytt wrote: »
    no it's not, got an offer for my car as trade-in last week, and was asked what reg. When told it was 06 G, not 06 D, got offered -Eur700.......
    :eek: There's the evidence, but maybe the dealer was just looking for an excuse to get €700 out of you? I can't say it would make a difference to me if I was buying a car. I'd try and avoid a D reg in fact, my mates would take the p!ss for being a scumbag if I had one:D
    eoin wrote: »
    I doubt it's a myth. I do think it's stupid, but I do have to admit - if I was buying a car from somewhere like Donegal where they have a reputation (rightly or wrongly) of hockeying a car around, at the back of my mind, I might think of making doubly sure the car gets a more thorough inspection.

Maybe some of the guys in the trade can say if the reg makes that much of a difference?
    I think that's more to do with the driver than the county. A 25 year old driver will hockey around more than a 50 year old no matter where they're from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Country reg makes me think of potholes, loose chippings, scrapes from hedges, the odd spray of silage and a chance it was used to transport livestock.

I'll stick with my D regs.

Potholes and loose chippings don't exist in Dublin now?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

When I brought in my current car from the UK- I reg'ed it at my parents address in Galway, instead of my own in Dublin. I drive with work a bit, and know from experience that other drivers on the road are more courteous towards non-D reg drivers.

When buying a car- I'd actively avoid a D reg from previous experience. I don't like the preponderance of burnt-out clutches......

smccarrick wrote: »

When buying a car- I'd actively avoid a D reg from previous experience. I don't like the preponderance of burnt-out clutches......

That's what automatics are for ;)

Lol, don't get me started......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

All things being equal I think D reg will sell for more money. County reg system is probably a stupid one as may make imports even more attractive (can reg as D) although price advantage of imports obviously trumps the reg plate.

Let's leave the D regs aside for a minute, I see a greater problem with
    people from outside the capital selling a local registered car in a neighbouring county. Would a Kerry person buy a Cork reg? Would a
    Waterford person drive a Kilkenny reg? I think it's a bigger issue
    amongst and between rural counties, probably down to inter-parish and
    inter-county rivalry and I'd say founded in GAA and RTE reality TV rivalries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Damomayo

Let's leave the D regs aside for a minute, I see a greater problem with
    people from outside the capital selling a local registered car in a neighbouring county. Would a Kerry person buy a Cork reg? Would a
    Waterford person drive a Kilkenny reg? I think it's a bigger issue
    amongst and between rural counties, probably down to inter-parish and
    inter-county rivalry and I'd say founded in GAA and RTE reality TV rivalries.

That was more or less the side i was coming from ........ even though we all HATE Dubs (lol) ........... the plates still seem to sell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Country reg makes me think of potholes, loose chippings, scrapes from hedges, the odd spray of silage and a chance it was used to transport livestock.

What a load of rubbish! Do you even know what silage is?
    I'll stick with my eyes thanks!! I look at a car and the condition of it rather than looking at the reg and assuming!
    To the OP - you have to register your car to whatever address your social security number has you registered to. I know this for a fact, as I asked when reg'ing my car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭badabinbadaboom

But you can't tell from the reg wether its a country car or not:confused:

I hate driving around in a KE reg car because some people think it a kerry car and that Im a kerry man.

KE does not stand for kerry lads, feckin hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Foreign reg plates in Dublin like 'KE' just make me want to overtake the person.

It's the same with Dublin plates in "de country". Dubs aren't use to getting up to the dizzy heights of 3rd gear!

All the slagging aside, if anyone was buying a 10 grand car, would you pay another €700 for a d reg? I'd happily take the cheap country reg. Unless it was "MN", who wants a Monaghan reg?:D

I'd happily take the cheap country reg. Unless it was "MN", who wants a Monaghan reg?:D

Ye gods- I thought they were all on NI plates in Monaghan :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

It's the same with Dublin plates in "de country". Dubs aren't use to getting up to the dizzy heights of 3rd gear!

What? That's lie. D reg's make me slow down:P:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 vf949

As well as a better chance of the clutch being burnt out there is another issue with D reg cars.

Lets say there are two cars with the same mileage, one with a D reg and one with a reg from another county. The one with the D reg will have a lot more engine hours on it and more engine wear than the other as although the D reg has not been clocking up miles too quickly in the traffic of Dublin it will certainly have been clocked up far more engine hours.

Tractors, construction equipment, etc. use is all measured by an engine hourmeter and does not have a mileage clock because the engine use is such an important issue.

Just thought I'd add that as no one alse has mentioned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,432 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Biro wrote: »
    To the OP - you have to register your car to whatever address your social security number has you registered to. I know this for a fact, as I asked when reg'ing my car.

Not in my experience. I gave my sister's address when getting my UK import registered last Feb.

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    Not in my experience. I gave my sister's address when getting my UK import registered last Feb.

Ring them and ask them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,488 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Bring back the day when you bought a car for what it was not what letter it had on the reg plate. I'm more concerned about the car rather than a seriel number on the front and rear bumpers.

But if people want to believe this reg plate nonsense and are willing to pay more for it then work away. Similar shallowness by people wanting a certain postal code address on their property to increase it's value and impress their friends. The old saying " a fool and his money soon part" comes to mind. :pac:

It really does somehow prove why this country is in the current state it finds itself.

I regg'ed mine at my parents current address. I've never ever lived there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

McSpud wrote: »
    County reg system is probably a stupid one as may make imports even more attractive (can reg as D) although price advantage of imports obviously trumps the reg plate.

I think it's a perfectly fine system. If you're going to knock it at least post your proposal for something better

mikemac wrote: »
    I think it's a perfectly fine system. If you're going to knock it at least post your proposal for something better

A country wide registration system implemented purely on the basis of chronological order. How difficult can it be- we're such a small little country.......?

bazz26 wrote: »
    Bring back the day when you bought a car for what it was not what letter it had on the reg plate. I'm more concerned about the car rather than a seriel number on the front and rear bumpers.

But if people want to believe this reg plate nonsense and are willing to pay more for it then work away. Similar shallowness by people wanting a certain postal code address on their property to increase it's value and impress their friends. The old saying " a fool and his money soon part" comes to mind. :pac:

It really does somehow prove why this country is in the current state it finds itself.

Well said.