Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 martin kelly.

God that is sickening :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

flynnlives wrote: »

via http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/04/18/the-eviction-in-killiney-new-video/

quite distressing video towards the end.

Not sure of the details.

There is something rotten in the state of Ireland!!
    This couple who own several other properties seem to think that there is something wrong with being expected to pay their mortgage!
    No sympathy at all here thread should be re-titled Former super-rich developers forced to live within their means!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

We need to know the full extent of this situation before we can pass judgements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

lividduck wrote: »
    This couple who own several other properties seem to think that there is something wrong with being expected to pay their mortgage!
    No sympathy at all here thread should be re-titled Former super-rich developers forced to live within their means!

i dont know the full story, maybe you can enlighten us?

the facts are so far are that an elderly couple have been evicted from their home. Thats all i know from the video.

Have you anymore info or are you just making assumptions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

How history repeats itself

English landlords kick out the Irish in the 1800s

I don't know the whole story behind this though so makes it hard to judge

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

0:33 - "You've abewwwsed an elderly gentleman.." *stops video*

That accent makes you want to claw your eyes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

We need to know the full extent of this situation before we can pass judgements.

Since when??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

0:33 - "You've abewwwsed an elderly gentleman.." *stops video*

That accent makes you want to claw your eyes out.

you were right to stop the video then! it only gets worse.

without knowing anything more, it's impossible to have a view on this. i wouldn't automatically go the sympathetic route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't give a fcuk what the details behind it are. Kicking OAPs out of their home is wrong regardless of any semantics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

you were right to stop the video then! it only gets worse.

without knowing anything more, it's impossible to have a view on this. i wouldn't automatically go the sympathetic route.

What accent is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Because someone is old that means they should be able ignore their responsibilities without consequence?

As it says briefly at the end of the ads for the banks, if you do not keep up the payments on your mortgage you may lose your home. They weren't kicked out for no reason.

This is a cautionary tale more than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I don't give a fcuk what the details behind it are. Kicking OAPs out of their home is wrong regardless of any semantics.

what, so they don't have to pay for their home, because of their age? isn't that something.... like... ageist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

This is a stupid thread in fairness. Without any background facts how can anyone comment on it?

And why should their age be taken into account, to treat them differently would be ageism!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/kilbarron-st-matthias-wood-church-road-killiney/1247060

Apparently this is the miserable hovel they were evicted from. Brings a tear to the eye.

Perhaps they could have sold it for whatever they could have got and perhaps lived in one of their many other leased out properties?

Just a suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MoonDancer

Wow, are they actually allowed to physically remove people from the property? Not the Gardai now, those people coming to evict the people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

A comment on that website claims they have multiple properties and this one was worth over 2m. Hard to have any sympathy if true.

Even if the reason that they're being kicked out is that they bought apartments left right and centre and secured these loans against a fine house for example? (I do not know the details in this instance, but it does look like quite a luxurious home in a prestigious neighbourhood). However Anglo were a business bank, they did not loan to first time buyers, but developers and the like. That would lead me to believe that there is a lot more to this story than first appears, this is hardly the crowbar brigade.

Being old doesn't absolve someone of their responsibilities, in fact it should have the opposite effect and make you more acutely aware of them.

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/kilbarron-st-matthias-wood-church-road-killiney/1247060

Apparently this is the miserable hovel they were evicted from. Brings a tear to the eye.

Perhaps they could have sold it for whatever they could have got and perhaps lived in one of their many other leased out properties?

Just a suggestion.

how do you know they have other properties?

seems to be alot of assumptions being made with little or no backup!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

steddyeddy wrote: »
    What accent is it?

An ear-rapey one *shudders*

i dont know the full story, maybe you can enlighten us?

the facts are so far are that an elderly couple have been evicted from their home. Thats all i know from the video.

Have you anymore info or are you just making assumptions?
    Perhaps you should get all the facts before opening a thread instead of later admitting that actually you don't know the facts and asking others to provide them for you.

lividduck wrote: »
    Perhaps you should get all the facts before opening a thread instead of later admitting that actually you don't know the facts and asking others to provide them for you.

wtf are you talking about?

yes i posted this but then you came along and
    you posted stuff without backing it up!

what info do you have about this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Watch the piece on the Six One news. It describes their portfolio of leased out properties.

Well you started it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

Yeah - lots of assumptions being made but not by me.

Try watching the news reports of this before jumping to conclusions.

Apology accepted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

That's a bit silly tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

Is Bertie a pensioner?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

* http://www.broadsheet.ie/
    * http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/04/18/this-is-brendan-and-asta-kelly/
    Asta is 63 and Brendan is 71.

About two hours ago (12.45pm) they were apparently forcibly removed from their home in Killiney, Co Dublin, for non-payment of debts to, we understand, Anglo Irish Bank (details of amount unknown).

People at the scene have claimed the couple’s front door was kicked in and Brendan and Asta were “dragged out” of their home. More as we get it.

JUST posting the above for others to see - NOT as an opinion on the matter.

The house: http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/kilbarron-st-matthias-wood-church-road-killiney/1247060

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Old people are not vulnerable purely by virtue of their age. Try getting on a bus before that frail ould one and see how far you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

In fairness we all know people who have fallen behind on their mortgage payments and haven't been dragged out of their homes...

These cases go through many layers of the courts before coming to that..

They must have been long term non payers and non negotiators with the institutions to be dragged out onto the streets...

Never nice to see anyone treated like that but there are always options before it comes to that... In fairness if that was your ma and da you'd have the move in with you rather go through that... But no they stuck it out to the bitter end, did they seriously think they wouldn't be dragged out?? bad move..

If there isn't any other information coming forward I'd be thinking they brought this onto themselves in one way or another...

The only sickening thing is that Sean Quinn and co aren't treated to a bit of that too..

Even if the reason that they're being kicked out is that they bought apartments left right and centre and secured these loans against a fine house for example? (I do not know the details in this instance, but it does look like quite a luxurious home in a prestigious neighbourhood). However Anglo were a business bank, they did not loan to first time buyers, but developers and the like. That would lead me to believe that there is a lot more to this story than first appears, this is hardly the crowbar brigade.

Being old doesn't absolve someone of their responsibilities, in fact it should have the opposite effect and make you more acutely aware of them.

Well, no. If they do own other properties which are generating an income for them and still refuse to pay their mortgage then my opinion would be quite the opposite.

Tbh, I just got angry when I seen the old man being forcibly removed from the premises. Maybe that's ageist as some have suggested already but meh.

I'm sure the bank will put their newly acquired premises to good use, and not just have it sitting there empty and losing us even more money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

You should have done a bit more research before starting the thread, it was on the six one news, you could have linked that clip.
    It's hard for others to make judgements without the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Get out of my AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I don't.

Well, no. If they do own other properties which are generating an income for them and still refuse to pay their mortgage then my opinion would be quite the opposite.

Tbh, I just got angry when I seen the old man being forcibly removed from the premises. Maybe that's ageist as some have suggested already but meh.

I'm sure the bank will put their newly acquired premises to good use, and not just have it sitting there empty and losing us even more money.

Which according to RTE is the case in this instance. Brendan Kelly is a former accountant and Landlord so he should have been well acquainted with the consequences of not paying a €2m mortgage. The courts gave a repossession order in 2010 so IBRC have shown incredible restraint.

I find it laughable that he likened his situation to the destitute evicted in the 1860's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,934 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Which according to RTE is the case in this instance. Brendan Kelly is a former accountant and Landlord so he should have been well acquainted with the consequences of not paying a €2m mortgage. The courts gave a repossession order in 2010 so IBRC have shown incredible restraint.

I find it laughable that he likened his situation to the destitute evicted in the 1860's.

It's more than just laughable,it's disgusting and outrageous to compare himself in that way.

RTE seem to be the only ones to have reported that. And why was this story even reported on RTE? It's certainly out of the ordinary for an eviction to be broadcast on the main evening news. These things happen every day. It's mentioned nowhere on their site either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,483 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I thought that was disgusting too, I don't see any great excuse for him and his wife, they had plenty of warning/knowledge of what was happening, they could have done something.

I absolutely do not think age comes in to it and it is very annoying to use the 'pensioner' tag here. I am older than the woman in the story and I am perfectly in possession of any faculties that you would need to manage this sort of situation, not that there is any chance of me being in that situation :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I dunno. It appears that they own several properties, so as someone has already said, I wouldn't necessarily go down the sympathetic route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,261 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Will they be evicting one of their tenants so's they can doss down somewhere, or will they go to the homeless shelter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Freddie59 wrote: »
    I dunno. It appears that they own several properties, so as someone has already said, I wouldn't necessarily go down the sympathetic route.

It's hard to feel sympathy for them they have other properties and knew the consequences of not paying the mortgage.
    They will not say how much they owe, they really let themselves down during the eviction, they should have just walked away and kept a bit of dignity.
    She wants the people of Ireland to back them up, I don't think there will be much sympathy for people with a mortgage for two million.
    They do not where they will go tonight, likely story I'm sure they have family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

RTE seem to be the only ones to have reported that. And why was this story even reported on RTE? It's certainly out of the ordinary for an eviction to be broadcast on the main evening news. These things happen every day. It's mentioned nowhere on their site either.

Yes, but all those other people getting evicted don't live among RTE top brass in Killiney, and can't ask a golfing pal to put their story on the 6-1 news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

MoonDancer wrote: »
    Wow, are they actually allowed to physically remove people from the property? Not the Gardai now, those people coming to evict the people.
    They've had almost two years advance warning (possession order was granted in June 2010). They have been breaking the law by remaining in the house since then. It is clear from the interview the wife gave today (link below) that the bank had also warned them in the last few days that their time to leave under their own steam was running out and they were finally going to instigate a physical eviction. Having to be physically removed rather than leaving peacefully was a choice they made themselves.

http://spin1038.com/onair-category/shows-category/thespin/eviction-in-killiney/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

These people are landlords, if one of their tenants stopped paying rent they'd be evicted and it sure wouldn't take two years

And OP, you don't get a free pass from responsibility and instant sympathy just because you are elderly
    Maybe they thought the bank would not dare to evict an elderly couple but they were wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Would this landlords allow people who couldn't pay rent to stay living in their properties for free? I doubt it.

I doubt they even accepted rent allowance when he could.

They get no sympathy from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Poor feckers will have to move in to one of their other houses. God help them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Dubit10 wrote: »
    Poor feckers will have to move in to one of their other houses. God help them.

That house might only be worth a few hundred thousand and only 500 sq feet. Ewww.

I'd be interested to see their entire property portfolio. It would be funny if they were slum lords so I could in good conscience take the piss out of them. Now I just have to do it in bad conscience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

Irish socialists are special.

They are against property tax and are up in arms when a couple with no dependants is evicted from a 2,2 million villa they cannot afford 2 years after the eviction is granted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

lol hopefully this happens to more and more people, it needs to happen!