Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland standard euipment rip off

• 28-05-2011 09:47PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,105 ✭✭✭✭

Really fecking annoying.

I just bought a 04 mondeo LX. On Parkers.co.uk they list all the standard equipment for the base LX model and declare that it's generous and includes cruise control, ESP and a trip computer.

The Irish version of the exact same fecking car has no trip computer, no cruise control and no ESP, and the irish car would have cost more to buy new than the same U.K. car.

I know this has being going on for years but it's sickening how we are taken for granted and ripped off at every possible opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I can't see the issue. Specs vary across countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,105 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

the issue is we're paying more and receiving less.

feckin VRT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The only peopel that buy Mondeo LX's are the Gards, they dont need fancy stuff like cruise control :)

I know a guy that bought a Mondeo Lx new in 05, in that Blue colour that the Garda unmarked ones use too. Whenever its just lads in the car and your anywhere with scumbag types around you see all the young blokes heads turning as it comes up the road, and they often seem t have to turn up laneways and the like all of a sudden. He gets some awful stare off them at times. funny stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,105 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

The only peopel that buy Mondeo LX's are the Gards, they dont need fancy stuff like cruise control :)

I know a guy that bought a Mondeo Lx new in 05, in that Blue colour that the Garda unmarked ones use to. Whenever its just lads in the car and your anywhere with scumbag types around you see all the young blokes heads turning as it comes up the road, and they often seem t have to turn up laneways and the like all of a sudden. He gets some awful stare off them at times. funny stuff.

yeah, that's the main reason I bought it.

but now most of the cops are driving newer passats and avensiii and even primeras (suppose the reversing cameras come in handy) so the skangers aren't too worried about my bog standard 7 year old hatchback mondeo

Vrt on an 04 mondeo is tiny. Nothing stopping you importing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Trip computer, cruise control and ESP? Who needs that sh1te? only ould gimmicks. I'd pay not to have them rly. The less of that ould crap clogging up my car the better

I know a guy that bought a Mondeo Lx new in 05, in that Blue colour that the Garda unmarked ones use too. Whenever its just lads in the car and your anywhere with scumbag types around you see all the young blokes heads turning as it comes up the road, and they often seem t have to turn up laneways and the like all of a sudden. He gets some awful stare off them at times. funny stuff.

Does he leave a high vis jacket thrown under the back window?
    Did he attach an extra mobile phone or small CB antenna?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Daegerty wrote: »
    Trip computer, cruise control and ESP? Who needs that sh1te? only ould gimmicks. I'd pay not to have them rly. The less of that ould crap clogging up my car the better

Wish my car could tell the future.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭maxer68

Akrasia wrote: »
    Really fecking annoying.

I just bought a 04 mondeo LX. On Parkers.co.uk they list all the standard equipment for the base LX model and declare that it's generous and includes cruise control, ESP and a trip computer.

The Irish version of the exact same fecking car has no trip computer, no cruise control and no ESP, and the irish car would have cost more to buy new than the same U.K. car.

I know this has being going on for years but it's sickening how we are taken for granted and ripped off at every possible opportunity.

more anti Irish rubbish. Do a little research and you'll find out the reason for different specs. I'll save you time. Up til a while ago cars had a high tax rates. This was applied on the retail price of the car. To keep the costs down, they stripped many cars of auto extras as if these were factory fitted, the tax and vat on that tax was added. So extras were retro fitted after the initial sale, but most people decided against them. In 2004, the ex tax price of cars in Ireland was lowest in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'd wager you harken back to the good ould days of starting handles and carburettors, declaring them to be the glory days of motoring.

Pftt. Give me an LS460h.

Confab wrote: »
    Pftt. Give me an LS460h.

A what now?

Confab wrote: »
    I'd wager you harken back to the good ould days of starting handles and carburettors, declaring them to be the glory days of motoring.

Pftt. Give me an LS460h.

no need to harken back have plenty of that sort of stuff in the shed.

glory days? I'd say they are coming to an end rather than starting when you have ould feckers like Eric Schmidt going around saying how surprised he is that "mere humans" are allowed to drive cars at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

Its called the Paddy Spec:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Irish cars are specced to fit into certain price bands. A typical Mondeo LX buyer will spend €xxxx etc. The fact that we have VRT - whereas there is no similar tax in the UK - automatically makes the car more expensive.

Cars are still dirt cheap compared to what they cost 15 - 20 years ago, in 1996 a basic BMW 318i cost €40,000... (£32,000 - I have the receipt...) no air con, no leather, no nothin'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

No offence, but wouldn't it have been a bit wiser to research on parkers before you got your new car.

You could have imported if you wanted a few toys for the same cash.

If you bought the car already and were happy with it then you can't really complain now can you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,680 ✭✭✭✭vectra

mickob16 wrote: »
    Its called the Paddy Spec:D:D

Not necessarily so,

My Irish car is a much higher spec than the UK version

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

ESP a gimmick? It's a life saving bit of kit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

vectra wrote: »
    Not necessarily so,

+1 same for Suberb and they are a small bit cheaper here too. The Passat Highline here has a way more extras than the UK model.

Why didnt the OP just go to the UK and get a well specced motor...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭whippet

-Corkie- wrote: »
    +1 same for Suberb and they are a small bit cheaper here too. The Passat Highline here has a way more extras than the UK model.

Why didnt the OP just go to the UK and get a well specced motor...

my new Superb came loaded with just about everything ...no need for an options price list from the dealer.

And from what I can make out as standard the spec if better than that of the UK.

I even got the umbrella in the back door which was taken off the standard UK spec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,412 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Fiat's base spec in Ireland is generally higher - electric windows, CD player, cigarette lighter and power steering on a base model Panda in 2004 - UK had windy, a tape deck, not even a 12 volt socket and manual steering...

The spec level I bought at in 2008 had bigger wheels, aircon and a trim kit in Ireland compared to the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

its just different versions for different markets, in general the vast majority of irish people dont care about spec , price ,fuel, road tax and possibly badge

you see it as a bad thing, as do I , but to the ford dealers here as well as VW dealers with passats etc.. they know they can save 1500-2000 on bringing the cars in without some features and most of the country would still buy it , sure if it was legal youd find seatbelts would probably be optional on some cars here

EPM wrote: »
    ESP a gimmick? It's a life saving bit of kit.

just leads to more risk-taking, and another thing that can break for you to fail the NCT over so you can bring more money to the Dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

vectra wrote: »
    Not necessarily so,

I found similar when we bought the missus Scenic. The majority in the UK seem to have standard cloth seats and maual A/c etc whereas the ones here have half leather and digital climate .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I looked at a 2010 car recently, it had manual wind-up windows in the rear, it was enough for me and I walked away without even test driving it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Stinicker wrote: »
    I looked at a 2010 car recently, it had manual wind-up windows in the rear, it was enough for me and I walked away without even test driving it.

whats that to do with spec levels between here and uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭veetwin

Sitec wrote: »
    How exactly does ESP lead to more risk taking?

Would love to know the answer to this also! Most people would not be even aware they have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭stimpson

Who cares about how hard they have it in the back? They should be happy that they're not taking the bus. Id rather pay for cruise control and bigger alloys than for electric windows I'm never going to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

squod wrote: »
    Wish my car could tell the future.......
    My Mondeo can based on your definition.

I'd want em in the front as well. If you can't even roll up a simple window things must be bad for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

is there anywhere u can even see the spec of irish cars ? or is it a case of haveing to look at the car and note whats on it in person

im thinking about geting a pre 04 2.5 advant A6 maybe quattro end of the year and im thinking of just geting a UK one but i think the irish ones are better speced ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

What pisses me off is that Ireland is too much into diesel. Can't even configure a C30 on the Volvo page because there is only gutless 1.6 and 2.0 diesels...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭lomb

Well cruise control could save a few speeding fines, ESP could save your life! About the one piece of electronics in modern cars other than electronic fuel injection that is actually useful.