Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you wanted to convert an atheist who wanted to believe....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭angelfalling

They managed to do that for about 6 or 7 posts (not for pages). Then they reverted to type and started insulting Christians and Christianity.

Really? I don't believe I've gone out of my way to insult Christians or Christianity.
    We're talking about logic and reason, and this girl wants to convert an atheist who is an atheist based on logic and reason to Christianity with, erm, logic and reason. This sounds like an impossible task, and clearly it must be, as I don't see too many Christians stepping up to the bat to lay out a logical and rational explanation for belief in Christianity.

Curiously, I haven't heard you explain to me why my reasoning that I listed to you was not rational or logical for disbelieving in a God. Since you say no one has such a reasoning. It definitely seems easier to skip the parts of a post that are hard for you to confront.
    I suggest you go and visit these communities and see these evil manipulative religious folk. They live in Gold castles too.
    I wouldn't jump in on this one too fast. While there are definitely a lot of missionaries traveling the world (some are friends of mine) who have the interest of the people at heart, there are plenty who don't. My partner was in Ethiopia a few years ago and the Christian Brothers might as well have been living in gold castles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

ned78 wrote: »
    I know, but there's no pill to fix everything, so why not fix one thing at a time? Overpopulation leads to food shortages, people's natural desire to have sex will consequently cause overpopulation. By using condoms, you can quickly and very effectively whittle down over population over a generation, and through the use of contraception and sexual education, slow the spread of life threatening illnesses.

This is a completely different topic. Besides, you oversimplify the problem. There are many factors that determine birth rate, I would suggest that wealth/ poverty, not the availability of condoms, is chief amongst these. Please take it to another thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

PDN wrote: »
    You don't know what goes on in my head or anything about my motives, and you have no evidence to lead to such a conclusion, but you have chosen to make a judgment about me based on reasons other than logic or rationality

No evidence what so ever except for your numerous posts. Where I get these ideas about you I've no idea ... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

I know, but there's no pill to fix everything, so why not fix one thing at a time? Overpopulation leads to food shortages, people's natural desire to have sex will consequently cause overpopulation. By using condoms, you can quickly and very effectively whittle down over population over a generation, and through the use of contraception and sexual education, slow the spread of life threatening illnesses.

Ok, I'm not going to get into the condom debate. I think there's a thread elsewhere about this. I think I've been clear on why I took exception to your post below:

'I have a major issue with what they're doing. It's called exploitation. Yes you can have some plumpynut, but in return, we're going to sit you down and teach you all about Jesus and God.

If they were truly benevolant, they would due it for their love for fellow-man. Not the potential to convert non-believers.'

So, your original was nothing to do with condoms in Africa, but rather your assumption that its a trade off of 'Have some plumpy-nut, on the condition you become a christian'.

Maybe the vatican bean counters have an alterior motive, I don't know. One things for certain though, I am in no position to fire shots at the people on the ground doing such wonderful work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 frizzle-frazzle

I personally don't see how you could convince them. It's up to them really, whether they believe of they don't.

For example, take the 7 plagues of Egypt. There are perfectly scientific reasons as to why they took place, but there's no proof that it wasn't a god. It's up to you whether you're willing to believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

JimiTime wrote: »
    Ok, I'm not going to get into the condom debate. I think there's a thread elsewhere about this. I think I've been clear on why I took exception to your post below:

'I have a major issue with what they're doing. It's called exploitation. Yes you can have some plumpynut, but in return, we're going to sit you down and teach you all about Jesus and God.

If they were truly benevolant, they would due it for their love for fellow-man. Not the potential to convert non-believers.'

So, your original was nothing to do with condoms in Africa, but rather your assumption that its a trade off of 'Have some plumpy-nut, on the condition you become a christian'.

Maybe the vatican bean counters have an alterior motive, I don't know. One things for certain though, I am in no position to fire shots at the people on the ground doing such wonderful work.

Damn straight, but it's all to easy for ned 78 and the like to criticise and knock from afar, up there on their high horse, where everything else is "beneath" them.

Folks, lets try to avoid any personal comments and stay on topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Biro wrote: »
    Damn straight, but it's all to easy for ned 78 and the like to criticise and knock from afar, up there on their high horse, where everything else is "beneath" them.

Well, because we don't believe in Gods, or the human interpretation of what's supposedly a divine message which results in the bizarre attitude to sex that the CC has, we can make criticisms like the ones voiced in this thread. Let me also remind you, the atrocities CC's high horse resulted in, crusades, the dark ages, torture of the templars to name but a few. I won't even go into the nonsense that happened in Ireland's schools and convents. It's only in very very recent times that the CC has changed from being the punitive leader in our society, to being humble, receptive to feedback/input and trying to be benign. As it was said in this thread earlier - remove the plank from your own eye, before tending to other's splinters.

Back to the OP's question (And sincere apologies for being one of the people dragging this thread OT), Athiests don't go around converting people to our way of thinking, why should you do any different? Any steadfast athiest will generally not engage in thought of a religious background - I'm not sure how other Athiests feel about this, but without trying to be insulting, I just feel religion is a bit old worldy and that's why I'm personally not receptive to it.

And just to further clarify, I've no issue with anyone being Catholic, and yes the CC does some good works, but I don't think trying to convert people should be one of them. Live and let live.

Back to the OP's question (And sincere apologies for being one of the people dragging this thread OT), Athiests don't go around converting people to our way of thinking, why should you do any different? Any steadfast athiest will generally not engage in thought of a religious background - I'm not sure how other Athiests feel about this, but without trying to be insulting, I just feel religion is a bit old worldy and that's why I'm personally not receptive to it.

And just to further clarify, I've no issue with anyone being Catholic, and yes the CC does some good works, but I don't think trying to convert people should be one of them. Live and let live.

Judging by OP's declaration of atheism elsewhere, I gather she is looking for people to try and persuade her, rather than her trying to convert anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Well, because we don't believe in Gods, or the human interpretation of what's supposedly a divine message which results in the bizarre attitude to sex that the CC has, we can make criticisms like the ones voiced in this thread. Let me also remind you, the atrocities CC's high horse resulted in, crusades, the dark ages, torture of the templars to name but a few. I won't even go into the nonsense that happened in Ireland's schools and convents. It's only in very very recent times that the CC has changed from being the punitive leader in our society, to being humble, receptive to feedback/input and trying to be benign. As it was said in this thread earlier - remove the plank from your own eye, before tending to other's splinters.

I really can't even begin to respond to this drivel that's saturated in hypocrisy.

Take a deep breath, Biro. If you have specific criticisms please make them. Generalities only serve to stir the ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Bduffman

I've encountered the following reasons:
    a) "My parents brought me up as an atheist".
    b) "Because the Catholic Church burnt Copernicus at the stake."
    c) "god is stupid, it is a good reason. i don't think not believing in god requires any explanation, it pretty bleeding obvious. you're an atheist aren't you, don't you think god is stupid. that believing in god is stupid, i thinks its perfectly good 3 word answer."
    d) "Because the KGB would have pulled my fingernails out one by one unless I became an atheist."
    e) "Because my great-grandmother died when I was a child."
    f) "Because I want to shag who I want, when I want, and religion gets in the way of that."

Ha Ha - what kind of thick atheists do you hang around with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭kelly1

Otaku Girl wrote: »
    ....what argument/stategy would you use?Bearing in mind the said atheist is atheist soley due to logical reasons not because God did'nt get her/him a pony nor to sound pretentious or pseudo intellectual.
    Hello Otaku Girl,

I've given up arguing with atheists. I really believe the only thing that can convert someone to belief is the light of God's grace. Sure we can put people straight about misconceptions about theology and doctrine but at the end of the day only God can move someone's heart.

Atheists, IMO, put too much faith in science. I won't for a second deny that science has made great strides in discovering the "how's" of the universe but it's incompetent when it comes to the "why's" which is the domain of philosophy and especially religion.

There's a certain ostrich-like attitude when it comes to answering questions around matters such as the origin of the universe, why we are here, what's the purpose of life, where do the faculties of reason and self-consciousness originate, why is love so vital to us, why do we have a conscience etc. I really think atheist brush away the "why" questions too readily.

Atheists tell us that we are nothing more than advanced machines and therefore we have no free-will and therefore there is no objective good and evil. What a load of hogwash! If we really had no free will and were driven along deterministically why are the majority of us so shocked by evil? Why do we love the good?

Evolution is about the survival of the fittest and yet time and time again we humans break this mode of operation and perform self-sacrificing acts for those we love and even strangers. We do things out of LOVE! Where does this love come from? Is it nothing more than a chemical reaction? No way! Without love we die and with love we flourish. Seems to me that love is what it's all about at the end of the day. Strange for machines really.

I welcome questions from atheists who are genuiely trying to understand belief in God and Christianity and we Christians should be ready to answer their questions. Again and again I heard people saying that Christianity wasn't appealing because it didn't seem to answer their questions. I was in that boat once and I looked elsewhere. I don't think it's good enough just to say I don't know or worse to make up an answer. Let's take Sts. Peter and Paul as examples.

Years ago people believe things they were told far more readily that we do today and we're more rebellious. Today we need an encyclopedic knowledge of scripture and theology to refute false arguments. We need to be ready when people say thing like "OK, but who created God?" etc.

I hard to know what arguments to use but I can only suggest evidence of God's "finger-prints" e.g.

- Miracles
    - Cause of the big-bang
    - Private revelations of the Saints
    - Christ's Resurrection
    - The apparent design in DNA
    - The beauty of nature
    - The existence of love and our moral conscience
    - The fact that the (diminishing) majority of us believe in a Supreme Being.
    - The extreme evil we see in the world suggests (to me anyway) that there is a demonic force driving people to commit evil which points to an opposite which is God.
    - The origin of consciousness/reason/will/intelligence/creativity.
    - So many huge question remaining impenetrable to science.

God bless,
    Noel.

P.S. very sad that yet another thread has descended into a slagging match. One of the reasons I rarely post on this forum these days. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭MatthewVII

I don't think I've mocked anyone or made any 'shameless digs'

What you said about atheist reasons for atheism was pretty low. I would have expected it from any of the regular christian posters (and been slightly incensed) but I was very surprised to hear it from a moderator. Quite frankly it didn't have a very moderating influence, overgeneralising and misrepresenting the beliefs of atheism and completely missing the point. I suggest a more even-handed approach in future.

MatthewVII wrote: »
    What you said about atheist reasons for atheism was pretty low.

Did he say atheists weren't logical? Did he say they were inferior beings? NO! He said he has not come across an atheist who was atheist on 'solely' logical grounds. He didn't say that their atheism was based on soley 'illogical' grounds. It was in response to the OP saying the atheist in question was atheist on 'Soley' logical grounds. Feck sake guys, get yer heads out of yer @rses will ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,980 ✭✭✭wolfsbane

Otaku Girl wrote: »
    ....what argument/stategy would you use?Bearing in mind the said atheist is atheist soley due to logical reasons not because God did'nt get her/him a pony nor to sound pretentious or pseudo intellectual.
    I would appeal to their consciences by reminding them that they are sinners, estranged from God. They know this in their deepest heart, but have suppressed it.

To that I would add the witness of creation to the Creator - the magnitude and glory of the universe and the complexity and glory of life.

Then I would get to the key point - I would bring them the good news that the God they have rebelled against now offers them a way back to Himself, having provided that by the atoning death of His Son, Jesus Christ. All who repent toward God and believe on His Son will be saved; all who do not will pay for their own sins for all eternity in hell.

Argument cannot convert a sinner, but it is used of God when He converts them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

MatthewVII: Set the ball rolling. What are your reasons for disbelieving in God?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

What you said about atheist reasons for atheism was pretty low. I would have expected it from any of the regular christian posters (and been slightly incensed) but I was very surprised to hear it from a moderator. Quite frankly it didn't have a very moderating influence, overgeneralising and misrepresenting the beliefs of atheism and completely missing the point. I suggest a more even-handed approach in future.
    It wasn't low at all.

An atheist asked me a direct question as to what other reasons, apart from rationality and logic, could cause someone to become an atheist. I posted several of the reasons I have heard from the lips of atheists (or, in one case, from the keyboard of an atheist).

How does an honest answer to a straight question equate to being pretty low? It's not my fault that all atheists aren't the intellectual powerhouses that you would like them to be.

You guys really take the biscuit for hypocrisy. You want to have great fun mocking the stupid things some Christians say and do in the Religious Humour thread (and there is no shortage of material for that thread given that both stupid Christians and stupid atheists exist in droves) and then you start acting like shocked maiden aunts because, in answer to a direct question, I report some of the stuff I have heard from atheists. You need to get over yourselves.

wolfsbane wrote: »
    I would appeal to their consciences by reminding them that they are sinners, estranged from God ... I would bring them the good news that the God they have rebelled against now offers them a way back to Himself ... All who repent toward God and believe on His Son will be saved; all who do not will pay for their own sins for all eternity in hell.

Cause that'll work.

People who are athiests are so, because they don't believe in this sort of dogma - and using it in an attempt to convert them is going to backfire each and every time. It's like bringing me to a wall that's painted blue, and trying to convince me it's red.

Even if someone is borderline, that type of debate is only going to frighten them further.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

overgeneralising and misrepresenting the beliefs of atheism and completely missing the point
    Something of a hazard in this forum, I'm afraid.

It seems that the only christians who ever understood the arguments of atheists properly, are, well, the ones who converted to atheism... but don't despair, there's hope for them all yet!
    JimiTime wrote: »
    He said he has not come across an atheist who was atheist on 'solely' logical grounds.
    Reminder:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59707631&postcount=5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

Cause that'll work.

People who are athiests are so, because they don't believe in this sort of dogma - and using it in an attempt to convert them is going to backfire each and every time. It's like bringing me to a wall that's painted blue, and trying to convince me it's red.

Even if someone is borderline, that type of debate is only going to frighten them further.

In many cases it does work. I have personally met hundreds of former atheists who have responded to that very message. In fact I'm one of them.

I stand corrected PDN, but I would hazard a guess that you're in the minority. It certainly wouldn't work on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

kelly1 wrote: »
    I hard to know what arguments to use but I can only suggest evidence of God's "finger-prints" e.g.

- Miracles
    - Cause of the big-bang
    - Private revelations of the Saints
    - Christ's Resurrection
    - The apparent design in DNA
    - The beauty of nature
    - The existence of love and our moral conscience
    - The fact that the (diminishing) majority of us believe in a Supreme Being.
    - The extreme evil we see in the world suggests (to me anyway) that there is a demonic force driving people to commit evil which points to an opposite which is God.
    - The origin of consciousness/reason/will/intelligence/creativity.
    - So many huge question remaining impenetrable to science.

But for the purposes of the question that Otaku Girl asked, none of these would provide any reason to a logical, rational Atheist as to believe in a God. Infact many would create more questions one would need answered.

On the grounds of evil, one would ask why does there have to be an evil? If (a) God was the creator, then he would have had to create evil, why would he do such a thing? If he created the heavens, the earth's etc. then he would have had to create evil and thus create all the bad suffering that people have to deal with on a daily basis.

On the reasoning of Miracles, these require a faith/blind belief that they happened and indeed WHERE the work of god. A logical thinking atheist would not believe in such a thing and this would be quite a very long shot to change their beliefs.

"The fact that the (diminishing) majority of us believe in a Supreme Being" is one of the worst reasons in the world to give to someone. It provides no logic or fact to back up the statement (that there is a supreme being) but also says you should be sheep like the rest of us.

Also 'Christ's resurrection' cannot really be used as an example, the 'evidence' supporting this generally comes form the bible which in itself was written only a few hundred years ago and was highly edited and modified. Any atheist would take it as a collection of stories and fables, not a literal accurate historical guide.

[i wont go on detailing possible answers to each and every one of them but for a Christian trying to 'turn' an Atheist, even a mild one, many of these would have no result. A Christian would need to think 'outside of the bible box', to do so. The bible really cannot be used in any logical argument attempt to turn an Atheist as it does not provide actual fats, proof or any substance to its claims.

If free-will was also mentioned then the question brought up by myself would be; If god has plans for when we die, if he guides us along our path of life and tells us what to do when we are in times of need, then would a believer in God actually have true free-will or free-thought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,980 ✭✭✭wolfsbane

Cause that'll work.

You miss my point. Sinners cannot be converted by argument, no matter how strong. They are both blinded by Satan and antagonistic to God. They will not believe.

Sinners are converted when God gives them a new nature/new heart, one that is not blinded by Satan nor antagonistic to God. They then gladly respond to God's command to repent and believe:
    Jeremiah 31:33 But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD: I will put My law in their minds, and write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people.

Ezekiel 36:26 I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; I will take the heart of stone out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. 27 I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will keep My judgments and do them.

John
    3:3 Jesus answered and said to him, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.”
    4 Nicodemus said to Him, “How can a man be born when he is old? Can he enter a second time into his mother’s womb and be born?”
    5 Jesus answered, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God. 6 That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. 7 Do not marvel that I said to you, ‘You must be born again.’ 8 The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear the sound of it, but cannot tell where it comes from and where it goes. So is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”

John 6:44 No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him; and I will raise him up at the last day. 45 It is written in the prophets, ‘And they shall all be taught by God.’[e]Therefore everyone who has heard and learned[f] from the Father comes to Me.

John 6:65 And He said, “Therefore I have said to you that no one can come to Me unless it has been granted to him by My Father.”

Acts 16:14 Now a certain woman named Lydia heard us. She was a seller of purple from the city of Thyatira, who worshiped God. The Lord opened her heart to heed the things spoken by Paul. 15 And when she and her household were baptized, she begged us, saying, “If you have judged me to be faithful to the Lord, come to my house and stay.” So she persuaded us.

kelly1 wrote: »
    Atheists tell us that we are nothing more than advanced machines and therefore we have no free-will and therefore there is no objective good and evil. What a load of hogwash!

- I haven't encountered any atheists claiming we have no free will, perhaps you could point me in their direction
    - Amusing that you claim to be the ones having free will when you're the ones worshiping an omnipotent deity who created you as you are, your circumstances, and knows your future.

As for good and bad things, well, that could possibly be ascribed to self-preservation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Bduffman

I would appeal to their consciences by reminding them that they are sinners, estranged from God. They know this in their deepest heart, but have suppressed it.

I know that atheists have been accused on this thread of being a bit touchy -but with statements like the above is it any wonder?
    Somehow, I think we would see quite a bit of touchiness from christians if we said that in their deepest hearts they know that christianity is all bullsh*t but have suppressed it.
    Why would anyone suppress something they 'know' to be true? And in the case of christianity, that would mean risking eternal damnation? Now that would be illogical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭angelfalling

kelly1

Just a few notes to your response.
    The whys-- what whys are these? Why are we here? I don't think there has to be a reason for being here. I don't think there has to be a reason for anything. A lot of cultures don't ask these questions because they don't have the luxury of lounging around asking "why". I suppose, for me, there are few things that science or understanding of the human psyche can't answer for me in regards to the "whys" of life.

I like the argument of intrinsic good and evil. These things are relative culture to culture-- because what is good and evil is dependent on how that society operates. In general, we get along with one another and work together, do good deeds, etc, because you can accomplish more things as a group than as an individual. If we went around pissing everyone off, raping and murdering and lying to people we would have more trouble getting them to cooperate to advance society.

I don't see anything non- survival of the fittest about self-sacrifice. For example, a mother who would risk her life for her child. Dogs can love. Other animals, such a monkeys, show acts of kindness and often times "doing good deeds" can advance an individual among that particular group. Survival of the fittest doesn't mean one person being really big and strong to beat out all the other people. Especially now for humans when we no longer operate on survival of the fittest (and for various reasons its hurtful to us, that is, support for people who continue to perpetuate recessive genes, for example)-- we have intelligence and can use advanced tools to "survive".

"OK, but who created God?" etc. -- I always find it interesting when this comes up. Because the Christian response is that "he always was", but when that's offered up to the question of where the universe came from its not good enough :D

Outside of things like revelations and miracles and that tingling in your stomach which are easily explained (and I don't exactly know how you prove Christ's resurrection outside of the bible) but hard to refute since they are personal-- the rest I find pretty solid assurance in science. This list used to be a lot longer and science has crossed a lot of those "god did it"'s off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

You miss my point. Sinners cannot be converted by argument, no matter how strong. They are both blinded by Satan and antagonistic to God. They will not believe.

Sinners are converted when God gives them a new nature/new heart, one that is not blinded by Satan nor antagonistic to God. They then gladly respond to God's command to repent and believe

The question an Atheist would ask when being told this is; if God was the creator then he would have created them AS a sinner, no? For sin to exist then God would have had to create it. So if God created them AS a sinner, then changing yourself to go against how god created you ... would that not be going against god's work?

If not, then why would god create us beings, inherit of Sin (through no fault of each individual person, but that of people thousands of years ago whom we have only a vague blood connection) and require us to change our ways just to please him? Does he not love us the way we are?

These comments of yours would do more to push many Atheists away from the notion of God and re-enforce close minded stereotypes. Which is not what either side in the OP's initial question would want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

I stand corrected PDN, but I would hazard a guess that you're in the minority. It certainly wouldn't work on me.
    I wouldn't be so quick to retract your statement.
    For one we don't know the circumstances surrounding PDN at the time of this enlightenment. While I've no doubt that such scripture assault may have facilitated his conversion. I suspect that other external factors where at play also (and I don't mean god :p ).

The facts simply aren't there. Its like me saying I had a mars bar because I saw an advert, but more likely I was hungry and then saw the advert. Which was the real reason I ate it ?

Perhaps it would work on you if the circumstances where right.

IThe facts simply aren't there. Its like me saying I had a mars bar because I saw an advert, but more likely I was hungry and then saw the advert. Which was the real reason I ate it ?

Because, you needed help to work, rest and play?