Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disabled parking spaces. Do you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,764 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Victor wrote: »
    And passengers with disabilities.

Are you trying to provide me with moral guidance by suggesting I should care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Parent and child spaces? Just because your choice us an inconvenience to you? How about a Man and Case of Beer space? I find it very difficult with the normal narrow parking spaces to get the slab into the back seat, I think the least they could do is provide that service.

The facts are that most people using supermarkets are female and a lot of them have young children. They wouldn't provide them otherwise.

Supermarkets don't make much money on some fella going in to buy a case of Dutch gold. They do however make money on some young cuddy in filling her trolley helped by her 2 sprogs firing in chocolate biscuits when her back is turned.

Anyway re man and beer you aren't doing it right at all.You should be getting your better half to pick up the beer as part of the weekly shop. And make sure to tell her to put it in the fridge for you. ;-) a real man doesn't go to a supermarket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

I have back problems and I have a blue badge on the car.

to get about Tesco (note, there is no F***ing s at the end of Tesco) I throw the walking stick into the trolley and lean on the trolley.

as to the disabled spaces, if there are a bunch available, I'll use one (as I'm entitled to) but if there are only one or two left I'll leave them for someone else who's more in need of them than me.

I will accost and tell off (politely of course) any scumbag who does park there without a badge, although occasionally someone is obviously giving a disabled person a lift and does't have a badge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

Why can't they put the car reg on the badge and a photo??
    in the north there is a photo.

no reg no as you might have access to more than one car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

kneemos wrote: »
    There's not that many disabled drivers around and the parking spaces are just for show mostly.
    Also what's another fifty or a hundred yards if they can't park in the disabled spot.
    My justification.

What's the story with you? Are you of the impression that these spots are not needed? Do they annoy you for some reason?

I hope you never need to avail of these spots, but you never know, you might.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,090 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

timthumbni wrote: »
    The facts are that most people using supermarkets are female and a lot of them have young children. They wouldn't provide them otherwise.

Supermarkets don't make much money on some fella going in to buy a case of Dutch gold. They do however make money on some young cuddy in filling her trolley helped by her 2 sprogs firing in chocolate biscuits when her back is turned.

Anyway re man and beer you aren't doing it right at all.You should be getting your better half to pick up the beer as part of the weekly shop. And make sure to tell her to put it in the fridge for you. ;-) a real man doesn't go to a supermarket.

By that logic they should just have nicer parking for rich lads in mercs as they spend more. Still, point taken about getting herself to do all this stuff, time to crack the whip with this one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

although occasionally someone is obviously giving a disabled person a lift and does't have a badge

Don't get this either. Just drop them off near the door and find another parking space. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

On a different note, enlighten me, wtf is a "young cuddy"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

shar01 wrote: »
    Don't get this either. Just drop them off near the door and find another parking space. Simples.

What about someone who needs assistance in getting out of the car/ walking/ balancing? This isn't always possible, depending on the abilities of the person with the disability.

eisenberg1 wrote: »

On a different note, enlighten me, wtf is a "young cuddy"?

It's a term to describe a girl or female. It's not used that often now but I think it's a nice word. (I'm from Northern Ireland btw so maybe its only a local thing)

No idea of its origin but I'm sure someone on here might.

What's the story with you? Are you of the impression that these spots are not needed? Do they annoy you for some reason?

I hope you never need to avail of these spots, but you never know, you might.

Why don't they provide proper spaces for Range Rovers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

This subject has been discussed several times on Boards and it always comes down to the same thing.
    There are drivers out there who respect what these spaces are intended for and will not park in them for any reason.
    And then there are are those, who are perfectly able bodied, who park in them because they feel they can justify it in one way or the other, but deep down they just dont give a S&#t about who they might inconvenience, as long as they save a few extra yards of walking.
    To those type of people, I hope your arrogance is not the the cause of you needing a disabled parking space one day only to find some inconsiderate moron has taken it up on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Because most people who have them cant drive or park them, to supply a space big enough would take up half the car park!

timthumbni wrote: »
    It's a term to describe a girl or female. It's not used that often now but I think it's a nice word. (I'm from Northern Ireland btw so maybe its only a local thing)

No idea of its origin but I'm sure someone on here might.

Actually I hope the word has no connection to cows. Lol.

Answer my question without a moronic question of your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Zirconia
    Boycott Israeli Goods & Services

I never park in disabled spaces.

I do park in "Parent and Child" spaces when their available though, I've no problem with that.

Zirconia wrote: »
    I never park in disabled spaces.

I do park in "Parent and Child" spaces when their available though, I've no problem with that.

You absolute bast@rd. ;-)

Answer my question without a moronic question of your own.

Apologies.Yes they are definitely needed and I don't have a problem with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Days 298

Wouldn't park in a disabled park. Anyone who does without a permit is a selfish prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I don't use disabled parking places (or whatever you call them) but I've no problem using those stupid ass 'Mother and child' spaces all the time.

Only gripe I have is Tescos shopping center at Clare Hall (Dublin) ~ the amount of disabled bays would put Lourdes to f*cking shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

The disabled parking spaces in the citywest shopping centre are conveniently in front of KFC and O Briens off licence so are regularly used by people popping in for a takeaway or beer. Also I've often seen them used as an overflow space for taxis when the rank is full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Why can't they put the car reg on the badge and a photo??

Maybe they should issue a ' I cant drive for ****' badge for all those who are not disabled but seem to need all that space to park there truck they think their driving!

Because the badge is issued to the person, not the vehicle. The holder doesn't even need to own a car.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/traffic_and_parking/disabled_persons_parking_card.html

Apologies.Yes they are definitely needed and I don't have a problem with them.

Ok thanks, so why the apathetic attitude? (Rhetorical question)

Oh, and everybody knows that mother and child spots are for Range Rovers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

Careful you don't cut yourself on those edges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Does anyone know exactly what one can do if you do see the able bodied gob****es using the disabled space? Bearing in mind most are in supermarket type car parks, which are usually private property.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Does anyone know exactly what one can do if you do see the able bodied gob****es using the disabled space? Bearing in mind most are in supermarket type car parks, which are usually private property.....

Report it to the supermarket who would "look into it" I suppose. Not a lot they can do but provide the spaces and put up adequate signage as to their use.

Best thing would be to call the person out over it and tell them to cop on to themselves if you're the type of person who would do that. One person telling them to cop on is worth more than any amount of "please be good" signs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

jobyrne30 wrote: »
    I park in disable spaced when disabled a-holes park in the family parking space ...... don't care f**** em

I park in the disable spaces in DIY stores like B&Q and Woodies .....if you can do some DIY you ain't that disabled.

Ignorant lazy cúnt
    I'd park in them in some places. Some Tesco's for instance have about 20 disabled parking spaces right in front of the shops. If I'm not gonna be long I think it would be safe to assume that between when I arrive and when I leave that its unlikely 20 disabled people would show up and one poor fcuker would be forced to park elsewhere.

This view is further compounded by the fact in all my time shopping there I have never seen any more than 3 of those spaces used at any one time.

Lazy ignorant cúnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Basically, selfish lowlife knackers who have no problem living with their own lazy low standards park wherever they please and get away with it. Those who aspire to be better people don't park in disabled spaces because they can control themselves and the short walk is good for them anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'd park in them in some places. Some Tesco's for instance have about 20 disabled parking spaces right in front of the shops. If I'm not gonna be long I think it would be safe to assume that between when I arrive and when I leave that its unlikely 20 disabled people would show up and one poor fcuker would be forced to park elsewhere.

This view is further compounded by the fact in all my time shopping there I have never seen any more than 3 of those spaces used at any one time.

I often think that if someday the disabled bays are all used up in Clare Hall that it'll be like the charge of the f*cking light brigade down the isles.. But I still won't use them, it just wouldn't sit comfortably with me.

But it can be a little infuriating around Christmas when the care parks are full and there's all those handicapped bays free.

But 'Mother and child' bays are fair game imo.

Ok thanks, so why the apathetic attitude? (Rhetorical question)

Oh, and everybody knows that mother and child spots are for Range Rovers :)

Not sure I have an apathetic attitude but I'm pretty sure I'm entitled to it if I have.
    Anytime I've walked past disabled spaces most or all of them were empty,so I don't see a major problem parking there.