Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft on 2fm at the moment

• 17-11-2010 11:20AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭

They are talking about it on 2fm now on the Colm Hayes show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

cork airsoft are on now

not going that well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭TNTQ

good man Mad Ozzie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Hmm, this is not great - the questions being asked are scaremongering. The presenter has admitted to liking Paintball, but is steering it toward being something insidious.

I do think it's a poor choice of words - but listening with interest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭jeawan

Some of the IAA maybe need to ring the show as 2fm is a big deal

What the hell is he bringing up the UKARA & Two-Tone crap here? This is absolutely ridiculous.

ah man, stay quiet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Airsoft and RIF's are well legislated for, it is just a matter of the legislation being enacted (I am unsure of the term) so there is no issue.

The gadget shops wont be selling toy guns when that happens, and brandishing in public of an RIF is already a criminal offence.

These would be the points to make to these sheisse stirrers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Whats going down, cant get 2fm stream in work, whats the dealio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Chuck the Buck

Where's the IAA? They retired last year I believe.

oh goody headshots and derek whoot

Where's the IAA? They retired last year I believe.

has no-one got biohazzards number?

Tigger wrote: »
    has no-one got biohazzards number?

Doing it now

This new guy, John, seems to be pretty good. He's not being caught off guard

omg i now miss hivemind and his ability not to put his foot in it

"it'll take The LEGS OFF YOU"
    "headshots = bragging rights"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

TNTQ wrote: »
    ah man, stay quiet

yeah Shhhh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭*DOBBY*

wasn't too bad, with the exception of the lad saying 'we' would all like to see it going two tone. Jeeez

In fairness these shows have a pretty large number of research staff.

Any decent show would be contacting the IAA well in advance requesting them to join the show for debate, if not, well then it says it all.

And in cases like that retailers and site owners should just keep out of it.

Seen too many radio segments and newspaper interviews been a nightmare and cringey and usually not the best.

Going onto a debate or discussion , live on air, with no prep mateiral, is going to end in tears : /

Although I can't hear the station, if Ozzie is on the show, hes passion and wit I'm sure is going to be enough to cross the line and ensure it isnt a negetive outcome :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

Is it over, I just caught the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

Who recommended the whole two tone thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Chuck the Buck

Joe Duffy will be good today!

Lads seriously if you get an urge to "Talk to Joe" don't!!!! There were enough sleeve chewers on 2fm already.

Two tone guns, head shots, etc... Muppets!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,612 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

*cue sound of sharpening pitchforks coming from doe juffy's studio*

But in fairness , by and large a far more intelligent treatment of airsoft than we would have gotten a few years ago.
    I didnt think the shop owner came across well though.Mad Ozzie in contrast came across as anything but Mad.

and we're back onto royal weddings

Joe Duffy will be good today!

Lads seriously if you get an urge to "Talk to Joe" don't!!!! There were enough sleeve chewers on 2fm already.

Two tone guns, head shots, etc... Muppets!

Aye, leave it to the IAA, our representative body, to defend our sport/hobby

*DOBBY* wrote: »
    wasn't too bad, with the exception of the lad saying 'we' would all like to see it going two tone. Jeeez

who said that

the bit where the guy from wexford said that an ak would "take the legs off ya" was the worst for me

followed by "we'd probably stop people from playing if they had no eye gear"

but someone has to challange not just give answers yer man is all i like paintball but airsoft is different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Biohazrd was on to them and they said they'd be calling him back to go back to the item later in the show.

I doubt that'll happen though....the last thing they want is people who know what they're talking about. I only caught the end...2FM have a podcast of their shows dont they ?

TheDoc wrote: »
    In fairness these shows have a pretty large number of research staff.

Any decent show would be contacting the IAA well in advance requesting them to join the show for debate, if not, well then it says it all.

I was thinking the same thing, this is just a lazy pickup from the lazy story about that new gadget shop.

OMG ak47 the most deadly gun in the world, only 799.99, made of realistic black plastic, rabble rabble headshops!

Surely the IAA and its work with the DOJ are what matters, not the floundering of uninformed media, and as such we are probably safe, two-tone is a terrible idea and the DOJ agreed with the IAA on that point I believe.

..... and as such we are probably safe

It'll take a new Act of the Dail to get rid of us now.....and they're kinda preoccupied at the moment.

I was thinking the same thing, this is just a lazy pickup from the lazy story about that new gadget shop.

OMG ak47 the most deadly gun in the world, only 799.99, made of realistic black plastic, rabble rabble headshops!

Surely the IAA and its work with the DOJ are what matters, not the floundering of uninformed media, and as such we are probably safe, two-tone is a terrible idea and the DOJ agreed with the IAA on that point I believe.

i heard that theyre are gonna tax airsoft guns in the budget
    so that bulletts fecked

Shiva wrote: »
    Biohazrd was on to them and they said they'd be calling him back to go back to the item later in the show.

I doubt that'll happen though....the last thing they want is people who know what they're talking about. I only caught the end...2FM have a podcast of their shows dont they ?

Yes they do should be able to download it off the website. failing that they also have a App on the iphone

It'll take a new Act of the Dail to get rid of us now.....and they're kinda preoccupied at the moment.

the recession finally has a good side

Tigger wrote: »
    who said that
    Some guy from Kildare, and he wasn't very clear about offical sites and that it might be played in any woodland etc. I cringe when Joe airsoft gets on radio and starts talking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

As Tony said, I tried to get on but was told they'll be coming back to it in the next hour and they said they would call me back.

I only heard from "we want two tone guns" on so can somebody summarise the relevant points raised for me so I am properly armed if I do get to talk to them

Cheers

Rich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

'So I can just walk into one of these shops and buy an AK47 that fires 700 round a minute!?!'

JAH, U KAN BUY REALIZTIC LUKIN TOYS LOL!
    Another triumphant day for Irish journalism.

Someone should invite Colm Hayes out to a Airsoft game and show him what it is all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Danin

jeawan wrote: »
    They are talking about it on 2fm now on the Colm Hayes show

Just tuned in, the same old same old the interviewer trying desperately to lead the person into saying something he can jump on, focusing on "guns" "guns" can they be used to hold up a bank... Drug busts... AK47s shooting 700 rounds a min. Sure anyone can hold up a post office with all types of things "a screwdriver, an axe, a large stick with a nail all that would do more damage than an AEG.
    This constant reference to guns has to stop, and when people are ringing these type of shows they should make it clear to the interviewer that they are not guns nor should they be referred to as guns as it is very misleading and general scaremongering of the general public.
    Talk about picking out the bits that suited his agenda, really getting sick of this, no one comments on the fact that other sports in which there is physical contact such as martial arts, Rugby, football, GAA Hurling is far more dangerous and ultimately more likely to cause you physical damage. You don't here "What they swing big sticks around"

and No one mentioned cross border gaming or lads travelling to England or even that its one of the few sports or activities that bring a wide range of different nationalities together for example the Philippians, polish, Russian and many more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

Danin - they ARE guns, however, they are NOT weapons this is a very important distinction that people need to bear in mind

jeawan wrote: »
    Someone should invite Colm Hayes out to a Airsoft game and show him what it is all about.
    Already sent in a text to the show to that effect.will let you know if any response.

*DOBBY* wrote: »
    Already sent in a text to the show to that effect.will let you know if any response.

Cool if you need the Fudds help shout man.

The ****ing dopes that ring with intentions of defending the sport and make things ten times worse though, **** me, wrecks my noodle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,157 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

BioHazRd wrote: »
    Danin - they ARE replicas of guns, however, they are NOT weapons this is a very important distinction that people need to bear in mind

Fixed that for you

oh god - who's this?

Back talking about it.

"I like to look at them"

*sigh*

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,612 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Back talking about it.

"I like to look at them"

*sigh*

doesnt that conjure up a fine image ?

BioHazRd wrote: »
    As Tony said, I tried to get on but was told they'll be coming back to it in the next hour and they said they would call me back.

I only heard from "we want two tone guns" on so can somebody summarise the relevant points raised for me so I am properly armed if I do get to talk to them

Cheers

Rich

Richie...please...save us from these muppets

Is there anyone on from our camp who's doing well? I have no access to the show where I am.

Thats what we've doing wrong !!!!

Pizza.

From today, free pizza slice with every gun sold in Eirsoft !

This guy is handling it pretty damn good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Liked his point about them being available in Europe for the last 20-30 years.

~B

thank f*ck...good man richie

Yay !!! Sanity talks.

biohazard is on now talking