Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tools

• 27-05-2010 10:57am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,

Figured this topic would be most relevant here.

Where do you buy your tools? Just shopping around ATM. Don't need top of the line stuff, just as long as it's good enough to cope with the usual home mechanical work.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

A mix from factors but I also bought a set of spanners from Aldi-Lidl that still work fine.
    If you can, just wait for their next offers.

edit, saw this for 6 euro
    http://www.lidl.ie/ie/home.nsf/pages/c.o.20100603.p.Spanner_Set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

For basic spanners and socket sets, I've been impressed with halfords 'professional' own brand. Decent quality, lifetime guarantee, and a lot cheaper than the name brands. They seem to be "50% off" most of the time, so don't consider paying the RRP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Thanks lads, will have a look around at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

got a nice soclet/swanner set from Halfords, lifetime warranty and half price :)

Have them 18 months and they're still A1 despite being regularly abused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

the halfrauds set comes wit most sockets and spanners ull ever need thing the full set was 120 or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

they're 149 at the moment, reduced from 249. Think I paid 125 for mine at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭beachlife

used to buy a lot of snap-on now just a little! haven't bought a socket in almost 20 years!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

The Snap-on man was in the garage the other day, what a joker.

I see some of the young fellas buying tools off him and requesting them with certain colours.

Here, he says, great bargain on this toolbox, €750+ VAT, AND its in blue, never had them in that colour before.

Well fcuk me but I have 2 britool tool boxes with my tools in them, can move them from van to workshop to car boot if needed and it is very rare I cannot open a draw and get what I need from it and they were got for a 1/4 of the price of what he was selling.

I just don't see the logic in spending that kind of money..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

yeah have a britool box myself and a snap on servicd trolley, 90pc of my tools are snap on have them insured for ten k but some of the guys i work with have the huge snap on boxs one for €14,000!!!!!!!!! just the box no tools! i always thought guys with big crazy boxes are compensating for something else...

I noticed that about people with bug snap-on boxes. The drawers have feck all in them.

Mine tend to be a bit stuffed and every once in a while the red mist will descend when a drawer won't close..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I use Teng and have builld up a decent collection over the years, they are reasonably priced if you are prepared to wait for specials and also if a socket or spanner goes AWOL there is no probs getting one seperately from any of the decent factors.

I avoid any of the German or automotive super market tools, as I don't particularly want my knuckles skinned. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭hiluxman

i use teng tools as well, i find them grand apart from the crappy rachets that keep reversing them selves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

I have a Snap-On heavy duty road chest in the van(6 yrs old now), after trying loads of other boxes, Britool, Draper, Teng etc the Snap -On one is the only one that ever hacked it, the rest just fell apart, they Definatly make the best boxes on the market at the moment and are worth the premium within reason. Their handtools(what little of them I have) also outclass other handtools in their standard of finish and their durability(once used a Snap-On spanner with 6ft of pipe on the end and 16st of me standing on it to tighten Scania wheelnuts). A lot of their stuff is overpriced but can be picked up relatively cheaply on their special offer sheets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I avoid any of the German or automotive super market tools, as I don't particularly want my knuckles skinned. :eek:
    I'll let you when/if that happens ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,601 ✭✭✭✭guil

i have bits and pieces from everywhere but in 04 i bought a sealey socket set when i was changing the engine in my fiesta, think i paid 129 for it

still have every piece in it and nothin broke, i sheared the heads off 2 other extension bars taking the engine out of an acmat but didnt bother the sealey one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Picked up the Halfords "Advanced Professional 150 piece Socket/Ratchet Set" at the weekend for €150.

Seems solid enough, only complaint I'd have so far is that the socket connector on the 3/8" Wobble Extension bar doesn't grip as tightly to the spark plug socket as the socket grips the spark plug so after tightening the spark back in, the socket stuck on the spark rather than coming off with the extension bar. Had to undo the spark and replace it with a spark plug tool I bought in Lidl on a whim about a year ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

im just a keen DIYer so dont see the need for huge expenditure on my tools just good quality is what is important to me.

So far provided by lidl

- A set of 10 Stanley Screwdrivers - 14 quid (saw them for sale in another shop for 30 odd euro)
    - Set of long thin stanley screwdrivers
    - They recently had a 100 piece metric spanner and socket set, few different sized rachets and extensions included decent quality 99euro
    - The set comprising of plyers, snips, insulated screwdrivers, spanners, few sockets - 50 quid have it for a years and its paid for itself many times over.
    LED work light - 10euro

I get a few bits and bobs when im abroad with work (toolstation is reasonably priced)

Sealey Brake Bleading kit
    Large Torque wrench 40NM and up - £18
    Various keys from removing radios (VW, AUDI, Ford, BMW) -£12
    Inspection mirrors and magnetic pickup tool

Have a Small Draper Torque wrench from amazon - 10NM to 80NM (i think)
    multimeter solering iron etc etc

Will be getting more as I get more adventerous........

Been following an engine conversion on one of the lotus fourms - swapping out the existing Rover K series engine for a Honda Type R unit (k20A) looks like a challenge. :) If only I had the money :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I have a full set of Teng Tools spanners, sockets, screwdrivers, etc. I got them when I sued to work in a garage a few years back. They were pricey, but they're excellent quality and I have a lifetime guarantee.

I've a torque wrench, but I rarely ever use it.

Other things I have is a full torx bit set, impact screwdriver, and a tap and die set (you will need this when working on older cars!)

One thing EVERY DIY mechanic should have is ratchet spanners. You'll save so much time undoing bolts that are in hard to reach areas.

I also have a large spanner set that I got in Argos (the Challenge brand) about 6-7 years ago. Have to say, they're good quality and cheap enough too. None have broke or warped on me since I bought them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I use the halfords socket set and I can't dought it, I have it nearly 3 years and use them everyday. Very good for the price. I also use britool, there cheap enough and good.
    The box I have is halfords, a big black one, it has ball bearing drawers too. I might just put a snap on badge over it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭v240gltse

hi,

how about this to get you started linky . cheap and suitable for home use.

I have a mixture of bits and pieces but would definitely second getting a set of ratchet-spanners, so so handy.

Personally i buy the vast bulk of my stuff (draper etc ) from ted johnsons here in naas. if you pop in regularly they have sales on so 2 weeks ago i picked up a 7 piece ratchet-spanner set reduced from 69.99 to 39.99 IIRC.

aldi/lidl tools are good for in frequent use and often some really good value to the home Mechanic so you can build your kit as you go , i'am sure that's how we've all done it .

brendan

Ratchet spanners are very handy but, if they are the type that you have to turn over to changer direction be careful with them, with long bolts they can end up getting stuck in place.. that is the voice of experience talking :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Happened to me aswel, I doing rear pads on a mondeo, I share your pain!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,693 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Check this offer out. Not professional, but great value all the same.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

v240gltse wrote: »
    Personally i buy the vast bulk of my stuff (draper etc ) from ted johnsons here in naas. if you pop in regularly they have sales on so 2 weeks ago i picked up a 7 piece ratchet-spanner set reduced from 69.99 to 39.99 IIRC.

Try Bradshaws in Newbridge, far better selection and far more reasonable, Ted Johnsons are far too expensive and have a very suitable nickname locally;)
    Slidey wrote: »
    Ratchet spanners are very handy but, if they are the type that you have to turn over to changer direction be careful with them, with long bolts they can end up getting stuck in place.. that is the voice of experience talking :(

Easily fixed :D
    s_torch2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

gofaster_s13, don't post libellous statements like that please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Slidey wrote: »
    I thought I was the only one that happened to! Such a sickening feeling when the penny drops at what just happened!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

For basic spanners and socket sets, I've been impressed with halfords 'professional' own brand. Decent quality, lifetime guarantee, and a lot cheaper than the name brands. They seem to be "50% off" most of the time, so don't consider paying the RRP.

Had them for a few years now only broke one but i was being abusive.
    Do not pay full price for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

As said above Aldi special offers are fantastic, bought an air ratchet off them for €30 last year and its done some work. The screwdriver and spline sets are generally of a high standard.
    I buy a lot of Wurth tools for the bigger stuff, on the pricey side but good stuff normally. I'm not a fan of Sealey or Draper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭gerbo

Just to point out that the RRP of the Halfords socket set is €150 and not €250. The price is increased from time to time to comply with the law so they can advertise the price as being reduced.