Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Latest Poll, Red C

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,058 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

I find that quite insulting actually.And where did I say anything about Bertie on this thread?

If you did say it, his point still stands :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭trapsagenius

A Labour Party government will be disastrous for the economy, in my opinion. I outlined why I think this in a thread: Will a Labour government only prolong the economic ruin?

I supported most of my assertions there with links to newspapers. Unfortunately no Labour supporters challenged my claims. As such, do I just accept my conclusion as generally correct?

Pride Fighter had some good posts a few pages back re Labours economic policies.
    Sully wrote: »
    If you did say it, his point still stands :p

Hey!I resent that!:mad::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

Pride Fighter had some good posts a few pages back re Labours economic policies.

I saw those. Unfortunately they don't go anywhere near explaining the problem I laid out in my thread: that Labour will not make cuts to at least 65% of public spending and thus they must raise tax, which will reduce the number of jobs on offer due to a less rewarding environment for job creaters.

So I'd be interested, in particular, to see how Labour will create employment in light of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,382 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

By how much do Labour intend to raise taxes by?

I don't know if that's directed at me.

I did a quick search of their website but nothing came up. I imagine they'd have to raise it by a substantial amount if they want to preserve current social welfare and public sector pay rates as well as servicing the ever increasing debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

The question is; What exactly is wrong with Enda? It seems that people blame his accent, his "grin", his hair, where he is from, that he is no "bertie" etc. Are we looking for "Personality of the Year" award here, before we can consider a party? I have yet to hear a genuine "Whats wrong with Enda" reason. All just "Well, since there is SOMETHING wrong with Enda - he cant be a leader and therefore we cant vote for his party" which is not a greart mentality to have.

Enda is far from a "muppet". Without Enda, FG would not be where it is today. That means, you would not have a credible opposition in terms of a healthy mix of young and old politicans, experienced and upcoming politicans, a strong front bench, strong politicans in the making or in ranks, constant stream of proposals hitting the key areas that need attention and so on. Instead, we would be left with a weak FG offering very little and Labour in strong position for overall majority at least. Not something this country needs or wants.

I've made my feeling on Enda known on many occasions and I in no way, shape or form want "one of the boys" leading the country. I detest that snivelling little weasel Ahern with every fibre of my being. I think Cowen is an arrogant arsehole. But, similarly, I've never been anything but underwhelmed by Enda. I've seen him speak in person on a couple of occasions to see whether he was just someone who doesn't come across well in debates or through the medium of tv but no, that's not it. Underwhelming is the word. He's got no presence. He's not someone I'd be happy to follow as my leader.

But it's not a party political thing incase people think that's what it is. I'd be very hapy with a Richard Bruton or Gay Mitchell leader of FG. I admire Brian Lenihan for the way he's conducted himself in the past 18 months or so. I always liked Pat Rabbitte but don't really go for Gilmore, although I can see his skills as an orator. I just go for people who I feel it's clear what type of person they are. I don't get a sense of that from Enda. I find him almost vacuous. The Bertie mould of politician is all about being a cute hoor with bags of charisma (apparently). That's wrong and I' ve always failed to see how people went for this type of thing. But that doesn't mean that the polar opposite is right. And that's where I feel FG are with Enda.

I understand why he has respect within FG and I do respect him for what he's done in giving the Irish people a credible alternative but I don't understand why that respect has to translate into support for him as leader. I'm amazed that some kind of challenge to his leadership didn't pop up between 2007 and now and I stand by my assertion that it's the FG party members' biggest failing and that it will cost them big by the time a General Election comes around.

--Double Post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I think any FG supporters should stop burying their heads n the sand here and have a good hard look at the SBP poll and all Red C and MRBI polls over the past two years.

FG are on 32-35%, but they really should be up near 40% and the reason for this is Kenny. I don't have a hatred for him the way I have a hatred for Ahern or his cohorts. But the man does not inspire me and he is not leadership material.

He reminds me of Neil Kinnock. After the Michael Foot years he made Labour electable, but the UK were never going to have him as a leader for a number of reasons, and so he lost the 1992 election. Kenny is the same. FG should be looking at an overall majority but with Kenny at the helm it will not happen.

If FG want an overall majority they should rid themselves of Kenny during the summer break and come out with all guns blazing under a new leader in September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I find that quite insulting actually.And where did I say anything about Bertie on this thread?

Why narrow the criteria to "on this thread" ?

For the record, it was in another thread : here
    Bertie's legacy-well, I've outlined my position on him several times ( I just know I'm going to be ripped to shreds again when I say this)-I liked the man and I still do. Whatever about people saying he mismanaged the boom......

You admit that he "mismanaged" the boom (an understatement, IMHO) and you "still like him". Your own words.

And if someone can "overlook" the most phenomenal mismanagement in history, leading to the biggest crash in history, then sorry....I stand over what I said.....it's very difficult to take their opinion on what is required of a good leader.

Remember, I didn't claim that you couldn't choose a leader, and bear in mind that it was a question - I asked if you could see why it might cast doubt.

So I stand 100% over what I said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

People aren't just voting for government ,they're voting for a spokesperson for the country ,call it a rep even.

I can't imagine having to listen to kenny every week on the news and any meetings with other world leaders. We need someone with a bit more cop-on ,to bring work into the country.

The man is probably sound and a great politician ,but is that going to get us what we need from the rest of the world ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I saw those. Unfortunately they don't go anywhere near explaining the problem I laid out in my thread: that Labour will not make cuts to at least 65% of public spending and thus they must raise tax, which will reduce the number of jobs on offer due to a less rewarding environment for job creaters.

So I'd be interested, in particular, to see how Labour will create employment in light of the above.

Look back at this thread. It is Labour policy to implement tax cuts in order to stimulate the hospitality and leisure sectors such as the following
    Some of Labour's policies in improving the public finances are as follows. A temporary 5.5% VAT rate for the hospitality and leisure sectors. This would stimulate these industries, helping create new jobs and holding existing ones.

Labour will implement higher taxes for those earning most. However they will not tax business owners and entrepreneurs. These are the creators of jobs and they can rest assured that Labour will help them create jobs through tax cuts such as the ones I outlined above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭trapsagenius

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Why narrow the criteria to "on this thread" ?

For the record, it was in another thread : here

Ok, fair enough.

Liam Byrne wrote: »

You admit that he "mismanaged" the boom (an understatement, IMHO) and you "still like him". Your own words.

And if someone can "overlook" the most phenomenal mismanagement in history, leading to the biggest crash in history, then sorry....I stand over what I said.....it's very difficult to take their opinion on what is required of a good leader.

I do still like him and I also stand over what I said.I personally believe his excellent work in NI outweighs his economic failures.While I cannot dismiss unemployment and financial suffering, surely saving people from being killed and maimed by violence is more important?And let's not forget that any decisions he took were taken in a time of high growth rates, where it looked like economic growth would continue for the forseeable future. However,that's not an excuse,but it is an explanation.And anyway, everyone seems to think that politics nowadays is defined by economics.I think there is more to it than that.

Therefore I think I am as entitled as the next man to have my opinion on what constitutes a good leader to be taken seriously.And I do not think Kenny is one.

I do still like him and I also stand over what I said.I personally believe his excellent work in NI outweighs his economic failures.

I can't agree, and I also think you're overstating his influence, but you're entitled to your opinion.
    And let's not forget that any decisions he took were taken in a time of high growth rates, where it looked like economic growth would continue for the forseeable future.

Well that would be great in isolation, were it not for the fact that he was warned time and time again that it was unsustainable, and his response is now sufficiently well-known to not even need to be repeated.

Also, like I said, a true leader would put money away for a rainy day, giving the country a long-term benefit rather than spending it to give FF a boost just in time for the next election.
    However,that's not an excuse,but it is an explanation.And anyway, everyone seems to think that politics nowadays is defined by economics.I think there is more to it than that.

I do too, and it sickens me to see families living in overpriced shoe boxes with no facilities or gardens for children to play in, or people commuting 50 miles to work because proper houses and infrastructure weren't available for a reasonable price near work, etc.

Irish people might be slightly better-off as a result of / despite the boom-and-crash, but we are FAR worse off in terms of quality of life and people helping each other out and being community-oriented.

Some of that is the fault of individuals, who chose to work 60-hour weeks instead of having a life, but much of it is down to political choices, policies, vested interests and influences.

Therefore I think I am as entitled as the next man to have my opinion on what constitutes a good leader to be taken seriously.And I do not think Kenny is one.[/QUOTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,382 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Look back at this thread. It is Labour policy to implement tax cuts in order to stimulate the hospitality and leisure sectors such as the following

Labour will implement higher taxes for those earning most. However they will not tax business owners and entrepreneurs. These are the creators of jobs and they can rest assured that Labour will help them create jobs through tax cuts such as the ones I outlined above.

So basically Labour's plan to pay for all their rhetoric, is to make those who pay 80% of the income tax, pay even more income tax?

Or are they classing the rich as anyone who earns above the average wage? (which will seriously hinder their policy of job creation).

Until I see them outline their figures showing how they will balance the books, and who exactly they expect to bear the brunt of their spending, I find it hard to take them seriously.

astrofool wrote: »
    So basically Labour's plan to pay for all their rhetoric, is to make those who pay 80% of the income tax, pay even more income tax?

Nobody said that. Labour propose a 48% upper tax bracket for those earning over 100k. This would be mainly on management types in the public and private sector. Labour will implement tax cuts for those who are enterprising entrepreneurs and job creators. After all it was a Labour finance minister that introduced the 12.5% corporation tax that led to Irelands success in the 90's and early 2000's.

Look at their actions. Labour when they were in government the last time created 1000 new jobs a week. These were good jobs in the high tech and pharmaceuticals sector. Not unsustainable construction jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

Ah come on, right now Ireland's biggest problem is the fiscal deficit and Labours policy of fixing everything with taxes and spending increases will put us on the fast-track to bankruptcy.

Ask Greece if government spending fixes everything.

Ireland still has years of cuts to come, how can these be achieved with Labour who are controlled by the unions? I support a change in Government, but if Labour get a majority we are f*cked!

dRNk SAnTA wrote: »
    Ah come on, right now Ireland's biggest problem is the fiscal deficit and Labours policy of fixing everything with taxes and spending increases will put us on the fast-track to bankruptcy.

Ask Greece if government spending fixes everything.

Ireland still has years of cuts to come, how can these be achieved with Labour who are controlled by the unions? I support a change in Government, but if Labour get a majority we are f*cked!

Codswallop. You know nothing about the Labour party and our economic policies.

And Fianna Fail has created the fiscal deficit, not Labour. The Labour party will not make it worse if they get in, they will fix it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,058 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

nkay1985 wrote: »
    I've made my feeling on Enda known on many occasions and I in no way, shape or form want "one of the boys" leading the country. I detest that snivelling little weasel Ahern with every fibre of my being. I think Cowen is an arrogant arsehole. But, similarly, I've never been anything but underwhelmed by Enda. I've seen him speak in person on a couple of occasions to see whether he was just someone who doesn't come across well in debates or through the medium of tv but no, that's not it. Underwhelming is the word. He's got no presence. He's not someone I'd be happy to follow as my leader.

I guess thats chalked down to your own personal view. A lot more people who met him in private rather then TV found him completely different. Its something he needs to do more and try become a better communicator. I think his PR team are letting him down.
    But it's not a party political thing incase people think that's what it is. I'd be very hapy with a Richard Bruton or Gay Mitchell leader of FG. I admire Brian Lenihan for the way he's conducted himself in the past 18 months or so. I always liked Pat Rabbitte but don't really go for Gilmore, although I can see his skills as an orator. I just go for people who I feel it's clear what type of person they are. I don't get a sense of that from Enda. I find him almost vacuous. The Bertie mould of politician is all about being a cute hoor with bags of charisma (apparently). That's wrong and I' ve always failed to see how people went for this type of thing. But that doesn't mean that the polar opposite is right. And that's where I feel FG are with Enda.

Bruton, IMO, would not make a good leader. Gay Mitchell would, but not so sure about leading the country. Enda is generic - what you see is what you (pretty much) get. No bull****, no politics face, no ****e - its Enda. Fresh air, not stale air. All other party leaders are the polar opposite of Bertie so thats not FGs problem.
    I understand why he has respect within FG and I do respect him for what he's done in giving the Irish people a credible alternative but I don't understand why that respect has to translate into support for him as leader. I'm amazed that some kind of challenge to his leadership didn't pop up between 2007 and now and I stand by my assertion that it's the FG party members' biggest failing and that it will cost them big by the time a General Election comes around.

Because he has just proven what he is supposed to do as leader, but because he fails to come across a great speaker which makes you feel proud and happy - you wont vote for the party/candidate. Your letting one man shade the party from a vote - which is wrong. Its not what politics should be about and its why you do not elect someone as leader. Your asked to vote for FG - not a leader. Unless he was corrupt, simply awful politician, or was some inappropriate figure - then nobody should hold it against him.

Plus, you have more SF blood in you (if I am not mistaken :)) so its always hard to give FG a vote and the leader thing is just a good reason to avoid it :p

Lenihan is a sly dog but is more popular now then ever all because his health. Its a bit more of a sympathy vote. Not sure I would trust him to lead the country - he sets what the party does and I would not feel comfortable with him leading the way. Trust more the anything else.

I can also type 2+2=5 into an Internet forum and will show up. What you said does not hold up to simple mathematical scrutiny. Where are they going to get the money from? Fine, you have your new higher tax bracket, but how do you reconcile such small tax changes with a stated determination not to cut over 65% of government spending. And how does Labour plan to remedy Ireland's debt?

As regards those earning over €100,000, you are simply asking people either to leave the country or to not work harder. I would also add in my usual bit about higher taxes=less jobs, but you have previously mentioned a relief for job creators. Which will result in an even smaller tax take, which is again worrying in light of the above.

The numbers just don't add up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Never said he was never singing the populist line. He always did. It just works better now. ;)

Going for a populist line when it's unpopular...surely somewhat of a paradox.

There is always a populist line regardless of the climate people find themselves in.

Is this fine gael your talking about sully ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

bijapos wrote: »
    I think any FG supporters should stop burying their heads n the sand here and have a good hard look at the SBP poll and all Red C and MRBI polls over the past two years.

FG are on 32-35%, but they really should be up near 40% and the reason for this is Kenny. I don't have a hatred for him the way I have a hatred for Ahern or his cohorts. But the man does not inspire me and he is not leadership material.

He reminds me of Neil Kinnock. After the Michael Foot years he made Labour electable, but the UK were never going to have him as a leader for a number of reasons, and so he lost the 1992 election. Kenny is the same. FG should be looking at an overall majority but with Kenny at the helm it will not happen.

If FG want an overall majority they should rid themselves of Kenny during the summer break and come out with all guns blazing under a new leader in September.

elect leo varadakarr as leader , richard bruton ( while an excellent finance spokesman ) is not a natural leader , varadakarr has shown ( in a very short time ) that he possesses all the atributes which one looks for in a leader , intelligence , confidence , the ability to think outside the box and stick to your own possition regardless of whether they are popular , varadakarr is also one of the few true conservatives in irish politics , he can help fine gael rediscover thier conservative soul

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    Is this fine gael your talking about sully ?

... Was that an attempt at some form of dig, considering its clearly obvious who we are talking about? Terrible attempt. Shocking. My nephew, who is only two years old, could do better.

Well done enda.

irishh_bob wrote: »
    elect leo varadakarr as leader , richard bruton ( while an excellent finance spokesman ) is not a natural leader , varadakarr has shown ( in a very short time ) that he possesses all the atributes which one looks for in a leader , intelligence , confidence , the ability to think outside the box and stick to your own possition regardless of whether they are popular , varadakarr is also one of the few true conservatives in irish politics , he can help fine gael rediscover thier conservative soul

You cant elect someone with no government experience as the leader of a country! He said it himself in a recent interview, he has never even been a minister and would need to see if he is good at that before even considering it.

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    Well done enda.

Your very welcome, Eamon. ;)

I guess thats chalked down to your own personal view. A lot more people who met him in private rather then TV found him completely different. Its something he needs to do more and try become a better communicator. I think his PR team are letting him down.

Again, I don't buy that. A PR team can't market him as something he's not. I just don't understand why FG supporters must back him to the hilt and can't recognise a failing in the man. It's sheer party political blindness.
    Bruton, IMO, would not make a good leader. Gay Mitchell would, but not so sure about leading the country. Enda is generic - what you see is what you (pretty much) get. No bull****, no politics face, no ****e - its Enda. Fresh air, not stale air. All other party leaders are the polar opposite of Bertie so thats not FGs problem.

Enda is not the only fresh air in the party so that's not a good enough reason for him to be te leader. Come on now.
    Because he has just proven what he is supposed to do as leader, but because he fails to come across a great speaker which makes you feel proud and happy - you wont vote for the party/candidate. Your letting one man shade the party from a vote - which is wrong. Its not what politics should be about and its why you do not elect someone as leader. Your asked to vote for FG - not a leader. Unless he was corrupt, simply awful politician, or was some inappropriate figure - then nobody should hold it against him.

You're telling me that I'm wrong for using my reasons to not want to vote for a party led by Kenny. You simply can't do that. To say that "Unless he was corrupt, simply awful politician, or was some inappropriate figure" is just ridiculous Sully. Do FG members not understand that this man will be the representative for Ireland on the international stage? There's no way anybody can honsetly say that he's fit for that purpose (although I'm sure there are many FG supporters who'll say it nonetheless).
    Plus, you have more SF blood in you (if I am not mistaken :)) so its always hard to give FG a vote and the leader thing is just a good reason to avoid it :p

Adding a smiley to try to hide a veiled dig doesn't work Sully. In case anybody wants to know my father is a former SF city councillor. That's what Sully's referring to. I'd be no more biased against FG than I would be against FF if that was what was influencing me. I think I've shown in this thread that Labour will not be getting a sniff of a vote from me. I've stated my feelings on FG. I'll restate them. I think they offer a credible alternative to FF. I think their leader is holding them back severely. I will be very unlikely to vote for FG while he's the potential Taoiseach. You know the way parties are supposed to look for votes that aren't traditionally theirs so that they can increase their percentage? I'm one of those. And I can bet that I'm not the only potential voter that's turned off by Enda. Every opinion poll shows it.
    Lenihan is a sly dog but is more popular now then ever all because his health. Its a bit more of a sympathy vote. Not sure I would trust him to lead the country - he sets what the party does and I would not feel comfortable with him leading the way. Trust more the anything else.

I have no doubt that Lenihan is more popular now but I think it's disingenuous to suggest it's only because of his health. Being objective, I think he's handled the situation he was landed in very well from six months or so into the job and I think you'll find that the vast majority of objective journalists (and indeed international journalists and financial reporters) agree with me. I'd have no problem with Lenihan as a leader but his problem is the shower he's affiliated with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I have no doubt that Lenihan is more popular now but I think it's disingenuous to suggest it's only because of his health. Being objective, I think he's handled the situation he was landed in very well from six months or so into the job and I think you'll find that the vast majority of objective journalists (and indeed international journalists and financial reporters) agree with me. I'd have no problem with Lenihan as a leader but his problem is the shower he's affiliated with.

Regarding Lenihan I agree with some of this and disagree with Sully that its down to his health.

Lenihan is the only FF minister to come out and speak to the people, stating quite clearly where we are and that dire measures need to be taken to get us out. That he is the only one to do this is a bad reflection on FF.

I always thought it was a bad decision by Cowan to not give a "State of the Nation" address on RTE some night, not hiding the situation we are in and the task that is ahead of us. He should have done this imo every 6 months or so and try to inspire a form of confidence in the people as a whole. His failure to do this is, to me, bad leadership.

Do FG members not understand that this man will be the representative for Ireland on the international stage? There's no way anybody can honsetly say that he's fit for that purpose (although I'm sure there are many FG supporters who'll say it nonetheless).

Well that didn't stop George Dubbya, and Enda is nowhere near his level of idiocy.
    I have no doubt that Lenihan is more popular now but I think it's disingenuous to suggest it's only because of his health. Being objective, I think he's handled the situation he was landed in very well from six months or so into the job.....

Were the bank guarantee and NAMA, and the first half-assed budget all prior to this arbitrary six-months in ?

He opened so many cans of worms in that 6 months that no sickness is gonna make me forgive him.

Saying "from six months in" is as arbitrary as - I dunno - the November 2009 price benchmark for NAMA.