Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ian Huntleys throat slashed in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

bytey wrote: »
    my throat isnt part of a murdering pedos body , he deserves everything he gets and more
    - now take it outside god boy

WTF are you talking about? Learn to read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Never going to cheerlead anybody for savaging anybody else. Don't care who they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Vomit wrote: »
    You people appall me. Humanity will never progress as long as we have this eye for an eye mentality. Why praise a violent throat slashing? We can't bring dead girls back by causing more suffering to other sentient beings.

And gutless liberals like you won't solve the problem either.
    What do you propose is done with him ?
    Maybe a private clinic with caring psychiatrists who talk through his problems until he is a happy individual able to be released again ?

Anger and revenge are human emotions, do you propose putting something in the drinking water to turn us all into emotionless drones ?
    That would solve a lot of problems wouldn't it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

This was bound to happen, and I'm surprised it took so long.

As an aside, while reading Private Eye yesterday, I was surprised to read that the guy involved with that Huntley article, The chief Sun reporter John Kay, himself drowned and strangled his wife back in 1977, apparently while hearing voices. The pressure of his job was getting to him and drove him over the edge. Anyway The Sun took him back after his brief rehabilitation period in a mental hospital. Funny thing is that John Kay is the man behind all the Jon Venables articles in The Sun, giving out about how they were given a cushy 'rehabilitation' and proclaiming the public's right to know of the two lads' identities, because they will always be killers and should never see the light of day again. What a funny world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

nearly everybody can participate in 'paedophile bashing threads'

as they rank below criminals and scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

it would probably solve almost all of lifes problems actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

We treat scumbags too soft , good enough for the sick bastard, he gets all he needs in prison, the families of the girls he murdered have to live with a terrible life sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I wonder should whoever did this get the same treatment....?

Maybe a private clinic with caring psychiatrists who talk through his problems until he is a happy individual able to be released again ?

Anger and revenge are human emotions, do you propose putting something in the drinking water to turn us all into emotionless drones ?

There's a whole load of little steps between "I want to see a man get his throat slashed" and "Prozac in the drinking water." Loads. You don't have to do one or the other, it's not a rule or anything.

That post is mental. Like... American political news pundit mental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 KrazyKazzz

They seem to be all coming out of the woodwork now, recently it was Venables now it is this low life.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/2901075/Huntleys-throat-slashed-in-jail.html

My mate called me earlier. She is a nurse in a hospital in Newcastle and she said he was on her ward...There is seemingly war going on as the nurses dont want to go near him. I cant blame them either!!! Scumbag shud be left to bleed out!!! He doesnt deserve any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I hope he dies a slow and painful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Does this mean British prisons are not like Porridge? :confused: I thought the worst Huntley would get would be for someone to pinch his pinapple chunks and then tell him to naff off.

My illusion has been shattered. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I am further lowering my all ready low expectations of the masses.
    WP thread.

Perhaps the term 'gutless liberal' refers to anyone with basic reading comprehension skills and an IQ in triple figures. You refer to a 'problem'. Which 'problem' is this? The problem of murderers like Huntley? I don't know if you are aware of this, but Huntley is currently doing life in prison, after sitting trial and judgment. You disagree with the court system? You think everyone but the 'gutless liberals' would like to live in anarchy, where the only form of justice we have is vigilante mob beatings and throat slashings?

Yeah, maybe the big brave internet warriors like you could carry out said slashings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Perhaps the term 'gutless liberal' refers to anyone with basic reading comprehension skills and an IQ in triple figures. You refer to a 'problem'. Which 'problem' is this? The problem of murderers like Huntley? I don't know if you are aware of this, but Huntley is currently doing life in prison, after sitting trial and judgment. You disagree with the court system? You think everyone but the 'gutless liberals' would like to live in anarchy, where the only form of justice we have is vigilante mob beatings and throat slashings?

Yeah, maybe the big brave internet warriors like you could carry out said slashings.

Didn´t you get the memo? Using the word ´liberal´ in a derogoratory sence is now condoned as an acceptable substitute for ignorance.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I would agree with OutlawPete and his ilk. I don't like the idea of celebrating any kind of violence, even if Huntley commited a particularly heinous crime. I'm not saying that I would shed any tears for the man if he died, nor do I think that he deserves any special protection in prison (I would like to forget all about him to be honest) but gleefully reviling in criminals attempting murder just doesn't sit well with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

why yes, let me just click this link that will direct me to thesun.co.uk

There's a whole load of little steps between "I want to see a man get his throat slashed" and "Prozac in the drinking water." Loads. You don't have to do one or the other, it's not a rule or anything.

That post is mental. Like... American political news pundit mental.

Can't believe you took the last bit seriously :rolleyes:

Vomit seems to think that humanities way forward is for all of us to lose any sense of anger/revenge/justice towards the likes of Huntley.
    He completely and utterly fails to realise that those emotions have got us where we are today from an evolutionary point of view.
    Civilisation stays in check by it's own sense of right and wrong, people should be punished proportionately for crimes against society.
    Perhaps the term 'gutless liberal' refers to anyone with basic reading comprehension skills and an IQ in triple figures.

What has "reading" got to do with it ?
    Maybe you can provide the link to where it says there's a correlation between IQ and being (or not being) in touch with natural human emotions.
    I don't know if you are aware of this, but Huntley is currently doing life in prison, after sitting trial and judgment. You disagree with the court system?

No really ? I thought he was doing a round of TV interviews.

Yes I disagree with the court system.
    The more serious crimes should have a proportional punishment as a deterrent. Compare the drugs problem in Saudi Arabi with Europe to see who has the right idea, at least on the drugs issue.

they already do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

I'm sure the attacker was a lovely fella :rolleyes:
    No sleep lost over Huntley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

indough wrote: »
    they already do

We do not have a proportional punishment sentencing regime in this country or in many other countries. A proportional punishment in this case would be execution.

they already do

Ah, how naive, you think the justice system works.
    I'm sure a survey on how many criminals reoffend would educate you.

it is a proportional punishment system as long as all crimes do not carry the same punishment

if it was not then the punishment for littering or nor paying your tv licence would be the same as that for murder or rape

"Proportionality requires that the level of punishment be scaled relative to the severity of the offending behaviour. However, this does not mean that the punishment has to be equivalent to the crime. A retributive system must punish severe crime more harshly than minor crime, but retributivists differ about how harsh or soft the system should be overall."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

Compare the drugs problem in Saudi Arabi with Europe to see who has the right idea, at least on the drugs issue.

Yeah, a few poppy seeds from a bread roll will get you 4 years over there. If they detect thc in your blood, same.

Lovely place.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/7234786.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭flutered

me, i would slash the conobblers.

Ah, how naive, you think the justice system works.
    I'm sure a survey on how many criminals reoffend would educate you.

yes of course, that is exactly what i said in my post after all

while we're on the subject of education i would suggest brushing up on your reading comprehension

Vomit seems to think that humanities way forward is for all of us to lose any sense of anger/revenge/justice towards the likes of Huntley.

Damn right I think our emotions should have nothing to do with the justice system. In fact, that's exactly what civilized humanity has already achieved. We have courts, with legal representatives on both sides for precisely that purpose.
    He completely and utterly fails to realise that those emotions have got us where we are today from an evolutionary point of view.
    Civilisation stays in check by it's own sense of right and wrong, people should be punished proportionately for crimes against society.

No, that's utterly incorrect. We got to where we are now by employing our intellects. The last time our emotions dictated justice was when we were cavemen with clubs. Every baby step made since then has been based on logic and reason. And what exactly is the 'proportionate' punishment for, say, rape? Cut their balls off? Stick a broom handle up their arse? If so, then by what moral standard can we condemn the rapist?
    What has "reading" got to do with it ?
    Maybe you can provide the link to where it says there's a correlation between IQ and being (or not being) in touch with natural human emotions.

I don't need to. Nobody with a sufficient IQ could be utterly ruled by their emotions.

Ah here we go, Saudi Arabia. Yeah, lets use the most oppressive fundamentalist Islamist country in the world as a template for how to do things correctly. I assume you're considering moving there some time in the future, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

You people appall me. Humanity will never progress as long as we have this eye for an eye mentality. Why praise a violent throat slashing? We can't bring dead girls back by causing more suffering to other sentient beings.

I can predict the responses - "Oh if it was YOUR children..blah blah blah". Yeah, but just imagine if it was YOUR throat that was slashed.

You're right. It would save a hell of a lot more suffering and money if he [and others like him] was just given the death sentence.

You are aware that capital punishment actually costs more than life imprisonment, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

When I see threads like this, I go "meh", what odds.

As long as whoever did it doesn't gather some reputation to scare the public when they get outside, I don't care!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Sheeps wrote: »
    You are aware that capital punishment actually costs more than life imprisonment, right?

it can be done cheaper but of course youd never get away with anything like that in this part of the world

Can't believe you took the last bit seriously :rolleyes:

The rest of your posts kind of lead me to, particularly the bit where you held up Saudi Arabia as an example of reasonable legal precedents we should all aspire to.

The likelyhood of getting caught actually has far more of a deterrent effect than the severity of the potential punishment. But that's the thing - a conversation like this doesn't sound to me like a conversation about the justice system. It's a sounding board for a curiously acceptable kind of sadism given free rein purely because the victim is a social pariah - a discussion where it's okay to talk about weird little mob-justice fantasies, so long as the guy you're dreaming about cutting up is unpopular enough.

Does anybody really think that the convicted violent criminal who attacked Huntley did it because they were so outraged at the affront to Justice he poses?

it can be done cheaper but of course youd never get away with anything like that in this part of the world
    Yes, lets adopt China's capital punishment system to cut the costs.

You can do it on the cheap if you aren't too fussy about how guilty everyone is, yeah.

i doubt the method of execution is much of a determining factor in whether they were guilty or not to be honest

the reason execution costs are higher is because of the extra cost of the legal fees and the extra security of imprisoning death row inmates, so really your comment should be "i doubt the method of execution is much of a determining factor in the cost of execution".

If looking at the US justice system in most states with the death penalty, then yes. But then again, running any case in the 'States costs a bloody fortune, and with the appeals / tribunals etc the costs can be astronomical.

This could be done a LOT cheaper. Just because you've had a quick google and found out what it costs does not mean that's what it would cost here, and shows how inneficient the justice system can be.
    Damn right I think our emotions should have nothing to do with the justice system. In fact, that's exactly what civilized humanity has already achieved. We have courts, with legal representatives on both sides for precisely that purpose.

Yeah, jury's never bring emotion into it :rolleyes:

yeah but sure theyres no point in keeping them behind bars for years before doing it really, give them an initial trial then one chance for appeal then kaboom

im against the death penalty anyway by the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

he wont die of natural causes.someone will get to him.til be a happy day:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Thing is, I doubt Huntley is being held in the general population - i.e. he's most likely in with other jockeys guilty of rape and other sexual assaults, so people here are celebrating his throat being slashed by a hypocrit!.

Doesn't matter a bollox to me that his throat is slashed or not, but I'm not going to applaud one animals behaviour towards another.

these topics are always quite disturbing in the way they highlight the average persons sadistic streak

If looking at the US justice system in most states with the death penalty, then yes. But then again, running any case in the 'States costs a bloody fortune, and with the appeals / tribunals etc the costs can be astronomical.

This could be done a LOT cheaper. Just because you've had a quick google and found out what it costs does not mean that's what it would cost here, and shows how inneficient the justice system can be.
    So let me get this straight. Your argument is that it doesn't cost a lot to execute someone here because the other places where it happens where it does cost a lot has generally pretty expensive court cases anyway. The flaw with your argument is that, while yes private legal fees are pretty expensive in America, the legal fees we're taking in to account here are not going to the private sector, but the public sector which are considerably cheaper, and it still costs a metric fuck tonne to implement what some consider a fair and balanced capital punishment system.

Oh, and then there's the fact that we're trying to not be barbaric animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I really hope this cùnt doesn't die at his own hands, too easy of an escape for an unforgivable crime.

Fùckin' scumbag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Thing is, I doubt Huntley is being held in the general population - i.e. he's most likely in with other jockeys guilty of rape and other sexual assaults, so people here are celebrating his throat being slashed by a hypocrit!.

Doesn't matter a bollox to me that his throat is slashed or not, but I'm not going to applaud one animals behaviour towards another.

Sums up my thoughts.

Tbh, I'd rather not hear about what one scumbag does to another.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Oh, and then there's the fact that we're trying to not be barbaric animals.

If were trying not to be barbaric animals, then the likes of Huntley should be totally eradicated from society.

It his barbaric actions thats causing these primal reactions in people.

You should get it straight in your head who the 'barbaric animals' are, get off your moral high-ground and just admit the fcuker should have been thrown off a very high cliff as soon as he was convicted.

If were trying not to be barbaric animals, then the likes of Huntley should be totally eradicated from society.

It his barbaric actions thats causing these primal reactions in people.

You should get it straight in your head who the 'barbaric animals' are, get off your moral high-ground and just admit the fcuker should have been thrown off a very high cliff as soon as he was convicted.
    Ugh, I bet you even read the Daily Mail.

Ugh, I bet you make sweeping generalisations about everyone you believe to be morally inferior to yourself.

Great comeback by the way - it wasn't you posting about IQ earlier was it? I hope not...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I can predict the responses - "Oh if it was YOUR children..blah blah blah". Yeah, but just imagine if it was YOUR throat that was slashed.

Fairplay if it was my throat slashed because I was in Prison for killing two girls, no problem with that at all. If you'd robbed two people of life at such an early age purely for your own deviant sexual satisfaction, lied about it, covered it up and been sent to Prison, well mate, I would not give a flying **** if someone decided to carve you up like a pig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

these topics are always quite disturbing in the way they highlight the average persons sadistic streak
    no sadistic streak here.just wish he deserves death. you doknow what he did??? dont you????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭__________

Personally, (and I know I'm gonna be slated for saying this) I'm not 100% convinced that he was the murderer of those 2 poor girls. Without going into too much detail (which a quick google can give you more info on) , an awful lot of facts about the case don't add up.

You really just have to ask yourself is it beyond the realms of possibility that the us government (the girls bodies were found on the perimeter of a us military base) or the british intelligence agencies had anything to do with the rape/killings? This has happened many times in history.

Now I'm no liberal and believe if he did kill the girls he deserves everything he gets, but think about it with an open mind. It's a lot easier to instantly condemn someone and have 100% trust in the uk judicial system, than to actually spend some time reading about the case and judge for yourself.