Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

prison penpal yes or no?

• 14-03-2011 10:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭

hey everyone.
    so lately i have been thinking about writing to a person in prison. i dont know why but i always liked the thoughts of writing to someone behind walls. to learn about there experience in prison and to just basically talk to them and be a friend. but im afraid to write to a prison penpal because they would have to have my home address (which freaks me out) and to open a PO.Box address costs alot. do yous think i should bother giving this random criminal my address or should i just forget about the hole idea? alot of people i have asked about this (friends) thought i was crazy. even though they commetted a crime and will be probably be spending a **** load of time in prison , i still like the idea kinda...since i am a girl in my young 20s i was going to write to a female, i just feel safer that way...i would get a penpal from america of canada and not ireland..! just so you's know :) i just thought i would ask more people before i make my finial decision..

thanks everyone :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

hey everyone.
    so lately i have been thinking about writing to a person in prison. i dont know why but i always liked the thoughts of writing to someone behind walls. to learn about there experience in prison and to just basically talk to them and be a friend. but im afraid to write to a prison penpal because they would have to have my home address (which freaks me out) and to open a PO.Box address costs alot. do yous think i should bother giving this random criminal my address or should i just forget about the hole idea? alot of people i have asked about this (friends) thought i was crazy. even though they commetted a crime and will be probably be spending a **** load of time in prison , i still like the idea kinda...since i am a girl in my young 20s i was going to write to a female, i just feel safer that way... i just thought i would ask more people before i make my finial decision..

thanks everyone :)
    No. Just no.
    If you have your doubts. Don't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

Given the state of the Justice and Post systems in this country it wouldn't surprise me if the knacker you wrote to got out before your letter got in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

The neighbours will love having a jailbird at the next party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Just text them.

Seriously, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Just text a prisoner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭christinab89

hondasam wrote: »
    The neighbours will love having a jailbird at the next party

hahaha funny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

computer says no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭eastbono

I always presumed this would be done through the prison service visiting thingy and that the inmate would not have your home address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

since i am a girl in my young 20s i was going to write to a female, i just feel safer that way... i just thought i would ask more people before i make my finial decision..

No.

They're bound to ask you to smuggle in some drugs "internally" when you eventually arrange a meeting during visiting hours.

hahaha funny!

glad you seen the funny side :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭yammycat

you can send mail to prisoners abroad, also death row prisoners in the us

yea i might get one on death row.. least i know they will never get out and come and get me... >.< im looking at the prisons in america, i dont want an irish penpal... too close for comfort i think

yammycat wrote: »
    you can send mail to prisoners abroad, also death row prisoners in the us

Yeah I know.

But what I can't figure out is why anyone would want to?

foxinsox wrote: »
    Yeah I know.

pity the can't have computers, the could be on boards and we could all chat to them.

Sitec wrote: »
    il talk to you for free, im borderline Larry Murphy anyway.

hahahahahahahahahahahahaha :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Whatever about people imprisoned for minor offences, why would you even WANT to be "friends" with someone who has committed a serious crime ?

If they were already a friend, I'd disown them, let alone make a new "friend" of someone like that.

Yeah I know.

i dont know, i was always intrested... i think.. yes they did the crime, so now there doing the time!... the world doesn;t have to shut them out... talking to someone is harmless i think.. i just want to offer myself as a friend, and as someone to talk to i guess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

pity the can't have computers, the could be on boards and we could all chat to them.

There is a dedicated forum for this Forum Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭bitter

NO WAY

should I say it?

ah feck it I will..

When I first started on boards.ie I thought the Prison Forum was actually prisoners... I was even sort of outraged about it!

Then I got me some learning :o

I would have zero interest in talking to a prisoner of any sort.

There is a dedicated forum for this Forum Link

those prisoners have not committed serious enough crimes

should I say it?

ah feck it I will..

When I first started on boards.ie I thought the Prison Forum was actually prisoners... I was even sort of outraged about it!

Then I got me some learning :o

I would have zero interest in talking to a prisoner of any sort.

LOL only you could think that :pac::pac:

should we go to prison for awhile and chat to them, it could be entertaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

the world doesn;t have to shut them out...

we make a damn good effort to.

i dont know, i was always intrested... i think.. yes they did the crime, so now there doing the time!... the world doesn;t have to shut them out... talking to someone is harmless i think.. i just want to offer myself as a friend, and as someone to talk to i guess!

Lots of sick and eldery folk who need company, and chances are they havent hurt anyone . Why dont you offer them your friendship instead,??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 xxeadxx

I actually think thats a nice idea about a prisoner penpal. In some sense i believe people deserve a second chance but i guess it depends on the crime. However i would not like them knowing my address!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

i think its a bit of a romaticised idea. its like something youd only see in a movie. id have issues talking to someone who did something serious, let alone try to make them feel better about it.

maybe if i knew someone who was wrongfully accused of something, or someone who was being jailed ten years for something petty, fair enough. but i doubt they give you a list to choose from, it could be someone who stole a chocolate bar, or someone who molested children.

why not try something else and try start a penpal relationship with a kid in an orphanage somewhere, or a hospital, rather then a convicted felon? id find that much more rewarding, and quite inspriring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭lace

giving criminals your home address is not a good idea.

maybe see if you can email or something? then you don't have to use a real name or address.

geetar wrote: »
    i think its a bit of a romaticised idea. its like something youd only see in a movie. id have issues talking to someone who did something serious, let alone try to make them feel better about it.

maybe if i knew someone who was wrongfully accused of something, or someone who was being jailed ten years for something petty, fair enough. but i doubt they give you a list to choose from, it could be someone who stole a chocolate bar, or someone who molested children.

why not try something else and try start a penpal relationship with a kid in an orphanage somewhere, or a hospital, rather then a convicted felon? id find that much more rewarding, and quite inspriring

i found a site, and the prisoners actually have profiles, and beside it , it states what there in prison for... so you can choose your prisoner lol... which is pretty crazy...

writing to a kid in hospital or orphanage sounds really nice :) im going to look into that and maybe take that idea! cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

...should i just forget about the hole idea?...
    Jesus, a letter is bad enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

How would you feel if some one commited a serious crime against your or your family, and was on death row for it. Would you like the thought of some one wanting to be his/her friend then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

20 year old girl, just flown the coup, moved to Galway, throwing late night parties that keep the neighbours awake, now seeking jailbird penpal.

What's not to like? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

i found a site, and the prisoners actually have profiles, and beside it , it states what there in prison for... so you can choose your prisoner lol... which is pretty crazy...

writing to a kid in hospital or orphanage sounds really nice :) im going to look into that and maybe take that idea! cheers :)

ooo what site.. im bored, it'd pass ten minutes looking through it! :P

20 year old girl, just flown the coup, moved to Galway, throwing late night parties that keep the neighbours awake, now seeking jailbird penpal.

What's not to like? :D

aaaaah sure... were not all right in the head huh haha... and it was a two hour "party"

s3129 wrote: »
    ooo what site.. im bored, it'd pass ten minutes looking through it! :P

http://www.prisonpenpals.com/directory.html knock yourself out :)

you have a great way with words

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭jw297

I think there are many people out there far more deserving of your time than convicted criminals - even prisoners of conscience via Amnesty International or elderly people on their own.
    If you do decide to write to prisoners, don't go falling in love with them... have seen it happen to someone and I just can't see the situation ending well.

iv heard of people falling in "love" too.. i think its stupid. i dont think someone can fall in love by writing letters... if i do write to someone, it will be a female... (im straight lol)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Jake1 wrote: »
    Lots of sick and eldery folk who need company, and chances are they havent hurt anyone . Why dont you offer them your friendship instead,??

They arent gangsta enough and wont be packing a huge :eek:

\Too much fecking telly i'd say.

Is there somebody out there that wants to help me with the loneliness I'm feeling? Will somebody share a little of their time or feelings with me or even just to say hello. I'd like to hear from you. I'm here for you when you need me also. I know how it feels when you're all alone and going through times and want somebody to share your time and experience with and values the special moments you've spent with each other and not take your feelings or emotions for granted. Baby I know how it feels to be hurt and heartbroken wishing you had someone to spend time with. Baby I'm here for you. I pray and feel in my heart the Lord will give me my freedom once again. I'm working on my appeal. A donation to help with legal fees are welcomed but never a requirement. So how are you? I'm alright just lonely in the bed by myself. Baby I need you near me, licking your lips all night. Caressing you tight. Baby I'd like to hear from you.

This from a convicted murderer.

Wow, some of then are so down to earth....:rolleyes:;)

That site is amazing.

Look at this lil angel, Chucky, in for 'moirda',

Greetings is my hopes my intro finds you in extremely good health as well as high spirits. But even if not, drop your anchor and come aboard and spin the bottle. I'll attempt to leave you with a smile, and feeling as you just had a visit with Doctor feel good. My name is Charles AKA Chucky.

I could be here all night with this site. Dang you OP :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭yrwhu8jxtni06a

There was a high profile case recently of a lifer who met someone on a visit,then when getting temporary release,got the girl preg when out on temp release.

That site is amazing.

Look at this lil angel, Chucky, in for 'moirda',

Greetings is my hopes my intro finds you in extremely good health as well as high spirits. But even if not, drop your anchor and come aboard and spin the bottle. I'll attempt to leave you with a smile, and feeling as you just had a visit with Doctor feel good. My name is Charles AKA Chucky.

I could be here all night with this site. Dang you OP :)

hahahaah its a good site isn't it? iv looked through sooo many profiles on it... its crazzzzzy i think how they even have a profile... u should look at the people on death rows profiles... :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

i can see the rosy eyed view of this.Oh the days where i was very optimistic and thought everyone deserved a second chance. Thought there was a possibility of changing someones way in life by just showing them there's another way to live....i've dealt with too many prats over the years to where i'm now a realist and know in 99.9% of times this isn't possible.

Other posters are right,write to an orphan or visit an elderly person who is lonely instead.it'll be appreciated a lot more and make more of a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭mystique150

Op - are you a desperate housewives fan? Thread rewinding me of the current series with the Paul Young prison story.

hahahaah its a good site isn't it? iv looked through sooo many profiles on it... its crazzzzzy i think how they even have a profile... u should look at the people on death rows profiles... :D:D

Look at this lil bastard, convicted of robbery , battery with intent,

says hes open minded???? FFS :)

My name is Odies. I weigh 214, 6'3" in weight and body very taking care of, work out all week. May you look that you talk about that someone. Sometimes it's there in your face and all you need to say is hi. I am looking for my long-lost Queen and I know when these works find you you'll find me a poetic person. I am open very open-minded too.

Odies Matthews # 79529
    Ely State Prison
    P O Box 1989
    Ely, NV 89801 USA

Op - are you a desperate housewives fan? Thread rewinding me of the current series with the Paul Young prison story.

noooo im not a fan of that...!! :( what was happening in it anyways?:D

Look at this lil bastard, convicted of robbery , battery with intent,

says hes open minded???? FFS :)

My name is Odies. I weigh 214, 6'3" in weight and body very taking care of, work out all week. May you look that you talk about that someone. Sometimes it's there in your face and all you need to say is hi. I am looking for my long-lost Queen and I know when these works find you you'll find me a poetic person. I am open very open-minded too.

Odies Matthews # 79529
    Ely State Prison
    P O Box 1989
    Ely, NV 89801 USA

are you addicted to this site lol... pretty intresting isn't it!.

Whatever you do Cristina, just mind yourself. :) Plenty of people who could take advantage of your kind thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭mystique150

noooo im not a fan of that...!! :( what was happening in it anyways?:D
    lol while Paul Young was in prison he gains a penpal 'Beth' who he marries while in prison. Beth thought he was going to get life but he gets released. Turns out Beth is the daughter of Felica Tilman, Paul's sworn enemy! Riveting :)