Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions for a 21 year old male..

• 01-05-2013 09:43AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,697 ✭✭✭

Hey there,

Still on my provisional at the moment but I'm hoping to have my full in the coming weeks so I'm in the market for a car.

Spotted this on DoneDeal and thought it seemed like a fair price
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4624061

Am I aiming too high considering I learned on my Dad's 2003 Punto?

Feedback / Comments on the car, or what you think I should be looking for are greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,697 ✭✭✭Danger781

OSI wrote: »
    Funnily enough, I bought one when I was 21. Insurance is cheap enough, and the car is reliable enough to. Just make sure the windows and sunroof work and aren't laboured. They're not particularly quick though, and not particularly economical either.

What's your opinion on it being referred to as a 'Hairdressers Porsche' :P

On the economical note, any idea what kind of MPG I'd be getting? Am I better off looking elsewhere if I mainly just want something for commuting to / from college and a few spins here and there? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

What's more important, economy or flash?
    That 1.6 is a good mix of both and not crazy expensive.

Start by getting insurance quotes for various cars you look at so it won't be a surprise later.

biko wrote: »
    What's more important, economy or flash?
    That 1.6 is a good mix of both and not crazy expensive.

Start by getting insurance quotes for various cars you look at so it won't be a surprise later.

Tried getting a quote for the above off Liberty (They're usually cheapest for me..) but they changed their site so you now need the reg plate..

I'm at work so I can't spend too much time doing quotes right now :P

Edit: Economy vs Flash - A mix of both would be perfect, but being a student I should proibably rank economy higher over flash..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Check for the insurance. I had difficulties insuring a 1.4 because I had no previous NCB in Ireland - at 32, holding an EU license since 1999.

Try running your profile through some insurance websites, I wouldn't be surprised if they come up with "can't insure you".

EDIT - about the specific car in the ad, I wouldn't even spend time going to see it: hidden registration = no interest. People can say all they want about "privacy", in my book hiding the plates means there's something the seller wants to hide about the car (or themselves).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Doylers

Im 21 aswell just with a full licence, I found when I was getting quotes a 1.2 was the same to insure as a 1.6 and a 5000€ car was the same as a 1000€. Doesnt make much sense to me, make sure you try liberty I used them for the car and the motorbike and were always the cheapest for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tbh as a new driver you should probably get a small sub 1000 banger, like Punto or Micra.
    Cheap, reliable, good mpg and easy to drive/park. Also good to learn car maintenance on.
    Get your NCB up and then go for a bigger car once you have more monies.
    m2c

I'm sounding like you dad now amen't I :D

Doylers wrote: »
    Im 21 aswell just with a full licence, I found when I was getting quotes a 1.2 was the same to insure as a 1.6 and a 5000€ car was the same as a 1000€. Doesnt make much sense to me, make sure you try liberty I used them for the car and the motorbike and were always the cheapest for me

I've noticed. Tried a quote on a 2007 1.6 Mini and a 1,0 2001 Yaris and the difference in the quote was negligible.

Liberty are also almost always the cheapest for me as well. My Dad is currently with them with me as a named driver. Last year they were the cheapest quote offered by hundreds of euro.. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Speaking as someone in the same age bracket, but having driven a good range of cars, its quite a jump from a Punto to a 1.6 Coupe. Not just in engine size. Totally different car and driving experience. Granted you have to jump in there some time but it might be a tad too big of a jump when your just off a provisional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Doylers wrote: »

Because often it is the driver that is driving the price more so than the car. If you have a young male with no experience and no NCB, then they are most likely seen as being an equally high risk in 1.2 as they are in a 1.6; the cost of insuring the risk on them is higher than the cost of insuring the risk on either cars. Thats the way I see it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Danger781 wrote: »

I would have called it a compliment to a Hyundai coupe to be called a "hairdressers Porche"

Either way, if your interested in buying a car that you think looks well, who cares what other people think, there will always be some twit in a boring car slagging you off.. (my mates gave me massive stick for my 3 series coupe) didnt bother me in the slightest, and once i sold it they were saying how nice it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Paddy001

Tried getting a quote for the above off Liberty (They're usually cheapest for me..) but they changed their site so you now need the reg plate..

I'm at work so I can't spend too much time doing quotes right now :P

Edit: Economy vs Flash - A mix of both would be perfect, but being a student I should proibably rank economy higher over flash..

I'm 23 looking to get out a policy for the first time after 5+ years no claims as a named driver. Liberty wanted €1600 on a Hyundai Accent and Aviva are around €400. The policy I am named on moved to Axa on the alst renewal, Aviva went way up when they heard I had points, Axa came down way under the original quote from Aviva when I didn't have points! So definitely try Axa and Aviva along with the other usuals.

I would have called it a compliment to a Hyundai coupe to be called a "hairdressers Porche"

Either way, if your interested in buying a car that you think looks well, who cares what other people think, there will always be some twit in a boring car slagging you off.. (my mates gave me massive stick for my 3 series coupe) didnt bother me in the slightest, and once i sold it they were saying how nice it was.

Yeah, two cars have taken my eye. A mini and this coupe.

Both of which I'm being slagged for. :P

Paddy001 wrote: »
    I'm 23 looking to get out a policy for the first time after 5+ years no claims as a named driver. Liberty wanted €1600 on a Hyundai Accent and Aviva are around €400. The policy I am named on moved to Axa on the alst renewal, Aviva went way up when they heard I had points, Axa came down way under the original quote from Aviva when I didn't have points! So definitely try Axa and Aviva along with the other usuals.

Yeah I'll be ringing around no doubt. I'm off from work on weekends so I'll more than likely be dedicating a full Saturday to shopping around for the best price. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

More of a hairdresser's Corolla.

A mini and this coupe.

I'd take a Mini over two Hyundai Coupes. (Our second car is a Mini Cooper - great little yoke).

I'd wouldn't be worried about the "girly" car thing at all: I'd be more worried that the Coupe is a pretty dull car that just looks a bit sporty.

I'd take a Mini over two Hyundai Coupes. (Our second car is a Mini Cooper - great little yoke).

I'd wouldn't be worried about the "girly" car thing at all: I'd be more worried that the Coupe is a pretty dull car that just looks a bit sporty.

Only problem being that Minis are far more expensive. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

I had one identical to that when I was 22. Can't remember what the insurance was but I've a feeling it was about 1200. I had my licence 2 years at that stage and 1 years ncb.
    Be prepared to be spending a good lot on petrol, they are a heavy car for the engine. Also be prepared for a lot of slagging about being a hairdresser etc etc.
    Overall, a nice car, v good stereo, nice to drive, but slow and thirsty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Get quotes, see if you can afford it. Can you afford the tax? Can you afford the petril if you do long driving? Can you service it yourself? Do you have a job to pay for all this?

Rabble rabble rabble start on something small and work your way up, sub 1.3 build up NCB *advice of a grumpy diesel driver

How did that smiley get up there....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Give Chill.ie a go, man.
    I got insured for €1200 on my 1.4 Almera last year at 21 with my Prov'.

Also, have a read of this. :p

So.. Since yesterday..

The seller has moved to Dublin and increased the price by around a grand.

Feck it anyway :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Yeah, two cars have taken my eye. A mini and this coupe.

Both of which I'm being slagged for. :P
    So.. Since yesterday..

You'd a lucky escape I reckon, a Mini or a Hyundai Coupe? are you mad? You can't roll up to college in Mini, everyone will think you're driving your sister's car. For me (and this is just my opinion) the Coupe doesn't do it, it wants to be so much but doesn't achieve it, not fast enough and not stylish enough.

In all seriousness, if you have that kind of money to spend you can buy yourself a lot of Car, I'd be going for five door Hatchback, Volkswagen or Seat maybe. They drive well, look good, are economical and have plenty of space. The likelyhood is that you'll end up driving all your mates allover the place, that won't be comfortable in the Mini.

OR

Buy a micra and spend the difference fitting neon underlights and massive aftermarket alloys with low profile tires.:D

You'd a lucky escape I reckon, a Mini or a Hyundai Coupe? are you mad? You can't roll up to college in Mini, everyone will think you're driving your sister's car.

Always annoyed me the whole feminist viewpoint to Mini's and the Audi TT. The JCW Mini or the RS TT I wouldn't consider girly in the slightest and are cars I'd like to consider at some point.

ironclaw wrote: »
    Always annoyed me the whole feminist viewpoint to Mini's and the Audi TT. The JCW Mini or the RS TT I wouldn't consider girly in the slightest and are cars I'd like to consider at some point.

The TT is slightly different case, the most recent model is quite aggressivly styled and I wouldn't consider it at all girly.

The Mini however is a girly car no matter how you dress it up. I considered one myself but just couldn't bring myself to go for it. Which was a shame because its a lovely driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

The op will hardly be buying a JCW mini though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Pile of sh1t, and resale value is disgraceful

get a toyota or a volkswagen for a bit of reliability, preferably a toyota as if something does go wrong its not all that expensive to get fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

What are the chances of getting insured on a Celica?
    A better car than the Hyundai in pretty much everywhere possible.

ghogie91 wrote: »
    Pile of sh1t, and resale value is disgraceful

get a toyota or a volkswagen for a bit of reliability, preferably a toyota as if something does go wrong its not all that expensive to get fixed

If it's the Hyundai's reliabilty you are talking about, I would dissagree that they are a pile of sh1t.

They are actually a reliable enough car and have a better engine than the dreadfully soft 16 valve 1.4 and 1.6 units fitted to some volkwagen cars.

resale value is disgraceful

If this was true, it would be good news for the OP, who wants to buy second hand. Massive depreciation means he gets it cheap.

The Mini however is a girly car no matter how you dress it up. I considered one myself but just couldn't bring myself to go for it.

Your loss, I don't see people pointing and laughing at me in my Mini Cooper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

So.. Since yesterday..

Yet another win for the "no visible reg - no interest" approach :)

Your loss, I don't see people pointing and laughing at me in my Mini Cooper.

Probably is my loss, in fairness it wasn't the only reason I chose not to go for it, it wasn't "right" for me for a couple of reasons. Like I said enjoyed driving it a lot but just couldn't buy it.

Right, I've narrowed it down to either a Toyota Yaris, A VW Polo, or a Seat Ibiza since that car is out of the question.

Out of those three id pick the Yaris, it's the best of those choices by a country mile.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Out of those three id pick the Yaris, it's the best of those choices by a country mile.

Yeah, I seem to be leaning that direction :) Yaris' are quite expensive compared to similar cars I was looking at though.. Or at least thats what I've noticed on DoneDeal :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

CianRyan wrote: »
    What are the chances of getting insured on a Celica?
    A better car than the Hyundai in pretty much everywhere possible.

Nice motor but some companies won't quote you on anything above 1.6 on a learner permit

Yaris' are quite expensive compared to similar cars I was looking at though..

That's because people believe they are the best by a country mile. :P

This is the most likely candidate at the moment.. Thoughts?

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4956023

If anyone else can recommend a yaris, or anything else similar to it feel free. I'd like if it was based in Cork but that's not completely necessary. At the very least, in Munster.

This Panda is in Cork, it's the same age as your Yaris, it has less miles, and costs €2K less.

I am not getting a Fiant Panda.. :pac:

I like the Ibiza, usually cheaper, very reliable and tonnes of fun. All three good options I would think.

Don't listen to him he drives a Mini!:pac:
    I am not getting a Fiant Panda.. :pac:

Fair play, its a total Mommobile!

:) I think if I couldn't get the Yaris I'd be looking at an Ibiza over a Polo.

Edit: Any feedback on the Yaris I linked above?

Looks good and clean low milage would probably be worth going to see if you are interested in it.

My only thought is that it is nearly 10 years old so I wouldn't be happy to pay what they are asking for it. Having said that they are very popular and that is the kind of money they go for.

Looks good and clean low milage would probably be worth going to see if you are interested in it.

My only thought is that it is nearly 10 years old so I wouldn't be happy to pay what they are asking for it. Having said that they are very popular and that is the kind of money they go for.

I don't plan on paying thast price.

Ideally, I'd like to push him down to 3.5k but I'm not sure how well that will go :p

Sure I'll turn up with cash and see how it goes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

If this was true, it would be good news for the OP, who wants to buy second hand. Massive depreciation means he gets it cheap.

true yeah but I am 21 and have spend that hard earned cash on a bucket and when it comes to changing you would like to have some money there to come out of your existing car.

Also I would bet money OP will change this car within 6/7 months, he is 21, insurance will come down with the Full Licence, better options will become available very quick!

That's because people believe they are the best by a country mile. :P

Yaris's are a fantastic car. Even the 1.0L is a very fun drive. Not quick but just a little Go Kart. Also a car that will go forever if maintained hence the price tag.

I'm toying with the idea of importing a P1 T-Sport with a Supercharger, de-badging it and just having it as a fun car. 150bhp+ in a car that light is impressive.

true yeah but I am 21 and have spend that hard earned cash on a bucket and when it comes to changing you would like to have some money there to come out of your existing car.

Also I would bet money OP will change this car within 6/7 months, he is 21, insurance will come down with the Full Licence, better options will become available very quick!

If I'm buying a car I want it to last 2 or 3 years at least before changing it. No intention of changing it until I graduate and get a full time employment.

Yaris's are a fantastic car. Even the 1.0L is a very fun drive. Not quick but just a little Go Kart.

I have heard people say the Yaris is reliable, it's value for money, it's very easy to drive with light controls, it's reliable, the seats are brilliant if you are an OAP, it holds it's value, it's cheap to run, it's reliable, it's a great starter car, and it's 100% reliable.

You are the very first person I have ever heard suggest that it is fun, or handles at all, never mind like a Go-Kart.

Next you'll tell us it has a top-notch interior! :eek:

You are the very first person I have ever heard suggest that it is fun, or handles at all, never mind like a Go-Kart.

Next you'll tell us it has a top-notch interior! :eek:

Drive one that's well run it and it's a great little car. You can fairly put it into the corners.

Interior is fairly bog standard in fairness, even I'd admit that. Unless you like faux plastic nonsense :pac:

Drive one that's well run it and it's a great little car. You can fairly put it into the corners.

I have driven one, and it's like a Playstation game. No feedback at all - ridiculously light controls.

What exactly have you driven that takes a corner worse than a Yaris? Even that cheap-ass Panda I listed above is more fun.