Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai acquitted....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

sonic85 wrote: »
    i have absolutely no problem with the gardai using rough tactics when dealing with known criminals. like ive said already this person has a pretty long list of convictions and the gardai gave him a taste of his own medicine so whats the problem.

Well I have a problem when anyone breaks the law. You seem to think that it's ok for AGS to ignore the laws they're sworn to protect. I think it's bad enough having scumbags going around attacking people, without the forces of law and order doing the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

FFS the only reason we have police, laws, a court system and a prison system is so that we don't resort to vigilantism and feuding, but apparently handing out punishment beatings is OK so long as you go after "the bad guys."

And how dumb were they to sneak into court in motorcycle gear - did they actually want the public to think of them as gangsters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

goose2005 wrote: »

And how dumb were they to sneak into court in motorcycle gear - did they actually want the public to think of them as gangsters?

that wasnt them...that was the 4 in waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

goose2005 wrote: »
    FFS the only reason we have police, laws, a court system and a prison system is so that we don't resort to vigilantism and feuding, but apparently handing out punishment beatings is OK so long as you go after "the bad guys."

Yeah, coz everyone knows all bikers are scroates! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭sonic85

Einhard wrote: »
    Well I have a problem when anyone breaks the law. You seem to think that it's ok for AGS to ignore the laws they're swore to protect. I think it's bad enough having scumbags going around attacking people, without the forces of law and order doing the same.

listen im not saying the guards should be allowed go around battering random people as they see fit. all im saying is if the crime is extremely serious then being heavy handed is acceptable in my opinion.

can i ask you have you or any member of your family ever been the victims of crime? would you honestly not want to batter a person who harms you or your family or would you still have this laissez faire attitude?

i love the way some people seem to think that the gardai are dealing with quiet introverts who will come quietly when asked. these people would cause serious harm to the guards and the normal joe public given half the chance so why cant the gardai use force in return?

(i know this particular case is different in that it was four guards in a confined space against one person but if it was 2 on 2 then the guards should be able to use whatever means necessary to protect themselves and subdue the criminals)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

listen im not saying the guards should be allowed go around battering random people as they see fit. all im saying is if the crime is extremely serious then being heavy handed is acceptable in my opinion.

can i ask you have you or any member of your family ever been the victims of crime? would you honestly not want to batter a person who harms you or your family or would you still have this laissez faire attitude?

i love the way some people seem to think that the gardai are dealing with quiet introverts who will come quietly when asked. these people would cause serious harm to the guards and the normal joe public given half the chance so why cant the gardai use force in return?

(i know this particular case is different in that it was four guards in a confined space against one person but if it was 2 on 2 then the guards should be able to use whatever means necessary to protect themselves and subdue the criminals)
    And if we did batter them the Gardai would arrest us :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

I don't know why people here are disagreeing with the verdict. They were judged by a group of their peers and were found not guilty. Everyone is innocent until proven guilty.

Some of the posters on here remind me of Fianna Fail and the EU referendums (referenda?). They are fine with the outocme but only when the outcome suits them.

Anyhoo I hope they enjoy their few drinks in Copper Face Jacks tonight.

archer22 wrote: »

:rolleyes: maybe :rolleyes: maybe not :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

This is the problem with people in this country.
    No one "deserves" it. No one. It isn't mandated by the law, it is a wholly inexcusable and impossible to justify act. The Gardai have no right whatsoever to do anything like this to ANY member of the public, for ANY reason. EVER.
    I'm referring to all the people here who are saying "he deserved it".
    NO ONE EVER deserves to be treated that way. Regardless fo whether it actually happened, it absolutely sickens me to see people advocating violent assault on any human being.

Oh the IRONY, you do realise that the person you're talking about did himself violently attack a woman and broke her jaw the previous night??? you do know that, dont you? He then ran away. And as is the norm (for anyone who has been a victim of these types of scumbag, which i seriously doubt you ever have) there probably wasnt anything legally that the guards could do for lack of witnesses etc.

I tell ye what, when your windows have been put in/car broken into/your kids beaten up for thier amusement/or even just been intimidated by them, I still wouldnt listen to the hand wringing "what about his human rights" BS that people come out with. Thats whats wrong with our justice system, the perpetrators rights superceed the ordinary joe soaps right to go about living his life as a functioning member of society :mad::mad:
    etymon wrote: »
    well, then, if YOU'RE happy, it must be the right attitude. This is a seriously ignorant, Joe-Duffy-moaning kind of self-righteousness that is what is wrong with this moanbag of a country.

Ehhh noooo, whats wrong with this country are the moanbags advocating the rights of delinquent dikks who make innocent peoples lives a misery
    if anybody commits heinous crime of any description - murder rape violent assault etc then they deserve every fcuking thing they get. this tool had 27 previous convictions including one for assaulting a garda whose jaw was broken. hes a flipping scumbag pure and simple.

+++1 he was probably giving her payback for arresting him for another one of his crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭usernamegoes

I was mugged for the first time recently, they beat me for no reason as I gave them my iPhone. They were scum. I wanted them, beaten to within an inch of their lives and buired alive in an unmarked grave, But I don't think I should be allowed do it nor should anyone else be allowed do it.

If someone raped my sister, I couldn't swear I wouldn't attack that person if I could, but if I was caught I should be punished.

I wonder how long it will be before the members of the GSOC finaly give up and request early retirement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

archer22 wrote: »

Very few people are prosecuted for assaulting Gardaí.

Seanbeag1 wrote: »

Well that's a problem. The police do a very hard job and if they are assaulted a prosecution should follow. That's what should have happened in the instant case if it did occur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Seanbeag1 wrote: »

Why is that do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Sigh.....more Garda bashing, just what we need!

Look the Gardai were aquitted by a jury of peers so there is quite obviously no evidence to back up Gaffney's claims.

Can people stop acting as though he is some poor innocent soul and that gardai are now randomly forcing their way into people's homes, holding their families hostage and beating the crap out of them for laughs.

Gaffney is a thug who beat a woman so frankly I don't think he deserves to be treated any better than he treated her.

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    [/B]

Oh the IRONY, you do realise that the person you're talking about did himself violently attack a woman and broke her jaw the previous night??? you do know that, dont you? He then ran away.

That's not true at all. It is not alleged that he was involved with the female garda, she said she didn't even see him. The jaw-breaking incident is nothing to do with this case. He says he didin't do it but was told to plead guilty or he'd get time. Make of that what you will.

Also, there is no evidence that he was even involved in any incident the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Just to add I don't believe the Gardai should have the authority to beat people willy nilly but anyone who hurts women or children does not deserve to be treated with any respect imo.

I was mugged for the first time recently, they beat me for no reason as I gave them my iPhone. They were scum. I wanted them, beaten to within an inch of their lives and buired alive in an unmarked grave, But I don't think I should be allowed do it nor should anyone else be allowed do it.

If someone raped my sister, I couldn't swear I wouldn't attack that person if I could, but if I was caught I should be punished.

well at least you are honest unlike some of the holier than thou people on this thread.

fact is if you are a law abiding citizen you should be able to go about your business without fear of being robbed beaten or murdered. if somebody commits a serious crime then they automatically give up their right to be treated like a normal productive member of society.

i must be in the minority but i honestly despair at the state of society at the minute. the rights of scum seem to take precedence over the rights of decent people and they seem to have an endless supply of people standing up for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Gardaí in getting away with thuggery shocker, whats the odds the jury were just like the "sure he deserved it" brigade on here.

I'm not surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

they should kick the shìt out of a lot more car thiefs

Just to add I don't believe the Gardai should have the authority to beat people willy nilly but anyone who hurts women or children does not deserve to be treated with any respect imo.

anybody who intentionally hurts an innocent person (man woman or child) just going about their daily business doesnt deserve respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

That's not true at all. It is not alleged that he was involved with the female garda, she said she didn't even see him. The jaw-breaking incident is nothing to do with this case. He says he didin't do it but was told to plead guilty or he'd get time. Make of that what you will.

Also, there is no evidence that he was even involved in any incident the night before.

A 21-year-old man who claims he was beaten by four gardaí when he was 18 has admitted he has 27 previous convictions.
    Owen Gaffney was being cross-examined on the third day of the trial of four gardaí accused of assaulting him while his mother was locked in a bathroom.
    Mr Gaffney told defence counsel Hugh Hartnett that he was 'no angel' during his teenage years and admitted having a conviction for assaulting a garda whose jaw was broken.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1021/garda.html

Even if it wasnt the night before, the irony point still counts. Being abhorred at violence committed on a person, who himself committed violence on someone is indeed ironic

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    A 21-year-old man who claims he was beaten by four gardaí when he was 18 has admitted he has 27 previous convictions.
    Owen Gaffney was being cross-examined on the third day of the trial of four gardaí accused of assaulting him while his mother was locked in a bathroom.
    Mr Gaffney told defence counsel Hugh Hartnett that he was 'no angel' during his teenage years and admitted having a conviction for assaulting a garda whose jaw was broken.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1021/garda.html

Even if it wasnt the night before, the irony point still counts. Being abhorred at violence committed on a person, who himself committed violence on someone is indeed ironic

I am not sure what you expected me to glean from that report. It doesn't contradict what I said.

He didn't hit a female Garda, he was convicted of breaking a Garda's jaw (a few years ago nothing to do with this case per se)

No evidence that he was involved in any altercation the night before the police arrived at his home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

Chief--- wrote: »
    Great news,

Didn't see the news but...

Well at least it's over now, 12 unbiased members of the public who knew the full facts of the case (unlike some armchair prosecutors here) have found the gardai innocent of all charges.
    who said the were unbiased,thats the stupidest verdict i have heard in a long time and people wonder why people have lost respect for the gardai and the courts.how could anyone believe sworn evedince from the gardai involved in that case in the next case they had anything to do with.gangsters with uniforms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

the bolt wrote: »
    who said the were unbiased,thats the stupidest verdict i have heard in a long time and people wonder why people have lost respect for the gardai and the courts.how could anyone believe sworn evedince from the gardai involved in that case in the next case they had anything to do with.gangsters with uniforms.

The only people who have lost respect for the Gárdaí are those who find that their activities are threatened by them.

The normal law abiding citizen has nothing to fear,just agitators and subversives and criminal scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

7Sins wrote: »
    I don't want to appear like an "uncool" cat now by not bashing the gardai but if they were found not guilty by a jury, doesn't that mean they were innocent :confused: and that the little scobie sh*t was lying :pac:
    no it does not it just means the jury found them not guilty

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Gardaí in getting away with thuggery shocker, whats the odds the jury were just like the "sure he deserved it" brigade on here.

I'm not surprised.
    Or maybe they were afraid that they might wake up some night to find a group of thugs in their bedrooms swinging batons or afraid their tax nct and tyres might be checked every day from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

ectoraige wrote: »
    I haven't heard of jurors crying at a verdict before, does this happen much, and if so, does it usually go unreported?
    the person who lost had previous convictions, leopards dont change their spots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

I'm not surprised.

Better than a jury being like the "all guards are pricks" brigade here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I'm not surprised.

I always find it amusing when a republican gets hot and bothered about Garda thuggery.