Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Athletics in Dublin in huge trouble

• 01-08-2010 11:26AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭

Looking at the Irish team and our big performers and not just in Barca it is pretty obvious that there are very few top athletes from Dublin being produced. Aside from Gillick, there is nobody.

Derval - Cork
    Heffernan - Cork
    Gillick - Dublin
    Hession - Galway
    McSweeney - Cork
    Smyth - Derry
    Whelan - Waterford
    Galligan - Kildare
    Griffin - Leitrim
    4 x 100 women (Down, Wateford, Kildare, Cork)
    4 x 400 men (Cork, Dublin, Wexford, Kilkenny)
    Cuddihy - KIlkenny
    O' Keeffe - Kilkenny
    Cragg - Joburg
    Fagan - Westmeath
    Chamney - Tipperary
    Campbell - Kildare

Could go on.

Very few Dubs despite 25% of the population. Why is it? Their clubs are among the strongest but they struggle to produce elites. Are they all robbing cars or high on heroin? Are they all pregnant aged 15? Seriously though, there was a study conducted in Australia that found a large percentaqe of elite athletes come from provincial towns or cities.

So, why doesn't Dublin produce top class athletes anymore? The pipeline is provincial too. Mageean, Patterson, Robinson and Maher at World Juniors are all culchies. Mark English and Kate Veale at youths.

Dublin, you are letting us down!!! Step up and do your bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

Tingle wrote: »
    Looking at the Irish team and our big performers and not just in Barca it is pretty obvious that there are very few top athletes from Dublin being produced. Aside from Gillick, there is nobody.

Derval - Cork
    Heffernan - Cork
    Gillick - Dublin
    Hession - Galway
    McSweeney - Cork
    Smyth - Derry
    Whelan - Waterford
    Galligan - Kildare
    Griffin - Leitrim
    Cuddihy - KIlkenny
    O' Keeffe - Kilkenny
    Cragg - Joburg
    Fagan - Westmeath
    Chamney - Tipperary
    Campbell - Kildare

Could go on.

Very few Dubs despite 25% of the population. Why is it? Their clubs are among the strongest but they struggle to produce elites. Are they all robbing cars or high on heroin? Are they all pregnant aged 15? Seriously though, there was a study conducted in Australia that found a large percentaqe of elite athletes come from provincial towns or cities.

So, why doesn't Dublin produce top class athletes anymore? The pipeline is provincial too. Mageean, Patterson, Robinson and Maher at World Juniors are all culchies. Mark English and Kate Veale at youths.

Its a sad day when Dublin produces the same amount of international athletes as the likes of Leitrim and Sligo. I think its all the distractions such as night clubs and social atmosphere etc. They dont have any distractions down in culchie land only farming and obviously running the land aka Brian Maher. We need to produce more Dublin athletes but never fear cloniffe is here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭devotional1993

Derval - Cork
    Heffernan - Cork
    Gillick - Dublin
    Hession - Galway
    McSweeney - Cork
    Smyth - Derry
    Whelan - Waterford
    Galligan - Kildare
    Griffin - Leitrim
    Cuddihy - KIlkenny
    O' Keeffe - Kilkenny
    Cragg - Joburg
    Fagan - Westmeath
    Chamney - Tipperary
    Campbell - Kildare

Could go on.

Na Dublin is too busy beating the crap outta the culchies at GAA:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Has it ever been any different. Even the hayday in middle distance was:
    Coughlan - Dublin
    Tracey - Waterford
    Flynn - Longford
    O'Meara - Limerick
    O'Sullivan - Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

devotional is probably right to a certain degree, in Dublin there's a much wider variety of activities for kids so specialization becomes diluted, in the smaller towns a good performance in a sports day, community games, etc stands out and maybe that's encouraged more. Maybe kids are more active in general outside of Dublin, still climbing trees and a bit more freedom than moving from the Wii to PS3 and not getting dropped to the school door step and back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

Derval - Cork
    Heffernan - Cork
    Gillick - Dublin
    Hession - Galway
    McSweeney - Cork
    Smyth - Derry
    Whelan - Waterford
    Galligan - Kildare
    Griffin - Leitrim
    Cuddihy - KIlkenny
    O' Keeffe - Kilkenny
    Cragg - Joburg
    Fagan - Westmeath
    Chamney - Tipperary
    Campbell - Kildare

Could go on.

Ehh because 75% of the population is not from Dublin!!!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

baza1976 wrote: »
    Ehh because 75% of the population is not from Dublin!!!:rolleyes:

Yes but we don't have even close to 25% representation of Dubs on our teams.

There is as much sporting diversity outside of Dublin. Football, hurling, soccer, rugby are also played outside Dublin.

I think Dublin kids are softer, leave mammy later, don't go away to college etc etc and don't learn to stand on their own feet. Athletics is such an individual sport you need to be tough, do things yourself. Going to the States will do that many times. There are obvious exceptions but I find it many times in Dublin athletes, they generally moan more, give out and make excuses. Could be harsh but in my view could be a reason for the lack of elite Dublin athletes. If there wasn't DSD, there would be none:eek:

gerard65 wrote: »
    Has it ever been any different. Even the hayday in middle distance was:
    Coughlan - Dublin
    Tracey - Waterford
    Flynn - Longford
    O'Meara - Limerick
    O'Sullivan - Cork.

That's 20%, close to the population allocation. Even if it has always been like that, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,504 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I grew up in the southside of Dublin, and never had a sniff of a running club or running as a sport as a youth. They simply didn't exist. Not that I had any talent for running, but I had absolutely no awareness that such a thing existed, which would've been the same for all of my friends and other kids in the area. Sports-day included a lap around the football pitch, but that was about it.

My OH is from Roscommon, and all of my nieces and nephews participate in community games (regardless of their talent) across the entire range of athletics disciplines, so youth talent at least has a chance of shining through.

So I wouldn't say it's a reflection that Dublin doesn't have any talent. More a reflection that it doesn't get nurtured, unless you happen to live beside one of the running clubs or have parents that were themselves involved in the sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I grew up in the southside of Dublin, and never had a sniff of a running club or running as a sport as a youth. They simply didn't exist. Not that I had any talent for running, but I had absolutely no awareness that such a thing existed, which would've been the same for all of my friends and other kids in the area. Sports-day included a lap around the football pitch, but that was about it.

My OH is from Roscommon, and all of my nieces and nephews participate in community games (regardless of their talent) across the entire range of athletics disciplines, so youth talent at least has a chance of shining through.

So I wouldn't say it's a reflection that Dublin doesn't have any talent. More a reflection that it doesn't get nurtured, unless you happen to live beside one of the running clubs or have parents that were themselves involved in the sport.

Coming from the north side of Dublin I had a totally different take on it. From Primary school level there was always the sports day but also the days out to santry , St Anns park etc to race against other schools.

Local clubs set up all in most of the areas and more races that you could shake a stick at , from North Dublin ChampionC to the trace races in Santry again, Also remember a grass track somewhere, maybe it DCU but that wasnt around then.

I Know in the 80's/90's everyones parents seemed to be runners too .

Maybe the south dublin lads just love their polo and cricket too much ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Na Dublin is too busy beating the crap outta the culchies at GAA:P
    Every dog has it's day...anyway.....better watch out! :eek: here come De Rebels!!:D:D:D

What's all this on this thread about 'Culchies'.....from some of the posts, you'd swear that Dublin was that 'Centre of the Universe'.

Wasn't the Original post on the thread not:

...Or did I miss something????:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

Seems to me that Dublin clubs concentrate more on adults than juveniles, thus cutting off their pipeline. At National juveniles this year, there was very few compeditors from the likes of DSD, Clonliffe, Raheny. If you don't encourage your kids, you ain't gonna develop seniors in Dublin. (and then you gotta ship them in from outside - oops that's a different thread:))

notsofast wrote: »
    Seems to me that Dublin clubs concentrate more on adults than juveniles, thus cutting off their pipeline. At National juveniles this year, there was very few compeditors from the likes of DSD, Clonliffe, Raheny. If you don't encourage your kids, you ain't gonna develop seniors in Dublin. (and then you gotta ship them in from outside - oops that's a different thread:))

There may be some validity in that but even when there is a good Dublin athlete, do they have the 'edge' we'll say other athletes may have. Who was the last Dublin athlete before Gillick who was world class. Coghlan? Between Coghlan and Gillick there has been O' Sullivan, Carroll, Heffernan and O' Rourke come out of Cork alone. Is that a fluke? Are Cork people more suited to T&F? Maybe I have missed some Dublin athletes but they do seem thin on the ground.

Condo131 wrote: »
    Wasn't the Original post on the thread not:

...Or did I miss something????:confused:

No you are right. Must be Dubs replying, skirting the issue and trying to project away from the real issue. Maybe thats the problem with the Dublin athletes too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

I agree with tingle all dubs are mammy boy wimps. Hopefully the countries leading track and cross country club (clonliffe) can sort things out for us. Maybe it's a problem with the coaches (particularly the sprint coaches) with this club though that are the real problem. Maybe the coaches are soft bastards and that has rubbed off on the athletes :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Having not come from a sporting background the existance of athletics, let alone clubs was more or less completely unknown to me as a kid. I have always been big into sport and always wanted to be out playing and running around while my friends preferred to watch tv, play space invaders or stand around yapping. Sport wasn't encouraged in my family until I got old enough to join clubs on my own etc I didn't get a whiff of it. Things like this really need to be encouraged in schools, school is where kids get a real taste of sport and where talent can really be discovered. The P.E curriculum in primary schools needs a big overhaul IMO.

There were no sports clubs anywhere near where I grew up anyway, so even if my parents had encouraged participation in sport it'd have been no good as there was no where around to take part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

The hottest prospect coming through IS from Dublin and everyone knows who she is. Hopefully she wont start stealing cars and shooting up.

Stojkovic wrote: »
    The hottest prospect coming through IS from Dublin and everyone knows who she is. Hopefully she wont start stealing cars and shooting up.

Ciara Mageean ain't a Dub and she is the hottest prospect and also runs in the right age group!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Ciara Mageean ain't a Dub and she is the hottest prospect and also runs in the right age group!!!

Took the words right out of my mouth

I agree with tingle all dubs are mammy boy wimps. Hopefully the countries leading track and cross country club (clonliffe) can sort things out for us. Maybe it's a problem with the coaches (particularly the sprint coaches) with this club though that are the real problem. Maybe the coaches are soft bastards and that has rubbed off on the athletes :)

More excuses. Despite many country coaches in Dublin, there are still problems. Imagine if it was all Dubs coaches:eek:

:D:D:D

Yeah Ciara's not half bad either.
    We'll have a 1-2 in Rio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Stojkovic wrote: »

:D Ironically the young girl you are thinking of is from Wicklow but runs with a Dublin club. It's important to have your facts right before going on a fishing expedition.

More excuses. Despite many country coaches in Dublin, there are still problems. Imagine if it was all Dubs coaches:eek:

Can you give a breakdown of the parent county of the coaches? By my reckoning 50% + are not dubs!!! Imagine the figure if culchie coaches increased? The north Dublin power house would be fecked!

On relection the infiltration of tingle and his turnip picking mates could be a deliberate plot by the smelly farmers to undermine the athletics greatness of the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

Will people please take into account that athletics throughout Ireland is a minority sport, especially in Dublin. There are huge strongholds for sports such as soccer, GAA and rugby in Dublin. I mean have you ever heard of an athletics school in Dublin like the way in that Blackrock is a rugby school.

Can you give a breakdown of the parent county of the coaches? By my reckoning 50% + are not dubs!!! Imagine the figure if culchie coaches increased? The north Dublin power house would be fecked!

On relection the infiltration of tingle and his turnip picking mates could be a deliberate plot by the smelly farmers to undermine the athletics greatness of the Dubs.

The turnip seeds have been set and the future of the Dubs is bright as a result.

I reckon you need at least 80% Redneck Infiltration before Dublin athletes start having raw eggs for breakfast, rubbing wintergreen on their privates and wearing GAA shorts and that's not even for training but for going to Mass. When they get to this stage they may then be more competitive.

Will people please take into account that athletics throughout Ireland is a minority sport, especially in Dublin. There are huge strongholds for sports such as soccer, GAA and rugby in Dublin. I mean have you ever heard of an athletics school in Dublin like the way in that Blackrock is a rugby school.

Most successful hurling county is Kilkenny, football is Kerry, rugby is Limerick and ok soccer is Dublin. Sounds like more excuses. The only sport in my school was GAA. Used to race on a tartan track twice a year, the rest of the time we trained on the Bord na Mona peat bog, was great for the calves. We just got on with it. We hurdled over bales of hay, long jumped into rivers and pole vaulted orchard walls running away from rabid greyhounds.

I mean have you ever heard of an athletics school in Dublin like the way in that Blackrock is a rugby school.

True can't think of anything to compare to the rugby schools but there are/were some strong running schools such as St Aidan's in Santry (don't let Tingle here me say this as much of their success was due to a rossie culchie;))

:D Ironically the young girl you are thinking of is from Wicklow but runs with a Dublin club. It's important to have your facts right before going on a fishing expedition.
    :D No she's not.
    It's important that YOU get YOUR facts right my friend.
    She did live there for a few years, ran with Greystones and represented Wicklow at soccer but is most definitely a Dub, lives in Dublin and goes to school in Dublin.

And I aint fishing, just responding to the original post about the lack of athletes from Dublin, thats all.

rossie culchie

West of the Shannon and north of Killaloe is a different kettle of fish, doesn't follow the normal Culchie superiority (with notable exception of Hesh).

My geography outside of the kingdom that is the PALE is a little poor. But isn't Sligo outside of your normal culchie superior boundaries? I think a certain ms Mary Cullen should be added to your list of "magnificent muckers"

West of Shannon, north of Killaloe, south of Sligo then.

Grand new boundaries have been drawn. At least us dubs can take the intellectual high ground in these physical arguments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

A lot of it has got to be down to coaching, or lack of it. The Dublin AB puts on a very full programme and large numbers of young athletes take part. Then the qualifiers from the Dublin Champs go off to the nationals and (certainly in the last two years) get buried without trace by the southerners.

In my time in Dublin there seemed to be no lack of participation in juvenile athletics but the standard was generally woeful by national standards. Very average performers can win cheap medals at local level. If one accepts that the Dub kids are as intrinsically talented as all others then it's down to lack of coaches with knowledge of how to progress young athletes.

But don't ask me why this should just be the case in the capital.

RoyMcC wrote: »
    A lot of it has got to be down to coaching, or lack of it. The Dublin AB puts on a very full programme and large numbers of young athletes take part. Then the qualifiers from the Dublin Champs go off to the nationals and (certainly in the last two years) get buried without trace by the southerners.

In my time in Dublin there seemed to be no lack of participation in juvenile athletics but the standard was generally woeful by national standards. Very average performers can win cheap medals. If one accepts that the Dub kids are as intrinsically talented as all others then it's down to lack of coaches with knowledge of how to progress young athletes.

But don't ask me why this should just be the case in the capital.

There may have been good participation in the clubs, but those clubs are only representing a small sub-section of the Dublin population. For large tracts of Dublin, athletics doesn't/didn't exist. There is room for more clubs, and more channeling of kids through the system.

But it's chicken and egg Krusty. The present clubs have got a very limited number of good coaches working with young athletes. There are always well-meaning parents who help out, but it's no good attracting more youngsters, or starting new clubs, if there are not coaches there with the ability to bring out potential.

And, if you are correct in saying about the untapped areas, then there MUST be huge potential.

The earlier thread about members of this forum being coaches was telling. If the athletics enthusiasts on here are not passing on their knowledge and experience it's a bad sign. But it still doesn't explain why there are hotspots of excellence in Waterford & Cork (for example) but not in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Was just talking to one of the coaches of a good South Dublin team, they have over 400 on their books, busier than ever, and some world class athletes among them (the two ffrench-O'Carrolls were training as we spoke). The problem he mentioned was talented kids dropping out at the age of 15 or 16, either to continue other sports careers in sports with more exposure (Rugby, soccer), or to hang with friends who have started drinking/clubbing. I don't know how specific this is to Dublin (maybe more attraction in the bright Dublin city lights than an a Saturday evening of welly-throwing in Roscommon?), but I'd imagine there's less avenues for talented non-Dublin athletes to meander along, than would be the case for a talented Free-Stater.

RoyMcC wrote: »
    But it's chicken and egg Krusty. The present clubs have got a very limited number of good coaches working with young athletes. There are always well-meaning parents who help out, but it's no good attracting more youngsters, or starting new clubs, if there are not coaches there with the ability to bring out potential.

And, if you are correct in saying about the untapped areas, then there MUST be huge potential.

The earlier thread about members of this forum being coaches was telling. If the athletics enthusiasts on here are not passing on their knowledge and experience it's a bad sign. But it still doesn't explain why there are hotspots of excellence in Waterford & Cork (for example) but not in Dublin.
    That's a fair point. I do believe that Dublin needs a system like the community games, that offers kids from across the county opportunities to shine, so at least the limited resources available in the existing clubs are working with the kids with the greatest potential. Unfair? Yes. But if the drive is to improve the output from the county, it needs to focus on the most talented kids, rather than those in existing club catchment areas.

Was just talking to one of the coaches of a good South Dublin team, they have over 400 on their books, busier than ever, and some world class athletes among them (the two ffrench-O'Carrolls were training as we spoke). The problem he mentioned was talented kids dropping out at the age of 15 or 16, either to continue other sports careers in sports with more exposure (Rugby, soccer), or to hang with friends who have started drinking/clubbing. I don't know how specific this is to Dublin (maybe more attraction in the bright Dublin city lights than an a Saturday evening of welly-throwing in Roscommon?), but I'd imagine there's less avenues for talented non-Dublin athletes to meander along, than would be the case for a talented Free-Stater.

Too right, the drop-off rate is horrendous. The big numbers from U12-U14 to the scarcity of anyone much in the older groups is astonishing. Just by scanning the Dublin age-group championship results it's obvious.

A drop-off around this age is common across GB and ROI (and no doubt elsewhere) and across all sports - though team sports suffer less. There may be an element of 'bright lights' that affects Dublin in particular. However and conversely, in GB the hotspots are most definitely in the metropolitan areas.

I keep coming back to the paucity of good coaching (though there is some good work going on.) A beginner-coach can take a boy or girl to a certain level through basic knowledge and the natural enthusiasm of the youngster. However there will be a levelling-off in achievement unless there is expertise on hand to drive the youngster onwards and upwards. If this does not happen then enthusiasm wanes quickly.

That's when Gaelic, soccer, netball etc gets the benefit of our training :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

So what is the drop off rate in the rest of the country or it really a big city problem and not just Dublin? Is Tingles who thing gone out the window;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 athlete123

I believe something that would help solve the problem would be to abolish the current automatic qualification for a dublin juv champ for the all irelands. The athletes from dublin should compete in the leinsters. This may give another goal to the to athletes from dub who ease through dublin but struggle at nationals. If the athletes first of all try to win the leinsters and have this as a goal and then when they achieve this, they can aim to do well at nationals with the confidence of leinster titles behind them.
    It would also make the quality of the leinsters higher which would spur on other athletes from leinster and make them up their performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

It should be a two step qualification to the All Ireland alright, not sure about being included in Leinster champs though. Might be better to go the schools route, and have a north, south, west, and east Dublin Champs before the Dublin champs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭RealistSpy

What about more facilities? More tartan tracks!!

RealistSpy wrote: »
    What about more facilities? More tartan tracks!!

More than enough of them in Dublin now, pretty empty most of the time apart from club nights :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

The break down of the team for the Celtic Internationals makes interesting reading.
    U16 Boys - Team of 5 -no Dubs
    U16 Girls - Team of 6 - 1 Dub
    U18 Boys - Team of 21 - 4 Dubs
    U18 Girls - Team of 21 - 5 Dubs (one of whom is Wicklow born and bred but competes with Dublin club)

So approximately 1/5 of the team are from Dublin clubs.
    Other posters can feel free to manipulate these statistics anyway they wish to make their arguments ;)

The break down of the team for the Celtic Internationals makes interesting reading.
    U16 Boys - Team of 5 -no Dubs
    U16 Girls - Team of 6 - 1 Dub
    U18 Boys - Team of 21 - 4 Dubs
    U18 Girls - Team of 21 - 5 Dubs (one of whom is Wicklow born and bred but competes with Dublin club)

So approximately 1/5 of the team are from Dublin clubs.
    Other posters can feel free to manipulate these statistics anyway they wish to make their arguments ;)

So you could argue that at underage the Dubs do ok internationally. What explains the fall off at participation at global age group champs or senior champs. Maybe it's not a numbers game and they are soft. At juvenile it's easy, you have your coach, your friends, you win lots. You hit junior, your friends who were slow quit, you are on your own, you may need to find a new coach, you may start getting beat in races and generally you have to stand on your own two feet.

Can anyone explain why there have been so few senior elite from Dublin in recent years when a place like Cork that maybe a tenth it's size as
    had 4. I'm coming back to think it's attitude. The ills people talk about like drop out, other sport, drinking etc are all available in the country too. It's got to be attitude until somebody can give a decent explaination to the contrary.

Can anyone explain why there have been so few senior elite from Dublin in recent years when a place like Cork that maybe a tenth it's size as
    had 4. I'm coming back to think it's attitude.
    The ills people talk about like drop out, other sport, drinking etc are all available in the country too. It's got to be attitude until somebody can give a decent explaination to the contrary.

I put it down to mental, sure we all know that evryone from Cork thinks they are the greatest thing since sliced bread. Maybe its what we need up in the Big smoke:D

Tingle, ecoli, I can't believe for a second that the attitude of your average Dublin teenager differs that much from their counterpart in Galway, Cork or Donegal.

I know I bang on about coaching - do you have any idea of the relative strength of expert coaching in the regions? In other words do results bear relation to top coaching?

On attitude though you can get a long way on club team/spirit and ethos. Look at how Team GB got on a roll so everyone stepped up believing they could succeed. Do the clubs outside Dublin tend to be tighter-knit and more focused? Not saying they are, I really don't know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Tangle2

So you could argue that at underage the Dubs do ok internationally. What explains the fall off at participation at global age group champs or senior champs. Maybe it's not a numbers game and they are soft. At juvenile it's easy, you have your coach, your friends, you win lots. You hit junior, your friends who were slow quit, you are on your own, you may need to find a new coach, you may start getting beat in races and generally you have to stand on your own two feet.

had 4. I'm coming back to think it's attitude. The ills people talk about like drop out, other sport, drinking etc are all available in the country too. It's got to be attitude until somebody can give a decent explaination to the contrary.

I think you are close to hitting the nail on the head there re coaching. I honestly think there is far better coaches in Cork than we have in the capital in some areas. If we look at middle/long distance, Cork as produced Marcus O'Sullivan, Mark Carroll and a host of other top class National talents over the years such as: Liam O'Brien, John Murray, Ken Nason, Martin McCarthy, Declan O'Callaghan, Cathal Lombard etc etc. On the ladies side we had Sonia and Anita Philpott and many more National Class athletes.

In cork though they had the benefit of Bro John Dooley, Der O'Donovan, Sean Kennedy, Liam Kelleher, Donie Walsh and some others.

In Dublin there was Peter Mc and Eddie McDonagh. Now its Eddie really.Clonliffe aren't bringing athletes through anymore. Other clubs are working hard to get numbers such as Celtic and Brothers Pearse but the coaches there can only take them so far as by all accounts they don't have the know how to do it. It's not a criticism, they just need to upskill and in the meantime pass on the good athletes to better coaches who can bring them to the next level. Too often coached are territorial and try to keep athletes, even at the expense of progression.

Tangle2 wrote: »
    I think you are close to hitting the nail on the head there re coaching. I honestly think there is far better coaches in Cork than we have in the capital in some areas. If we look at middle/long distance, Cork as produced Marcus O'Sullivan, Mark Carroll and a host of other top class National talents over the years such as: Liam O'Brien, John Murray, Ken Nason, Martin McCarthy, Declan O'Callaghan, Cathal Lombard etc etc. On the ladies side we had Sonia and Anita Philpott and many more National Class athletes.

In cork though they had the benefit of Bro John Dooley, Der O'Donovan, Sean Kennedy, Liam Kelleher, Donie Walsh and some others.

In Dublin there was Peter Mc and Eddie McDonagh. Now its Eddie really.Clonliffe aren't bringing athletes through anymore. Other clubs are working hard to get numbers such as Celtic and Brothers Pearse but the coaches there can only take them so far as by all accounts they don't have the know how to do it. It's not a criticism, they just need to upskill and in the meantime pass on the good athletes to better coaches who can bring them to the next level. Too often coached are territorial and try to keep athletes, even at the expense of progression.

Is he not Limerick?

I think some Dublin coaches are not being given enough credit here

John Shields has been doing wonders with Brian Gregan over the last few years
    John Downes has been doing wonders with John Travers and is pretty much reviving the junior side of Donore
    Cant remember who coached her but Rose Anne Galligan was actually raise and trained in Dublin
    John Coughlan has been doing great things with Stephen Colvert and Brian Murphy
    Eddie McDonagh Adam Jones Dick Hooper and Jim Davis are also names to be mentioned

I dont think that coaching is the problem as there seems to be an abundance of high quality coaches but athlete ratio doesnt seem to correlate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

ecoli wrote: »
    Is he not Limerick?

I think some Dublin coaches are not being given enough credit here

John Shields has been doing wonders with Brian Gregan over the last few years
    John Downes has been doing wonders with John Travers and is pretty much reviving the junior side of Donore
    Cant remember who coached her but Rose Anne Galligan was actually raise and trained in Dublin
    John Coughlan has been doing great things with Stephen Colvert and Brian Murphy
    Eddie McDonagh Adam Jones Dick Hooper and Jim Davis are also names to be mentioned

I dont think that coaching is the problem as there seems to be an abundance of high quality coaches but athlete ratio doesnt seem to correlate

Who does Jim Davis train now that young Darcy has gone off the scene.

ecoli you're way ahead of me in detailed knowledge of the clubs. But it does beg the question as to why the standard of juvenile athletics (with the exception of middle distance, which is stronger) is so poor when you can list these names. Dan Kennedy and the other very good javelin coach at Clonliffe too, another at Greystones. Maybe there's an upward curve there somewhere...