Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Football Qualifiers Round One

• 02-07-2009 10:23PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

04.07.2009 (Sat)
    GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship
    Qualifier Round I
    Ballybofey 7.00pm Dún na nGall v Ceatharlach
    Referee: Michael Duffy (Sligeach)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Clones 7.00pm Muineachán v Ard Mhacha RTE2
    Referee: Derek Fahy (Longfort)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Páirc Tailteann 7.00pm An Mhí v Port Láirge
    Referee: Thomas Quigley (Áth Cliath)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Aughrim 7.00pm Cill Mhantáin v Fear Manach
    Referee: Michael Collins (Corcaigh)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Wexford PK 2.30pm Loch Garman v Uíbh Fhailí
    Referee: Cormac Reilly (An Mhí)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Drogheda 7.00pm An Lú v Tiobraid Árann
    Referee: Syl Doyle (Loch Garman)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Newry 7.00pm An Dún v Londain
    Referee: Pat Fox (An Iarmhi)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Carrick-on-Shannon 7.00pm Liatroim v Longfort
    Referee: Martin Sludden (Tír Eoghain)
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Wexford team has been named, some enforced changes through injury and some tactical. Biggest changes are Bradley being dropped at midfield where he was poor the last day and Wallace dropped at full back. Wallace has been a great servant for Wexford for years, but has a lack of pace, hopefully this will not be the end of him playing for Wexford. I think this team should have enough to beat Offaly on Saturday

1. Anthony Masterson, 2. Niall Murphy, 3. Grame Molloy, 4. Damien Carter, 5. Brian Malone, 6. David Murphy, 7. Colm Morris (Capt.), 8. David Fogarty, 9. Brendan Doyle, 10. Redmond Barry, 11. Shane Cullen, 12 Adrian Flynn, 13. Ciarán Lyng, 14. Shane Roche, 15. PJ Banville.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭DC_Roscommon

My predictions....
    04.07.2009 (Sat)

GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship
    Qualifier Round I

Clones 7.00pm Muineachán v Ard Mhacha

Carrick-on-Shannon 7.00pm Liatroim v Longfort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

I'll go for...

Clones 7.00pm Muineachán v Ard Mhacha

Carrick-on-Shannon 7.00pm Liatroim v
    Longfort

I'm not too confident about these though:p Feel there will be a few surprises...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

I didnt see Louth the last day but think they could beat Tipperary. They have a few good players. If I were to pick 1 game where there could be a shock it would be Wicklow v Offaly in Aughrim. Wicklow are on the up and will be hard to beat. Few good games with Monaghan really up against it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 211 ✭✭MickTipp

LeoB wrote: »
    I didnt see Louth the last day but think they could beat Tipperary. They have a few good players. If I were to pick 1 game where there could be a shock it would be Wicklow v Offaly in Aughrim. Wicklow are on the up and will be hard to beat. Few good games with Monaghan really up against it.

tipp should beat louth tmrw, they are a coming force in football and have some serious young footballers at their disposal

il go for Donegal, Monaghan, Meath, Fermanagh, Offaly,Tipp Down and Longford to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

There's already another thread on these football qualifiers. For the record i'm predicting wins for Donegal, Armagh, Meath, Wicklow, Wexford, Tipp, Down and Leitrim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Just read that Wexford squeezed past Offaly 2-11 to 0-16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Monaghan and Armagh going to extra time unfortunately. One of the worst exhibitions of football i have ever seen. Both teams are so poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,982 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Monaghan and Armagh going to extra time unfortunately. One of the worst exhibitions of football i have ever seen. Both teams are so poor
    rte have no chance of increasing the tv license after this crap. probably the worst game in years 2 terrible teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Wicklow 0-17 - 1-11 Fermanagh

Wicklow finished the game with 13 men after Tony Hannon was sent off in the opening minutes of the second half, and Tomas Walsh sent off with about 5 minutes to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

rte have no chanc of increasing the tv license after this crap. probably the worst game in years 2 terrible teams

Woeful stuff altogether.

Absolutely shocking stuff for the Championship in July.

How many scores have come from frees?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Wicklow finished the game with 13 men after Tony Hannon was sent off in the opening minutes of the second half, and Tomas Walsh sent off with about 5 minutes to go!

Sounds like a cracker - well done Micko and Wicklow.

What odds drawing Kerry in the next round?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Parser

Football has become a dreary, dreary game in general.

Carlow lead Donegal for most of the first half and went in level at half time. Donegal pull away at the end after Carlow captain Mark Carpenter got sent off again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭david

Popped in to this on the way home from work for the second half. Cracking performance from Wicklow. I can't remember the last time I saw them dominate a game right up to the final whistle.

Fermanagh weren't poor either, they had some great breaks up the right wing and looked very dangerous inside the Wicklow 45, they just couldn't put away their scores as well as Wicklow.

Walsh sending off was quite harsh IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 G82

well done to Monaghan, deserved it whatever you say. Whistle happy ref, some bad frees missed and not the best game. but Monaghan will get better and I don't think many teams will want them in the next round. I like them and hope they get the better of a failing Kerry this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

david wrote: »
    Popped in to this on the way home from work for the second half. Cracking performance from Wicklow. I can't remember the last time I saw them dominate a game right up to the final whistle.

Fermanagh weren't poor either, they had some great breaks up the right wing and looked very dangerous inside the Wicklow 45, they just couldn't put away their scores as well as Wicklow.

Walsh sending off was quite harsh IMO

Great win all right fair play to Micko he know's how to get the best out of the lads. Was Walsh given a straight red? Hannon was very stupid in getting those 2 yellows but hopefully a kind draw and Wicklow could be playing football in August!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

woodyg wrote: »
    Great win all right fair play to Micko he know's how to get the best out of the lads. Was Walsh given a straight red? Hannon was very stupid in getting those 2 yellows but hopefully a kind draw and Wicklow could be playing football in August!

Walsh was given a second yellow I think. Great win tonight, standing ovation at the end was well deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭mrgaa1

G82 wrote: »
    well done to Monaghan, deserved it whatever you say. Whistle happy ref, some bad frees missed and not the best game. but Monaghan will get better and I don't think many teams will want them in the next round. I like them and hope they get the better of a failing Kerry this year!

Brutal game. Referee was brutal, Monaghan were brutal and Armagh were worse. Monaghan are a one trick pony - playing for frees, hitting off the ball, kicking etc... and Armagh were just clueless. They possess two forwards who would walk onto ANY team in Ireland and they get brutal ball. Poor game and Monaghan won't get far once they meet a footballing team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,982 ✭✭✭kingshankly

mrgaa1 wrote: »
    Brutal game. Referee was brutal, Monaghan were brutal and Armagh were worse. Monaghan are a one trick pony - playing for frees, hitting off the ball, kicking etc... and Armagh were just clueless. They possess two forwards who would walk onto ANY team in Ireland and they get brutal ball. Poor game and Monaghan won't get far once they meet a footballing team.
    theres a few of them monaghan lads fairly fill their jersey, ill give the benefit of doubt and say its muscle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

pd101 wrote: »
    Walsh was given a second yellow I think. Great win tonight, standing ovation at the end was well deserved.

According to radio commentary he got a straight red, and the commentators never mentioned if he was on a yellow when the ref was talking to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

According to radio commentary he got a straight red, and the commentators never mentioned if he was on a yellow when the ref was talking to him

Fairly sure it was a second yellow. The report on rte website says it was a two yellows too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

G82 wrote: »
    You must be from Monaghan yourself?? I can't see how any neutral would like this team, they embody everything that is bad about football!

theres a few of them monaghan lads fairly fill their jersey, ill give the benefit of doubt and say its muscle

rory woods

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

We finally got our first win all season today down in Wexford. It wasn't far from a great performance, but we certainly showed better than we have all year. I'm usually the most optimistic Wexford man there is, but I just can't see us progressing much further given the performances we've been producing all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

yerayeah wrote: »
    You must be from Monaghan yourself?? I can't see how any neutral would like this team, they embody everything that is bad about football!

+1.

I used to think Tyrone were the most negative team years ago but Monaghan have been taking the proverbial biscuit the last 2-3 years.Remember the league match against Dublin in Parnell Park in 2008.All 13 of their scores from frees.Armagh weren't exactly distancing themselves from it either yesterday.

Vincent Corey should get an oscar for trying to sell a broken collarbone.Steve McDonnell,I knew he was going off if there was a player to go off after being booked.The warning signs were there.

It was a terrible game of football and I use the word football very lightly.I think Derek Fahy imposed himself so much on the game that it was never going to be a game and I feel Armagh were a bit hard done by at the end as he should have let the last attack materialise but I'd say a lot of the fans had enough anyway.

Lets hope Monaghan get Kerry in the next round.They seem to leave the negative tactics at home when they play Kerry.