Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life on the dole

• 21-12-2011 06:30AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭

Life on the dole.
    How is it for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

great,
    I'm not getting up till 1pm but maybe I'll have a lie in till 2pm,
    choices...choices

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Don't do this or you're fucked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Oh good a dole thread

*awaits bitterness, condescension, generalisations and bans*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

It can be compared with the life of a parasite.

<awaits tsunami of condemnation from parasites>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Tis great sher aren't I a foreign traveller working for the public secter too.

That pretty much covers the usual target groups right?

A pigeon waiting for parasites? Think it's gone beyond that already.

Arawn wrote: »

You're not a black single romany woman so I respect you.

EDIT: These edits are getting too much so I'm going to bed. Single mothers, poles, blacks, swans, germans, chinks etc.

Also Nigerians, Latvians, Ethiopians, great bunch of lads, I don't mean to be racist but, fat americas, etc.

Arawn wrote: »

No you forgot single mothers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Tsunami kill a lot of people now, that's not on.

• Site Banned Posts: 175 ✭✭jimjimjimmy

Was on it for 2 years, wrecked my head. Saved my dole to move to Australia where there is plenty of work. Loving life at moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Embarrassing and degrading.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Embarrassing and degrading.:(

Really? I doubt it's your fault you don't have a job. Hope you find something soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Was on it for 2 years, wrecked my head. Saved my dole to move to Australia where there is plenty of work. Loving life at moment!
    Saved your dole?
    No offence but thats the best argument I have heard to prove that the level of dole payment is too high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I find it degrading as well. It makes you feel useless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Ah shur, its grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

I find it degrading as well. It makes you feel useless.

I think you'ld finding sucking penis in a back alley trying to make ends meet slightly more degrading than claiming back your PRSI contributions, no?

I did.......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Saved your dole?
    No offence but thats the best argument I have heard to prove that the level of dole payment is too high.

None if your business what he does with his dole payment. Would you prefer he lived hand to mouth weekly and stayed on the live register?

If someone chooses to spend €18 a week on beans and bread and save the other €170 it's absolutely no concern of yours.

He saved what he could and got himself back on his feet. Fair play to him, he made sure he is no longer a burden to the state. Your attitude stinks.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

It's tough at times, mentally, but I try and keep positive. If not for being forced to be on the dole, I'd not be getting my writing done. Thanks to being unemployed, I've got one novel done which has already been attracting attention from agents and publishers. I'd never have gotten the chance if I had walked into a job after Uni so silver lining and all that.

Saved your dole?
    bigneacy wrote: »
    None if your business what he does with his dole payment. Would you prefer he lived hand to mouth weekly and stayed on the live register?

If someone chooses to spend €18 a week on beans and bread and save the other €170 it's absolutely no concern of yours.

He saved what he could and got himself back on his feet. Fair play to him, he made sure he is no longer a burden to the state. Your attitude stinks.

And they're off :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

It can be compared with the life of a parasite
    An exceptionally evolutionary successful and predominant form of life on the planet? It seems people on the dole are doing something nature finds highly advantageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

I found that whileon thedole I had plenty of quality fapping time but when I got a job it sucked confining it to just lunchbreaks and while driving to and from work. What makes it worse is its fappping on my own time rather then the taxpayer paying me to do nothing but sleep, drink, take copious amounts of coke and fap.

mackg wrote: »
    And they're off :pac:

Here you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭Corvo

bigneacy wrote: »

Exactly. Trying to save the dole must be a challenge in itself. Fair play to ya lad, hope you make a bucket load out in Oz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Life on the dole.
    How is it for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

I really like it on the dole. Can live ok on the money - even manage to save some as well. Have plenty of time to go fishing and shooting. This is the life for me. House and car are paid for so happy days. Best career move I ever made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Saved your dole?

nah he probably had a cash in hand job while he claimed the dole which was why he could afford to save his dole :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Life on the dole.
    How is it for you?

Great. I'm learning to speak a new language called African.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

All people on the dole are scumbag leeches on society who are just to lazy to go out and find work. What's wrong with Dunnes or Supermacs?

Lazy people have ruined this country! :mad:

*Hides fact he was on the dole up until a month ago.*

I found the dole easy to manage on, was never stuck without money because I balanced myself and I live in place with cheap rent. Though at the end of the month with bills and rent it doesn't leave you with much at all.

It's the attitude and stench of superiority of others who look down on you like royalty looking down on a disease-ridden hobo that makes being on the dole degrading.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Great. I'm learning to speak a new language called African.

Picturing the scene now at a Nigerian Border control post...

So you're Irish...

...and you're looking to claim asylum here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Catxscotch

I'd say this thread will really get going around 13:20..when the nice people on the dole get up especially to watch Home and Away and realise Neighbours is on instead..and so head to boards for some afternoon entertainment before the late afternoon rush of the daily show