Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your favourite bike store

• 01-04-2009 11:19AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭

Was reading a thread yesterday that was not too complementry abouy a certain bike store on the quayes in Dublin... I'm sure you all know the one!

Thought it might be an idea to hear your good stories about your favourate bike shops. Always good to know a good store if you get stuck out and about.

Personally just bought a bike from Cycleways and must say the service was class. Really friendly & seemd to know their stuff!

Also had some work done on one of my old bikes & was relly happy with the work. Didnt try to sell me the most expencive parts & did the work there & then!

Anyway, what's your favourate bike store?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Bought a bike in Cycleways, and hated their attitude, but will buy bits and bobs from them. I find that some of the guys aren't that knowledgeable, but if you know what you want, you can just pick it up and be done with it -quite pricey though.

Cyclesuperstore are grand, they get quite busy so you don't always get served quickly, and there are some gaps in knowledge I've found, but a good selection, and pricing isn't bad actually -a good place for a browse (have also bought a bike from them)

Joe Dalys -can't fault them really, get some servicing done in there, and it's top notch -nice guys, very knowledgeable.

Cyclelogical -bought 2 bikes from them, and used them for service -not had a problem at all, the guys in there know their stuff, and I get decent discounts, so I'll not complain (prolly the only one not to!)

Thinkbike -sound lads, not had a problem, but not purchased anything as they didn't have what I've need in stock. ever! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

My favourite is Cyclelogical :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Joe Daly's is the shop I use most, good service and they know their stuff.

ThinkBike (formerly Commuting Solutions) are good.

Cycleways are a bit expensive but occasionally have a good sale. Staff are maybe a bit mixed, some young guys who push stuff but maybe not that knowledgable. All friendly though. Wouldn't tend to bother with them unless it was their yearly sale, they are generally overpriced.

Cycle Superstore have good prices and good offers from time to time and I have found them to have good service and friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Worldwidecycles: Never set foot in the shop, but...

Doing the Sean Kelly last year my rear tyre blew out (brakes were badly setup on the bike I had just bought from a certain bikeshop, that doesn't excuse me not checking them myself though!) and as myself and 72hundred were at the side of the road realising my day might be over before it had begun, up pulls Ray (I think it was Ray) in his worldwidecycles van, comes running over with a spare tyre and a track pump, tells me not to worry as he grabs the wheel off me, fits a new tyre and the tube in seconds, pumps it up and fits it back onto my bike.

Paid them a week or so later, €35 for a Vittoria Open Corsa Evo plus the fitting. The speed at which he did it was amazing too. Saw the two lads in their vans for the entire day, helping people with various mechanicals, punctures, etc. I'm sure they don't do it for free, plus they sell a few bits of kit, but they take an entire day and devote it to helping out without any fuss or complaint.

I have told myself that next time I make a big purchase, I'm going to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

Cyclesuperstore - for bits and bobs and for service. If its a small job and you go early in the morning or late in the evening .. they do it then and there which I like. Labour rates are a bit on the higher side, but then I only use them for stuff I don't have the courage to try myself ... such as truing wheels .. so can't really complain.

Joe Daly - I've only ever bought 1 pair of pedals from them .. but they changed it then and there in the shop and let me borrow tools to change my cleats. The thing I don't like is they take atleast a day to fix stuff ... which doesn't help me as I'm on only 1 bike :o. This might not be a problem for people who own 2,3,4,5 bikes ..

Hate Wheelworx - they have promised me 3 times to call me later in the day with quotes for parts they didn't have when I was in the shop .... but they never did

Haven't really tried any other shop so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Online - Chainreaction Cycles

Cycleways - not bad, friendly staff sometimes patchy workmanship

MacDonalds - grand

Thinkbike - good, friendly advice.

Quay Cycles (Drogheda) - very good, lots of good advice, very helpful

Halfords (seriously) - ok - cheap consumables, sometimes good advice, generally satisfactory customer service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

DirkVoodoo wrote: »

Their blog is pretty good as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Wheelworx would be my favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭stuf

Bought my bike in cycle superstore and have always had friendly and useful service from them. They also recognise you and acknowledge you when you talk to them.

ThinkBike is my fave local one - they've sorted me out with bits and bobs which involved splitting packs up and they've ordered things in too. Always helpful and knowledgeable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Doing the Sean Kelly last year my rear tyre blew out (brakes were badly setup on the bike ....
    I have told myself that next time I make a big purchase, I'm going to them.

Bought my Dolan there. Love the bike. Guys in the shop have a great can-do approach to business. While they are cycling nuts they run the shop as well as any business that I have ever seen. Good service before AND AFTER i bought the bike.
    (and my job is to analyse businesses).

I buy stuff in Cyclesuperstore. I like it. Their prices are very good in my opinion for consumables. Most of the tyres, tubes, brake blocks that I have got there were the same price if not cheaper than wiggle. Only time I use wiggle is if I cannot get it cheaper than superstore.

Bought Assos Winter gear there last October (Winter jacket (851airjack) and bib tights.
    I bought there because it was the best value that I could find on or offline. Have had bikes serviced there (pricey but good).
    Have also got base layers, leg warmers and shorts there at a good price.
    Agree with Tiny however can be busy. If you are going there go on a week night (Wed or Thur) or their website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭paddy's hill

Cycleways. Very good but a bit expensive. Have bought 4 bikes there in past.

Slane Cycles in Andersonstown, Belfast. Just bought new bike there, great service, very helpful and friendly plus a great price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,415 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Cyclelogical. (But I'm not getting into defending the indefensible on the other thread :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

I find Cycleways good to deal with. They're always friendly to me, I only ever had one problem and it was when I was trying to get a buckle fixed. They didn't finish it in the end but they had replaced some spokes and they didn't charge for them.

I ended up bringing the bike to Cyclesuperstore who I find to be excellent.

I go to Humphries Cycles every now and again and they're good to deal with also.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Ritchies in Swords and Quay cycles Drogheda. Both excellent and experienced staff.
    Never been to Wheelworx but know one of the mechanics there and he's excellent as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭NTC

NigelsCycles in Galway

Been in and out a few times, to have little things done to the bike. Nigel is friendly and helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

I use Humpheries usually for servicing and they are excelent never had too much problem with Cycleogical there great for getting parts and always give me a discount, Duff cycles for tubes and that if i am not going the city centre staff are always nice and helpfull plus have no problem giving advice have even being shown some servicing tips on occasion which is a bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Tony O Mahony's in Dungarvan , bought my bike there , excellent deal and great after sales service too . Got me out of a few scrapes , always willing to get you out of a spot no matter how busy . Even though I live in Waterford city which has 2 bike shops , I am quite willing to travel the 25 miles or so for what I consider the better service .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

An Siopa Rothar in Limerick City - Small, family run shop with small stock but huge history in the business and absolutely the best service and can do attitude anywhere bar none.

And they treat the man buying his child a wee bike with stabilisers for christmas the same as the cyclist dropping 4G on a carbon racer.

CheGuedara wrote: »
    An Siopa Rothar in Limerick City - Small, family run shop with small stock but huge history in the business and absolutely the best service and can do attitude anywhere bar none.

And they treat the man buying his child a wee bike with stabilisers for christmas the same as the cyclist dropping 4G on a carbon racer.

If I was buying a 4g racer, I'd expect better treatment than someone getting a kiddies bike :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭fenris

The Bike Rack - really helpful, not afraid to tell you that you are being silly and to point out something that will do the job for half the price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Dibble

I bought my last two bikes (Giant hybrid, Giant mountainbike) and a couple of bikes for the kids from Hollingsworth in Kilmacud. Great people to deal with :).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

peterk19 wrote: »
    I use Humpheries usually for servicing and they are excelent

Went to Jimmy the Hump's about 20 years ago to get arm warmers. He just said "bit late in the season to be looking for them" them walked off. Haven't been back since.
    Good wheel builder though

Raam wrote: »
    If I was buying a 4g racer, I'd expect better treatment than someone getting a kiddies bike :)

Yeah so would I!:D

but what I mean is that you don't have to walk in there with the intention of droping 4Gs on the counter to get treated like a worthwhile customer (not like some Dublin shops)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭coolaboola

I like Wolfe's on Sundrive Road (my local)

Young man, are you SURE I can't fit some stabilizers to that bike?

For the last time NO! It's A Cervelo! and I'm 30!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Bruce11

Humphries

Top class, good advice and Derek will tell you straight whether you need it or not. Not being a salesman like some shops where they tell you "that unless you get this you won't be able to race" Some good selection of gear from cheap to expensive. Jimmy is still there too. And they are making most of the fixies that the other shops are selling.

Nigels in Galway

Some amount of gear and money in stock there, was well impressed and has the racing background. Spend time down in Galway from time to time and was sent there from another bike shop as they say he specialises more than them.

Cyclesuperstore

Some friends have found; most women; that they have some good salesmen in there. Great amount of product and they have the loyalty scheme.

Young man, are you SURE I can't fit some stabilizers to that bike?

For the last time NO! It's A Cervelo! and I'm 30!

And definitely NO rear carrier, or pannier mounts or flat bars with wing mirrors!!

*shudders at the thought*

Bruce11 wrote: »
    Some friends have found; most women; that they have some good salesmen in there.

Hmmm...sounds dodgy.

"I'm here to service your bike Ma'am, and by service your bike I mean....ahem"

Ok, I'm all done with the quotations today, sorry. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,247 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Except that the man that buys the kiddies bike may be in next week to buy a €4k racer. It is not unknown for people with children to spend inappropriate and selfish amounts of money on bikes.

It's not good business to be dismissive of anybody - there is no need, other than perhaps to establish your superiority over the customer to counteract your sense of disappointment at missing the pro tour contract and ending up a shop assistant.

Good salespeople (e.g. some Porsche dealers I've spoken with about this) know that the scruffy skanger who just walked in might just be Bono.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Cycleways- mostly find the staff helpful, but kit is rather overpriced. Bought bits and bobs there when I used to work up that end of town.

Worldwide Cycles - have never used them, but follow Barry Meehan's blog too. They have a policy that if you find the same bike cheaper in the UK they'll match the price and give an additional 5% discount. If I were in the market for a new bike that they stocked, I'd certainly try them.

Square Wheel- not a shop, but a bicycle repair grotto cum vortex. Surprised it didn't feature in 'Once', they should open it up to tourists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

lukester wrote: »

Square Wheel- not a shop, but a bicycle repair grotto cum vortex. Surprised it didn't feature in 'Once', they should open it up to tourists.

Actually i forgot to mention these its were i go if i something happens on the way to work the guy in there is sound

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Lumen wrote: »
    It is not unknown for people with children to spend inappropriate and selfish amounts of money on bikes.

Keeping on telling yourself that.

Lumen wrote: »
    It is not unknown for people with children to spend inappropriate and selfish amounts of money on bikes.

Good salespeople (e.g. some Porsche dealers I've spoken with about this) know that the scruffy skanger who just walked in might just be Bono.

Or Rapha jerseys. Anyway, how many Porches does Bono actually need?

el tonto wrote: »
    Keeping on telling yourself that.

Hey, my kids are much more economical to feed since I sold their pituitary glands to pay for bike components. And they don't grow out of clothes so fast.

It's a win-win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭BH2008

Gotta go with cyclelogical too, always found the staff to be pleasant....but then again I've never asked for a pump :eek:, IMO they have a good selection of high end gear,offer decent advice and carry out good servicing, bit poor on the clothing side of things though. Cycle superstore is also pretty good...great for a browse!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 justinferris

chainreactioncycles are the cheapest and are good for advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Wheelworx and Square Wheel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

CRC, Wiggle and Square Wheel for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭lazy-biker

i deal with hollingsworth in templeogue i have gotten every bike off him

cyclesurgury as he is just handy

cyclesupertore for parts ONLY {as they broke my xtr brakes and tried to say the bike came in like that}

never go to cycleways or cyclelogical as they are to far and usually dearer than above

and the cycle inn for all them little parts

I've generally found Cycleways to be decent enough if occasionally stressful. Even when they were being really helpful (sticking a new cog on my fixie for €10) I felt under pressure as there was a proper customer wating for his bike to be finished. The foreign mechanic was a bit handy though.

CSS is a nice big space for browsing; lots of stock, decent changing rooms and I never feel rushed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭SetOverSet

Mostly purchase online - CRC, Wiggle, et. al. but...

Cycleways - more than a bit pricey, but I've always found them knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with.

Worldwide Cycles - I've never actually used these guys, but follow Barry's blog and I'm really impressed with their policy re complete bikes, that if you find it cheaper anywhere in Ireland or the UK, they'll match plus knock an extra 5% off. Nice to see a shop actually doing something proactive, rather than just bitching about losing sales to UK, NI, etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Pinarello

+1 for Tony O'mahony.I have been going to him for the past 11 years sice i moved to Waterford from Drogheda.He has got me out of more bother than i could mention.Especially the day before a race.Also Worldwide cycles is an excellent shop.Two of the nicest blokes you could ever meet run it and great service there also...;)
    Deisetrek wrote: »
    Tony O Mahony's in Dungarvan , bought my bike there , excellent deal and great after sales service too . Got me out of a few scrapes , always willing to get you out of a spot no matter how busy . Even though I live in Waterford city which has 2 bike shops , I am quite willing to travel the 25 miles or so for what I consider the better service .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Another mention for Nigel's in Galway if anyone needs a bricks and mortar shop in the area. Good stock and very helpful service. I always go out of my way to pick up any bits and pieces I buy locally there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Nigel gets a + from me
    Also Eamon MarreyBikes in Ballinrobe.
    Both these Lads are always willing to help and advise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Dibble wrote: »
    I bought my last two bikes (Giant hybrid, Giant mountainbike) and a couple of bikes for the kids from Hollingsworth in Kilmacud. Great people to deal with :).

That contrasts with my experience. I had a new frame. I asked would they build a bike. Reply "No". Turned his back.

I bought two bikes from Cycleways. For one simple service they took more than a week and 4 or 5 visits by me. Numerous promises but no result. One staff even went on holidays leaving the bike without passing on the work.

Cyclesuperstore are fine. I had a problem getting served once as one employee was more interested in chatting, so I left. On other visits other staff were very helpful. Good stock range. Worth visiting and spending money there.

Joe Daly's in Dundrum are very good. I have only been in for a service and a few small buys. They make you feel welcome.

I went into Cyclelogical to browse once. My mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Joe Dalys -can't fault them really, get some servicing done in there, and it's top notch -nice guys, very knowledgeable.
    blorg wrote: »
    Joe Daly's is the shop I use most, good service and they know their stuff.

ThinkBike (formerly Commuting Solutions) are good.
    Joe Daly - I've only ever bought 1 pair of pedals from them .. but they changed it then and there in the shop and let me borrow tools to change my cleats. The thing I don't like is they take atleast a day to fix stuff ... which doesn't help me as I'm on only 1 bike :o. This might not be a problem for people who own 2,3,4,5 bikes ..
    kincsem wrote: »
    Joe Daly's in Dundrum are very good. I have only been in for a service and a few small buys. They make you feel welcome.

I normally used Think Bike, but decided to try Joe Dalys after all the recommendations on this thread. My front derailleur was seized up (probably after leaving it in the shed caked with snow/ice).

Positives for JDs:

Cheaper (€30 for front derailleur, having paid €50 for rear derailleur in THink Bike last year)
    Dave is helpful and knows his stuff. He rang me to explain that chain and cogs were worn, but wasn't pushing me to replace them.
    Quality - rear derailleur was skipping cogs, but is working better now than it has done for months.

Negatives for JDs:
    Don't open until 9am, so I end up being late into work (again)
    Slow - Left it in on Thurs am, and got the impression that they didn't do anything with it until I rang them by arrangement on Sat pm
    Joe the elder can be moody. Sometimes he is very courtous and pleasant, but sometimes I get the impression that he is just a bit tired of all this mullarkey.

JD missed an opportunity to put in automatic or power-assisted doors in their new shop. The additional cost would have been minimal for a project of that size, and the benefit to the many customers bringing bikes in/out would be huge.

I'll go back to JDs next time I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭stuf

Cheaper (€30 for front derailleur, having paid €50 for rear derailleur in THink Bike last year)

might as well compare apples with elephants as a front derailleur is a less complex piece of equipment with fewer moving parts, like for like is going to be cheaper

JD missed an opportunity to put in automatic or power-assisted doors in their new shop. The additional cost would have been minimal for a project of that size, and the benefit to the many customers bringing bikes in/out would be huge.

Woh! You're not half fussy are ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

Woh! You're not half fussy are ya?

Well he is a serial complainer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

kincsem wrote: »
    That contrasts with my experience. I had a new frame. I asked would they build a bike. Reply "No". Turned his back.
    I used to use Hollingsworth Kilmacud myself as they were on my way from work to home. Had spent a lot in there, bought more than one bike... Had a very similar experience to what you described and never went back.