Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Television reductions in Tesco

• 14-10-2011 06:54PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭

Hi

From today there are hundreds of old tv lines reduced accross Tesco stores. Some cuts are big and others aren't so big. think it's to do with the digital changeover. I'm not fully up to speed with the whole changeover thing so not sure if these tv's are usable after the swich over but I'm gessing it's just a matter of adding a digital box. Or with some of the older tv's, sticking them in the kids room for playing their PS2!!!!

anywho, there are 280 different types of tv's reduced and most stores probably won't have a lot but there is a lot accross the country, it's just a matter of finding them. Obviously I can't share the list but here is some of the types of thing you're looking for:

14 and 15" Bush and Goodmans etc for €25
    theres a range of different Technika 15.4" lcd's, som with built in DVD from €79
    Philips 42" Plasma €199
    Philips 50" plasma €249
    A lot of the Cello tv's
    The disney themed 14" tv/dvd combo's €25 (Princess/Pirates/Cars)
    Philips 32" lcd hdtv 32pfl5322 €149
    Philips 42" lcd 42pf3331/10 €199
    Sony 32" KDL32u400 €199
    Toshiba 42" av550 €199

I'd be here all day.....theres Samsungs,Bush, Cello, Technika, Goodmans, Philips,Alba,LG,Sony, Toshiba,

Don't think you'll get any really modern tv's with big cuts but hey a bargain's a bargain.

there's some tv stands and set top boxes too, a few dvd players too
    SD3010KB dvd upscaling player to 1080i = €29 (whatever this is)

Sorry for the messy post but hadn't really the time to post this but wanted to squeeze it in rather than leave it.

Happy hunting, hope some of you get a bargain.

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,982 ✭✭✭long_b

Anyone spot any ? Sounds amazing !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭matchthis

Ooh I'd swap my touchpad if someone picked up a hd tv :D why do deals like this come along when I'm broke:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Del007

I saw a 42inch HD Ready Technika in tesco for 199 euro

Does anyone know anything about this brand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Etnies

so tempted to go out and buy a new tv just for a bigger size! Someone talk me out of it please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭fulhamfan

Just back from Tesco Clarehall and nothing of note there at all. None of the bargains cited above. Which shop were you in OP for the sake of other BH? Probably just as well none there for me as really don't need but thought Disney ones sounded too good to miss!!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Maybe we should get mods to setup a Tesco Bargains sub forum:rolleyes:

I look on first page of BA's and 3 threads referring to tesco deals. What does this tell ye? - 1) The power of boards.ie and 2) free advertising and foot fall for the evil empire:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

In two different Tescos today and no reductions worth talking about on any TV's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

That's assuming all the Tesco staff don't get them first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,626 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Bought Disney TV x-mass 2009, grand telly, still going, its CRT. Even the DVD still works!

No need for a Tesco bargains thread, the clear out money is on its last legs.

I'd say Clearwater has a few of these tellys in the stockroom so they may be put out in the next while. Clarehall less so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Maybe we should get mods to setup a Tesco Bargains sub forum:rolleyes:

I look on first page of BA's and 3 threads referring to tesco deals. What does this tell ye? - 1) The power of boards.ie and 2) free advertising and foot fall for the evil empire:P

Jeez,whats you're problem??

Evil Empire??

We are in the 21 centuary now,so cop on and get a grip.

A bargain is a bargain,regardless of origin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Bet they'll all be down the country like the other deals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Dec4

Nothin' in Naas (Xtra or old one)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

paddy147 wrote: »
    We are in the 21 centuary now,so cop on and get a grip.

A bargain is a bargain,regardless of origin.

Like the LG 32" for €280 approx.

Right Pad? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

phasers wrote: »

Sorry to disappoint you but there's none in the Tipperary Tesco.

Well I very recently picked up an LG 22 inch HD TV for 120 euro.

Very happy with the pic quality and sound quality too.TV is now in the guest bedroom,as thats the last room that needed a TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

I would think they are probably on offer in all of the Tesco's, just that some stores are slower than others showing the reduced prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭positron

I wouldn't doubt jarvis - the man who brought us the first proper LCD deal from Tesco back in 2007, or was it 2008?

I'll have a look at the local Tesco and report back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭El Nino09

None in Clonmel , yet !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

FearDark wrote: »

Sorry to disappoint you
    but there's none in the Tipperary Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,293 ✭✭✭rameire

ill be checking tesco Extra Naas tomorrow morning so i will report back then.
    things may change over night!!

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Newcastlewest

Sorry nothing Limerick Crescent Tesco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

That's assuming all the Tesco staff don't get them first.

Must be what happens.

Nearly worth sending in a CV. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭jarvis

Feck it, I'll put a full list up when I have access again in the morning. Thing is, 90% of these tv's will be in back rooms as stated by another poster because they're discontinued. A price change would have come onto the system in all shops that have stock this morning but only would have been actioned on the tv's that were on sale. Each shop will need to work the list and clear the stock. Some shops may not be aware that this list exists yet.

mdwexford wrote: »
    Must be what happens.

Nearly worth sending in a CV. :pac:

Tesco staff are not allowed to and dont get the deals.It has to be put out on sale to the public only.Its in their contract.

I used to work for Tesco in the past,IT Related.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Just back from Naas, both shops. Nothing there as another poster said. Prob even passed by him on the lookout for the tv deals :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭spongbob

f*uck all in Longford as usual, not going to waste my time with athlone or roscommon.

I have a vision of all of you racing up to Dublin 1st thing in the morning so.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

where in dublin did you spot them paddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,411 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

will check here (waterford) but bet there will be diddly sh*it.

Yawns wrote: »
    where in dublin did you spot them paddy?

A few Toshiba and LG 32 inch TVs for sale in Clarehall,about the 300 euro mark or so.nothing mad special though.They have been on sale at that price for about a week,at this stage.