Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The championship that was 2011

• 17-10-2011 07:43AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭

As the dust has now settled after Dublins win I thought I'd start a thread about the best bits of the 2011 campaign.

As a Meath man my best bits are very limited besides a good display against a Louth team who were out for revenge.

My season started with a trip to Parnell Park for that mightiest of competions the O'Byrne Cup and it was the old classic Meath against Dublin. As far as quality this match was slightly lacking but that was more than made up for in excitment with a great close finish. Unfortunately we went no further in that campaign so it was with great anticipation I awaited the start of our sure to be successful league run.

Oh how wrong I was. Coming into work on a Monday morning to be greeted by a certain Mr. Blackbelt with those always welcome thoughts "jesus Meath were poor at the weekend".
    All was looking doom and gloom until the draw against Tyrone kept us out of Division 3

So on to the championship it was. Trying to comfort myself with that old GAA cliche "sure we always have a good summer after a poor league the lads are just hitting form now"
    If only.
    Beaten by Kildare a win against Louth and beaten by Kildare again. Hardly the start our first "foreign" manager could have wanted.
    But at least we could still say we'd won Sam twice since the last time our metropolitan neighbours had.

Then along he came.
    70 minutes on the clock, a hand was waved from Bernard, ah ballsocks heres Stephen "no emotions" Cluxton. Quick look, step back, bang.
    As high as it lifted Dublin hearts a small bit of mine sunk to my feet as I realised this aging Kerry team may be our only hope to stopping a blue wave of Sams. And as they say the first one is the hardest.

So then I started to look forward to 2012. What would I change to give Meath a better chance against the Dubs.
    My list was about 15 long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Best way to define the Galway GAA season. Was on the train home from Limerick after the win over Cork with maybe 50 fellow Galway supporters and we were delighted with the result. One of the aul lads has a handheld radio on full blast with Saturday Sport or whatever the sport thing is called on Radio 1. Galway were playing Meath in football and gave away a free. They conceded a point and were down by a point. Cormac Bane had a goal chance that was easily saved.

Lesson of the year: Disappointment quickly follows joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,764 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

The season began on the 6th August with a game against Ulster Champions Tyrone. Frequently our nemesis, we dispensed with them by a comfortable 7 point victory, with forward Brogan the star man with 8 points.

Onward to the semi final against Connacht Champions and Barcelona-esque possession team Donegal. This was a wonderful contest which sadly clashed with MUFC v Arsenal so much use of the remote was called for. Victory was ours by 8 points to 6 (and 8 goals to 2).

Onward to the final where perennial winner and defending champions Kerry stood in the way. Quite the ding dong battle which I switched off with 7 minutes to go in disgust, pleasantly surprised to find out later that triumph had been ours in the last few minutes.

A quite splendid season.

AJ (true blue).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,991 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

As a Mayo man I think the best was the Connaught Final win.

There was an air of expectation among the Roscommon fans that they were on their way to back to back titles.

They had the feeling that this would be their day, the pundits told them it would and they were at home infront of a big crowd, the minors had already won.

But Mayo sent them home disappointed with a clinical display of free taking by O' Conor, and the fact that Mayo just chipped away at Roscommon in the second half made it all the better.

As the Mayo man beside me said at the final whistle ' Normal service has resumed'

Of course the win over Cork was huge too, but there was something special about putting the Rossie back in his box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Cavan. Senior Football Team - absolutely nothing to say. It was that bad. Anything next year would be an improvement.

Highlight of the year though had to be U21s making the All-Ireland final, the minors winning Ulster and Cavan making the All-Ireland intermediate final in the ladies football.

Who would have thought at the start of the year that three sides representing Cavan have played in Croke Park this year. That is enough for me.

Here's hoping the U21s can build on their and the minor's success next year and go one step further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

But Mayo sent them home disappointed with a clinical display of free taking by O' Conor, and the fact that Mayo just chipped away at Roscommon in the second half made it all the better.

As the Mayo man beside me said at the final whistle ' Normal service has resumed'

Of course the win over Cork was huge too, but there was something special about putting the Rossie back in his box.

From a roscommon point of view, that match was terrible. Both teams were terrible, lots of terrible passing, shocking standard for a connaught final. Terrible weather as well. No complaints about the result though, Mayo were the better side on the day. I hope fergal stays on as manager next year.

Happy to see dublin winning the all ireland. prob the best team of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

The season began on the 6th August with a game against Ulster Champions Tyrone. Frequently our nemesis, we dispensed with them by a comfortable 7 point victory, with forward Brogan the star man with 8 points.

Onward to the semi final against Connacht Champions and Barcelona-esque possession team Donegal. This was a wonderful contest which sadly clashed with MUFC v Arsenal so much use of the remote was called for. Victory was ours by 8 points to 6 (and 8 goals to 2).

Onward to the final where perennial winner and defending champions Kerry stood in the way. Quite the ding dong battle which I switched off with 7 minutes to go in disgust, pleasantly surprised to find out later that triumph had been ours in the last few minutes.

A quite splendid season.

AJ (true blue).

Is this a spot the deliberate mistake post ? ... there's so much wrong here ... and I say this as a Dub .. a "true blue" :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

As a Galway Hurling fan I'm glad to see the back of 2011.

Although I can't say I'm looking forward to 2012 with much optimism.

Highlight - The thrashing we dished out to Cork. That was sweet.
    Low point - Need I say ?

Neutral Highlight - Cluxton's point.
    Neutral Low point - Donegal Football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Is this a spot the deliberate mistake post ? ... there's so much wrong here ... and I say this as a Dub .. a "true blue" :rolleyes:

I've just an inkling that he was messing Dee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I've just an inkling that he was messing Dee

Howya keepin... I'd like to give him the benefit !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭blowitupref

As a Mayo man I think the best was the Connaught Final win.

There was an air of expectation among the Roscommon fans that they were on their way to back to back titles.

They had the feeling that this would be their day, the pundits told them it would and they were at home infront of a big crowd, the minors had already won.

Which pundits? Mayo were odds on favorites for this game & i doubt any rossie had expectations as they hadn't beaten Mayo for a decade.

So IMO beating Cork (defending All Ireland Champions) in Croke park was a bigger deal

frankcarty, Fergal O'Donnell stepped down last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

From a Dublin perspective I would have to look at it for the whole year and not just the championship as it was a very enjoyable and special year for both footballers and hurlers.

The year began with a wasted trip down to St Lomans,Mullingar to see Dublin take on Westmeath in the O Byrne Cup.Upon paying the toll at Enfield,suddenly snow appeared at the side of the road.Getting to the ground,it was frustrating to have to turn around and head back.

The games that followed were very one sided against Wexford and Offaly.The Meath final was tense,with some poor quality shooting.The Shield was a token cup.

Up came the league and our journey to Armagh on a cold Saturday evening showed a strong outing.Could we beat then All Ireland Champions Cork was the question.Dubs played out of their skin in the spring series beating all the top teams in both codes.The hurlers were immense in making Kilkenny look average while our footballers narrowly missed out on a league title after Alan Brogan was farcically suspended and Gilroy made bizarre changes.

Our hurlers proved to be a real force when dsiposing of Limerick and really pushing Tipperay to the end while missing 5 top players.Disappointing that our minor footballers and hurlers along with the u21 hurlers lost their finals.It looked to be just another fairytale year set to crumble by the 64th minute of the senior football final until McManoman,Nolan and Cluxton delivered the crucial blows to Kerry and deliver Sam back to the capital.

Highlights of the year: The Spring Series,League Hurling Final and Football All Ireland Final
    Lows: Wasted journey to Mullingar and losing Football League Final
    Neutral Highlights: Donegal v Kildare,Kildare v Meath
    Neutral Lows: Donegals horrible style of football, Limerick v Wexford controversy

Expectation for next year: who knows but I think the hurlers can make the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Which pundits? Mayo were odds on favorites for this game & i doubt any rossie had expectations as they hadn't beaten Mayo for a decade.

So IMO beating Cork (defending All Ireland Champions) in Croke park was a bigger deal

frankcarty, Fergal O'Donnell stepped down last week.

There was plenty of expectation that we could beat Mayo and the result showed we were fully justified in thinking we had a real chance to win. He's over-blowing it it make it sound like Roscommon supporters (the ones that don't just turn up for the Connacht finals) where cock-sure of victory.

We have a good team now and we'll fancy our chances just the same at home against Galway next season, but every Roscommon fan knows full well the last time we beat Galway (and Mayo, for that matter) will be almost 11 years ago by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

Onward to the final where perennial winner and defending champions Kerry stood in the way. Quite the ding dong battle which I switched off with 7 minutes to go in disgust, pleasantly surprised to find out l that triumph had been ours in the last few minutes.
    A quite splendid season.

AJ (true blue).

Tyrone were not Ulster Champions in 2011. Brogan scored 5 on the day - though he probably set up a few more. The semi final was against the Ulster Champions Donegal - Mayo won Connaught. Good year though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Tyrone were not Ulster Champions in 2011. Brogan scored 5 on the day - though he probably set up a few more. The semi final was against the Ulster Champions Donegal - Mayo won Connaught. Good year though

His post is tongue in cheek ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Pretty woeful year from my point of view.
    Started waaaaaay back at the beginning of January against UCD in Pairc Tailteann. Ahead 10 points to 9 before a last minute UCD goal sent us in to the O' Byrne Shield for what surely would only be shooting practice against Kilkenny. Unbelievably though, we could only manage 13 points against them and struggled to a 7 point win. We dispatched Laois and then I made my almost annual trip to Parnell Park to be verbally abused :D We took the game to extra time but Dublin prevailed in the end mainly thanks to our woeful shooting.

I had high hopes for the league but they were dashed pretty quickly. The league passed having only won one game (against Sligo) and going yet another year without winning away (we haven't won on the road since March 2009). Unfortunately I traipsed up to Derry and Belfast only to watch the team roll over on both occasions. Thankfully, we got the draw we needed to stay up against Tyrone in the final game, but to be honest, we scarcely deserved to stay up.

Like Flancrest, I was quietly confident before the Kildare game. Surely we wouldn't put in as bad a performance like last year's AI quarter final. And we didn't, it was a worse performance. Yet having said that, we lost by 6, and two of the worst refereeing decisions you're ever likely to see went against us that day.

So our defence of the Leinster Championship was a non starter. But at least we could remind our lovely neighbours that we were the better team. And we did that emphatically. Cian Ward had the game of his life in scoring 4-3 and sending Louth home to a chorus of "There's your f*****g replay".

Galway, who were a shadow of their former selves, were next in Navan. We produced a fantastic first half performance and tore Galway to shreds. Unfortunately, our forwards had obviously left their shooting boots behind as we were only 8 points to 4 up at half time. The second half was the stuff of nightmares. For all of thirty minutes we failed to score. Cian Ward, who couldn't miss in the previous game, couldn't hit a barn door in this. All the while Galway slowly reduced the deficit and with just over 5 minutes left went a point up. Thankfully we dug deep and went 0-11 to 0-10 up with a minute left. Then Cormac Bane found himself one on one with Brendan Murphy. Amazingly, he went for goal which Murphy saved and the final whistle went.

And then came Kildare again (for the 4th time in the previous year). There was a much better performance from our lads but unfortunately the same result as the previous 3 games. However, once again we cursed our luck as our captain Seamus Kenny went off with 10 minutes left with a nasty head wound. In the time he was off, Emmett Bolton, the man he was marking very successfully, ran riot and put away 1-1 and killed the game off.

So all in all a disappointing championship. But the positives were that the defence looks far more steady with Kevin Reilly, Ciaran Lenehan etc. coming to the fore. I'm quietly confident again that we can give a good account of ourselves next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,562 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Im from Cork so I wont have much to say.

Football started off well with winning the league. Then things went pear shaped with young Sheehan getting cruciate along with Colm O Neill and then Goulding was out for Mayo game in 1/4 final and anytime you get beat to Mayo in croker things most be bad:o.

U21 hammered Kerry and looked set to win AI but disaster in Limerick against Galway ended that and as for Minors well when they did not score in first half against Dublin I think I have said enough already.

Hurling. Well we got 10 goals against Laois and the rest was hopeless, along with Minors.

U21 deserve credit though for maybe the game of the year against Limerick and just bit luck went Limericks way, but credit to Cork that night it was fantastic performance and cannot be faulted.

Overall a pretty **** year it has be said for Cork

2012 can only be better.

EVENFLOW