Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Europe Ryder Cup captain 2014?

• 01-10-2012 11:15AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭

So after all that drama last night, already can't wait for the next one :pac:

Heard on Sky sports news last night that Monty may return since its in Scotland, that would be a break from the norm though, since 1997 its been a new captain for every Ryder Cup.

You have to look at guys closely involved with the last 5 or 6 matches, McGinley would be my choice, Jimenez lack of English may count against him, I'd imagine the likes of Clarke and Bjorn reckon they're young enough to make the next team (Bjorn much more so)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,469 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

RikkFlair wrote: »
    So after all that drama last night, already can't wait for the next one :pac:

Heard on Sky sports news last night that Monty may return since its in Scotland, that would be a break from the norm though, since 1997 its been a new captain for every Ryder Cup.

You have to look at guys closely involved with the last 5 or 6 matches, McGinley would be my choice, Jimenez lack of English may count against him, I'd imagine the likes of Clarke and Bjorn reckon they're young enough to make the next team (Bjorn much more so)

I'd back McGinley to make the team over Clarke tbh.

Doubt it will be Monty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

GreeBo wrote: »
    I'd back McGinley to make the team over Clarke tbh.

Doubt it will be Monty.

You nearly felt at times during coverage the point of his self referencing was to boost his chances or something?

I'd look to maintain a new captain every event, by all means I'm sure Monty will be taken on as an advisor or vice captain.

Realisticly, I dont see why the vice captains each year are not previous captains...

If we had to take anyone back for a second term, Langer all the way. The Americans are going to want this bad, and Langer played his week flawless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭Trampas

I doubt monty again.

I think 1 chance only.

I don't think Jimmy will get it due to lack of English now or ever.

DC I think could be captain if he wants but I think he will leave it this time.

Thomas or Paul would be next up. Thomas I am not sure for performance on the course deserves it and maybe will get it for off course work.

Paul I think will get it since him and Thomas been groomed due to Seve trophy

PH to early and I can't see him been a good captain at the moment. He will be a captain but his tinkering with his game just doesn't do it for me to be a captain. (probably getting hammered over it but just my opinion).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭rednik

I hope McGinley is next, the others mentioned are probably hoping to make the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Think they are getting to a point where all the really big names have been used up, all the Major winners have done it already so not sure who is next. The next guys in line are non Major winners who had OK careers and played in 2 or 3 Ryder cups. Clarke is the only one of the 40 something to have a Major so i reckon he has to be close to the top of the list. He has done VC this week and maybe for Monty as well not sure on that. So if he wants it then i'd say it is his.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I really hope Monty doesn't get it. He was absolutely awesome in the commentary booth over the weekend. Incredible insight all weekend. Not having him commentating in 2014 would detract from the event massively. Would possibly not bother watching if he isn't there actually.

Pretty sure Sky will be giving him a very long and valuable contract very soon, so someone like McGinley will probably get the captaincy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Thomas Bjorn or Paul McGinley would be good choices for captains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Thomas Bjorn or Paul McGinley would be good choices for captains.

Bjorn , not great with some people I think

Paul , legend, irish, great talker, loves the game, more skills outside of golf,

Can get the players clubs for their Ryanair flights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Monty for the craic in bonny scootland!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Whomever gets it will have hard shoes to fill, all those names being mentioned are coming up shy IMHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,889 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I hope Monty will form some part of the team!

Purely to get him off commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    I hope Monty will form some part of the team!

Purely to get him off commentary.

lol.

He would win it too - watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

None of the new candidates appeal to me.

Bjorn is a bit of a difficult guy.

Clarke is a joker.

McGinley is a great guy but not sure he has a big enough reputation to be a leader.

Then there are the former captains, who have all done a great job. Langer was probably the best, but with it being in Scotland, if they gave it to a former captain and it wasn't Monty, there would be complaints.

I vote for Ernie Els. That would really put the cat among the pigeons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Ormus wrote: »

I vote for Ernie Els.

Ernie being Zimbabwean probably rules that out.

That was my point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

I hope Bjorn never gets it, he's a complete asshole ....... I have seen him tell kids to fcuk off for no reason and suddenly change to a smiling happy chappie as he see's a camera approaching. His ego / attitude is not good and I am sure there are plenty who love him, but he would not be on my radar.

I would really have liked to see Christy O'Connor Jnr getting a chance, but I think its too late. Probably if it is to go to am Irish player then Darren Clarke would probably get the vote due to his relationship with the trophy and him being a major winner.

Personally I think Jose could well be tempted to go again.

I think Bjorn is on the committee which picks the captain so that might mean he isn't eligible?

I don't like Clarke. He is a lazy golfer and doesn't seem like a nice guy.

Sam Torrance anyone?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Sandy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Fergus_Nash

It has to Paul McGinley. Everybody was impressed when he won the Seve Trophy a few years ago and he's seen as being captain in waiting ever since. I'm not sure of ages but is he older than Clarke? It could possibly be McGinley, Clarke and then Harrington in successive Cups. The age profile of each for each Cup is about right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

Monty won't get it again.

Some tongue in cheek commentary on Monty in this thread I think.

His me, me, me analysis over the weekend on Sky was particularly nauseating. Claiming part of the credit for Europe's win, saying how him and Ollie go back a long way, his patronising paternal attitude to Lawrie who don't forget has won a major compared to Monty's none, his particular plummy 'Scottish' accent, and womanly little laugh, all added to me being turned off the guy. Great player, but time to get off the stage Monty.

BTW I think McGinley is primed for the captaincy now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,889 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It has to Paul McGinley. Everybody was impressed when he won the Seve Trophy a few years ago and he's seen as being captain in waiting ever since. I'm not sure of ages but is he older than Clarke? It could possibly be McGinley, Clarke and then Harrington in successive Cups. The age profile of each for each Cup is about right.

I would doubt if they would give it to 3 (be careful) men born on this little island in a row.
    Could see McGinley and Clarke as future captains, but I really can't see Harrington being a captain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

McGinley should get the next one--hes won a couple of Seve trophies and has been VC. Plus he is passionate about the RC.

Clarke should get the next one in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Mcginley is hot favourite on Paddy Power at 5/6, I'd love to see him get it.

As for Clarke, I don't think he will ever be given the captaincy, too much of a "good time guy" & he has made a joke of himself since winning the Open championship...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

If Sergio's on holidays again he could make a good captain.

I'd love to see Lawrie get it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,599 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

slave1 wrote: »
    Sandy?

On a personal level i would love to see this! Love sandy lyle and he was always my favourite golfer growing up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭lowelife

On a personal level i would love to see this! Love sandy lyle and he was always my favourite golfer growing up

I played most my Junior golf in Shropshire & Hereford (Sandy was brought up around there and his father was pro at Hawkstone Park). This would have been around late 80's early 90's and he was still spoken of very highly by county committee members and what he did for the area in golf terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Monty no way, couldn't tolerate the thoughts of his gloating if Europe won it again. If they were to use a former captain then Sam torrence, comes across as a really likable and passionate chap. Otherwise McGinley, think he would have a great relationship with the players, full of energy and enthusiasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

slave1 wrote: »
    Sandy?

His chance has gone IMO. They usually go for someone in the 45-50 age bracket. Faldo is the only captain over 50 that I can think of, and he was only 51. Lyle would be 56 by the time it comes around.

I think Sandy is a bit controversial anyway, he has pis$ed off a few people down through the years and burned his bridges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

Give Faldo another go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭CONSI

I think McGinley is nailed on for 2014, BjornClarke maybe 2016 and Miguel 2018 when it's on in Continental Europe (France)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,931 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Davis Love (give U.S. a sporting chance at least). :D

Jose says no to 2014

are we just in a patch were the next captain will not have won a major/wgc/order of merit.

i can't see many other countries saying mcginley is the obvious next man for the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

When will the new captain be announced?

Paul Lawrie would be my own personal choice or at least an outside bet.

Reasons: Scottish,Major winner, Level headed and speaks very well, Still young enough but will gel with the team,Huge experience over the weekend at Medinah and also from Brookline in 99' and wouldn't dare be complacent after them two tournaments!

The obvious drawbacks are he's playing well enough to make the next team(2yrs is a long time in golf though) and he has no real captaincy experience in the Ryder or Seve Trophy compared to others.

Only 723 days to go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Cecco70

Mcginley as Captain and Costantino Rocca as vice captain, over the Ryder Cup weekend he was saying how he would love to be part of the team again.

Paul Lawrie pretty much ruled himself out too, wants to play on the 2014 team and a good chance of it too given his form over last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

I'm not sure how Paul McGinley is even in the frame - when you look at the golfing pedigree of past captains he's not in the same league :confused:

Played/Vice-captained 5 of the last 6 Ryder Cups. Captained the last 2 Seve Trophy teams. When it comes to team golf, he's very much in the same league.

He's the glaringly obvious choice IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

We'll have to agree to disagree - he has won 4 European Tour events in his playing career. Compare this to previous captains - Ollie, Monty, Langer, Faldo, Woosie and I don't think he has the playing pedigree to warrant being captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Fourcandle

I think it will, and should be, McGinley. Having said that, has Sandy Lyle burnt his bridges totally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Eric the Eagle

We'll have to agree to disagree - he has won 4 European Tour events in his playing career. Compare this to previous captains - Ollie, Monty, Langer, Faldo, Woosie and I don't think he has the playing pedigree to warrant being captain.

He may only have 4 European tour wins but Bernard Gallagher only had 10 wins and he became captain. Not a huge difference really considering Gallagher never even had a top 10 in a major. At least McGinley had two of these and he won the world cup with Harrington.

I think he would be a great captain, he has a lot of experience in team golf and has been on 3 winning teams as a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

Don't forget that 5 of the big 6 of the first golden era in European golf, i.e., Seve, Faldo, Langer, Lyle, Woosie and Ollie have been Ryder Cup captains. They won 18 majors between them. Lyle has burned his bridges viz the Ryder Cup captaincy. That crop of players doesn't come around too often at the same time.

In the modern era who else have been captains? Only one major winner in Jackin. The others - Monty, Gallacher, James and Torrance have plenty of tour wins but no majors.

So of the present candidates, McGinley stands out. Captain in the Seve Trophy, vice captain in Ryder Cup, 3 time player in Ryder Cup, member of the European tour players committee, and seemingly universally liked. Clarke doesn't give off the right vibes - ironically winning the Open and going off the rails a bit since may have worked against his chances. Bjorn would be the next most likely candidate, but there just been a continental captain and it's time for the captaincy to come back to GB & I, and in particular Ireland for what would be the first time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Will Harrington eventually get a go at the captaincy? Gleneagles might be too soon but I'd say he'll be in the reckoning in the future....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,469 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Bjorn won't get it as he is chairman of the European tour competitions committee, they pick the captain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 City Gent

Pdoghue wrote: »
    Don't forget that 5 of the big 6 of the first golden era in European golf, i.e., Seve, Faldo, Langer, Lyle, Woosie and Ollie have been Ryder Cup captains. They won 18 majors between them. Lyle has burned his bridges viz the Ryder Cup captaincy. That crop of players doesn't come around too often at the same time.

In the modern era who else have been captains? Only one major winner in Jackin. The others - Monty, Gallacher, James and Torrance have plenty of tour wins but no majors.

So of the present candidates, McGinley stands out. Captain in the Seve Trophy, vice captain in Ryder Cup, 3 time player in Ryder Cup, member of the European tour players committee, and seemingly universally liked. Clarke doesn't give off the right vibes - ironically winning the Open and going off the rails a bit since may have worked against his chances. Bjorn would be the next most likely candidate, but there just been a continental captain and it's time for the captaincy to come back to GB & I, and in particular Ireland for what would be the first time!

That seems a fairly good argument to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,830 ✭✭✭abff

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Will Harrington eventually get a go at the captaincy? Gleneagles might be too soon but I'd say he'll be in the reckoning in the future....

I talk Padraig expects to play at Gleneagles and there's an excellent chance he'll make the team. If McGinley gets it in 2014, it's unlikely they'll give it to another Irish player until 2020 or later. But 2020 may be perfect timing for Padraig - he'll be 49 then.

However, I don't remember him ever saying anything that would suggest he would like to be captain and maybe he's too much of a nice guy to relish have to make the hard decisions that come with being captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

What is the Sandy Lyle incident that people are referring to?

So Clarke looking like he could be next captain.

I think Paul needs to be captain next time out or his chance will be gone

Pdoghue wrote: »

Spot on, the golden era of major winners have all had a go except Lyle who won't.

To keep picking the captain based in majors won would be silly and leave us with unsuitable candidates.

McGinley has a low profile from a playing perspective but he has all the other credentials needed - intelligent, well spoken, well liked, experience of captaining the Seve team, and has been vice captain on the Ryder.