Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Balotelli - legend!

• 10-05-2011 1:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭

Never thought I'd put those 2 words in the same sentence. Here's the story:

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/3571579/Mario-Balotelli-helps-City-fan-being-bullied-at-school.html
    The Manchester City star helped a young autograph hunter being picked on at school - by confronting the bully himself.
    The striker questioned why the young lad was playing truant with his mum outside the club's Carrington training ground rather than attending school.
    After the fan revealed that he was being bullied, Mario drove the youngster and his mum over to the school in question and demanded a meeting with the headteacher.
    The Blues ace got the youngster to confess what had been happening and made him identify the culprit. The lads eventually shook hands before Mario got into his white Maserati and sped off.
    A source said: "Mario feels strongly about bullying and thinks it's out of order.
    "He had no qualms about sorting the mess out as he felt the lad should not be missing out on school."

He gets plenty of bad press, but fair play to him here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

anything to get out of training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

"Mario feels strongly about bullying and thinks it's out of order.

Unless your firing darts at the youth team!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

The amount of abuse he suffered in Italy probably made him feel for the kid.

Good to see a bit of compassion from Mario for the kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

No doubt he was the victim of it growing up as a talented black footballer in Italy. Fair play I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Another legendary story below. Hope it's true. I think I saw it first in Popbitch.

A particularly amusing story has been circulating around Greater Manchester Police stations since Mario Balotelli wrecked his custom-kitted Audi R8 over the Bank Holiday weekend.

On arriving at the scene of the crash, officers went through the standard procedure of taking names, statements and administering a breathlyser test, which all passed without a hitch.

However, on giving Balotelli a quick pat down, police quickly found £5,000 hanging out of his back pocket.

Smelling something fishy, curious coppers asked the 20-year-old what he was doing driving around with that sort of wedge tucked into his jeans. A deadpan Balotelli simply replied:

Because I am rich.

http://www.thespoiler.co.uk/index.php/2010/09/06/mario-ballotelli-puts-in-an-early-contender-for-quote-of-season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Nice one, fair play to the lad

Wasn't it him that also came out with the classic "because I'm rich" when asked by the police why he had so much cash on him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

I think he's a great personality and the league would definitely be worse off without him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Lukker- wrote: »
    I think he's a great personality and the league would definitely be worse off without him.

If he'd only start playing football too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I also heard the " Because I'm rich " story somewhere.

What would you expect him to say though in fairness. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

'why the young lad was playing truant with his mum '

Young lad, you're doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

racso1975 wrote: »
    Unless your firing darts at the youth team!!!

he wasnt technically, he wasnt aiming at anyone just throwing them out an open window - not thinking there may be someone below - shows you he's thick but not malicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

The Sun wrote:
    The lads eventually shook hands before Mario got into his white Maserati and sped off.

92a1a3ff052f22d2ca6a83257af6c3af.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,775 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

So Mario bullied the bullying victim into going to his headmaster. Awesome

;-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

dobsdave wrote: »
    'why the young lad was playing truant with his mum '

Young lad, you're doing it wrong.

Maybe she caught him mitching and then brought him to watch City train as some sort of a sick, sick punishment?:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Seems to be a new 'crazy' story every week. I expect him to rescue someone's cat from a tree in the next installment of his adventures. His PR person must be doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,429 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

He probably shot Bin Laden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

"Because i'm rich"

fcking brilliant, i hope that's true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Man he's one odd fellow, didn't he give a wad of cash to a homeless chap aswell?

Bit of a personality alright.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Later that day, the child was viciously beaten for being a rat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

I like this one too. He wins a penalty and then tries to stop Eto'o from taking it because he wants to take it himself. Zanetti had to lead him away by the hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I like this one too. He wins a penalty and then tries to stop Eto'o from taking it because he wants to take it himself. Zanetti had to lead him away by the hand.

I hate when players pull that crap. Not sure if Eto'o was designated penalty taker at the time but you see it in other games. Why the **** do certain players think the middle of a match is the time to throw a strop and demand to take a penalty off the normal taker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I hate when players pull that crap. Not sure if Eto'o was designated penalty taker at the time but you see it in other games. Why the **** do certain players think the middle of a match is the time to throw a strop and demand to take a penalty off the normal taker?

Balotelli doesnt play by the rules. Thats why we love him :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

RasTa wrote: »
    Seems to be a new 'crazy' story every week. I expect him to rescue someone's cat from a tree in the next installment of his adventures. His PR person must be doing well.
    Indeed. Heavy smell of PR off this one. The kind of story that could very easily be made up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Hah! Zanetti is calm, like when your dad has to walk you up the street cos you're bouncing off the walls when you were younger :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

There is no odder man on this planet than our Mario!

steveireland-524x377.jpg

Stephen says hello.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Mario pisses all over Stephen Ireland. Ireland has zero likable qualities. Mario is funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭conor678

From Football 365 Media watch:
    From The Daily Mirror:

'Yet another eyewitness report of Mario Balotelli's pulling style, as witnessed at top Manchester eaterie San Carlo: "He was in there eating as usual, and some superfit WAG wannabe walked in. He yelled 'Hey!' at her, food tumbling from his open mouth... but, of course, she trots straight over. He didn't say a word - he just handed his phone so that she could input her number."

We don't care what you might say - we love him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

conor678 wrote: »
    From Football 365 Media watch:
    From The Daily Mirror:

'Yet another eyewitness report of Mario Balotelli's pulling style, as witnessed at top Manchester eaterie San Carlo: "He was in there eating as usual, and some superfit WAG wannabe walked in. He yelled 'Hey!' at her, food tumbling from his open mouth... but, of course, she trots straight over. He didn't say a word - he just handed his phone so that she could input her number."

We don't care what you might say - we love him

Classy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Massive whiff of Max Clifford off that story. Why was the mother okay with her son not going to school? How did they all fit in Balotelli's Maserati? Considering how much of a big deal this would've been for the school, why has nobody came out since to confirm the story?

Similar make-up guff as the homeless man story - if that had actually happened the guy obviously would've sold his story to the press too.

I love Balotelli's regular crazy antics (wearing a Milan jersey while at Inter, driving into a women's prison, that glove hat), I don't need fictional PR-heavy ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

Thought this was a funny story about how he has amassed 10k worth of parking tickets in Manchester already! He must just park wherever he feels, fair enough I suppose!

http://www.goal.com/en/news/9/england/2011/04/25/2457200/manchester-citys-mario-balotelli-averages-three-parking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Massive whiff of Max Clifford off that story. Why was the mother okay with her son not going to school? How did they all fit in Balotelli's Maserati? Considering how much of a big deal this would've been for the school, why has nobody came out since to confirm the story?

Similar make-up guff as the homeless man story - if that had actually happened the guy obviously would've sold his story to the press too.

I love Balotelli's regular crazy antics (wearing a Milan jersey while at Inter, driving into a women's prison, that glove hat), I don't need fictional PR-heavy ones!

Sold his story to the press? Lol the press already knew about it, why bother paying for it? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

steveireland-524x377.jpg

Stephen says hello.

THAT is one dodgey looking air freshner?!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Sold his story to the press? Lol the press already knew about it, why bother paying for it? :confused:

Still would've been picked up as a story - how it affected his life since, any message he wanted to give to Mario etc. We live in a world now where prostitutes can sell stories that have been censored by superinjunctions and can't actually be revealed over and over, with tiny new details. Tabloids would've loved to speak to that homeless guy, had he been real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

what.. am i goin to be on the telli?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

The chap is a legend. He doesnt give a **** what people think, he is Balotelli :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,237 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I really like the lad. I think he is a good guy but has demons and battles real hard to keep them under control and sometimes he just can't but thats gonna happen. Gotta like a kid like that though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

How did they all fit in Balotelli's Maserati?

Because they only have one current model that is a two seater and its not the model he owns....

They don't generally make super cars, they make Grand Touring cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Woody_FX

Wow that was a nice move by MArio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

Whos Mario Balotelli?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The word legend has lost all meaning, it truly has.