Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for a double rifle or semi auto centrefire?

• 21-04-2013 04:35AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭

Hi guys,dose anyone know off an RFD selling a large caliber double for big game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

York guns does the Baikal range:eek:,they have brand new o/u 9.3x74R for 703.00 stg,thats 800 yoyos,how bad could that be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I'd talk to Neil McVeigh in Crescent Sports. I know he has some experience with double rifles so might be able to point you in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

+1 on Neil, He will be able to sort you out. Great man for a chat , pure gent.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,200 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

If you want a proper DBBL rifle you will be paying more than 700 quid! Five to seven thousand would be a good start.
    They are the hardest of the guns to make properly as both barrels have to shoot on point at a certain specified distance,and the only way to do this is by wedging silver soldering,firing ,adjusting,re soldering of ribs and wedges until both are dead on target and hold zero.
    IOW a hell of a lot of time and skill goes into making these guns and thats what you will pay for.

Somthing thats been run off a production line in a factory that produces some of the roughest and brutally tough shotguns that can also be used for fence pile drivers isnt IMHO going to be the most accurate now is it??
    We had a CZ O/U rifle in Germany in 9.3 for boar hunting in the above price range.Utter POS!! After a season it was so loose and wobbly at the lock it was alarming.Back to the gunsmiths who discoverd the frame hadnt been properly heat treated.Thus every shot fired was punching the frame further out of alingement.Of course being an end line model and 2nd hand CZ werent going to honour a grauentee made in the time of the Workers republic.:rolleyes:

Semi autos in Ireland...Talk to me..what do you want and are you willing to do some possible hard fighting to own and keep it brother?;):)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

Neil has a very nice ruger no.1 in .450/400 (google it) in stock, its a hell of a round. He often has bolt action .375's in as well.

http://www.realguns.com/articles/332.htm

http://www.realguns.com/articles/336.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭fathersymes

This crowd in France are producing some good value double rifles I hear, I think they start at around 4,500.

http://www.chapuis-armes.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Fabarm does a decent double rifle as well, not too sure about the calibers, I believe they're more orientated towards driven boar more so than African plains game.

Some snobs on here,you could wound with the first two out of the Baikal and beat your medium sized game to death with the stained mdf stock to finish em off,hands on hunting.
    Merkel does nice doubles if your throwing around 8/10 grand,give Angela a bell she's surely mixed up with them,could be threw in as part of our next traunch of bail out:p

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    If you want a proper DBBL rifle you will be paying more than 700 quid! Five to seven thousand would be a good start.
    They are the hardest of the guns to make properly as both barrels have to shoot on point at a certain specified distance,and the only way to do this is by wedging silver soldering,firing ,adjusting,re soldering of ribs and wedges until both are dead on target and hold zero.
    IOW a hell of a lot of time and skill goes into making these guns and thats what you will pay for.

Somthing thats been run off a production line in a factory that produces some of the roughest and brutally tough shotguns that can also be used for fence pile drivers isnt IMHO going to be the most accurate now is it??
    We had a CZ O/U rifle in Germany in 9.3 for boar hunting in the above price range.Utter POS!! After a season it was so loose and wobbly at the lock it was alarming.Back to the gunsmiths who discoverd the frame hadnt been properly heat treated.Thus every shot fired was punching the frame further out of alingement.Of course being an end line model and 2nd hand CZ werent going to honour a grauentee made in the time of the Workers republic.:rolleyes:

Semi autos in Ireland...Talk to me..what do you want and are you willing to do some possible hard fighting to own and keep it brother?;):)

Its hardly rocket science getting two barrels to shoot 2'' at 60 or 70 yrds is it ?

Go onto the nitroexpress forums and look at the lads building double rifles on shotgun actions, getting the two barrels to shoot to the same point of aim is one of the most difficult parts of the job.

Nah!!! Sure all those bespoke gunmakers of English,German ,and Austrian firms are just messin clients about for generations and coining it in for an easy old job that anyone can do.
    Even those semi mass produced German Drillings by Sauer,Kreighoff,Merkel,etc which are a SXS with a big cal rifle barrel underneath,are just messin their customers about.The left shotgun and rifle barrel must shoot on point with slugs and bullet at 50 meters.
    Not so much rocket science as precision workmanship and hand fitting and patience to do the job right.

Quick look on Egun gives you a price range from 650 euros for that Baikal yoke to 35 grand for a Westly Richards SXS

Nice Blaser 9.3 SXS for 1680 Euros or an O/U Rizinni for 1700 in 9.3.

The Blaser has a "somwhat adjustable" barrel system for different bullet weight and distance.[3 micro allen screws at the muzzle of the LH barrel with an internal sleeve]

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Nah!!! Sure all those bespoke gunmakers of English,German ,and Austrian firms are just messin clients about for generations and coining it in for an easy old job that anyone can do.
    Even those semi mass produced German Drillings by Sauer,Kreighoff,Merkel,etc which are a SXS with a big cal rifle barrel underneath,are just messin their customers about.The left shotgun and rifle barrel must shoot on point with slugs and bullet at 50 meters.
    Not so much rocket science as precision workmanship and hand fitting and patience to do the job right.

Surely in this day and age with the technology available ,it shouldn't be that hard,i'm not saying anyone can do it ,but with the right technology it can't be that hard .Patience should come easily to guys getting 8 odd grand for a grands worth of material:D.

Quick look on Egun gives you a price range from 650 euros for that Baikal yoke to 35 grand for a Westly Richards SXS

Nice Blaser 9.3 SXS for 1680 Euros or an O/U Rizinni for 1700 in 9.3.

The Blaser has a "somwhat adjustable" barrel system for different bullet weight and distance.[3 micro allen screws at the muzzle of the LH barrel with an internal sleeve]

35.5 full working days to build a .500 n.e holland and holland in the link below, thats 284 hours at say £100 an hour is £28,400 not counting materials.

http://forums.nitroexpress.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=210476&an=0&page=0#Post210476

rowa wrote: »
    35.5 full working days to build a .500 n.e holland and holland in the link below, thats 284 hours at say £100 an hour is £28,400 not counting materials.

http://forums.nitroexpress.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=210476&an=0&page=0#Post210476

100 pound an hour ,800 pound a day ,yea theres someone getting rode on the rim,probably the customer i'd guess.

Surely in this day and age with the technology available ,it shouldn't be that hard,i'm not saying anyone can do it ,but with the right technology it can't be that hard .Patience should come easily to guys getting 8 odd grand for a grands worth of material:D.

You would think ,but apprently not.
    Blaser has that adjustable barrel thingy but it is still an expensive enough piece and they are more or less machine made.From what I see of it is these barrels are put in a jig/clamp and then wedged,spaced or filed as required to be zeroed in at the distance required.Then they are finally brazed or solderd into position.
    Its a long time consuming hand crafted job.i'm sure if there was some way of getting two barrels to shoot point the entire elite gunmaking houses of Europe would be on it by now as they have been only making these for what...150 years??

£100 PH...Not too bad considering most solicitors or medical specialists charge twice to three times that per hour for their services.
    If you are asking the price when it comes to exotic cars ,bespoke firearms,private jets,yachts or high class female companionship...You cant afford it.:D

A grands worth of materials??? Pfff!!Guess if you want the "cheap option" of just plain old American walnut for the stock and fore end.:P
    Try getting a nice bit of French walnut burl,or some of the more now restricted for sale exotic African tropic wood like Zebra wood. Then of course it has to be fitted to you personally,then hand inletted into the handmade action of your spec,and lets not forget the hand done custom engraving...
    That what you are paying for A custom creation to your specs.As unique as a Dusenberg or Rolls Royce is to a Toyota Prius.
    Nothing to say a nice good quality 2nd hand O/U double rifle cant be picked up for the price of a relatively expensive O/U shotgun here Seven thousand will get you a Perrazi O/U which I got to try out one last bank holiday Monday here at a clay range.:P Nice gun,well made lovely wood,but I didnt shoot any better or worse than with my 150 euro Mossberg pump.

So if you have a budget just hunt around in both the UK and abroad.At the moment it is a gun buyers market still all over Europe,stick in what you are looking for with some of the bespoke dealers and even give the gun makers of London a buzz,be surprised what they might have in the "bargin basement"

If you are going to fork out five/seven plus grand for it,whats a couple of hundred quid more for a Ryan air flight to the UK or Europe and a cheap hotel to go and see and test it out??:cool: I would.

The £100 an hour was a shot in the dark and a conservative guess, just looked at Holland and Holland's website and most of their double rifles are well over £100,000.

http://www.hollandandholland.com/guns_catalogue.php?l=london

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

If you look at the top end of the market the wood used in them alone can easily be around 4 to 5k wholesale and you can rest assured that the steel won't be made in China either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 manbearpig

Hi guys,dose anyone know off an RFD selling a large caliber double for big game?

James McBride in ballykeeran sports in Athlone.

I dont have number to hand but I know he has 1 or 2 of those guns down there I bought a Heym O/U in 8x57 from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Anyone know what the rifle of choice for professional hunters is? If I was going to get a big bore rifle for dangerous game I would choose what those guys depend on year round.

Remmy wrote: »
    Anyone know what the rifle of choice for professional hunters is? If I was going to get a big bore rifle for dangerous game I would choose what those guys depend on year round.

Not necessarily the best choice. Those guys often carry .470 or .500 doubles, though bolt actions built on Mausers in .458 Win or Lott are pretty common too. However, they carry those as stopping guns. They're not planning on firing them a lot, and the reason they're in the larger calibres is because when they fire them, it's because things already have gone, or are in imminent danger of going, tits up in a big way. From talking to a few of them, most are much happier to see a client show up with a well used and familiarly handled .375 than a bigger double or .458 without a mark on it. They seem to get nervous when that comes out, since the likelihood is it doesn't get shot much and the client is unlikely to shoot it as well. The ones I've talked to mostly recommended a .375 without hesitation, since it's a top notch round for plains game too, but said if it's for DG only, and you can shoot it and will practise with it a lot, then a .416 or a .458 are substantially harder hitting. They all said though, that in their experience, when clients show up with a .375, they can almost always shoot it well, but that percentage drops really sharply once they get into the .40 cal+ rounds. As to doubles, again, once you can shoot them, they're happy, but most of the doubles are stopping cartridges and kick like them too. Bottom line is that if the rifle looks well used coming out of the case and you handle it like it's not the first time you've seen it, they'll be pretty happy and won't worry overly what round it fires (and some have given examples of some really squeaky choices - including a .300 win mag and a .30-06 for cape buffalo!), but if the rifle and shooter don't look well accustomed to one another, then they're going to hold their breath.

Edit: Actually, on the .375 for clients recommendation, of several of the guys I talked to, that was all they used themselves, and had never seen the need to change. One mentioned that he knew several guys who'd changed after bad experiences with the .375 and had gone to .458 Lotts, but he reckoned the issue was with the shooting rather than the cartridge or bullet, and he'd quite a few elephants to his own .375 as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Not necessarily the best choice. Those guys often carry .470 or .500 doubles, though bolt actions built on Mausers in .458 Win or Lott are pretty common too. However, they carry those as stopping guns. They're not planning on firing them a lot, and the reason they're in the larger calibres is because when they fire them, it's because things already have gone, or are in imminent danger of going, tits up in a big way. From talking to a few of them, most are much happier to see a client show up with a well used and familiarly handled .375 than a bigger double or .458 without a mark on it. They seem to get nervous when that comes out, since the likelihood is it doesn't get shot much and the client is unlikely to shoot it as well. The ones I've talked to mostly recommended a .375 without hesitation, since it's a top notch round for plains game too, but said if it's for DG only, and you can shoot it and will practise with it a lot, then a .416 or a .458 are substantially harder hitting. They all said though, that in their experience, when clients show up with a .375, they can almost always shoot it well, but that percentage drops really sharply once they get into the .40 cal+ rounds. As to doubles, again, once you can shoot them, they're happy, but most of the doubles are stopping cartridges and kick like them too. Bottom line is that if the rifle looks well used coming out of the case and you handle it like it's not the first time you've seen it, they'll be pretty happy and won't worry overly what round it fires (and some have given examples of some really squeaky choices - including a .300 win mag and a .30-06 for cape buffalo!), but if the rifle and shooter don't look well accustomed to one another, then they're going to hold their breath.

Edit: Actually, on the .375 for clients recommendation, of several of the guys I talked to, that was all they used themselves, and had never seen the need to change. One mentioned that he knew several guys who'd changed after bad experiences with the .375 and had gone to .458 Lotts, but he reckoned the issue was with the shooting rather than the cartridge or bullet, and he'd quite a few elephants to his own .375 as well.

Ah right makes sense, thanks for the reply. Just from perusing youtube the difference between people shooting things like .505 gibbs and .375h&h is stark in how much they are getting knocked around.

Look up the .950 jdj on youtube :D

Most definitely! I think a lot of the attraction in doing hunts with the doubles and the real old big bores is the nostalgia aspect, and there's a lot to be said for that. I mean, it's really not hard to like the idea of doing a proper walking tent camp elephant hunt with the likes of a .505 Gibbs or, if I were doing it, a .416 Rigby with iron sights. I mean even the name, .416 Rigby, just rolls off the tongue quite nicely. :) Practicality does reign supreme at the end of the day though, and it's going to be a lot easier to master a .375 than a .416 or upwards, and if they kill just the same, and the .375 is going to be a half pound or more lighter, there's an all too sensible voice that you're just going to have to stamp on, buy the Rigby and put the extra practice time into it! :D

Not only that by using a double as a guide you have two very quick shots if things are going very wrong. Its also the reason most of these are non automatic safties,manual extraction SXS rifles.
    When a very irate tusker or cape buff is storming down at you ,you dont want to be messing around with a saftey that might be on,or a shell that didnt eject properly,because a bit of grit got into a micro spring somwhere.
    As well as apprently it is easier and quicker to reload a SXS than an OU in a hurry??:confused:

The side by side doesn't have to open over as wide an arc compared to the over and under for access to the chambers and also when the top barrel of an over and under is fired it puts a lot more stress on the locking mechanism, ok in a shotgun or smaller rifle calibre but in one of the heavies it can be too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Sika98k

Shot a 375 a few times,ok it kicks but its not unmanageable.
    Shot a 416 once,that was enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Are all these guns restricted, as in semi automatic? I know the larger calibre rifles are.

Any semi-automatic centrefire is restricted, as is any rifle over .30 calibre, so yeah, pretty much anything being discussed here is restricted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭silverfox1

Why not look at one of the fast straight pulls like blaser or merkel.