Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The jumpers are coming....

• 29-09-2011 09:47PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭

Thread for when we'll see the national hunt stars

First Lieutenant - was entered at Gowran tomorrow but doesn't go. In again at Tipp on Sunday & Tuesday. Gaggle of G'Town horses entered in all the above mentioned so no guarantee he'll run

Sizing Europe - Supposed to run at Gowran on Saturday

Rubi Light - same as SE

keep em coming lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 ganjaman

captain cee bee due to run on 2nd october at tipperary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

First Lieutenant - was entered at Gowran tomorrow but doesn't go. In again at Tipp on Sunday & Tuesday. Gaggle of G'Town horses entered in all the above mentioned so no guarantee he'll run

Runs at Tipp on Sunday, Grade 3 Like A Butterfly Chase
    Sizing Europe - Supposed to run at Gowran on Saturday

Rubi Light - same as SE

Declared to run tomorrow although the meeting is under threat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Meeting goes ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Debating whether to lump my biggest bet on Sizing Europe, waiting to hear off my mate but still no word. SE has won me a mint at this stage from his 14/1 win at Cheltenham and Bromhead sussing himself and Big Zeb on a reverse last time out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,534 ✭✭✭✭cson

Present for SE there.

Davy the jew remounting for the 3rd prizemoney too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Jesus SE got lucky there! Jammy gem!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

I was hoping he would hit the last, thank god he is ok.

Cee Bee is entered in 3:40 in Tipp tomorrow, back hurdling again, can't figure out why it took them so long to switch him back. Not sure I can back him with ****ing McCoy after the last ride he gave him over hurdles

Would have laid SE at odds on as his first run last year was a disgrace also. Went out walking, back just in time for the race but he 2.1 on betfair to lay so left it (thankfully)

With the ground the way it was and as previously said his run 1st time last year in mind nobody in their right mind could've backed SE. Those that did got as lucky as they'll ever get

On a more positive note Rubi Light could really be a force on 2m4 - 3m soft ground chases in Ireland.

Totally agree, I reckon he could win a few top races in England. If he was mine I would throw him into the Melling and/or Old Roan and then the Queen Mother.

Where do you think First Lieutenant will be targeted?

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Where do you think First Lieutenant will be targeted?

RSA ultimately I'd guess, big strapping son of Presenting so 3m should be OK eventually

He won a Grade 1 hurdle on soft ground at Xmas last year so should have no problem being campaigned in Ireland but being by Presenting & judging by his Ballymore win the spring ground won't bother him either

Only thing is they really f**ked about with him in the first 1/3 of last season so while at first glance tomorrow's race looks a penalty kick there's absolutely no guarantee he'll be in any way fully wound up

Captain Cee Bee a non-runner at Tipp

Serious performance from The Real Article there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 ganjaman

Cue Card could be making his chasing debut on Saturday at Chepstow providing they get some rain.i live 15 miles from chepstow and we are due rain 2moro up untill the weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Serious performance from The Real Article there

And looks like the got the money back they lost at Galway too! 9/2 into 11/4 in a matter of minutes! Very nice performance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Montjeu

ganjaman wrote: »
    Cue Card could be making his chasing debut on Saturday at Chepstow providing they get some rain.i live 15 miles from chepstow and we are due rain 2moro up untill the weekend

Not cracked about Cue Card at all and I don't think he is that good. His form looked promising until Cheltenham when it looked like Menorah was a top class horse.

Not sure was he always set for chasing either, probably a case of too many better horses such as Grandouet, Spirit Son and Zarkander that look like staying over hurdles to contend with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Thank the lord the jumps is back. Its been a long 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

meriwether wrote: »
    Thank the lord the jumps is back. Its been a long 6 months.

Oh agreed the chasers are back & with a bang after the weekend....some great races ahead over d nxt few weekends!!!!

Quite impressed with 1st L

Beat a decent yardstick and jumped OK (room fro improvement there). Mouse never has em fit first time out (his last 16 chase debutantes were beaten) so this was a very taking chase debut in a Grade 3. He also needed his first run badly last year (read wasn't off a yard)

Noble Prince and Realt Dubh in at Limerick on Sunday

Although NP is entered on the flat at the Curragh also

Munster National on Sunday, I'm heading to Limerick for a few drinks and then will be at the races Sunday

God bless the jumps :D

As meriwether said, it's been a long 6 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

My favorite thing about the start of a new jumps season is watching back the races from the previous season. Looking forward to watching them all back in the coming weeks.

Something I find helps me when backing jumpers is not to take short prices on first time out novice chasers or novice hurdlers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

The best thing about the start of this jumps season is waiting to see what Paul Nicholls next superstar is going to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Good start for Cue Card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

speaking to Philip Fenton at Roscommon Dunguib will not run this NH year.The taboids dont have this yet ,he is sore on his stifle.

Had a look at the entreis for the week, there is a potentially good chase in Punchestown on Thursday, 2m7. Forpadytheplaster is entered.

Zaynar is entered in a chase in Cheltenham this weekend.

In other news, I bought the racing post guide to the jumps on Sunday. €10. Middling enough trainer reviews, with no review of any Irish trainer. A guide to the jumps that has Evan Williams but not Wille Mullins? How do.
    It does have a short bio of all the 400 in the TTF though, which isn't bad.

The novice chase season look unbelievable already - Al ferof, Peddlers Cross, Menorah, Sprinter Sacre, Solwit, Grands Crus, Bobs Worth, while horses exiting their novice year include Captain Chris and Finians Rainbow.

Very exciting.

Looking forward to Spirit Son in the hurdling too.

Some nice racing tomorrow at Punchestown.

In a novice chase Rathlin and Shinrock Paddy make their chasing debuts
    http://www.irishracing.com/cards/v5card071201110131545.htm

The race after sees Forpaddydeplasterer in a three horse race. Likely to be odds on and is well clear on ratings plus gets 8 pounds from his nearest rival on weight,but I reckon you'd still want to be off your rocker to back him over 2 mile 7

http://www.irishracing.com/cards/v5card071201110131615.htm

UrbanSea wrote: »
    The race after sees Forpaddydeplasterer in a three horse race. Likely to be odds on and is well clear on ratings plus gets 8 pounds from his nearest rival on weight,but I reckon you'd still want to be off your rocker to back him over 2 mile 7

http://www.irishracing.com/cards/v5card071201110131615.htm

Lay of the season, he will be second :p

Have I missed something, how is he receiving weight?

3 runners in a €20k race?

And people are whinging about prize money, are they?

Oh dear lord.

I'm on a break from college here and just saw the result. I would have layed the life of him if I thought he'd be anywhere near 4/11,I though 4/5 would be a good price for the lay.

Absolutely gutted.

meriwether wrote: »
    3 runners in a €20k race?

And people are whinging about prize money, are they?

Not the Irish prize money. Evan Williams won a chase there last week and said that he'd bring more horses over because of the good prize money compared to England

Oh dear lord.

I'm on a break from college here and just saw the result. I would have layed the life of him if I thought he'd be anywhere near 4/11,I though 4/5 would be a good price for the lay.

Absolutely gutted.

Urban why bother waiting for a decent lay price especially in a small field, if you had backed Ri Du Mee @11/4 with 2.5 points and Jadanli @ 14/1 with 0.5 points both to win, then you are going to be up 3.8 - 4 points if either win.

But laying at 11/4 is better than backing the two of them

There's something not right with forpadytheplasterer.

How can he be second that many times?

Sheer fluke?

No fluke.

Not good enough springs to mind. Or unwilling to get in front.

And today was a second only in number

Dandino has gone to Nicky Henderson for a jumping campaign. Triumph hurdle winner? Oh, nno he'd be 5 by then. Either the novice handicap or the Supreme novices.

Neptune investment or fred winter. **** if I know at this stage!

Stayed a mile 6 on the flat,could be a Neptune horse

And they're chucking Oscar Dan Dan over fences at 9yo.

I totally missed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

I think I seen Pricewise tip The Real Article anti-post for the Champion Hurdle.
    Has the chap gone mad? Hes nowhere near the Hurricane Fly / Binocular class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 lukemcdog

Up coming star rakamasi had a bad run today and had to be pulled up

He's hardly an up and coming star?

I see Marsh Warbler is entered in the horses for training sale

I think I seen Pricewise tip The Real Article anti-post for the Champion Hurdle.
    Has the chap gone mad? Hes nowhere near the Hurricane Fly / Binocular class.

He hammered a 155 rated horse last time out at Tipp (albeit getting weight) so taken literally puts him somewhere in the 160+ bracket

Still behind the Fly but who's to say he can't improve further? And in any case no horse is guaranteed to make the festival. 33/1 was the price he tipped it at which I don't see too much wrong with

But laying at 11/4 is better than backing the two of them

I don't lay on betfair but if you lay a horse and give odds of 4/11, if the horse loses surely you only get the stake the person that backed the horse placed?

hucklebuck wrote: »
    I don't lay on betfair but if you lay a horse and give odds of 4/11, if the horse loses surely you only get the stake the person that backed the horse placed?

If you lay a horse at 4/11 and you set your liability at 20 euro then the most you lose is 20 but if it loses then you have 20 on at 11/4 basically.

Weapon's Amnesty out for the season

Last Installment entered in 2 beginners chases at Galway this weekend

Another exciting prospect for Michael O'Leary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Dont know if he would beat Sweeps Hill who really looks a chaser.Tough fences to jump for novices and if something wins well then you could see a star in the making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

sting60 wrote: »
    Dont know if he would beat Sweeps Hill who really looks a chaser.Tough fences to jump for novices and if something wins well then you could see a star in the making.

Sweeps Hill is only 1 from 4 over fences?