Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did ye vote FF in the 1st place?

• 05-12-2010 12:24AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭

Ive never voted FF.Im a PAYE worker outwith the public sector.Dont own land or a farm. So heres my question- Why would anyone in my situation ever vote FF? Its a gangsters paradise. Always has been.Why the sudden shock? Gangsters looking after their chronies. Half of FF would be jailed in the U.S. (halfs a conservative estimate).It will never happen here because gombeenism will always prosper. This thing of not what you know, but who you know. This wink,wink shife.Thats why FF got away with it for so long. They've been found out again but no doubt the Irish electorate will vote em back in soon enough.All forgiven, and all the banks fault etc., etc., etc., ad infinium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

i didnt im only just 19. However, Sinn Fein ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

You sound brainier than the average Irish voter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    So heres my question- Why would anyone in my situation ever vote FF?

The answer to your question is very simple.

Some people vote for the candidate not the party.
    People are not voting for the party leader, the party whip and their policies. No, they vote for the local candidate.

And in many areas, FF have or at least had a superb cumann system (that parties would do well to match!) and many FF candidates were very good at working at local level.

Now, I'll state that's some voters and not all voters.

Half of FF would be jailed in the U.S. (halfs a conservative estimate)

Get out of it. Tammany Hall and the Democrats? Pork barrel initiatives? The USA would put Ireland to shame with nepotism, corruption and more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Reason No. 1: Look at the alternatives.... even now, look at the alternatives, I despair!

You sound brainier than the average Irish voter.

is that sarcasm?

People are not voting for the party leader, the party whip and their policies. No, they vote for the local candidate.

And in many areas, FF have or at least had a superb cumann system (that parties would do well to match!) and many FF candidates were very good at working at local level.

Fair enough.FF brainwash the electorate and it has worked. But they're a bloody disgrace. We're the laughing stock of Europe and the world-CNN and all the yanks are seeing this and putting us back to the leprechaun age. Its embarassing-especially when you see cowan doing a half drunken speech which was picked up by the world media.

is that sarcasm?
    absolutely not.

is THAT sarcasm? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

I regretfully have never voted :o Actually very disappointed in myself for not voting.However i think reason FF are in government is Bertie,I think he was a very likable person i hope people's view on him has changed.

is THAT sarcasm? :D
    Jesus man no its not. Im probably gonna vote SF myself.This country needs a wake up call.:D. Im not being sarcastic.:)Seriously.

sorry its just theres so many people on here and in the country as a whole that hear IRA/murder/guns...and various other crap whenever sinn fein is mentioned. people in this country are scared of change. they're like sheep....duuuuh let's vote ff/fg/labour cos everyone else is doing it

dave1982 wrote: »
    I regretfully have never voted :o Actually very disappointed in myself for not voting.However i think reason FF are in government is Bertie,I think he was a very likable person i hope people's view on him has changed.
    Never liked him from day 1. A money grabbing bollix only after himself. Hes on a gov pension that would probably fund an Irish space mission-hes gettin 100 grand a year of TNOTW paper and hes got a chauffer driven 100 grand merc for the rest of his life. Man of the people my arse.

Im probably gonna vote SF myself.

Which constituency are you in?

I ask as the SF candidate in my area and most areas in Ireland are no hopers, not a chance of being elected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Is he not getting a TD wage on top of his pension aswell?

he's getting everything on top of everything!

sorry its just theres so many people on here and in the country as a whole that hear IRA/murder/guns...and various other crap whenever sinn fein is mentioned. people in this country are scared of change. they're like sheep....duuuuh let's vote ff/fg/labour cos everyone else is doing it
    Funny man. Or simple man?

huh? whatcha mean by that

I mean what your saying is true.The problem is the people at the election station think that its either funny, or stupid. Thats why FF will nearly always be in government.Everything you and I say about voting SF tonight will be lost on em when they go to vote.As the earlier poster said the local favourite will get the vote. And the local favourite is usually ff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

cos Ahern starts with an A.

but i believe there's a lab candidate with a surname starting with B on the ballot, so should get it right this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

the shinners will f your w if they get in.

Ah bless, you are young and idealistic and haven't a clue

Ask your candidate in Cork what their opinion is on what happened Jerry McCabe or Robert McCartney

FoxT wrote: »
    the shinners will f your w if they get in.
    Lets ff it all over again so.They deserve another century of corruption and favours to the chosen few.

Ask your candidate what their opinion is on what happened Jerry McCabe
    FF again so. Sigh. Why even bother?This country is Bertified.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    cos Ahern starts with an A.

but i believe there's a lab candidate with a surname starting with B on the ballot, so should get it right this time.
    I presume your joking!

FF again so. Sigh. Why even bother?This country is Bertified.

Did I post I supported FF?
    I look forward to your reply where you quote me showing I do

There are alternatives

I mean what your saying is true.The problem is the people at the election station think that its either funny, or stupid. Thats why FF will nearly always be in government.Everything you and I say about voting SF tonight will be lost on em when they go to vote.As the earlier poster said the local favourite will get the vote. And the local favourite is usually ff.

it's an unfortunate world we live in my friend. come to germany with me and lets start something :D
    on a serious note though, i know as i write anything about Sinn Fein that it'l just be drowned out by most people here saying the usual uneducated bull but you gotta keep trying. i was flying to dublin for a match last year with our team. it was a ryanair flight from cork. i saw Mr. Adams in front of us and most of the lads were like....oh jesus lads were not gonna make it to dublin and all this ****e. so when we got on the plane all the lads sat together whereas i sat across from him. i said hello to him and got a friendly hello back.he read his book the whole flight and didnt say a word. as he was leaving the plane i just stood up with him, told him i would be voting for his party in the next election because i believe change is needed and that we constantly donate to the party and he gave me a firm handshake in return and said...thank you it is greatly appreciated but its hard when your fighting against the opinions of your teammates. i never felt so ashamed for them.

Ask your candidate in Cork what their opinion is on what happened Jerry McCabe or Robert McCartney

thank you for your post, but i can assure you i do have a clue. how dare you assume i dont have a clue just because i said i wish to vote for a certain party. youre quite frankly, a douche

Realy Deutschlandfürimmer7, why don't you just join SF in Cork so if you are not already a member?

youre quite frankly, a douche

Attack the post, not the poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Let's not turn this into yet another SF thread please.

Realy Deutschlandfürimmer7, why don't you just join SF in Cork so if you are not already a member?

Attack the post, not the poster

but in saying i dont have a clue you are 'attacking' me and not my post. contradiction maybe? you obviously havent a clue:rolleyes:

it's an unfortunate world we live in my friend. come to germany with me and lets start something :D
    on a serious note though, i know as i write anything about Sinn Fein that it'l just be drowned out by most people here saying the usual uneducated bull but you gotta keep trying. i was flying to dublin for a match last year with our team. it was a ryanair flight from cork. i saw Mr. Adams in front of us and most of the lads were like....oh jesus lads were not gonna make it to dublin and all this ****e. so when we got on the plane all the lads sat together whereas i sat across from him. i said hello to him and got a friendly hello back.he read his book the whole flight and didnt say a word. as he was leaving the plane i just stood up with him, told him i would be voting for his party in the next election because i believe change is needed and that we constantly donate to the party and he gave me a firm handshake in return and said...thank you it is greatly appreciated but its hard when your fighting against the opinions of your teammates. i never felt so ashamed for them.
    Its a lack of understanding. They call him a monster, and these brave boys havent lived through the troubles in the north. Theyll never ever understand what catholics had to put up with back in the days.But theyll talk crap on the internet till their fingers go blue and give out about all sorts of ****e that adams had no involvement in. Id love to see how they would react to living in the north circa 70s.

but in saying i dont have a clue you are 'attacking' me and not my post. contradiction maybe? you obviously havent a clue:rolleyes:

Ok, I take it back, you do have a clue and you have met a party leader.
    Leave out the :rolleyes: for now

However my point still stands. I don't know Cork and I don't know your local SF candidate, no doubt they are well organized as SF are good on the ground.

Limerick is a border county to you, ask your candidate their views on Jerry McCabe and see how they react under pressure. You'll soon see who deserves your vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

I presume your joking!
    what? i'm lazy. aint no thang.

(ps, yes, i'm joking. sheesh)

just been infracted. im done

Guys, stay on topic please, this isn't a thread about Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

You may be right that some people vote for the candidate rather than the party but I'd reckon as the sole reason for voting for an election candidate, where FF are concerned that number is fairly small. I think that the 'candidate rather the party' excuse is often trotted out by FF voters to explain why, despite continually being disappointed and embarrassed by FF when they get into office, they still vote for them next time.

If a sizeable number of FF voters were merely voting for the 'best' candidate rather than for FF, then, allowing for the fact that no party would boast all the best candidates, you would expect to see transfers from FF candidates to spread widely across the other parties, whereas experience has shown that FF transfers always go heavily to other FF candidates, so it would seem the majority of voters that start off giving their number one to a FF candidate, are then voting FF the whole way down the ballot paper. But they console themselves with the reasoning that they were just voting for the best candidate.

God help us all, if the current crop of FF TDs were the 'best candidates' in their respective constituencies

heyjude wrote: »
    If a sizeable number of FF voters were merely voting for the 'best' candidate rather than for FF, then, allowing for the fact that no party would boast all the best candidates, you would expect to see transfers from FF candidates to spread widely across the other parties, whereas experience has shown that FF transfers always go heavily to other FF candidates, so it would seem the majority of voters that start off giving their number one to a FF candidate, are then voting FF the whole way down the ballot paper. But they console themselves with the reasoning that they were just voting for the best candidate.

From what I've heard, that seems to be changing with the younger generation (i.e. sub 40 years of age). The older generation tend to vote along party lines a lot more than younger people who are much more likely to mix up their preferences a little.

Also this kind of party line voting is also extremely common among SF voters and to a lesser extent FG voters. So let's not forget that this is not merely a trait that FF voters display.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Ten reasons for voting Fianna Fail:

1. "Ah, they're a great bunch of lads, so they are"
    2. "My father always voted for them"
    3. "And my mother"
    4. "And my grandparents"
    5. "We've always been a Fianna Fail family"
    6. "My local Fianna Fail TD sorted something out for me in 1998"
    7. "Sure, better the devil you know"
    8. "They're a great bunch of lads"
    9. "Ah Jaysis, sure you know where you stand with them"
    10. "Did I mention, they're a great bunch of lads?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Do FF supporters ever post in these threads...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭kev9100

Dave! wrote: »
    Do FF supporters ever post in these threads...?

Theres none left.

kev9100 wrote: »
    Theres none left.

theres 13% left anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

A very likeable person? :eek: Based on what? Anyone who has to deal with him says he's a prick. I personally think he might be a sociopath.

Did Sinn Fein ever turn in the guys who butchered Robert McCartney on the street a couple of years ago, gutting him like an animal with a knife in public? Let's not pretend they don't know who did it (they were Sinn Fein/IRA men) - you are insulting our intelligence.
    McCartney, who was attempting to defend Devine, was attacked with a broken bottle and then dragged into Verner Street, beaten with metal bars and stabbed. Devine also suffered a knife attack, but survived. The throats of both men had been cut and McCartney's wounds included the loss of an eye and a large blade wound running from his chest to his stomach. Devine was hospitalised under armed protection.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Robert_McCartney

Until Sinn Fein put this sort of thing LONG in the past, they'll never get a vote from any informed voters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

kev9100 wrote: »
    Theres none left.

Not exactly.

Nintyniner has openly admitted that he would like to run for FF in future elections. He is a semi-sane to sane political poster, and certainly the most respectable FFer on the board.

HallalujahJordan is a FF fanboy, who shifts more then just goalposts to try and justify his position. He will debate, but will use evidential gaps, and paupacy of language to try and win arguments. As far as I am concerned, the postings which he was responsible for last January, which were particularly cavalier in terms of endorsing FF's successes regarding the banks and potential economic growth for 2010 have been found out.

SCR123 is a nobody.

I think this thread is particularly instructive when seeking an insight into the minds of our resident FF posters.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055784827&page=3

Het-Field wrote: »
    paupacy of language
    Do you mean 'paucity'? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

I honestly think that people voted for FF due them being in the right place at the right time - they got into power as a massive boom was kicking off, and a series of giveaway budgets, increased social welfare, public sector pay, grants etc - guaranteed them re election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭MysticalRain

It basically boiled down to "I dislike the FF party, but sure my local fella is grand".

In my defense, I did start voting against FF after 2002 onwards. Although I should have done so a lot sooner.

I honestly think that people voted for FF due them being in the right place at the right time - they got into power as a massive boom was kicking off, and a series of giveaway budgets, increased social welfare, public sector pay, grants etc - guaranteed them re election.
    Exactly.But surely even the most stupid could see it was a false dawn.The banks were throwing money at people. Did these people ever think"Jesus, someday I'll have to pay this back?" or did they think that its all good-Ill get that brand new beemer.The house thing was clearly not sustainable.Even a blind man could see how ridiculous house prices were becoming.