Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hectors hangin' with hunters! !!

• 06-01-2013 11:26PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭

Dunno if any of you huntin men and women watched The Late Late Show Friday night but Hector's new series(startin tomoro night) will include an episode where he hangs out with some hunters. From the sounds of things energizer head has a sneaking admiration for the huntin, shootin and fishin fraternity...let's see! !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭Invincible

http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10100278/

Watch it from 18.18 on to see the hunting section. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

fkn stupid adds before hand.

'hdz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

what times it on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭Invincible

garyc007 wrote: »
    what times it on?

Monday nights @ 21.35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Next week he is hanging with the "Travellers" so the one about the hunt won't be for another fortnight at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

what sort of hunting is he going to be doing

The piece that they featured on the Late Late was following a foot beagle hunt but I don't know if he will be doing any other type of hunting(i.e deer,birds or rabbits etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭martin s

Vizzy wrote: »
    The piece that they featured on the Late Late was following a foot beagle hunt but I don't know if he will be doing any other type of hunting(i.e deer,birds or rabbits etc)
    i reckon he.s a dxxxkhead:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

he did a bit during the past 3 years (i think) going around with some deer hunters in either canada or u.s..the fellas he was with were using bows.it must have got him into it a bit over here maybe?
    rahoo rahoo rahoo :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

"rahoo rahoo rahoo"

Go on ya wild man!! he imposes his ego on his shows a bit too much for me, buck leppin and getting a bit over enthusiastic, a bit like a young springer, we'll see anyway nice to see a bit of hunting on tv from time to time.

Dalken wrote: »
    nice to see a bit of hunting on tv from time to time.
    to me, it doesnt matter what sort of stooke it is shooting or hunting on tv shows, just as long as the person doing it is showing a good example of the sport.its great to see celebs actually enjoying it, rather than just doing it for publicity.
    for example, i really enjoyed when rachel allen threw in an editorial ****e storm that on a rare occasion, took our side of the fence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

"rahoo rahoo rahoo"
    Indeed.

Perhaps he'll be heading out with a few ancient Celtic warrior types:

djflawless wrote: »
    to me, it doesnt matter what sort of stooke it is shooting or hunting on tv shows, just as long as the person doing it is showing a good example of the sport.its great to see celebs actually enjoying it, rather than just doing it for publicity.
    for example, i really enjoyed when rachel allen threw in an editorial ****e storm that on a rare occasion, took our side of the fence

I don't think we get to bad of a time here in Ireland from the media to be honest compared to England where the picture painted is that if you hunt you are either a complete ignorant yokel, a daft toff or a potential serial killer. I remember the Rachel Allen thing last year, to be fair I'd say most people were just a bit jealous of her sucess, and wanted to take her down for anything they could as is the Irish condition.:rolleyes:

that has to be said alright.but at times, there are unbelievable tools to be found.
    for a few weeks in october i was regularly feeding my ducks, which involves me leaving my door, crossing a road, and entering gun club land.some tosser had the neck to stop me one evening and inform me that me, my shotgun, and any other 'blood thirsty bufoon', were the problem with this world :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

starting now on rte1 anyone going to watch it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

sorry lads not on tonight......

Hmmm, never knew hunting and mike denver where connected :p

Tonight RTE 1, 9:35.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

Well what do yas think so far???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

ok so far anyway hope he hoes back to the shooting aspect bit more.would be nice for him to go to a trial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

Not much shooting which is disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,197 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Horses and dogs will be better received than people with 'evil guns' on the telly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

Well i thought it was fairly fair.
    Also i learnt a nice bit about the hunts men and whats happend when a fox is involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Liam_D

I did a bit of laughing through that, yer man isn't wise. Showed fieldsports in a good light but not enough shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Was not much shooting but still without him been one sided Hector shed a good light on hunting in Ireland ,imo.
    Regards ,Tomcat.

Must say that I thought that it was great.
    I never liked Hector but fair play to him,his presenting style really suited the programme.
    Weren't the Scarteen hounds beutiful animals?
    Best of all the programme was completely open(although the "antis" won't agree) and cos it showed a typical days hunting and a typical days shooting,it gave the antis no ammunition to attack us with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

Looking at twitter they're asking why don't they use drag. People will NEVER get it tbh. It's a state of mind to be a huntsman.

On showing the horses and hounds i suppose that's what the general public want to see as that is what all the controversy is about.

to be honest, i got a bit shocked in his views.i taught it would have been a lot worse.more shooting and it would have been great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

Hector gave the impression he didn't even want to be doing this episode, had no desire to be out in the field cold and wet, and kept saying near the end "It's another mans sport" it didn't make him want to make more time for countrysports in the future.

I thought it was quite good, wont win any awards. Hector was quieter than usual(thankfully). Shooting bit was limited but I was glad they didnt visit a driven shoot which I thought they might..the reason being I dont think its representative of the way the vast majority of Irish guys shoot and that afterall was what the show was about. Its already been said here but a trial would have been good to include. Fox hound bit was easily the best of it, thought they gave a great account of themselves Hector would have a soft spot for them too being a GG man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

TBH Hector sat on the fence, his synopsis was another mans sport... he wouldn't wave his magic wand etc... typical Irishman in the public gaze... never nail your flag to the mast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

mhaith a buachaill hector. ta athas orm. great show.

i'd say the antis are spitting fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

Alchemist2 wrote: »
    TBH Hector sat on the fence, his synopsis was another mans sport... he wouldn't wave his magic wand etc... typical Irishman in the public gaze... never nail your flag to the mast

the show is about him hanging with different groups of people to see what makes em tick. he's not there to pick a fence to sit on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

Well he has an opinion on everything else, so why not on this show..... though he did say he was glad to see mr fox get away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭mallards

I thought it was pretty fair also. Again I'd of liked a bit more of the roughshooting and a bit more of the background that goes into a roughshoot but I suppose you can only squeeze so much into the time. I think it honestly showed it like it is and I was glad for once what was on our national TV channel!
    mallards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,679 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I thought it was a pretty balanced programme, it showed most aspects of hunting in the limited timeframe available, and to be fair the chances of going deer stalking with sound and camera crew and getting anything is limited.
    The mounted hunts were very interesting, I have never been a horse guy but I can fully appreciate the whole spectacle.
    The show will go a long way to disabuse people of the notion of red coated upper crust mounted hunters which is as far as I can see an imported opinion.
    It was quite a fantastic spectacle seeing the packs of working dogs, beutiful animals and quite an investment to keep them going!
    I can say that I found it fascinating and I think his quote " Another mans sport" was intended as a way of saying each to their own, don't mess with someone elses sport.
    How many foxes are killed by traffic each day? More than are killed by Hunts in a year I would wager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,018 ✭✭✭✭fits

CJhaughey wrote: »
    The show will go a long way to disabuse people of the notion of red coated upper crust mounted hunters which is as far as I can see an imported opinion.
    It was quite a fantastic spectacle seeing the packs of working dogs, beutiful animals and quite an investment to keep them going!
    I can say that I found it fascinating and I think his quote " Another mans sport" was intended as a way of saying each to their own, don't mess with someone elses sport.
    How many foxes are killed by traffic each day? More than are killed by Hunts in a year I would wager.

I am glad people got a chance to see a mounted hunt as it is. I try and bring out non horse friends on foot when I get a chance so they can see what it is about. But then I rarely have the chance.

It is far from what people think it to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Me being a pure City lad myself I thought the programme itself was good and showed a different side to the usually tally ho programs I have seen,Well done hector I say I am enjoying his tv serious of late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,018 ✭✭✭✭fits

realies wrote: »
    usually tally ho programs I have seen,.

you see.. that's not what its like at all. You get all sorts of people out which is one of its charms. The chance to socialise with and meet people you never would otherwise. And every hunt pack has a different atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 samthe man

Just watched it there on RTE player. Good show, Bit disappointed there was no rifle craft,i.e rabbiting, lamping or stalking. But I accept walking a camera crew around a mountain after deer is not the easiest task. However showed us country folk in a good light. I am not a horsey person, but went out with harriers on Stephen's day this Christmas past,got soaked but had a great day out. So I get the buzz that the B&T lads were talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭yog1

can anybody put up a link to it thats not on the rte site, i can't watch it as its "not available in your region":(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

I think he could have showed more of what Irish rough shooting is about? how many of us go around with a tie and red tassles on our socks? Most of us throw on old camo and plod off overthe fields?
    was well balanced in saying that.

I think he could have showed more of what Irish rough shooting is about? how many of us go around with a tie and red tassles on our socks? Most of us throw on old camo and plod off overthe fields?
    was well balanced in saying that.

If you were going to be on telly you'd dress up as well wouldnt ya, do ya think that man dresses up like the 18th century all the time?

Hector should have gone out with you, youre the man that shoots thousands of birds every season arnt ya, you'd have got them a kill for the camera surely..only thing they migtnt have been able to pick you out though with the camera in all your auld camoflage.

I certainly don't shoot thousands of game Birds a season, maybe vermin. No I wouldn't have got a kill because like everyone many days are blanks, im not saying theres anything wrong with dressing up for the tele im saying its not what its really like.

Well then you cud have brought him vermin shooting, he could have changed your barrels for you when they got too hot.
    From the sounds of other threads Id say you could match Hector in the talking S*ite stakes as well...:)

Thats your opinion. I don't know what your problem is with me, but I certainly have none with you. Ill post pics of all bags and work done this year, maybe then you'll see the work I do to get decent bags and habitats for game.

Cool your jets there, Im only pulling your leg, Ive no prob with ya at all.

I well believe you shoot all that vermin, no need to go putting up pics of acres of dead maggies and greys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Wow. Good publicity literally falls into our laps and this is the ****e we come out with?
    And ye wonder why we get screwed over every time someone mentions legislation? Or why we have had such horrible problems with administration in our sports over the years?
    /headdesk
    Thread closed. Before we do even more damage to ourselves...