Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance prob. Accident

• 17-04-2011 10:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭

Hi guys I posted here a while back saying a neighbour reversed into my motor.

Well basically an assessor was out looking at my motor took pics etc then 4 days later I get the cost of repairs from the insurance and a letter to state the neighbours are refusing to accept liability because they don't remember hitting it.

But they admitted to me they did it.

So there insurance is sending out an assessor to look at her Motor to check the damage and to decide who was at fault.

What are the chances in there insurance saying ye they were at fault?

Slim and none I'd say. What a joke insurance is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

blahblah06 wrote: »
    . What a joke insurance is?

Why is insurance a joke just because the didnt automatically believe you and pay out?

If it was the other way round but you knew you didnt hit them, would you be happy enough for the insurance co to just pay them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭blahblah06

I don't think u understand my post. The person admitted to me for hitting my motor when I knocked in but when the insurance asked them they said they don't know what they were talking about and denied it.

So that's u I think insurance is a joke. What's to stop anyone saying they didn't crash and then the insurance simply wont pay out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭johnthemull

Gotta love those neighbours of yours. Such honesty and integrity. The type of people that make this country the great open sewer that it is.

I don't think u understand my post. The person admitted to me for hitting my motor when I knocked in but when the insurance asked them they said they don't know what they were talking about and denied it.

So that's u I think insurance is a joke. What's to stop anyone saying they didn't crash and then the insurance simply wont pay out

Insurance are doing all they can, your neighbour is a lieing _ _ _ _ _ (insert expletive of choice, can be more or less than 5 characters too if you like)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

OP,

is there any trace of paint from your neighbours car on your car(or vice versa), or any slight damage to your neighbours car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I did read your point. At the end of the day, it's only you saying they admitted liability. From the point of view of the insurance company, what makes you a more believable source?

Thats why they are investigating:confused: How do they know you didnt make the whole thing up?

cojomo2 wrote: »
    OP,

is there any trace of paint from your neighbours car on your car(or vice versa), or any slight damage to your neighbours car?

Hi cojo.

Ye you see this is what is annoyin me the assesor was already out looking at my van but didnt look at her jeep.

so now they have to come out.

The damage is my passenger door dinted in and there is purple paint from her jeep on the door.

Her jeep corner of bumper has white paint from mine.

What I just hope is that the assesor from there insurance doesnt just come along and say oh well they didnt do the damage, to be fair i didnt go sideways into there jeep. She reversed right back into it I only move the van one day a week

I did read your point. At the end of the day, it's only you saying they admitted liability. From the point of view of the insurance company, what makes you a more believable source?

Thats why they are investigating:confused: How do they know you didnt make the whole thing up?

Thats it exactly. whats going to make them believe me over them. when they just deny it. I take it the assesor is a pro and can determin from directions were the damage was caused?

pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Having those pics should help your cause. Even if they don't get your white paint off their car before the assessor sees it, you should show them the pictures. Also point out to them the way that the car is parked in the last picture, they've left the wheel partly hanging off the footpath, it shows that they're not the most careful of drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

Hi cojo.

Ye you see this is what is annoyin me the assesor was already out looking at my van but didnt look at her jeep.

so now they have to come out.

The damage is my passenger door dinted in and there is purple paint from her jeep on the door.

Her jeep corner of bumper has white paint from mine.

What I just hope is that the assesor from there insurance doesnt just come along and say oh well they didnt do the damage, to be fair i didnt go sideways into there jeep. She reversed right back into it I only move the van one day a week

lovely. I dont see there being any problem..just claim off their insurance..who cares if they (your neighbours) dont admit fault..once you fill up the forms and submit with your supporting pictures that is proof enough, I wouldnt worry about your neighbours not admitting liability..Insurance companies will come across this all the time, there are plenty of chancers/scumbags who will always deny liability when it's as plain as day they are at fault.

Your neighbour is dishonest ****.

ye ive put the claim in and all so just have to wait for there assesor to come out again and check the motors which will be weds at the earliest so ive been told. in the mean time my insurance said i can claim off my own insurance if i want.

dont think ill be doing that lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I'd call the Gardaí - they can take paint samples and prove whether the paint on your van came from the Rexton.

Anan1 wrote: »
    I'd call the Gardaí - they can take paint samples and prove whether the paint on your van came from the Rexton.

I can't see the Gardai getting involved in a small tip like this.

You are 100% correct though about the tests they can do on paint deposits. When I worked in a factors the Gardai called in investigating a fatal hit and run, they had the colour code of the car involved and were trying to find out was any paint of that colour sold after the incident in a effort to track down the person who drove off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Augh stop saying motor all the time.

sentient_6 wrote: »
    Augh stop saying motor all the time.

He might be Arthur Daly :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

RoverJames wrote: »
    I can't see the Gardai getting involved in a small tip like this.

You are 100% correct though about the tests they can do on paint deposits. When I worked in a factors the Gardai called in investigating a fatal hit and run, they had the colour code of the car involved and were trying to find out was any paint of that colour sold after the incident in a effort to track down the person who drove off.
    I can't imagine they'd be eager, but if the OP were persistent I don't think they'd have much choice. It is a hit-and-run, after all.

Anan1 wrote: »
    I can't imagine they'd be eager,

Indeed :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

its not the insurance that is the joke... its your neighbours....

Insurance company arent doing anything wrong, you say your neighbour hit your car, your neighbours says they didnt... Insurance company has investigate... not their fault someone is lying....

for all the insurance company knows, you could have hit your neighbours car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

The paint on your car matching their car only proves that these are the vehicles involved. It doesn't prove who hit who.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

If you saw the pictures its fairly damning unless the OP's vehicle is capable of moving like a shopping trolley.

Hi seagull that's exactly what I'm worried about they could just say oh it's a 50/50 which will be a disgrace.

Reloc8 I really hope your right as that's what I'm hoping the assesor decides also

Rob I know what your saying but they didn't put a claim in and haven't sent bk the a.r forms to the insurance which I'm hoping is another thing the insurance look at when deciding.

Since the accident they have totally avoided me keeping the head down as they walk by and that.

They have also replaced the jeep from were it was parked with a company truck and parked the jeep in front of my MOTOR whIch I presume is to deny they ever parked there but I have the photos

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,251 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Did the other driver give you the insurance details?

nope had to get it from there window. sure they didnt even knock in to tell me they crashed until I confronted them. Gave them the estimate but had rang the insurance just to report it but not to actually go ahead with it and the neighbour asked me just to leave it and not get it fixed because were neighbours and its only a 96 van

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

its their Insurers Assesors job to get the claim down as far as possible (to zero preferably) and your Insurers job to do the opposite. You need to claim on your Insurance who will pay for the damage and recover what they can from the other party. You wont get any satisfaction out of their people.

Im not claiming from my own insurance why should I? My insurance told me if they can't get the money from there insurance it's my policy that's effected. That's y I say insurance is a joke

Your van looks like a rough enough yoke to be honest, spots of rust on the dented panel etc, I would think the assessor will take this into account and reckon that the damage is about €50 worth max.

What outcome do you want? The dent/scratch removed and the panel repainted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Your van looks like a rough enough yoke to be honest, spots of rust on the dented panel etc, I would think the assessor will take this into account and reckon that the damage is about €50 worth max.

Rough or not, that's not the point. It's the principle, and also the fact that his insurance premium gets bumped up if the other persons insurance doesn't pay out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

My car was hit by somebody recently, they drove off too. I later found out who it was and billed them for everything, new 'TypeR' sticker and all (€70+VAT :eek:) If they'd have been honest from the offset I'd have done what I could to keep costs down. Probably the same for the OP, it's the principle of the thing

Rough or not, that's not the point. It's the principle, and also the fact that his insurance premium gets bumped up if the other persons insurance doesn't pay out.
    Onkle wrote: »
    My car was hit by somebody recently, they drove off too. I later found out who it was and billed them for everything, new 'TypeR' sticker and all (€70+VAT :eek:) If they'd have been honest from the offset I'd have done what I could to keep costs down. Probably the same for the OP, it's the principle of the thing

No doubt, I am purely commenting on how the assessor will view it :)
    Time will tell but I'm fairly sure I'll be correct too.

Rover don't think u actually did read the thread. The assessor was already out and we agreed on a price with the garage.

I bought the van in January without a dint and purple paint and paint cracking so im within my rights to chase up for the damage.

I'd love to know were u see rust spots in the pictures? Yes I want the dent repaired and panel painted and decals replaced

It shouldn't matter what year or condition the van is in I have a right to put it back they way it is and if u think a panel beater will charge 50 to fix it you are mistaken.

This thread is about the neighbours now denying it to make things difficult.

Just proves it's not only my neighbour who has that kind of attitude.

God forbid your car ever got damaged

If they had of knocked in and been honest and offered to get it fixed themselves I would have been happy with that but for it to be blamed on a windy day and they didn't notice they hit it is a joke.

Just off to the insurance company they wont give the assesor a time to come out and check there car since friday but yet the cars sitting out there since then. why do people make things awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Thats grand then, just put it back to exactly how it was before.

Although I believe that would cost more than just removing the dent and a respray.

<snip>

Rover don't think u actually did read the thread. The assessor was already out and we agreed on a price with the garage.

I'd love to know were u see rust spots in the pictures? Yes I want the dent repaired and panel painted and decals replaced

............... if u think a panel beater will charge 50 to fix it you are mistaken.

FFS, I never said to paint a panel would cost €50, I think you are the one with skim reading issues. I said the panel was not perfect before the incident. No doubt you have agreed a price with a garage to remove the dent and paint the panel, I don't see the insurance company coughing up for it in full. Two rust spots in the pic below, surely you can see them if you are so particular about your mint van.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/46475/155667.JPG

FFS, I never said to paint a panel would cost €50, I think you are the one with skim reading issues. I said the panel was not perfect before the incident. No doubt you have agreed a price with a garage to remove the dent and paint the panel, I don't see the insurance company coughing up for it in full. Two rust spots in the pic below, surely you can see them if you are so particular about your mint van.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/46475/155667.JPG

I would think the assessor will take this into account and reckon that the damage is about €50 worth max.

ummm dont get me wrong but u did say damage is 50 max right? confused..?? emm think so

hahaha your unreal there not rustspots there red paint from the previous color of the van so yes I am particular.

And as I said the insurance has already agreed on the price with the garage not me.

so anything else you wanna bullsh*t about?

oh and btw my van was mint before it got damaged.

goodday to you sir

anyway rang the insurance. the assesor was due out yesterday but the neighbour said they werent available and it will be next tues by the time I hear anything more

hahaha your unreal there not rustspots there red paint from the previous color of the van so yes I am particular. ...................

oh and btw my van was mint before it got damaged.

Mint except for the original colour showing through ;)

It's not rust tho is it. Don't like been proved wrong ey james
    Let's hope your proved wrong on your €50 repair haha.

God forbid a 15 year old van would be showing wear and tear

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

anyway rang the insurance. the assesor was due out yesterday but the neighbour said they werent available and it will be next tues by the time I hear anything more

No doubt your neighbour is arranging a hasty respray of the damage on his car so he can say "see, no damage, I didn't hit yer man's car at all!"

God forbid a 15 year old van would be showing wear and tear

So it's not mint :pac:
    No doubt your neighbour is arranging a hasty respray of the damage on his car so he can say "see, no damage, I didn't hit yer man's car at all!"

A lash of T cut would go a long way.

Hi dr,

In a way I hope he does because I have photos from the day date stamped etc.
    I think he is just doing it to drag it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

nope had to get it from there window. sure they didnt even knock in to tell me they crashed until I confronted them. Gave them the estimate but had rang the insurance just to report it but not to actually go ahead with it and the neighbour asked me just to leave it and not get it fixed because were neighbours and its only a 96 van

For me, that would be like a red rag to a bull.

96 van or not, it's no excuse to damage it and "because we're neighbours" is the reason they should have sorted it.

Update assessor came out to view the neighbour jeep yesterday and should have an answer with 48 hours

happy days insurance is paying out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Their insurance yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭cosmic

happy days insurance is paying out

Great! I hope your neighbour's premium goes through the roof. That'll learn 'em!

sorry lad ye. there insurance.

According to the assessor damage showed that the bumper cause the impact to the door.

Ill expect a knock on the door any day now LOL

No doubt, I am purely commenting on how the assessor will view it :)
    Time will tell but I'm fairly sure I'll be correct too.

sorry what was that ? wrong again ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

well done ... justice prevails !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Don't forget to add the cost of car hire while the repairs are being done.

Ah it's a campervan so just happy to get it repaired.

I have a private car