Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht v Munster 24/3/12 19:45 Live on TG4

• 17-03-2012 09:59PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

The wounds of today may still be fresh but I for one am really looking forward to this game.

Word on the street is it's going to be a sellout, probably a record crowd for a Pro 12 game in Galway. Here's hoping for another memorable night in the Sportsground!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

While this is an inter pro game it's far more important for Munster to win than for Connacht with the way the league is working out. A Connacht win will put Munster in the middle of a very tough fight for a play off spot. Especially as both Glasgow and Ulster are playing Italian teams so in theory should be able to reduce the gap between them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

CatFromHue wrote: »
    While this is an inter pro game it's far more important for Munster to win than for Connacht with the way the league is working out. A Connacht win will put Munster in the middle of a very tough fight for a play off spot.

Are you suggesting something Cat? ;)

You give us Stringer and we gotta deal. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭budhabob

Looking forward to this, heading across for it. Although the last connacht game I was at last year I think the sea was picked up and dropped on us....fun times :)

I don't know how anyone can think of a provincial game after today, having said that by Wednesday or Thursday my attitude will probably have changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,661 ✭✭✭✭phog

I'm missing this game and it was to be my first visit there since the redevelopment. Another must win game for Munster, especially after our loss to Aironi.

Hopefully, we'll have nice dry day in the sportsground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭fatguy2k1

Only tickets available for the College Road and Bohermore Terrace left for the match and the are selling quickley.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

This is a pretty important game for Connacht too. With 5 games left if they win 3 of them it would equal last seasons performance in Magners. Considering their performances in the HEC that would be a good season if you ask me. They've Munster, Ulster, and Aironi at home and Dragons and Glasgow away still to play. A win would also give them a lot of confidence going into the last block of games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster Squad:
    D Varley, M Sherry, D Fogarty,
    M Horan, W du Preez, J Ryan, S Archer, BJ Botha,
    I Nagle, M O’Driscoll, B Holland,
    Dave O’Callaghan, T O’Donnell, D Wallace, J Coughlan, P Butler,

D Williams, T O’Leary,
    I Keatley, S Deasy,
    D Barnes, L Mafi, S Tokula
    L O’Dea, S Zebo, F Jones, J Murphy, D Hurley,

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/10263.php

I'd like to see:
    du Preez, Sherry, Ryan, Nagle, MOD, DOC2.0, Wallace, Coughlan;
    Williams, Keatley, Zebo, Mafi, Barnes, Murphy, Jones

Bench: Varley, Horan, Botha, Holland, TOD, TOL, Deasy, Hurley

Traditionally this is a fixture where McGahan sends a very weakened team, giving a lot of youngsters gametime. However this season this fixture falls before two huge games in Munster's season, the Leinster derby and the HEC QF, so I fancy a pretty strong side will be sent from those available.

Love them or hate them, Duncan Williams is here to stay and TOL isn't. So Williams needs to play these games. I would have TOL ahead of Williams for Leinster and Ulster if Murray doesn't make it.

John Ryan has barely featured at all this season, only getting 10 minute cameos at best. I'd like to see him get a start. Sherry too could do with a game.

This is a pretty important game to secure a home Rabo semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

cannot wait to get back in the Clan Stand for this game
    was some atmosphere at the Leinster game New Years Day- that should be replicated this Saturday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Munster Squad:
    D Varley, M Sherry, D Fogarty,
    M Horan, W du Preez, J Ryan, S Archer, BJ Botha,
    I Nagle, M O’Driscoll, B Holland,
    Dave O’Callaghan, T O’Donnell, D Wallace, J Coughlan, P Butler,

D Williams, T O’Leary,
    I Keatley, S Deasy,
    D Barnes, L Mafi, S Tokula
    L O’Dea, S Zebo, F Jones, J Murphy, D Hurley,

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/10263.php

I'd like to see:
    du Preez, Sherry, Ryan, Nagle, MOD, DOC2.0, Wallace, Coughlan;
    Williams, Keatley, Zebo, Mafi, Barnes, Murphy, Jones

Bench: Varley, Horan, Botha, Holland, TOD, TOL, Deasy, Hurley

Traditionally this is a fixture where McGahan sends a very weakened team, giving a lot of youngsters gametime. However this season this fixture falls before two huge games in Munster's season, the Leinster derby and the HEC QF, so I fancy a pretty strong side will be sent from those available.

Love them or hate them, Duncan Williams is here to stay and TOL isn't. So Williams needs to play these games. I would have TOL ahead of Williams for Leinster and Ulster if Murray doesn't make it.

John Ryan has barely featured at all this season, only getting 10 minute cameos at best. I'd like to see him get a start. Sherry too could do with a game.

Can't see John Ryan starting tbh, Archer might.

You think it's time for Wallace to start? I can the reasoning with the Leinster game coming up but I'd nearly prefer to see him get 30 minutes at the end again.

I think LOD should start on the wing.

Hope Nagle starts and Keatley has to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭ed7890

I'd love to see Ryan start at LH with Archer at TH, Sherry in at hooker, see how they get on.

However this season this fixture falls before two huge games in Munster's season, the Leinster derby and the HEC QF, so I fancy a pretty strong side will be sent from those available.

The more I look at this game the more it's in the must win category for Munster. Losing this and then the Leinster game becomes a must win. Losing both would put Munster in a bad position in the league, more than likely out of the top 4.

Considering Holland is usually ahead of Nagle I'd expect Nagle to be benching it this time around too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

Hopefully McGahan picks as close to a full team as he can. The loss against Aironi drops us back into the pool of teams fighting for the playoffs. Still, a home-semi is in our hands.

I think the gap between Murphy and O'Dea is shrinking, and I definitely wouldn't have any complaints if O'Dea started. He has been really impressive in his appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Can't wait for this one. Anyone know who's refereeing? At least with DOC not playing the breakdown should (hopefully) be a lot tidier, he destroyed our ruck ball in Thomond at Christmas and should have been binned about 40 minutes before he eventually did see yellow. Naoupu has broken his hand in training so looks like Muldoon at 8 and Kearney at 6, NOC still injured too.

According to Advertiser likely team is:
    Wilko, Flavin, Loughney
    Swift, McCarthy
    Kearney, Ofisa, Muldoon
    Murphy, Nikora
    Griffin/Tonetti, Fa'afili
    O'Halloran, Vainikolo
    Duffy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

Zzippy wrote: »
    Anyone know who's refereeing?

Neil Patterson from Scotland

f1dan wrote: »

Ah sh!te....... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

f1dan wrote: »

could be worse could have got an Italian the last one i saw on tv was crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

The more I look at this game the more it's in the must win category for Munster. Losing this and then the Leinster game becomes a must win. Losing both would put Munster in a bad position in the league, more than likely out of the top 4.

I'd consider it an absolute must win.

If I was picking the team I'd wrap Botha in cotton wool and otherwise put the best side possible out.

The more I think about it the more I'm worried about our backrow - Naoupu and JOC missing and Mul out of position if he's played at 8. Coughlan almost singlehandedly won this game 2 years ago for Munster, he was immense that day, if he has a big day we might be in trouble.

Gonna be some atmosphere too, over 6,500 tickets sold, will be a record crowd for the Pro12 in the Sportsground (there was additional terracing for the HEC games).

http://www.connachtrugby.ie/2012032282793/remaining-tickets-for-munster-clash-on-sale
    Over 6,500 supporters packed out the Sportsground when Connacht faced Leinster on New Year’s Day setting a new attendance record for a League match. And with three days to go before the Munster clash internet and phone bookings have already surpassed that mark and there are now only a handful of tickets available for the Bohermore and College Rd Terraces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

Munster team just announced on Twitter

Jones; Hurley, Murphy, Mafi, Zebo; Keatley, O'Leary; du Preez, Varley, Botha; Nagle, O'Driscoll, Dave O'Callaghan, Wallace, Coughlan

Replacements v Connacht: M Sherry, M Horan, S Archer, B Holland, T O'Donnell, D Williams, S Deasy, L O'Dea

Delighted about Wally and Nagle.

Just wish we could cotton wrap Botha until the Ulster match.

Good Munster back 3, back row, and front row. Connacht should be looking to get on top in the centres, second row, and half backs.

Munster:
    F Jones; D Hurley, J Murphy, L Mafi, S Zebo; I Keatley, T O'Leary;
    W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; I Nagle, M O'Driscoll capt; Dave O'Callaghan, D Wallace, J Coughlan.

Replacements: M Sherry, M Horan, S Archer, B Holland, T O'Donnell, D Williams, S Deasy, L O'Dea.

Happy with that lineup, Barnes must not be fit yet so I'm happier that Murphy at centre instead of Tokula, who probably won't feature again.

DOC2.0 is playing for his place on the squad that will play Leinster & Ulster.

Connacht XV to face Munster (The Sportsground – Saturday 24th March – ko 19.45)
    15 Gavin Duffy (C)
    14 Kyle Tonetti
    13 Eoin Griffin
    12 Henry Fa’afili
    11 Tiernan O’Halloran
    10 Miah Nikora
    09 Frank Murphy
    01 Brett Wilkinson
    02 Ethienne Reynecke
    03 Ronan Loughney
    04 Michael Swift
    05 Mike McCarthy
    06 Mick Kearney
    07 Ray Ofisa
    08 John Muldoon

16 Adrian Flavin
    17 Finlay Bealham
    18 Rodney Ah You
    19 Eoin McKeon
    20 Eoghan Grace
    21 Paul O’Donohoe
    22 Matthew Jarvis
    23 Dave McSharry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Munster:
    F Jones; D Hurley, J Murphy, L Mafi, S Zebo; I Keatley, T O'Leary;
    W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; I Nagle, M O'Driscoll capt; Dave O'Callaghan, D Wallace, J Coughlan.

Replacements: M Sherry, M Horan, S Archer, B Holland, T O'Donnell, D Williams, S Deasy, L O'Dea.

Happy with that lineup, Barnes must not be fit yet so I'm happier that Murphy at centre instead of Tokula, who probably won't feature again.

DOC2.0 is playing for his place on the squad that will play Leinster & Ulster.

Connacht XV to face Munster (The Sportsground – Saturday 24th March – ko 19.45)
    15 Gavin Duffy (C)
    14 Kyle Tonetti
    13 Eoin Griffin
    12 Henry Fa’afili
    11 Tiernan O’Halloran
    10 Miah Nikora
    09 Frank Murphy
    01 Brett Wilkinson
    02 Ethienne Reynecke
    03 Ronan Loughney
    04 Michael Swift
    05 Mike McCarthy
    06 Mick Kearney
    07 Ray Ofisa
    08 John Muldoon

16 Adrian Flavin
    17 Finlay Bealham
    18 Rodney Ah You
    19 Eoin McKeon
    20 Eoghan Grace
    21 Paul O’Donohoe
    22 Matthew Jarvis
    23 Dave McSharry

Stick McSharry in there for Fa'afili and Layden on the bench and you have the ideal Connacht 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 & 23 jerseys for the next 2-3 years.

Eric finally engaging in a bit of rotation?

Finlay Bealham to make his first senior appearance? Is Buckley injured, he was doing ok the last few games... Rodney back in the squad too ahead of Rogers.

Tonetti on the wing too, he's not the speediest, better at centre, and prob facing Zebo who's not the slowest! Could be a mismatch there but otherwise given injuries that's as strong a team as we can muster...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Stick McSharry in there for Fa'afili and Layden on the bench and you have the ideal Connacht 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 & 23 jerseys for the next 2-3 years.
    Tonetti as a winger? I'm really not convinced by the idea but I suppose its worth a try.

Interesting to see how Nikora gets on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Munster team just announced on Twitter

Jones; Hurley, Murphy, Mafi, Zebo; Keatley, O'Leary; du Preez, Varley, Botha; Nagle, O'Driscoll, Dave O'Callaghan, Wallace, Coughlan

Replacements v Connacht: M Sherry, M Horan, S Archer, B Holland, T O'Donnell, D Williams, S Deasy, L O'Dea

Delighted about Wally and Nagle.

Just wish we could cotton wrap Botha until the Ulster match.

Pity LOD isn't starting and I'd love to see Hurley in the centre.

Back row looks very strong, great to see Nagle playing and that's our first-choice front row.
    Good Munster back 3, back row, and front row. Connacht should be looking to get on top in the centres, second row, and half backs.

Half-backs?? TOL isn't great but I still rate him a lot higher than Murphy. And I think Keatley is better than Nikora too.

Connacht back 3 looks strong enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Tonetti as a winger? I'm really not convinced by the idea but I suppose its worth a try.

Tonetti's not the fastest, but his positioning and defence are immense. Word is that O'Halloran has been doing 75% of both wingers jobs. His own defensive priorities naturally but also a heavy amount of strike work which is usually left for Tuohy (savagely under-rated; always good for a try), Vainikolo or McCrea.

He has pretty much been doing their jobs for them anyway; so now the plan is to increase his attacking priorities and hand over some of his defensive ones to Tonetti whose defensive qualities notched him January's Player of the Month award.

Heard it from a coach's mouth at Area 22.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Be interested to see how Griffin goes.

Played most the game versus Gloucester there I think. He was okay, must be in for defensive work.

Would have preferred Henry on the wing and Tonetti at 12

its_phil wrote: »
    Played most the game versus Gloucester there I think. He was okay, must be in for defensive work.

Yep, and his lack of pace cost a try, if he'd been a bit quicker he would have been in in the corner. Call me old-fashioned but I like wingers to be quick. Hope he proves me wrong tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

He had an excellent game on the wing v Gloucester when he came on

Vainikolo was hitting a bit of form and notched his first try v Embra so I'm surprised he isn't involved, perhaps he's carrying a knock

Fa'afili over McSharry isn't that surprising, McSharry's form has hit a nosedive for the last couple of months, although he has been carrying a rather awkward facial injury which was very slow to heal.

That's why I said Tonetti. I think he's our best 12 right now. McSharry has been very poor recently, but he'll be back.

10. Jarvis
    12. Tonetti

let Tonetti take the kicks.

a lot of problems sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭liam12989

Whose this Bealham guy?
    Anyone know anything about him?

And i think rodney has till end of season to earn a contract fr himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

liam12989 wrote: »
    Whose this Bealham guy?

Irish under 20 last season. Aussie originally I think? Was with Ulster briefly I think also.

liam12989 wrote: »
    Whose this Bealham guy?

He's sub academy, word is he's been given a contract for the next 2 seasons

I'm a little bit worried about Johne Murphy defensively against Griffin. Johne isn't the most natural 13, and Griffin is a really intelligent player with a very good eye for a gap. If Johne gets caught out with his positioning, Connacht could get a few chances.

I'm also worried about Hurley defensively on the wing against O'Halloran. We saw against Aironi that Hurley could be exposed with chips in behind him, and O'Halloran's pace would be dangerous.

I do think Munster should have enough to win it. Hopefully Leinster can hang on this evening and we'll have a chance to open up a little bit of a gap between third. EDIT: Fitzy is giving us a helping hand in the RDS

I'd much prefer if Hurley and Murphy's roles were reversed for this. IMO Hurley is more physical and has better handling skills while Murphy is a better kicker and has more pace.

Of course Hurley has never played at centre for Munster, so that's an important factor.

I think Murphy is probably the safer call as he did a fair bit of rugby at 13 for us last season.

I'd almost swap Jones and Hurley to be honest. Hurley's best attacking play is when he is coming into the line from deep, like he did against Northampton. He doesn't offer a lot from the wing in attack. With Jones' pace, I think we'd get more from him on the wing that we would from Hurley, and I think it reduces the risk of us being exposed in defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

7 Hours and 25 Mins lads

cannot fécking wait

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Kick off is 3:45am for me...after that Aironi game dont know if I can put myself through a very late night for this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

I'd much prefer if Hurley and Murphy's roles were reversed for this. IMO Hurley is more physical and has better handling skills while Murphy is a better kicker and has more pace.

Of course Hurley has never played at centre for Munster, so that's an important factor.

Hurley is going to be the starting 15 come HC. To be honest I wouldn't even bother playing him in this fixture with the depth we have in back 3 players but I guess they want o keep him match fit.

I've seen a lot of this 'try Hurley in the centre' stuff and I don't agree with any of it. Grand he's got the physical requirements but he's a really good 15 and a decent winger. Turning a guy into a utility player when his natural position is in the back 3 is going to ruin him. Just ask Johne Murphy and Luke Fitzgerald.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Hurley is going to be the starting 15 come HC. To be honest I wouldn't even bother playing him in this fixture with the depth we have in back 3 players but I guess they want o keep him match fit.

I've seen a lot of this 'try Hurley in the centre' stuff and I don't agree with any of it. Grand he's got the physical requirements but he's a really good 15 and a decent winger. Turning a guy into a utility player when his natural position is in the back 3 is going to ruin him. Just ask Johne Murphy and Luke Fitzgerald.

Surely that would be Jones's spot

Serious evening for rugby in Galway. Hope we can give Munster a good fright, can't really see us winning it but I hope I'm wrong. Buzzing for this now, can't beat a home interpro in the Sportsground, atmosphere will be fantastic

COME ON CONNACHT

Jones will definitely start ahead of Hurley at fullback, unless Jones plays himself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Jones will definitely start ahead of Hurley at fullback, unless Jones plays himself out.

I bet you a tenner Hurley starts at 15 against Ulster ;)

You game?

You game?

I'm game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭seanin4711

perfect night for rugby!
    big george missing with busted hand
    munsters back line!

hate to say it!
    reality check for us connacht boys tonight!
    this is the level we need to be playing at every week not in just fits and starts when the other provinces come calling!
    please jesus losing bonus would be a huge one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

You game?

bad bet

Felix will start bar injury