Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

need help getting a stolen computer back

• 21-01-2013 01:35PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭

hi, was talking to a friend of mine yesterday, he told me his appartment was broken into sat night, they took his mac computer which cost him near a grand, not into computers but i think it was a unique enough computer so might be easily spotted if he sees it again, anyway just wondering does anyone have any ideas how he might get it back, like iv heard on here before about a guy whos expensive phone was robbed and he got it back when he spotted it on adverts.ie. anyone any other ideas like that maybe.

• Administrators Posts: 54,898 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

What's unique about it? Pretty much all macs look the same.

Had he no insurance on his 1000 euro laptop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Files were all backed up a put on a storage device yes yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Did he enable the "iCloud Find my phone" service ?

Apple Link
    If you have already configured the iCloud Find My iPhone service on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac you can use it to locate your missing device, display a message on its screen, make it play a sound at full volume (even if on mute), remotely lock it, or remotely wipe (erase) it to protect your privacy. Please see the following articles for more information:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Unless he put some sort of tracking software on it he's probably out of luck. Maybe try contacting Apple, they thief might still be using his accounts. Although I'd assume Apple would expect payment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

It'll be nigh on impossible to get it back if he didn't have any sort of security tracking software on it unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

have you tried logging into iCloud.com and use the find my devices feature?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

Did he enable the "iCloud Find my phone" service ?

Apple Link

ill ask him, cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

Also if he knows any of the local scumbags he can put a word out that he'll buy his laptop back.thats presuming the burglar is a local.

buy it back lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

buy it back lol

Arrange to buy it back. Show up with a baseball bat... in lieu of payment :p

But seriously? Try a few local independent phone shops that sell 2nd hand electronics. Try adverts.ie, gumtree, and done deal. Ebay is unlikely.

Arrange to buy it back. Show up with a baseball bat... in lieu of payment :p

EXACTLY WHAT I WAS THINKING

But seriously? Try a few local independent phone shops that sell 2nd hand electronics. Try adverts.ie, gumtree, and done deal. Ebay is unlikely.

WILL DO:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Also if he knows any of the local scumbags he can put a word out that he'll buy his laptop back.thats presuming the burglar is a local.

"Hi, I notice that you and friends look like the type that'd steal things and sell them. Could you tell your scumbag brethren that I would be willing to indulge you in such a transaction."

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    "Hi, I notice that you and friends look like the type that'd steal things and sell them. Could you tell your scumbag brethren that I would be willing to indulge you in such a transaction."

No problem my good man. Bring cash and meet my business associate down this dark alley way. :D

Wait your taking the wrong bag, that one has a laptop in it. This is the one with the brick.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Wait your taking the wrong bag, that one has a laptop in it. This is the one with the brick.

its not a laptop btw, not that it makes a difference? its got a huge screen, think thats why i think its pretty unique, ill bet no one else in the town has a similar 1.he bought it off the net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

The stole a Mac? Have you tried the bins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

That'd be an iMac then, I think. They're not all that unique, to be honest.

Your best bet is with the 'Find my Device' option, then I'd recommend calling the Gardaí rather than going after the miscreants yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

iMacs tend to be more than 1000, sad times. If I was a thief I would sell that **** in the North or something not locally. If it has a password enabled how difficult would a Mac be to hack into? I would imagine a lot more hassle than a PC and you'd need to know what you were doing

Just reinstall the OS.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Just reinstall the OS.

whats that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

kylith wrote: »
    That'd be an iMac then, I think. They're not all that unique, to be honest.

Your best bet is with the 'Find my Device' option, then I'd recommend calling the Gardaí rather than going after the miscreants yourself.

I thought imac was a feminine hair removal system :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,684 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The vast number of identical Macs makes them the equivalent of common cars when it comes to selling on the stolen goods. A custom built machine would be easier to identify. Reformat and sell on.

whats that?

The Operating System. I would imagine the average thief wouldn't be able to do this on a mac so you have a good chance of it going on sale in its original condition... maybe the desktop cleared.

They may know someone who get's rid of second hand computers and can refurbish the machine. If they're selling to people like that the computer is probably on it's way to another country by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,898 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

It will be cleared down and sold pretty quickly. No international shipping needed. They have people to do it.
    They don't steal things that they can't sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

It's gone. It's a shame but thats it. Tell him to learn from his mistakes and either take better care of his stuff or make sure it's insured.

update: the guards got my mates computer back:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

update: the guards got my mates computer back:)
    Good stuff. Do elucidate. There are no doubt many thieves reading this that need a "sh1t not to do when robbing a computer" guide.

Me, I'm just curious.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

If it was rented accomadation, would landlords have contents insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 cantwellsam

http://preyproject.com/ does the same thing as the apple 'find my mac software', but it can be put on windows PC's, android phones and iPhones too.

And it's free!

Absolutely no harm to have it installed!

he wasnt sure about this, i think the landlord did but he didnt know.

If anything, I would have started with that and a call to the guards.

thats what he did, the guards got the computer back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

No. A landlord has no insurable interest in a tenants possessions.

I suppose that's true too. Was just an idea though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

http://preyproject.com/ does the same thing as the apple 'find my mac software', but it can be put on windows PC's, android phones and iPhones too.

And it's free!

Absolutely no harm to have it installed!
    pfffft,theres one missing off that list-linux.:P

although the affectionately named immac has been found,computer markets are a great place to find second hand and stolen gear; there is one in manchester well known for it; bowlers computer market; think its once a month,went there in the early nineties and got handed a bag full of C64 tapes for free.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

Glad it was found. What a sh1tty thing to happen. :( I'd love to know the process of what was involved in finding it! :D It kind of restores my dwindling faith in the system so it does. Would imagine that would have been in the back of a van and never to be seen again in the space of 10 clever minutes! Great work that it was found though.

yes I was the same when I found out the guards found it, some people probably wouldnt even report it to the guards but goed to show they do a great job:)