Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Edinburgh marathon - training advice

• 17-12-2008 10:10PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭

I just signed up for Edinburgh today and it'll be my first marathon. It seems to be a bit easier than your average marathon in terms of the course elevation etc and I'm aiming to do it in under 4 hours. Here's some info on my running experience (or lack of it!) -

Did the Half in Connemarra this year in 1.49

Did 10k race in May in 44mins then didn't run all summer. I started running again about three times a week in October. I cover 15-20 miles in total.

Did Aware 10k earlier this month in 44.30.

I'm 28 and reckon I need to lose about 1 stone over the coming months to get into decent shape. My questions are really just -

When should I start my marathon training? (bearing in mind I can't wait to get cracking :D)

I can only run 4 times a week max, so what's a good plan to get me around in under 4 hours come May 31st?

Thanks,

R

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

rigal wrote: »
    When should I start my marathon training? (bearing in mind I can't wait to get cracking :D)

Now. It's under 24 weeks to the Edinburgh marathon...they WILL fly by. Most marathon plans are 16 - 18 weeks long. So getting in some good fitness work now over the next 6 - 8 weeks and then you can enter a marathon training plan. There's some good ones on the runners world site and the Hal Higdon ones are popular with people on here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

mp1972 wrote: »
    Now. It's under 24 weeks to the Edinburgh marathon...they WILL fly by. Most marathon plans are 16 - 18 weeks long. So getting in some good fitness work now over the next 6 - 8 weeks and then you can enter a marathon training plan. There's some good ones on the runners world site and the Hal Higdon ones are popular with people on here too.

Thanks.

Just not sure what time to aim for/plan to follow given that most of the plans I've looked at involve training >4 times a week. Do you place any value in the race time calculators? My 1/2 marathon time equates to 3.49 for a marathon. I'd be pretty happy with that assuming training went well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,504 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Your Aware 10k time puts you just under 3 1/2 hours. So figure somewhere between 3 1/2 and 4 hours, and you'll get a better idea as you go along. I don't think that you'll find Edinburgh noticeably easier than any other marathon (with the possible exception of hilly marathons). I read that if the wind is against you, as you run out the coast on the Edinburgh route, it can be extremely tough.

The Hal Higdon novice plan is 4 days a week, however, at your current level, you may be better off with intermediate, but which is a 5 day a week plan. You're in about the same shape I was when I started my marathon training earlier this year, however, I had just completed the Connemara half, and just kept going. I've just started a 24 week plan for Edinburgh, but will be doing Connemara full along the way.

See you in Edinburgh!

Thanks.

Just not sure what time to aim for/plan to follow given that most of the plans I've looked at involve training >4 times a week

You don't have to follow the plan EXACTLY, I'm using two different ones(well they're practically identical) as guidelines for my Connemara/Edinburgh training.

I've just started a 24 week plan for Edinburgh, but will be doing Connemara full along the way.

I'm not the only one stupid enough to do both then. :)

mp1972 wrote: »
    I'm not the only one stupid enough to do both then. :)
    I'm not doing Connemara at race pace though. I'm not that stupid. ;)

But seriously, I'm treating Connemara as a very long, long run. I'm doing it with a friend, and as it's their first marathon, so they're aiming for around 3:45. I've done the half for the last two years, so am really looking forward to stretching to the full.

Hi Guys,

Just resurrecting an old thread here.

I've been running consistently with a mate of mine over the past 2 months covering 20-32 miles per week (the 32 miles was this week with a 12m mile LSR today).

We are starting our official marathon training next week :D and have used the coolrunnings beginners plan as a template. We've replaced one day of running with a weights session.

Our training plan is attached. On the days I'm away in Feb I plan to get a run in whenever possible. I'd be interested to hear anyone's views on it as we're not sure if we're doing too much/little. With regard to the long runs, based on what I've read elsewhere, running a 24/26mile long run is a bit controversial?? Our aim is to run Edinburgh in <3.45.

Cheers,

R

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Ruarl Runner

Hi Folks,

Not much activity on the Edinburgh thread recently. Just six weeks to go!!! How is the training going for everyone??

I have been following a few other threads...

rigal - I had a look at your schedule, are you going to do a 24 & 26 training run in advance of the marathon?? BTW - that was a good run in the Wexford half...

KC - Sorry to hear about the knee, you did the right thing by not carrying on with the race. Plenty of RICE and hopefully will be as good as new shortly.

Hey Ruarl Runner,

Thanks for resurrecting this thread.

My training is going well thanks. We've done a 17,19 and 20miler now and plan to do a 21 and 22 before the race. I think anything more than 22 might be too much for us.

Had a few problems with my legs a few weeks ago but two trips to the physio and plenty of stretching has sorted that out touchwood.

I didn't do Wexford as I was too late to enter but did the 1/2 in Connemara in 1.41 so was delighted with that.

Anyway enough about me. How are you getting on? Take it you're heading over as well, have you set a target?

R

I am heading over alright and am looking forward to it... Training has gone well and relatively injury free (touch-wood!!).

I think it makes sense not to do the 24/26 milers!!! My own longest run will be a 22 miler.

The goal all along was for a 4 hour marathon, I also did the Wexford Connemara half in 1:40 and a recent 10k in 41 mins, although my times have come down significantly over the last few months I am still focusing on the 3:59:59. Basically plan is to avoid getting carried away for the first 5-6 miles (which are all down hill) get to halfway on pace and if I am feeling OK then push it on a bit....

I am heading over alright and am looking forward to it... Training has gone well and relatively injury free (touch-wood!!).

I think it makes sense not to do the 24/26 milers!!! My own longest run will be a 22 miler.

The goal all along was for a 4 hour marathon, I also did the Wexford Connemara half in 1:40 and a recent 10k in 41 mins, although my times have come down significantly over the last few months I am still focusing on the 3:59:59. Basically plan is to avoid getting carried away for the first 5-6 miles (which are all down hill) get to halfway on pace and if I am feeling OK then push it on a bit....

What plan have you been following RR? That's a great 10km time. You're being really sensible about your target time. Wish I could be so conservative. We're still hoping to go <3.45 but it'll depend on the day I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

Ruarl Runner and rigal ur half marathon times would suggest that yeh are close to 3.30 marathon, its supposed to be a fast course also. I'm doing the marathon myself, its my second marathon, trying to go sub 3hour, done the connemarathon half 1.22, but picked up a calf strain after the race put me out of training for two weeks, was raring to get back, have done 2 x 20milers the last two weekends and plan to do 21,22,23 the next 3 weeks. Hopefully don't get carried away at the start of the race and push too hard, looking forward to it.

heffsarmy wrote: »
    Ruarl Runner and rigal ur half marathon times would suggest that yeh are close to 3.30 marathon, its supposed to be a fast course also. I'm doing the marathon myself, its my second marathon, trying to go sub 3hour, done the connemarathon half 1.22, but picked up a calf strain after the race put me out of training for two weeks, was raring to get back, have done 2 x 20milers the last two weekends and plan to do 21,22,23 the next 3 weeks. Hopefully don't get carried away at the start of the race and push too hard, looking forward to it.

That's just what I wanted to here Heff!:D

I would love to get below 3.30 but we'll see.

Savage time in Connemara BTW....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭glennhysen

Good idea to resurrent this thread.

Training is going OK, I got injured at the start of March and missed 2 weeks of proper running. But was able to get back on track and finished the Wexford Half in 1.47 last Sunday. A couple of big training weeks ahead of me as I am aiming to complete Edinburgh in under 3.50.

Really looking forward to the marathon as it will be my 2nd marathon after Dublin last year and I should know what to expect.

What plan have you been following RR? That's a great 10km time. You're being really sensible about your target time. Wish I could be so conservative. We're still hoping to go <3.45 but it'll depend on the day I guess.

I have been following a 3:45 schedule that I got from the RW website...

Heffsamy - Good luck with the sub 3!! You sound like you have a lot of milage under your belt at moment. Hopefully it will stand you in good stead!!

glennhysen - How did DCM08 go for you??? Did you change your training since Dublin???

DCM08 went great I finished it 3.47. So the initial plan for Edinburgh was between 3.30 - 3.40 but unfortunately the injury knocked my running for a few weeks. So the revised plan is back to 3.50.

I changed my training schedule this time by a) trying to run more miles b) more speed work and c) better strength and conditioning. However beacuse of the injury I will probably run about the same amount that I did for DCM08.

So folks... 5 weeks to go... Just completed 19 miles, feeling pretty OK afterwards... I am still working on the frequecy of the gels though!!!
    glennhysen wrote: »
    DCM08 went great I finished it 3.47. So the initial plan for Edinburgh was between 3.30 - 3.40 but unfortunately the injury knocked my running for a few weeks. So the revised plan is back to 3.50.

I changed my training schedule this time by a) trying to run more miles b) more speed work and c) better strength and conditioning. However beacuse of the injury I will probably run about the same amount that I did for DCM08.

Sensible to have a revised plan... If things go well on the day you can revert back to the original plan!!

I have done very similiar training plan to yours. First time doing a marathon where I have followed such a plan - previous training plans just consisted of spending enough time on my feet to 'get aound':)

So folks... 5 weeks to go... Just completed 19 miles, feeling pretty OK afterwards... I am still working on the frequecy of the gels though!!!

Good stuff RR. Hard to believe we're nearly at the taper stage now. I did 21 miles yesterday and struggled for the last 6 miles. Conditions weren't great and hopefully it was just an off day for me. During the run I made the mistake of taking an isotonic gel then a carb gel followed by an isotonic drink which turned my stomach a bit so for the marathon I'm thinking of taking 3-4 carb gels (1 gel every 5-6 miles) plus water.

Good running lads, I have'nt started trying out the gels yet, I'll give them ago next week, the taper is only around the corner. I done 21miles yesterday, planned to take it easy today but after looking at the London marathon on the bbc I went for a stroll in the park, 2hrs 20minutes later returned home ended up doing a 20miler :D...felt strong at the end, off now to the pub for a few well earned guinness...

Jesus... Nearly taper time? What are you talking about?! Don't say that!
    I have a 21 miler planned next week, but will depend on how the recovery goes. I've only run twice in the last two weeks. :(

I'll be taking a SIS Isotonic gel every 6 miles, just before the water-stations. I know they're isotonic, but I find the water helps shift 'em to the right places anyway.

Heffsarmy, you did a 21 yesterday, and a 20 today? You know Edinburgh is only 26 miles long, right?! Were you planning on running from the finish line back into the city of Edinburgh?!

heffsarmy wrote: »
    Good running lads, I have'nt started trying out the gels yet, I'll give them ago next week, the taper is only around the corner. I done 21miles yesterday, planned to take it easy today but after looking at the London marathon on the bbc I went for a stroll in the park, 2hrs 20minutes later returned home ended up doing a 20miler :D...felt strong at the end, off now to the pub for a few well earned guinness...

That's some running heff :eek:. Seems like you're well on target for Edinburgh now.

Hope you don't mind but have 2 questions for you:

1) I'm aiming to run Edinburgh at 8-8.10 min pace and have been doing all my long runs at between 8.30-9.00 pace. Problem is I'm finding the training pace tough going in the last 1/4 of the long run. Should I be doing more running at marathon pace or should I be revising my target race pace at this stage?

2) I'm due to do a 3 week taper so I've got two weekends of LSR left. Was thinking of doing 15miles at MP next weekend and then a 22 miler the following weekend. Is this a good idea or should I just do 2 long runs (22/22) before taper?

Taper!!! Will think about that once the next few LSR's are done over the next two weekends (another 19 miles followed by a 22 before I start to roll back the milage!!).

Rigal - Conditions were tough yesterday!!! I was running into a serious breeze which seemed to blow directly into my face even when I changed direction :(!!!
    RE: Training pace, have you tried uping the tempo ever so slightly?? I find this actually helps. Can't speak for anyone else but I find that running slower miles over an extended period (during the LSR's) is actually very difficult.

Heff - Brilliant running!!! After a 21 & 20 miler back to back I am not sure you even need the gels :D

KC - How is the knee??? I understand how frustrating an injury before a marathon can be?? I had a very similiar experience for my last marathon. Chin up and hopefully it will sorted in no time!!

Thanks RR. Seems to be on the mend. One more physio session tomorrow. The hilly bike rides seem to be helping. I'm hoping that the amount of work/mileage/sessions I did before the injury will carry me pretty close to my target time. Hoping to be running again over the next few days, so keen to see how that will go. Can't believe that there's only 5 weeks to go. Been doing a 24 week program, and it seems to have been going on forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

I got the 5 weeks to go email and had my first 'a marathon? seriously?' moment. I've been hitting all my long runs (except for last week), but missed a fair few shorter runs recently. I've had none of the injuries I had when training for Dublin (touch wood theyll stay away!), and I'm using the same 'get round the course' training plan I used for DCM. Still not sure what pace to aim for, I ran my last 16m much too fast for a LSR (1hr 57min), but it felt really good and I was fine after it. Mcmillan puts that down as a 3hr 25min marathon, but I remember feeling pretty sore at mile 25 in dublin and going for that pace would be a ~30min improvement on the first marathon!. I'm running with a friend that will be doing their first marathon, and I'm not sure yet whether I should be a nice guy and run at whatever pace he does (hopefully equates to a shorter recovery period for me!) or be ambitious and see what I can do. It's going to be fun :)

Training is going good at the moment, just got the newsletter 5 weeks left, can't wait. I see that there will be lucozade carbo gels at 11miles and 19miles, going to buy some off these and try them out on my long run. rigal don't feel I'm qualified to answer your questions properly as this is my second marathon, but it seems your running your LSR a bit too fast, try starting slower out at 9.30 the pace, then from the middle increase the pace slightly until towards the last 2 or 3 miles run them at you marathon planned pace or faster. Not too sure on your second question but I would do the 2 x 22miles, and in one of the 22milers I would try to do the last 6 or 7 miles at marathon pace, I think the 22miler would serve you better in the marathon as it helps with your endurance. KC have been following your blog you have plenty of miles in the bag, hope goes well next few days.

Just looking at the course in a bit more detail here.. looks like the first 5.5 miles are nearly all down hill. Has anyone here ran Edinburgh before?

For those with a target time in mind i guess it's a good opportunity to gain some time in the early part of the race. Would be easy to get carried away as well I guess..

Would be easy to get carried away as well I guess..

That is my big worry tbh.

Yes, I think it would be very easy to run fast at the start. I bet a lot of people will do this and suffer later on. I'm going to have to be very disciplined and not charge off in the first few miles.

Just looking at the course in a bit more detail here.. looks like the first 5.5 miles are nearly all down hill. Has anyone here ran Edinburgh before?

For those with a target time in mind i guess it's a good opportunity to gain some time in the early part of the race. Would be easy to get carried away as well I guess..

I was speaking with a work colleague who has run Edinburgh, the first 5.5mls are all down-hill... He said there is a serious amount of people who fly off at the start which is caused by a mixture of the excitement/occasion coupled with the down-hill start. He has advised me not to get carried away even if it feels like everyone is passing me... Advice to live run by I reckon...;)

So just 4 weeks and counting... Did another 19 miler this weekend, that just leaves a mere 22 next weekend before the milage is cut and the taper can begin!!!

How is everyone else's training going - No niggles, issues at this stage I hope (KC??)

How is everyone else's training going

Rubbish. Yersterday I did 4 miles which was the first session I'd done since last sunday. Head is all over the place right now and things aren't looking good for me. :(

How is everyone else's training going - No niggles, issues at this stage I hope (KC??)
    I haven't run in three weeks now :eek: and still not fully healed. I'm still hoping to make the start-line, but I'll have to pull back my target time to something more realistic (if I make it). Otherwise, it'll be a nice relaxing two day holiday in Edinburgh (a week after Leinster visit to take the Heineken cup home). :)

I was speaking with a work colleague who has run Edinburgh, the first 5.5mls are all down-hill... He said there is a serious amount of people who fly off at the start which is caused by a mixture of the excitement/occasion coupled with the down-hill start. He has advised me not to get carried away even if it feels like everyone is passing me... Advice to live run by I reckon...;)

So just 4 weeks and counting... Did another 19 miler this weekend, that just leaves a mere 22 next weekend before the milage is cut and the taper can begin!!!

Cheers RR, I'll have to be strict with myself for the first few miles.

Training is going fairly well. Also did 19 this weekend and am doing 22 next Saturday. We threw the rule book out the window on Saturday and ran the 19 at MP which was probably not a wise move but we ran well and were fine afterwards so hopefully we're on target now. We'll do the 22 at LSR pace.

I'm looking forward to the race now and the rest afterwards! Can't believe it's only 4 weeks away. No bad niggles, just find the legs are tired most of the time and looks like I'm going to lose by right big toe nail very soon :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Just discovered this thread. I haven't really done dedicated training for Edinburgh but I'm registered and I'll be there. Since Rotterdam I've been ticking over with shorter runs and hill races. I've ran Edinburgh 3 years back and really enjoyed it. It was very hot then. I remember locals out with garden hoses directing them at runners who wanted a cooldown! Looking forward to it.

Just got my race number in an email 5524. They said they were posting it out then another part of the email says nothing will be sent overseas. :confused:

Didn't get mine yet. Isn't there a mandatory expo for overseas entrants?
    I see they have two gel stations, @11 and 19 miles (and Edinburgh marathon ale at the finish!). :)

Here's the document with the final details:
    http://www.downloads.edinburgh-marathon.com/Marathon_Relay/Final_Details.pdf

I set 3:12 for my target time, so I'm in the pen after the elites (2:30-3:14).

Just got my email there. I'm 1801.

How's everyone's training going? Long runs planned for the weekend?

I injured the FDL (:confused:) in my right leg on Wednesday night. Had physio this morning and he has said to rest it until I see him again next Tuesday night. Hopefully I'll have recovered towards the end of next week in order to get some more decent training in before the marathon. Reckon I'll probably reduce my taper from 3 -1.5 weeks depending on how things go.

Didn't get mine yet. Isn't there a mandatory expo for overseas entrants?

It actually says both. That they'll post it and that they won't post overseas. :confused:

They're giving out lucozade gels got that in an email a couple of weeks back so I tried some last weekend and will try some again this, if I don't like them I'll just bring my high5's.

Just back from placing H2O along the route for the 22 miler tomorrow morning... Jaysus 22 miles takes ages to drive!! Got tired just thinking about running that far tomorrow

Hmmmm... :confused: I haven't received any email thus far... Like KC I was under the impression that we had to collect the numbers at the expo in the hotel the day before??

Just like RQ I tried the Lucozade Gels, they are awful... :(:(:( I will be taking my own gels with me...

Rigal - sorry to hear about the injury, hopefully it will be sorted soon!! Wouldn't worry about missing one LSR... Not sure I would cut my taper though considering you have months of training done.

Hello SJ... Have been following you thread... very impressive running... Have you decided how you will run Edinburgh?? You have run Edinburgh previously perhaps you can shed some light on the number issue i.e. are they sent out or do we collect them??

Got my race number - 855. Cool number. Reeks of success. Also did 9 miles today, so definitely on the mend.. The organizers also mentioned that if you were really, really stuck you could pick up your number on the Sunday morning. Nice to have a big race like that, with a little flexibility. I'll definitely be going with my SIS Isotonic gels. Once you've tried them, you'll never go back!

My number is 6597. As far as I know they won'y be posting the race numbers overseas and we will have to collect them at the expo on the Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Lex Luther

Hi I'm a long term lurker, just registered first time poster, running in Edinburgh.

Just wondered if everybody is totally happy that irish residents will have to collect numbers from Apex Hotel ? the mail I got from the organisers said that they would be mailing numbers but later said that overseas runners would have to collect.

This is probably just taper nerves :o but ......any opinions ?

Lex Luther wrote: »
    Just wondered if everybody is totally happy that irish residents will have to collect numbers from Apex Hotel ? the mail I got from the organisers said that they would be mailing numbers but later said that overseas runners would have to collect.

This is probably just taper nerves :o but ......any opinions ?
    Welcome Lex! It's not an Irish residents thing, it's the same instruction for all overseas entrants. And as far as I'm aware, this is nearly always the case for marathons and overseas entrants. They pretty much all force you to go visit an expo, or pick up the number from a central location. Saves on cost, logistics and complexity of trusting other countries' postal services.

Is this your first marathon? What kind of time are you aiming for?

Krusty thanks for the welcome !

This will be marathon number 6 ( in the last 3 years).
    Did 3.03 PB in Dublin so i'm the stereotypical "trying to break 3 hours" zone.

Are many from here going to Edinburgh ?

(I got a mail from Edinburgh organisers confirming you are right by the way)

Thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Welcome Lex!

Is this your first marathon? What kind of time are you aiming for?
    is that your competitive side coming out Krusty ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Krusty thanks for the welcome !

Did 3.03 PB in Dublin so i'm the stereotypical "trying to break 3 hours" zone.

(I got a mail from Edinburgh organisers confirming you are right by the way)

Thanks again.
    good luck with breaking 3 hrs , doesnt happen to often round this neck of the woods !

Seres wrote: »
    is that your competitive side coming out Krusty ?
    No, that's my sociable welcoming side. :D
    Besides, on current form, I'll be aiming to get around and not much more! Lex can buy the first round of beers in the pub while he's waiting for the rest of us to come in!

You're an old-hand so.
    Around 8 or 9 by my last count. A day like today would be perfect!

Phew!!!! :eek: Number just received!!!! Was getting a little worried about that...

Welcome Lex... Almost a sub 3 hour marathon time is quite impressive!!

Did anyone else find conditions tough during the last week, wind, rain more rain more wind... :(???

Probably just as well as conditions along the coast in Edinburgh can be really tough...

Love the note on the Edinburgh web-site ''Fastest marathon in the UK'' and in the note in the mail received today ''if the coastal winds stay away'' :D

Give me wind and rain over the sun anyday.

Just back from a 11ish miler. Good pace and good run, missed yesterdays long run but happy with what I've done today.

Thanks all for kind welcome ! It will be fun watching out for how everyone in the Boards group does.
    By the way (1)I too was totally duped by the "fastest marathon in the UK " tag ......I eventually discovered the small print about the coastal winds but it was too late to back out.
    By the way (2) breaking three hours is a lot easier to talk about than to actually do and the three minutes I need could be an eternity so I'm not going to get to carried away.
    Good luck to everyone in the taper ( and thank God the last long run is finished !)

Can't believe it... Just over 2 weeks to go and last Monday I only went and injured a calf muscle!!! Have been to the physio, basically am not allowed to run (or do any sort of training) until I go back for another session at the weekend... Am so annoyed :mad:!!! The injury wasn't even running related!!! It happened whilst driving (basically went to change gear, clutched and then ouch!!!!...).

Am trying to stay positive... I didn't train on the injury and made straight for the physio. Also timing could be much worse as it happened during the taper (I managed to get all my long runs done)... Here's hoping...