Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

beltless pulling seemed to work, your arch is coming back anyway :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

beltless pulling seemed to work, your arch is coming back anyway :P

Yup.. pretty happy with how things are going alright!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

That 250 absolutely flew up.

Sangre wrote: »
    That 250 absolutely flew up.

I wouldn't go that far!! It moved smoothly buy flying's a totally different prospect. Usually means the weight'st too light!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

Hanley wrote: »

noice!!!

<<Throw that punch>>

Squats - Smolov, dunzo:
    60kg 2x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x3
    160kg x3
    180kg x2
    *belt*
    200kg 2x4
    *suit on, straps down*
    240kg x2
    *loose wrap*
    260kg x1
    *straps up, tighter wrap*
    280kg x1
    *comp wrap*
    290kg 2x1

Deadlift:
    70kg x3
    120kg x2
    160kg x1
    *suit on, straps up - metal*
    190kg x1
    *belt*
    210kg x1
    240kg x1

Bench:
    70kg x5
    100kg x5
    120kg x5

Fairly dominated everything today. The squats were really slick. Very very solid and smooth. About an inch away from depth but whatever, I'll smash it on the day. 310 should deffo go.

Deads were very smooth and easy. 240kg shot up.

Benching was handy.

My elbow feels decent.

Bench tomorrow and then that's the heavy sh!t done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I wouldn't go that far!! It moved smoothly buy flying's a totally different prospect. Usually means the weight'st too light!!
    I'm sure it wasn't "EAAAAAAAAAASY" either. Nothing wrong with a bit of hyperbole!

Sangre wrote: »
    I'm sure it wasn't "EAAAAAAAAAASY" either. Nothing wrong with a bit of hyperbole!

It was easy tho :p

<<Pain... made to order>>

Band pushdowns - warm ups

Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x3
    100kg x1
    115kg x1
    130kg x1
    145kg x2 - P

*shirt on, 44 Super Katana*

160kg x3
    180kg x1
    190kg x1
    195kg 4x1

Band pushdowns and bands curls x tons

Dunno where the raw bench came outta.... Kinda felt like just going for a PR this week after doubling 140kg last week.

The shirted benching was good. HAD to bring it together today and I did. First rep with 195 was cut about an inch short then threw it back too hard and lost it about 3 inches from lockout, second rep I fought down, took a good 5 seconds to touch and I DIED on the way up - pressed, but it fell outta the ugly tree and hit every branch on the way down.

Third rep was fairly good, cut it about 1mm too short but pressed strongly. Fourth I just went for it. Pulled it down quickly and BLASTED it back up. Solidest bench of the entire cycle. Getting the bar down a bit quicker seems to be the key to both touching and hitting a smooth press.

Now... for the bad part. I can't describe how bad the pain in my elbows has gotten. It's unbearable. As in so bad I just want to go jump off a cliff to make it stop. Anyone who saw me in the gym will say how bad a state I was in. I was rolling around on the floor in agony during reps trying to find a comfortable position that stopped the pain. It was taking 15 minutes for the pain to subside enoguh for me to attempts reps again. Can't wait for this fcuking comp to be over!!

all jokes aside....and i know your mentality is to never quit...and im as stubboren as you...but dude get your elbow sorted!

It's just over use dude... there's fcuk all else wrong with it. Sweet FA I can do about that really. Ice, anti-inflams and sucking it up.

Shocked to get a genuine message off ya tho :o

Actually here, I'm gonna be in your neck of the woods the weekend after the comp.

It's just over use dude... there's fcuk all else wrong with it. Sweet FA I can do about that really. Ice, anti-inflams and sucking it up.

Shocked to get a genuine message off ya tho :o

Actually here, I'm gonna be in your neck of the woods the weekend after the comp.

ill be in spain :P

Here's a vid from the weekends training;

<<Can I get a woop woop>>

Squats:
    60kg 2x5
    100kg x5
    140kg x5
    160kg x3
    180kg x1 - zooooooooom

Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x3
    120kg x1

Pushdowns:
    1x50

Curls:
    tons

Nice easy workout yesterday. Had a stretch out today, will do the same again tomorrow and follow up with a light workout on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭zebrafumbler

@Hanley,

I've been watching your vids on YT and have to say I'm well impressed. DL'ing 200x10 is some accomplishment, congrats! How do you avoid over-training with the level of volume that you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

@Hanley,

I've been watching your vids on YT and have to say I'm well impressed. DL'ing 200x10 is some accomplishment, congrats! How do you avoid over-training with the level of volume that you do?

The man is tough as nails, and strong as a horse.

Once when Hanley was stabbed the knife started bleeding.

DamienH wrote: »
    The man is tough as nails, and strong as a horse.

Once when Hanley was stabbed the knife started bleeding.
    +1 i heard he once swam through dry land for a crossfit WOD

ive seen him drool at the sight of a mini......hes no hero :P

kidding.....

I once heard hanley got a big mac in burger king.....

we need a thread of these, hanley once won a poker tournament with a deck of uno cards.

Hanley once slapped chuck norris....then chuck kicked his ass....

now thats that trend over with back to the loggin :P

@Hanley,

To be honest, it doesn't feel like a whole lot of volume. If you read thru my log you'll see the gradual increase over time.

One of the things that's helped to push it to the next level has been spending a 3-4 weeks block every now and again concentrating on Crossfit stuff. Seems to really help my recovery and work capacity.

36 hours out

26780_402489960114_567805114_5396572_1696178_n.jpg

how much weight did you cut that you need that much hydration ? and i couldnt find cold packs anywhere :(

altho ive got 4+litres of Kx

how much weight did you cut that you need that much hydration ? and i couldnt find cold packs anywhere :(

altho ive got 4+litres of Kx

Cut 1.5kg. I go thru a fierce amount of water during comps even when I'm not cutting.

They have cold packs behind the counter in boots, ya jsut gotta ask for them.

And lolz... overkill much?

ah ok. well im basing it off last comp, i ran out of kx , had plenty of lucozade left though

bte: copying my idea of taking photo of supplies much? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

ah ok. well im basing it off last comp, i ran out of kx , had plenty of lucozade left though

Hanley did it years ago for the worlds i think it was

Stunningly good memory....

...Ya prick

WDFPF World Champs 2007 @ Grangemouth, Scotland

DSC09602.jpg

DSC09604.jpg

Touche.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

36 hours out

26780_402489960114_567805114_5396572_1696178_n.jpg

What are you going to do with the plant? :pac:

Looking forward to seeing how you get on! Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

Good luck in the competition. Those jaffa cakes are making me hungry though :D

BossArky wrote: »
    What are you going to do with the plant? :pac:

Looking forward to seeing how you get on! Good luck!

Haha brilliant. Thanks lads!

IDFPA National Champs 2010

A strange day for me....

Weighed in at 99.2kg - sweet.

Squats:
    290kg x - miss by stepping back at the top
    290kg x - miss on depth
    290kg good - pressure lift, got it very strongly

Bench:
    195kg x - miss on; starting too soon, lifting my head and dipping on the way up
    195kg good - smoke show (WDFPF junior world record)
    205kg good - best of the bunch (WDFPF junior world record)

Deadlift:
    240kg good - zooooooom
    257.5kg good - smoke show (WDFPF national and euro junior total record)
    272.5kg good - 600lb FINALLY (national and euro junior total record)

And the titles/rewards/records;
    -100kg junior and senior national champ
    -Overall best lifter, junior and senior
    -National and European junior total record in the WDFPF
    -World junior bench record in the WDFPF

Day 1 on a new path...

I'm switching over to the darkside of the platform. Now that I'm finished as a junior in powerlifting and went out on a high, I can finally dedicate a serious block of time to weightlifting. As in, olympic weightlifting.

So... without further delay, my first ever weightlifting training session;

Overhead squats:
    20kg 4x5
    40kg x5

Drop Snatches:
    40kg 2x5
    45kg x3

Hang Snatch:
    40kg 2x3
    45kg x3
    50kg x3

Hang Cleans:
    40kg x3
    60kg x3
    65kg x3
    70kg x3

Dunzo. Will repeat that tomorrow and Thursday, hook back up with Harry on Friday and see what's what from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

Fecking amazing Hanley.... sick ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Sick. Great total - and to think that there could have been another (20-30kgs?) there easy enough makes it even more impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Day 1 on a new path...

I'm switching over to the darkside of the platform. Now that I'm finished as a junior in powerlifting and went out on a high, I can finally dedicate a serious block of time to weightlifting. As in, olympic weightlifting.

good lick with it.
    very humbling to go from powerlifting to OLY lifting as the weights will be so much lighter.
    was talking to a lad onlt today about it and we were both saying how chuffed we were to even get a 40kg snatch!

hook back up with Harry on Friday and see what's what from there.

I met Harry a few weeks ago, he was coaching the course i was doing as part of the OLY lifting level 1 coaching course.

Nice guy and very good coach

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭jaggiebunnet

Good luck with the weightlifting! Hopefull we will get to see you in the London Olympics !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

Nice! Are you going to the Nationals next month? A few of us from CFI are going :eek:

Kev M wrote: »
    Sick. Great total - and to think that there could have been another (20-30kgs?) there easy enough makes it even more impressive.

Cheers bro. Coulda gone 305/212/275 alright.... so another 25kg? Maybe more. I don't think a 310kg squat and 215kg bench were outta the question like.
    Good luck with the weightlifting! Hopefull we will get to see you in the London Olympics !!

Yeah.. maybe if I get tickets!! Don't hold your breath. 155/196 was the lowest total there in 2008 @ 94kg. You're talking at least a 245kg high bar squat and incredibly perfect technique to get to that level.
    token wrote: »
    Nice! Are you going to the Nationals next month? A few of us from CFI are going :eek:

Hopefully... if I'm allowed!!

dude this is gonna be awesome!

Day 2

Overhed Squats:
    20kg 4x5

Drop Snatch:
    20kg 2x5
    40kg 2x5

Hang Snatch:
    40kg 3x3
    45kg 3x3
    50kg 3x3

Front Squats:
    60kg 2x5

Hang Cleans:
    60kg x3
    65kg x5
    70kg 3x3

Bench:
    60kg x5
    90kg 2x5

3 Board Press - paused:
    120kg 2x5

Reverse Hypers:
    20kg x12
    40kg 2x12

Everything felt grand. The hang snatches weren't great... not getting anywhere near full extension with them. I suppose it'll come with work, btu still!

Hang cleans were grand.... again, not hitting full extenstion like a gimp.

Benching was alright... weight felt a bit heavy. 3 boards were fine and the RH's were a total nut smasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Pavel66

Weightlifting :eek:

Come back James, you are our GOD...

Pavel66 wrote: »
    Weightlifting :eek:

Come back James, you are our GOD...

He's mortal...we've seen him bleed....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

He's mortal...we've seen him bleed....

Yup once a month... like clockwork/ :pac:

What are you predicting for your first comp james?

Failure....

no seriously...if that elbow isnt right lad do not go any near heavy weights....knowing you thats exactly what you will do....

Day 3

Overhead squats:
    20kg 4x5

Drop Snatch:
    20kg x5
    40kg 2x3

Hang Snatch:
    40kg x3
    50kg x3
    54kg x3
    58kg 3x3

Jerk Dips:
    millions of sets w/ 20kg
    40kg for a few 3-5's

Jerk Catches:
    40kg for several sets
    50kg for seeveral sets

Hang Cleans:
    60kg for sets
    70kg for sets

Special Ex - pulls to above knee:
    60kg 4/5 sets

Cleans:
    60kg x2
    70kg x2
    80kg x2
    90kg x2
    95kg 2x2
    100kg 3x2

Thoughts etc later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Will you still be doing the powerlifting worlds?

When did I ever say I was...? Tbh there's some stuff in relation to the whole thing going on that I don't want to discuss, and I wouldn't be doing it anyway as a result. Even if I had planned on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

When did I ever say I was...?

Didn't say you were, it was a question not a statement.