Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dr Ferrari's Camper Van (off-topic discussion)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭le petit braquet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Etc

It's a great gold medal win, let's not turn it into 46 years of "they think it's all over, it is now"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Watched it in work today, popped down to the canteen which stayed open till just before it started (usually closes at 4). There was only 10 people there and just as the fight started , there was a swarm and 75% of everyone in the building was there.

A few used it as an excuse to leave the building early but in general it was great to feel that spirit that has been lacking in work for a long time, passion, people were commentating, laughing, worried, unsure and not afraid to show it, sounds overly sentimental but a big thank you to Katie, your hard work made alot of people happy and for that alone it was worth it.

In a small indication of how popular cycling has become with the British public, my wife couldn't get me an Olympic cycling tshirt at the souvenir shop at the athletics complex on Wednesday. She said that cycling appeared to be the most sold out of all the sports there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,687 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

In a small indication of how popular cycling has become with the British public, my wife couldn't get me an Olympic cycling tshirt at the souvenir shop at the athletics complex on Wednesday. She said that cycling appeared to be the most sold out of all the sports there.

i managed to get an XL one ( the L was a better fit but there were none left on thursday)

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

i managed to get an XL one ( the L was a better fit but there were none left on thursday)

GB shirt will go down well on the road on Donegal ;)

RobFowl wrote: »
    GB shirt will go down well on the road on Donegal ;)

just got team gb shorts delivered from littlewoods ireland (go figure) but not cycling and you wouldnt know without close looking.

i'm assuming he means the event specific t shirts which were only available at the venue (all the other team gb stuff was available when i was there - didnt buy any )

i'm even getting to like the freaky wenlock mascot as well, i wanted one of these but they didnt seem to make them :(

216466.png

My weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Got an email from Team Sky with this picture in it.

Am I the only one who thinks this is a little bit creepy looking?

648638.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,352 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

seamus wrote: »
    A little bit creepy alright. It doesn't help that they're all the same height, and their mouths, noses, and eyes are all in a straight line. Probably individual shots stitched together using their features as scale rather than their true sizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,245 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Eh, there's a couple of dudes missing from that Sky pic.

Probably no one famous.

Stepford Wives Husbands!

Wait until they start producing Wiggins clones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭daragh_

648638.jpg

What are they doing with their hands?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

It looks like I fail to meet the standard for awesome.........

300762_421597347881840_1296973643_n.jpg

whats special purpose pointing to !

My weather

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

whats special purpose pointing to !

I thought it was the saddle, now well, I realise, very odd, I'll take the less disturbing possibility and suggest it is meant for the padding on the cross bar which has the special purpose of padding your gentleman parts should you slip in a sprint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Beeped at this morning by a taxi driver for staying on the road instead of stopping the bike, lifting it onto a onpath cycle lane for 15 metres and stopping it again to take it down back onto the road. There are little 'speed islands' on the road which cars really need to slow down to navigate and I can navigate much quicker so he got antsy with me for staying on the road instead of getting up on a badly maintained footpath/cycle lane that has a bus stop on it when I travel on that road quicker than he can.

Done the same thing every day for 5 years and first time anyone has beeped at me. I saw red. Really need to calm my temper. :o

Had one of those on the Ring of Kerry last weekend, cycling two abreast, nothing coming the other way and some fat pr1ck decides to blast his horn rather than overtake us. I half turned and shrugged my shoulders. He beeped again and pulled up right beside me with his window down, at this point I lost the plot and before he could say anything I stuck my face right up to the open window and let loose a demonic roar of "Fvck You" in my thickest Dublin accent.

His poor wife was only about six inches away. Neither of them said a thing and they just sped away.

I don't like playing the crazy cyclist but some people only understand aggression.

• Administrators Posts: 54,882 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

CramCycle wrote: »
    I thought it was the saddle, now well, I realise, very odd, I'll take the less disturbing possibility and suggest it is meant for the padding on the cross bar which has the special purpose of padding your gentleman parts should you slip in a sprint.
    I had the misfortune of crushing my testicles multiple times on my bike as a young boy. Thankfully this hasn't happened in years.

Still, would rather crush them than cycle a bike with a bit of pipe insulation wrapped around her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Lumen wrote: »
    Eh, there's a couple of dudes missing from that Sky pic.

Probably no one famous.

Not the vuelta line up no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,245 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    Not the vuelta line up no?

Is this a table quiz? Where's my pint?

Unattributed image fail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Jawgap wrote: »
    It looks like I fail to meet the standard for awesome.........

300762_421597347881840_1296973643_n.jpg

Someone reads reddit :P

BX 19 wrote: »
    Someone reads reddit :P

No "Two Wheels Better":pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,888 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

On Conan the other night:

HIPSTER COPS? and would you respect them?

216548.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,352 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

648638.jpg
    Sky Sports are in on the act now:

skysports.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Just bought a copy of Mel Allwood's Bike Maintenance book, it's absolutely fantastic. Covers every possible job with good pictures and directions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭furiousox

My back's been at me since tuesday.
    Was hoping to get out for a spin this morning but my back was almost completely seized up.
    Through the day I've had difene tablets, difene gel, solpadeine, solpadol, 2 espressos and a glass of bulmers.
    Dark Side Of The Moon is a really really good album.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭decdon

hardCopy wrote: »
    Beeped at this morning by a taxi driver for staying on the road instead of stopping the bike, lifting it onto a onpath cycle lane for 15 metres and stopping it again to take it down back onto the road. There are little 'speed islands' on the road which cars really need to slow down to navigate and I can navigate much quicker so he got antsy with me for staying on the road instead of getting up on a badly maintained footpath/cycle lane that has a bus stop on it when I travel on that road quicker than he can.

Done the same thing every day for 5 years and first time anyone has beeped at me. I saw red. Really need to calm my temper. :o

Had one of those on the Ring of Kerry last weekend, cycling two abreast, nothing coming the other way and some fat pr1ck decides to blast his horn rather than overtake us. I half turned and shrugged my shoulders. He beeped again and pulled up right beside me with his window down, at this point I lost the plot and before he could say anything I stuck my face right up to the open window and let loose a demonic roar of "Fvck You" in my thickest Dublin accent.

His poor wife was only about six inches away. Neither of them said a thing and they just sped away.

I don't like playing the crazy cyclist but some people only understand aggression.

a few of us from the club did the ROK a short while back. same thing but this time, the wife in the car passing us by, had the full extent of her arm out the window giving us the finger. how sweet was it when one of the lads at the front saw what was coming behind and gave her a good dash of the water bottle in the window...... needless to say we all had a good chuckle for the next few kms .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

I am making it official!
    Ed Sheeran is SHIIIIITE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

bcmf wrote: »
    I am making it official!
    Ed Sheeran is SHIIIIITE.

From Sickipedia: "For those who missed Ed Sheeran on last nights Brits, worry not: there is a squashed fox on the A470 just outside Cardiff."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

x-all-the-things-meme-generator-carbon-fiber-all-the-things-4fb993.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭buffalo

Bloody came off my bike this morning. Had just come through a junction where the rear wheel spun out, but no bother, then down the ramp into the basement carpark. Sharp right at the bottom, realised too late the brakes weren't doing enough to slow me down. Eejit. I must've been down that ramp a thousand times. ugh. Only a spot of road rash, nothing major thankfully.

Is the bike alright? That's the important bit.

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Is the bike alright? That's the important bit.

heh. That bike was never alright. :D It was the commuter, so I'm already blaming the fact that I'm used to cornering like mad on the road bike with no problems. Whereas the commuter doesn't brake well in the wet, and the tyres aren't as grippy. But it'd take being run over by a tank to do any damage to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Stuck a HRM on last week for the commute to get an idea of how hard I was/n't working on the way in and out and discovered that I was barely touching 100bpm on the way into work and 120 on the way home. The start of my "putting in any kind of effort" zone is 140, so I lamentably stuck an 8spd cassette onto the singlespeed commuter over the weekend. Which turned out to actually be quite enjoyable, even with that ****ty weather.

Though I'd never done 50km/h on that bike before this morning, which was a little unsettling.

I would have just put a smaller cog on the back, but that would have killed me for the homeward commute. It's only a 50m climb over 3km, but not to be sniffed at when you've got a headwind and tired legs. 3 gears would be more than enough, but 8spd was the smallest road cassette I could find. MTB cassettes have a stupidly large range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

buffalo wrote: »
    But it'd take being run over by a tank to do any damage to it.

That applies to your road bike as well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

My 3 year old daughter has some really impressive looking road rash on her back and arm following a play accident with her older sister.

When I was dressing and cleaning the wounds she was remarkably stoical, fair play to her. If it was my I would have been screaming like a three year old girl.

oflahero wrote: »
    That applies to your road bike as well...

I cleaned it you know! :D

TdF over, Olympics over... how long 'til the Vuelta? This Saturday? Sweet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Looks like me and strava are on a break for the next few weeks, my 4 month old bryton rider 35 just self destructed, piece of sh*te, should have just bought an edge 500...

4999560_700b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

colm_gti wrote: »
    Looks like me and strava are on a break for the next few weeks, my 4 month old bryton rider 35 just self destructed, piece of sh*te, should have just bought an edge 500...

Warranty? Refund?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

BX 19 wrote: »
    colm_gti wrote: »

Warranty? Refund?
    I'll get either a credit note or refund, but how long it'll take to process I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Not worth its own thread....

Heading to France at the weekend and we'll have 3 bikes hanging off the back of the car (saloon). Do I need one of those trailer board thingies with the reg + lights on it, or would I be OK with just an extra reg, cable tied to the last bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Khannie wrote: »

Heading to France at the weekend and we'll have 3 bikes hanging off the back of the car (saloon). Do I need one of those trailer board thingies with the reg + lights on it, or would I be OK with just an extra reg, cable tied to the last bike?

We got fined in Italy for not having a reflective yokey stuck to the bikes on the rear carrier and also for having the reg covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Raam wrote: »
    We got fined in Italy for not having a reflective yokey stuck to the bikes on the rear carrier and also for having the reg covered.

You must not have had the obligatory moustache and must not have been able to speak bopiddy boupie also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    You must not have had the obligatory moustache
    That rule only applies to the women, silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Raam wrote: »

We got done for hidden number plate and for obscured lights. The Gendarmes are much stricter than the Gardai.

At minimum a number plate on the back but be certain that your lights/indicators are well visible. If you already have a tow hitch and socket, get the trailer board. If not, see can you mount the rack high enough that the lights are not obstructed. Might be worth taking off a wheel or two and hanging them in the middle of the rack to make the lights more visible.

I don't travel abroad without the full trailer bar these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Sound. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

He was also gonna do us for having the indicators obscured. I guess he felt that he had annoyed us enough though. Pesky Carabinieri.

Definitely need the board thingy - also don't forget your breathalyser kit - you can get them in the AA Shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,073 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Got off the train after coming home, walked out and towards the bike only to see a fellow cyclist with his hands held to his head in despair. Thieves had nicked both his wheels and left the frame locked to the stand.

If you leave your bike at any train station folks, remember to secure the wheels to the stand also.

378208_474096819275678_1743650834_n.jpg

Not that I have anything against religion... :rolleyes: