Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

irish women.... fussy... god no... i mean yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

musicmonky wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0410/1224244361038.html?via=mr

thats me out then.
    im a cynical, freeloader who looks down on stupid people cause they are happier than me.. ;)

Also parship.ie is crap... full of out of date profiles....

67% of Irish men value having an optimistic partner?

33% don't mind Pessimists then.

Surveys are stupid and pointless.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Good to know that "don't want man financially dependent on me" is being fussy
    god forbid someone dislike a sponge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I kind of guessed this already. Take last week for example.

He(referring to me):"Sorry, could you move I'm trying to get to the bar"
    She:"no, you're too ugly to get served."
    Me(referring to he):"yeah well you're too fat to wear a skirt but you went and ****ing broke the rules anyway didn't you?"

Then i pushed her over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

K-9 wrote: »
    67% of Irish men value having an optimistic partner?

33% don't mind Pessimists then.

Surveys are stupid and pointless.
    Glass half full?

The government would say that the glass is fuller than if the opposition party were in power.

The opposition would say that it is irrelevant because the present administration has changed the way such volume statistics are collected.

The philosopher would say that, if the glass was in the forest and no one was there to see it, would it be half anything?

The economist would say that, in real terms, the glass is 25% fuller than at the same time last year.

The banker would say that the glass has just under 50% of its net worth in liquid assets.

The psychiatrist would ask, "What did your mother say about the glass?"

The physicist would say that the volume of this cylinder is divided into two equal parts; one a colorless, odorless liquid, the other a colorless, odorless gas. Thus the cylinder is neither full nor empty. Rather, each half of the cylinder is full, one with a gas, one with a liquid.

The seasoned drinker would say that the glass doesn''t have enough ice in it.

slinkycity.com/half-full-or-half-empty.html

Wagon wrote: »
    I kind of guessed this already. Take last week for example.

He(referring to me):"Sorry, could you move I'm trying to get to the bar"
    She:"no, you're too ugly to get served."
    Me(referring to he):"yeah well you're too fat to wear a skirt but you went and ****ing broke the rules anyway didn't you?"

Then i pushed her over.

Congrats, you're a big man. Must be very proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

bluewolf wrote: »
    Not at all. I'm above that whole pride thing. She knew what the message was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭musicmonky

"Good communication, honesty and faithfulness are qualities that Irish women are particularly fussy about"

does "Good communication" mean being telepathic ?
    does "honesty" mean selective honesty?
    i.e Don't be honest about whatever part of the body she doesn't like this week.
    does "faithfulness", mean only in the duristiction of Ireland, while not on holiday?

The devil is in the detail....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

I'd have pushed her (lightly) out of the way too after her saying that. Sounds like a right Cnut! Some (Dublin) girls think they can get away with anything...not even anything to look at most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

i read it as "irish women the fuzziest in Europe"....

kateos2 wrote: »
    i read it as "irish women the fuzziest in Europe"....

That too...from what I've seen! :eek:

Mr. Frost wrote: »
    Some (Dublin) girls

Do you mean some girls in Dublin, or do you mean Some as in all Dublin girls?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Do you mean some girls in Dublin, or do you mean Some as in all Dublin girls?

Some girls in Dublin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Darkbloom

Good communication, honesty and faithfulness are qualities that Irish women are particularly fussy about, while they care little about athleticism or academic qualifications.

See, I would say that's the opposite of fussy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

far fussier than the english anyway , "ye up for a roide" doesnt work on irish birds too well

They are a bit frigid like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The only interesting thing there is that Irish women are more full of shit when asked if looks mattered than Irish men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Myggel

Irish girls are used to being with Irish guys so of course their expectations are now high.

Irish men are used to being with Irish girls so.....(insert comment here!)

humbert wrote: »
    The only interesting thing there is that Irish women are more full of shit when asked if looks mattered than Irish men.

Lets face it very few of us would be here if looks mattered to our cousins forebearers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭petrochemical

Quite a lot of Irish women have a real attitude problem. They're also the ugliest women on earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭dizzyniki

irish women couldnt possibly be fussy, theres nothing to fuss over.........as for irish men.........fussy as fu*k!!!

Quite a lot of Irish women have a real attitude problem. They're also the ugliest women on earth.

You're a real keeper!!!!!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

In fairness the Irish lads arent the best lookers in the world

or known for being rich or romantic or great lovers or any of the things that the Fench, Italians etc are

which makes you wonder where the Irish girls have gotten their great expectations from? I mean its not as if us Irish men have changed all that much in the last 10,000 years

Yore ma is not representative of all Irish women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

What's wrong with having standards?

PK2008 wrote: »
    In fairness the Irish lads arent the best lookers in the world

or known for being rich or romantic or great lovers or any of the things that the Fench, Italians etc are

I like my men Irish. They have mischevious sparkley eyes...can't get a physical aspect more attract than that.
    And you'll never find a guido or pepe, who will make you laugh as hard as a paddy.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I like my men Irish. They have mischevious sparkley eyes...can't get a physical aspect more attract than that.
    And you'll never find a guido or pepe, who will make you laugh as hard as a paddy.

Irish women can be funny for sure. funny werid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Im proud of him.

I get pissed off with the now prevailent practise of girls pushing their way up to the bar in pubs/clubs, and when I decide to play them at their own game, and keep my ground, the usual 'do you have a problem' starts.

Recently in temple bar, a young woman had something of a fit because I was served by the barwoman despite her being at the bar for longer (although she couldnt have honestly expected me to have known this). She proceeded to call me most things ive ever used in an arguement, but roughly in about a minute or so. I ended it by asking her how many times she had used the word **** in that little tirade. The answer was something along the lines of '****, ****in men'. Needless to say, she never mentioned anything to the barwoman about her preferential treatment of a young man as opposed to a fat, periodical woman.

blah,,,,,,,

Im proud of him.

I get pissed off with the now prevailent practise of girls pushing their way up to the bar in pubs/clubs, and when I decide to play them at their own game, and keep my ground, the usual 'do you have a problem' starts.

Recently in temple bar, a young woman had something of a fit because I was served by the barwoman despite her being at the bar for longer (although she couldnt have honestly expected me to have known this). She proceeded to call me most things ive ever used in an arguement, but roughly in about a minute or so. I ended it by asking her how many times she had used the word **** in that little tirade. The answer was something along the lines of '****, ****in men'. Needless to say, she never mentioned anything to the barwoman about her preferential treatment of a young man as opposed to a fat, periodical woman.

blah,,,,,,,

completly agree. it has happened me a few times.
    I would be patiently waiting for the barman/woman and some ignorant eejit would try and barge in, giving it the big i am while giving the "dont you know who i am" look.

completly agree. it has happened me a few times.
    I would be patiently waiting for the barman/woman and some ignorant eejit would try and barge in, giving it the big i am while giving the "dont you know who i am" look.
    Usually there's a dirty knacker breathing down her throat though. You know the type who follows the girl around the place all night as if to say 'look eveyone, ive actually pulled this moth' or whatever kanacker jargon there is. So, I find, if I turn around and say something about the pushing, its only going to end up heating up. So i just ignore them, keeping them out at the same time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

i lol'd so hard!!!

ahha!!i knew it all along!!now this is making more sense actually!!
    i disagree!!!they may dont have nice b**bs or gorgeous bottom!!BUT most of them i'd say they have nice legs!!:D

ye,i am no b**bs man :( but a leg man :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

Hmm... it is true, they are uptight, fussy and think too much of themselves, and give back very little for such behaviour.

And unless they change their attitute there are going to be many unmarried Irish women.

More and more Irish men are marrying Eastern European and other foreign women, who are pretty, who respect and take care of their husbands, aren't fussy, and know how to cook.

CyberGhost wrote: »
    Hmm... it is true, they are uptight, fussy and think too much of themselves, and give back very little for such behaviour.

And unless they change their attitute there are going to be many unmarried Irish women.

More and more Irish men are marrying Eastern European and other foreign women, who are pretty, who respect and take care of their husbands, aren't fussy, and know how to cook.
    Not being babyish or anything, but I really cant see myslef marrying an Irish woman. Im only young, but in the few years ive had interacting with women, girls from europe etc seem more laid back, and can talk to me without thinking in the back of their heads that all I am out for is sex.

The world doesnt owe Irish women a favour. Perhaps its just the way us Irish man act towards our women. We feel the need to make them feel special, therefore we are taken as a collective bunch of idiots. They're not too far wrong. Walk into any nightclub and youll understand

Oh yes...and who are looking for the all important passport!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭alexandros

I'll take any psycho b!tch with attitude over a woman that would be better described as some obedient lap dog.

Do you really want a woman that runs around catering to your every need?? Are you living in the 50's.

Your gf/oh is supposed to be your best friend.
    Do you want a friend like the woman you are describing?

Besides.. who cares if they cook.. considering you would just lie about liking it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

dizzyniki wrote: »
    Oh yes...and who are looking for the all important passport!!!!!

Yes, because Eastern European women can't move, live and work freely in other EU member states or anything. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

stupid and pointless.
    sorry to paraphrase you here but this is correct

I'll take any psycho b!tch with attitude over a woman that would be better described as some obedient lap dog.

I think there's a happy medium. A lot of Irish men are looking for an equal in a potential partner. A stuck-up cow with an attitude problem and an unjustified sense of entitlement who thinks she's living in one long episide of Sex & The City isn't an equal for most men. Of course, thankfully, not all women are vacuous, materialistic or bitchy. It's just that it's become quite endemic and noticeable with the advent of the Celtic Tiger.

Likewise, no man wants a subordinate doormat who has no respect for herself. The one thing I have noticed with a lot of my female friends is that they think most Eastern European women are like that. It's just not the case at all. For my experience, they're just a lot more laid back and have less of a propensity for social aggression and bitching.

This isn't an attack on Irish women by the way. It's just an observation and generalisation. I love Irish girls. They make up a large percentage of my friends. But I can honestly say I haven't met one that I would consider relationship material in terms of personality for a very long time.

NickNolte wrote: »
    Yes, because Eastern European women can't move, live and work freely in other EU member states or anything. :confused:

Am Eastern European and other foreign women was the statement..........and no some......eastern european women....as in certain parts of turkey and bulgaria and cyprus....are not free to roam anywhere in the EU smarty pants!!!!

Why does one always have to be so precise in these threads????

dizzyniki wrote: »
    Am Eastern European and other foreign women was the statement..........and no some......eastern european women....as in certain parts of turkey and bulgaria and cyprus....are not free to roam anywhere in the EU smarty pants!!!!

Why does one always have to be so precise in these threads????

Well considering it's xenophobic to suggest that any woman from outside the EU would only be married to an Irish man for a passport, I decided to give the poster the benefit of the doubt and just label them ignorant instead. :pac:

Do you really want a woman that runs around catering to your every need?? Are you living in the 50's.

Your gf/oh is supposed to be your best friend.
    Do you want a friend like the woman you are describing?

Besides.. who cares if they cook.. considering you would just lie about liking it anyway.

Why do people think that if a woman is caring and takes care of her family, she is weak and it's better if she was a psycho b!tch instead. The feminists have brainwashed you too much into thinking that.

Woman can be caring and very strong and infact women who are good housewifes are MUCH stronger than psycho b!tches, that will abandon you the first moment you have a fight or you are in trouble.

As for "Your gf/oh is supposed to be your best friend." that is absolutely not true, who says, who makes this standard that your girlfriend is supposed to be your best friend?

You are just going from one spectrum to another, from a lap dog to a tail wiggling friend.

I believe a man and a woman can never truly be friends, I mean there is a whole movie about it.

There is a natural hierarchy, a man is a provider a woman is a care taker, it's not the 50s thing(as feminists want you to believe), it's the nature's thing and the more you fight it and try to change it, the more divorces there are going to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Also parship.ie is crap... full of out of date profiles....

I always mis-read that as Parsnip.ie. I always wondered how you were meant to find the love of your life on a website about vegetables.

I'm not even going to touch CyberGhost's last post.

Was going to quote a post or 2 there, but there have been many good posts on the last page.

So back to the OP, Generalisations are crap.

Use this,
    m_stick.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Is that cos he's right? :D

I think when it comes to Irish women it's easy for us to see the things that are familiar and annoying and vice versa with foreign women, they're different and we see the best in them.

Oh, and and the lower rungs of any society tend to travel a lot less. So we encounter the Irish ones, but less often the foreign ones.

Though I do tend to find foreign girls more interesting for the very reason that they are different.

As for being fussy, these surveys are by and large performed by retards for retards.

There is a natural hierarchy, a man is a provider a woman is a care taker, it's not the 50s thing(as feminists want you to believe), it's the nature's thing and the more you fight it and try to change it, the more divorces there are going to be.

That is historically true is not longer so. If anything, what we are finding out is that the notion of mutually agreeable life long monogamy between two equals is a very ambitious goal.

humbert wrote: »
    That is historically true is not longer so. If anything, what we are finding out is that the notion of mutually agreeable life long monogamy between two equals is a very ambitious goal.

I think he brung up a valid point.
    Roles have changed, before it was Mr. Nice Guy etc. and women moaned about that.

Now with with the R word, men are disproportionately losing jobs and often are at home minding children, by neccesity.

Now, whether Nature respects that is an interesting point.

Men being providers et all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Seonad

Woman can be caring and very strong and infact women who are good housewifes are MUCH stronger than psycho b!tches, that will abandon you the first moment you have a fight or you are in trouble.

Please correct me if I'm wrong but are you saying all women are one of two things:good housewives or "psycho b!tches"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭alexandros

Seonad wrote: »
    Please correct me if I'm wrong but are you saying all women are one of two things:good housewives or "psycho b!tches"?

For the record.. I was not trying to split this into categories.

And as for your response CyberGhost:

As for "Your gf/oh is supposed to be your best friend." that is absolutely not true, who says, who makes this standard that your girlfriend is supposed to be your best friend?

I do.. I think it helps. A LOT.
    Maybe not "best" friends.. but at least "very good" friends.
    I want to be able to hang out with my gfs just as I would with anyone else that I call a friend.
    If I didn't I would get on the net and buy a wife from Russia.

Also:
    I can take care of myself just fine.
    I grew up and left the nest long ago.
    I don't need another mother.
    I don't need a submissive human pet.
    I would like a woman that will live out her own life along side me living my own. (for as long as that lasts)
    Call it what you will.. I'm not looking to date you.