Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BJ training with mayweather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

Not surprised he's getting lessons after the lesson in boxing Edgar give him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭dunkamania

Would prefer to see him spending the time on his wrestling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Training Boxing with Mayweather will be no good to him when Jon Fitch is wrestling the sh*t out of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭SBG Ireland

man i love armchair experts lol

I can see you're new to the Internet.

This is an "Message Board". Here on the Message Board, people give their opinions using a computer. Most of the time, those who are using their computer are sitting down, sometimes in an arm-chair.

If you need any more pointers i'll be happy to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

You do know who SBG Ireland is Mr. Stuffins :)

Odats wrote: »

No, sure i'm just an armchair expert, how would i know anything?

But i'm guessing the's someone who would go into a butcher shop and say "Jaysus, meat is poxy! Do you have any oranges?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Odats wrote: »

Are you actually serious? it doesn't matter who it is, everyone's opinion is valid here, regardless of whether your new to the sport or not, unless your saying that to have an opinion on here, you must be training for years

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Are you actually serious? it doesn't matter who it is, everyone's opinion is valid here, regardless of whether your new to the sport or not, unless your saying that to have an opinion on here, you must be training for years

Also, there's nothing to say you can't be an expert without ever competing in the sport. I can name MMA experts who have never spepped into the cage all day long.

But that was never the point. The point was, why would you go onto a message board where the aim is for people to give their opinions on a sport, and say you don't like people giving their opinions?

Clownery! Clownery I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭lukeyjudo

MrStuffins wrote: »

This is an "Message Board". Here on the Message Board, people give their opinions using a computer. Most of the time, those who are using their computer are sitting down, sometimes in an arm-chair.

If you need any more pointers i'll be happy to help.

If was drinking coffee it would be all over my laptop right now! :) lmfao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

Wow, so punching holes in people's logic = being tough nowadays?

Jaysus, there's gonna be a whole lot of bullies having their asses handed to them when the kids go back to school!

Look I agree that on t'internet and boards (within the charter) everybody is entitled to express our opinions. The comment was just abit of banter from my interpretation and you went a little OTT on it.
    Mine were tongue in cheek btw and if you saw offence in it my apologies.

PS: Link removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

I know who he is, but i think we should let him speak for himself as opposed to people hounding another poster for challenging his opinion.

JK is more than capable of handling himself in a debate as opposed to having people leap down Mr Stuffins throat saying " lol you can't challenge him "

All opinions are equal lads. It's he who presents an opinion in the most convincing manner that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭theboxingclinic

hard to say how it will go, would fitch be happy taking bj to the ground? bj isint exactly uncomfortable there. look what happened to between silva and sonnen. sonnen wrestled the sh!t out of him, but eventually slipped up and got submitted. so its a bit of a risk taking a bjj world champion to where he is most skilled. now if fitch decides to keep it standing, (with his wrestling he will most likely decide where it goes) then it is an apt move for bj to improve his boxing and his movement. his hands have always been pretty good but always looked a bit flat footed. i think he is arming himself so that he is capable of winning wherever the fight goes.
    just my opinion, at the end of the day who knows where it will go. should be a great fight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭manga_10

hard to say how it will go, would fitch be happy taking bj to the ground? bj isint exactly uncomfortable there. look what happened to between silva and sonnen. sonnen wrestled the sh!t out of him, but eventually slipped up and got submitted. so its a bit of a risk taking a bjj world champion to where he is most skilled. now if fitch decides to keep it standing, (with his wrestling he will most likely decide where it goes) then it is an apt move for bj to improve his boxing and his movement. his hands have always been pretty good but always looked a bit flat footed. i think he is arming himself so that he is capable of winning wherever the fight goes.
    just my opinion, at the end of the day who knows where it will go. should be a great fight

funny thats my thoughts of how it is gona play out myself , either way with bj , its not gona be a boring fight. BJ won't let finch lay n ' pray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

Although Fitch is a BJJ blackbelt, whereas Sonnen just thinks it's gay. I'm sure Dave Camarillo has a great knowledge of BJ's Jiujitsu also considering they were training partners for years.

I just can't wait to see this fight!

good point. makes it even more interesting. cant wait to see how the opposiong camps plan for the fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 adelarge1

its probably a good thing he's putting an emphasis on his boxing cause he knows he'll get taken down a couple of times anyways,he just has to make it count when its on the feet.

thats my 2 cents anyway:D

This is an "Message Board". Here on the Message Board, people give their opinions using a computer.

well i was giving my 'opinion' on beginners offering advice to experts on how they should train. if i follow your logic thats cool right?

i can understand a fan coming on and saying 'bj gonna get smashed' or whatever...but believing they know how he should train?? lol :D

any other pointers you have greatly appreciated

well i was giving my 'opinion' on beginners offering advice to experts on how they should train. if i follow your logic thats cool right?

i can understand a fan coming on and saying 'bj gonna get smashed' or whatever...but believing they know how he should train?? lol :D

any other pointers you have greatly appreciated

The topic of conversation was BJ training Boxing with Mayweather, not whether beginners should offer advice to experts. So, even though you were giving your opinion, this is known as "off topic". Hope this helps.

Also, it's perfectly reasonalble for someone to look at this fight and think it would be a good idea for BJ to train wrestling. After all, Jon Fitch is a wrestler.

But you're right. You're John, i'm not, and we're all beginners, so we should shut down the forum. Or maybe we should have an application system like the Soccer forum. "You must be THIS experienced to give an opinion".

Now, if you don't mind, i'm off over to the Soccer forum to tell them that, unless they've played over 50 games in the Premiership and have 10 caps each for their respective countries, they shouldn't be giving their opinions on that particular sport.

Good day to you sir.

time of the month?

It's the 7th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭kc87

bj is'nt going to improve his wrestling enough between now and when he fights fitch to be able to compete with him in wrestling but has shown he's difficult to take down and obviously can handle himself on the ground.

so my point is that he's dead right trying to improve his stand up and especially footwork for creating angles to try nullify fitchs wrestling.

or just do what he did to matt hughes and forget the other stuff :D

bang on, if he isint on his toes against fitch he could be in trouble, sitting target for the take down, needs to get the feet moving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

We're talking about BJ here, he has the ultimate takedown defence (too bad GSP had the ultimate takedowns!), but I still think GSP has better takedowns than Fitch because of his explosive speed etc, just like Frankie Edgar. Fitch isnt as quick as either of those and I think thats what you need to be to beat BJ.

This fight is really hard to call what will happen though so maybe we should relax on the analyseing because anything can happen here judging on the styles and forms of both fighters.

The Prodigy is gonna maul him regardless :D

if frankie can take him down then fitch should be able to also with the size advantage, as for who will win it i couldnt call it. i dont think bj is the fighter he used to be despite knocking out matt hughes. i had expected matt to destroy bj but he got caught. having said that i love bj and would love to see him return to his glory days. should make for a great post fight discussion though ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Floyd's pro-wrestling experience will be invaluable to BJ. You need to be well versed in your PW these days to really draw the buyrates in MMA.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Floyd's pro-wrestling experience will be invaluable to BJ. You need to be well versed in your PW these days to really draw the buyrates in MMA.

it's coming............

you ready?.........

flahavaj wrote: »

It's Floyd Sr.