Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

nct up, is it now illeagal to have car on road?

• 21-01-2013 02:02PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭

hi, my car failed the nct before xmas, the nct was up at the end of december, I think they said I can get it retested end of this month, im still driving it, just wondering is it legal because im allowed retest it at the end of the month or illeagal because the nct is up? like could I say to the guards im getting it retested next week?iv still got insurance and tax on it btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Wossack

illegal afaik, but should be given leeway when, if stopped, you show the gard your booking reference/receipt for the end of the month (re)test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

Wossack wrote: »
    illegal afaik, but should be given leeway when, if stopped, you show the gard your booking reference/receipt for the end of the month (re)test

all i have is a sheet that says it must be retested by say 28th of jan, im not getting it retested, im buying a new car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

all i have is a sheet that says it must be retested by say 28th of jan, im not getting it retested, im buying a new car.
    Then I'd say you're screwed if you get nabbed.

really? hardly the crime of the centuary. Im not cut out for prison:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

well re book it, get the confirmation and have that with you. then you have a chance at least.

That's unlikely, but this is possible:
    Failure to have a current NCT certificate is an offence under Section 18 of the Road Traffic Act 1961. Conviction for this offence carries five penalty points and Courts may impose a fine of up to €2,000 and/or up to three months’ imprisonment.

From here, now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Wossack

better chance of getting leeway with a booking reference, then a speil imo

bearing in mind, that I think it is still up to the gard's discretion (?)

That's unlikely, but this is possible:

very unlikely id do prison time for it now in fairness.iv a spotless record and my dad is a retired cop.

From here, now.

cheers for that.

my dad is a retired cop.
    With all the carry-on recently with corruption allegations, they might be looking to make an example of someone. Anyone.

Don't give them the ammunition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

If you're stopped without having a booking a guard is going to be thinking either you didn't intend to NCT it or you couldn't book because the car needs work done. It won't look good.

With all the carry-on recently with corruption allegations, they might be looking to make an example of someone. Anyone.

Don't give them the ammunition.

thats good advice actually, think ill stop driving it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

You will be better to get the booking reference, but will only be taking a booking time that someone else might have wanted. If you're pulled and asked about it (unlikely as that is), just show the Gard the fail sheet and say the car needs to get the work done before you would be getting the retest. It's less of a lie and won't take up a booking time, which extends the waiting list for everyone else. It also kind of depends on what it failed on.

Get another car sooner, rather than later. If you wait beyond the 28 days, then you would get into trouble if pulled, even if you did have a booking ref. The Gardai know there are plenty of piss takers out there who just push their testing date out over and over again. You would be recognised as one of those piss takers and punished accordingly and rightfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

It is illegal but the Guards don't always pursue it too vigorously. I went over a year without an NCT. The only time I was stopped and the issue brought up was when I had it booked in. Othere times they didn't even bother to look. But if you meet the wrong Guard on the day!

Incidentally I wasn't deliberately defying the law. First off I had difficulty getting a slot because I was unaware of the backlog. Then it failed for something complicated and expensive. Then I had to rebook and fell into the same problem of getting a slot. Then it was off the road for a while. Then it failed for something else entirely which seemed major then turned out to be minor. It became a farce.

It's due again in May, here we go again!:mad:

goz83 wrote: »
    You will be better to get the booking reference, but will only be taking a booking time that someone else might have wanted. If you're pulled and asked about it (unlikely as that is), just show the Gard the fail sheet and say the car needs to get the work done before you would be getting the retest. It's less of a lie and won't take up a booking time, which extends the waiting list for everyone else. It also kind of depends on what it failed on.

Get another car sooner, rather than later. If you wait beyond the 28 days, then you would get into trouble if pulled, even if you did have a booking ref. The Gardai know there are plenty of piss takers out there who just push their testing date out over and over again. You would be recognised as one of those piss takers and punished accordingly and rightfully.

think it was due to be retested around now. wonder will i be ok to drive it for another couple of days.havent been pulled over in like a year.

• Administrators Posts: 54,897 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

The law works in mysterious ways http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/cwkfsnsneyau/rss2/ who ...
    dickwod1 wrote: »
    Gave a false name and address
    Had no car tax/NCT (probs no insurance so)
    Done some dangerous driving
    Avoided a checkpoint
    Failed to stop
    Deliberate hit and run
    (Not to mention wreckless endangerment of her child)
    (from the other thread here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=82752961#post82752961)
    This woman only got €350 fine and 4 free driving lessons

You would probably get the 5 penalty points a fine of €2000 and 6 months in jail

There is no consistency whatsoever in courts re driving offences

awec wrote: »
    To be honest, you will find it much easier to sell if you get it NCTd.

im not selling it, im scrapping it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

think it was due to be retested around now. wonder will i be ok to drive it for another couple of days.havent been pulled over in like a year.

I think yes, because it's unlikely you'll be stopped and asked about it. However, you still run the risk. Just keep that in mind.

havent been pulled over in like a year.
    Between us, the missus and I have only been pulled over once since August 2006. That was on one Saturday morning in early 2007 that we picked up a second hand car, so we had no discs for insurance, tax or NCT. We did have paperwork to prove that we'd only had the car for two hours and that it was covered by insurance, but what were the odds?

checkpoint or did they come after ye?
    wonder do most irish police cars have those things installed that tells them if a car has no insurance or tax or whatever? you know the things u see on british tv cop shows,they make an alarm sound in the car and info comes up on the screen to alert the cops that the car they just passed is suspicious, i know they started using them in ireland in the last year or so, just wondering if many of the cars have them.

checkpoint or did they come after ye?
    wonder do most irish police cars have those things installed that tells them if a car has no insurance or tax or whatever? you know the things u see on british tv cop shows,they make an alarm sound in the car and info comes up on the screen to alert the cops that the car they just passed is suspicious, i know they started using them in ireland in the last year or so, just wondering if many of the cars have them.
    No, nothing that advanced. Quick checkpoint on the Kilbarrack road at 13:00 on a Saturday afternoon. No chase required. :D

lol ill just drive when its raining that way i wont run into any checkpoints and ill be able to drive 99% of the time:) joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭georgefalls

Why did the car fail the NCT in the first place..? If its something major, are you wise to be driving it at all..??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Driving without NCT is an offence
    Driving without NCT and knowing its defective is bigger offence.

Do garda have access to NCT records ?
    Was wondering if they could detect cars with failed NCTs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭cocobear

You insurance is also invalid , if your involved in a crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Leprechaun77

cocobear wrote: »

I don't believe this is the case. The insurance company is obliged to pay 3rd party claims, however they reserve the right to void the comprehensive aspect of the policy. If there is serious negligence on behalf of the driver, the insurance company may look to recoup costs by legal action. I don't believe this happens in practice however.

visual wrote: »
    Driving without NCT is an offence
    Driving without NCT and knowing its defective is bigger offence.

Do garda have access to NCT records ?
    Was wondering if they could detect cars with failed NCTs

its not really defectice, theres a ball joint needs replacing, change exhaust, tinted windows etc horn is broke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

They're really clamping down on this. They are seeing it more and more as a get out clause, that and car tax.
    If you are submitting a claim against another driver, you will be asked about if tax and NCT in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

They're really clamping down on this. They are seeing it more and more as a get out clause, that and car tax.
    If you are submitting a claim against another driver, you will be asked about if tax and NCT in place.

I can't tax my car as the VRC hasn't been returned to me from Shannon. I'm waiting a few weeks now. According to the website a change of ownership hasn't occurred on the car but the VRC was sent to them.

I'd consider that not my fault. I've no issue with paying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

i doubt motor tax is an issue as it's hardly relevant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

its not really defectice, theres a ball joint needs replacing, change exhaust, tinted windows etc horn is broke

The ball joint is serious enough on its own because if it lets go you'll lose a wheel or it collapse under car. You could view the others as less serious. Sounds like a few hundred euro could put it right giving you option to keep it for awhile or sell it with new NCT at higher price.

Gardai are looking out for defective cars and failed NCT is proof its unroad worthy.
    But ive no idea how the garda would know this unless you told them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭king size mars bar

i agree with this as without a NCT your car is not road worthy, and your insurance policy will state that your car must be in road worthy condition!

visual wrote: »
    The ball joint is serious enough on its own because if it lets go you'll lose a wheel or it collapse under car. You could view the others as less serious. Sounds like a few hundred euro could put it right giving you option to keep it for awhile or sell it with new NCT at higher price.

Gardai are looking out for defective cars and failed NCT is proof its unroad worthy.
    But ive no idea how the garda would know this unless you told them.

my mechanic said the ball joint looked ok to him. its going to cost 7 to 8 hundred to fix it so im getting a new car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,994 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

ill be buying a new car in the next couple of weeks.