Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Amateur Boxing Championships 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,286 ✭✭✭✭walshb

It's a very informative article. Best of luck to the lads. I'm gonna' bet on more KOs/stoppages now with the headgear removal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭megadodge

walshb wrote: »
    It's a very informative article. Best of luck to the lads. I'm gonna' bet on more KOs/stoppages now with the headgear removal

There may be more stoppages but I reckon that would have more to do with the new scoring system rather than discarding headgear.

megadodge wrote: »
    There may be more stoppages but I reckon that would have more to do with the new scoring system rather than discarding headgear.

It's on the 10 point must system. Not sure what you mean. Headgear does provide some cushion. Take away that cushion and I think boxers will feel the force of the shots that little bit more. That "little" bit more can be impacting. I'm talking about the head shots to the sided of the head and to the temple area.

Come on, haven't we had threads and arguments over the supposed 'benefit' of headgear (I'll let someone else find links to studies). They are not worth a damn in protecting the receiver, their sole benefit is in the prevention of cuts.

On the scoring system, with computer scoring a knockdown punch counts for the same as a jab, whereas with the 10 point must system you get a 10-8 round. One man landing 5 hard damaging punches can win a round over his opponent landing 10 light punches. It seems pretty obvious to me that harder punching will be rewarded, as it is in the pros.

I never mentioned scoring. I was speaking about actual KO/Stoppages. I feel that the headgear does give some extra protection, particularly around the sides of the head. Take this protection away and I think the force of the shots will be that little bit heavier.

Well, as I said there were definitely threads and links here before to studies which showed headgears are of no benefit in absorbing the power of a punch.

As for the scoring, if boxers know heavier punching is rewarded (as it is in the pros) they will be seeking KOs/knockdowns/damaging punches more than before, when it was of no real benefit. That was my point. I expect boxers to be more aggressive now.

Okey doke. I see your point now, and it's very valid. I Should have been quicker off the mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Another couple through - doing well so far!
    Ireland's Sean McComb and Ray Mollett have both progressed to the last 32 at the Elite World Amateur Championships in Kazakhstan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭terrymccarthy05

Thanks for the info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Craptacular

Adam Nolan lost out on a split decision. Paddy Barnes, Sean McComb and Tommy McCarthy have all been in twitter claiming he was robbed.

They should forget twitter and concentrate on their tournament. And, they should be showing the amateur boxing organizations, and AIBA some respect. Paints us as bad losers IMO. They are representing this country. Leave the sniping and moaning to the journalists.

They don't normally tweet during competitions, taking a 'break' to focus. I'm surprised that they are to be honest.

Unfortunately, not alone should we see more attempted stoppages, but I'm afraid we'll see an awful lot more bad decisions. I still can't believe they've reverted to the system that didn't work in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,293 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

What's the story with RTE Coverage will they be showing any of the world's on tv or the player?

Quicley and Conlan win , Sheehan out.

Sheehan is on the twitter moaning.

"DISGUSTED !!! I know in me heart i won that fight, but not to be dunno what iv to do, cheers for all support:)"

Barnes has a tasty SF match with Selby if both progress. Love to see Paddy get global gold, but Selby for me is a step too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Conlan and Quigley both win this morning.

Conlan won 30-27 30-27 30-27
    Quigley won 30-27 30- 27 29-27
    McCarthyhade a narrow win over 7 seed Gemary's Ahmatovic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 keith1976

Sheehan is on the twitter moaning.

"DISGUSTED !!! I know in me heart i won that fight, but not to be dunno what iv to do, cheers for all support:)"

Barnes has a tasty SF match with Selby if both progress. Love to see Paddy get global gold, but Selby for me is a step too far.
    Sheehan didn't win in my opinion, but could have gone either way.
    The guy he boxed was probably the worst Cuban fighter I have every seen.
    The fight can be seen at around 3 hours 22 mins here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1UcJEVjgL8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Ward wins but McComb loses in an apparently tight contest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

excellent 1st round KO for Paddy Barnes, the move up in weight has suited him

Brilliant performances from the lads, 5 fighters going for a medal tomorrow

Tommy McCarthy
    Jason Quigley
    Mick Conlan
    Joe Ward
    Paddy Barnes

Tommy McCarthy faces 2nd seeded Argentinian Yamil Peralta, its quite simply going to be the fight of his life, it would be something else if he could medal at the Worlds.

Joe Ward faces his old foe Russian Nikita Ivanov (3rd seed) in his quarter final which is also very winnable. He beat him in the Euro final in 2011.

Jason Quigley faces Zoltan Harsca (4th seed) in his quarter, Harsca has been impressive so far so it will be a 50/50 fight I reckon

Mick Conlan faces Vladimir Nikitin from Russian (10th seed). Nikitin has some WSB experience himself and has been impressing aswell but I fully expect Conlan to come through here.

Paddy Barnes will face Jasurbek Latipov of Uzbekistan by the looks of it and again you would expect Barnes to be the favourite here but you just never know.

Cracking shot by Barnes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭kiroswat

guys do anyone have the english stream for tomorrow tried vipbox.tv but no joy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

kiroswat wrote: »
    guys do anyone have the english stream for tomorrow tried vipbox.tv but no joy

rte.ie are showing coverage of the quarters I believe

BBC are also providing coverage of the quarters tomorrow via the red button I believe

am on a training course in fas no access to tv for bbc how about there website are rte showing the quarters on the player tomorrow and anyone know the times of the fights yet much appreciated.

its grand guys just checked the rte website and session 1 starting at 9 bells in the morning happy days fair played to paddy barnes what a ko today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Punctuation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

5 boxers in medal stages today good luck to them all

Poor decision there for Mick imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Quigley bronze medal

JM Skipton wrote: »
    Quigley bronze medal

Strong boy is Quigley! great stuff

McCarthy gone 1-2

JM Skipton wrote: »
    McCarthy gone 1-2

McCarthy should of won that one he was very average in that fight.

Agreed the Argentinean didn't have to do a lot to win it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Paddy Barnes beaten easily enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

Johner wrote: »

Seemed distracted, doing too much talking and complaining to the ref

Johner wrote: »

He never got going, hopefully Ward can do it otherwise it will have been an extremely disappointing day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

What time he fighting at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭runman

Lads, my rte player isn't connecting, any link? Can't believe Barnes lost

RasTa wrote: »
    What time he fighting at?

Up next I think

what a win by ward!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

What happened there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭runman

What happened? No stream 😭

RasTa wrote: »
    What happened there?

Stopped after 2 minutes fairly sure he cut him, anyway the way he was boxing he would have walked it anyway. He will be fresh as a daisy now for the semi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

I was watching the wrong stream on RTE...have been watching since 3pm....can't believe I missed Ward. Are the 2 separate streams on the Player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

madds wrote: »
    I was watching the wrong stream on RTE...have been watching since 3pm....can't believe I missed Ward. Are the 2 separate streams on the Player?

Yes they are showing both rings. In fairness they should have posting a running order on their boxing page.

I was watching with no commentary so wasn't sure whether they went to the cards after the stoppage or was the fight automatically awarded to Joe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

radharc wrote: »
    Yes they are showing both rings. In fairness they should have posting a running order on their boxing page.

I'm on a call here in work so had my browser window placed in a corner of my screen so the flags of each boxer was visible. Kept checking for the Irish flag but it never appeared. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Watched the wrong one aswell. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

A lot of these guys are serious clowns, it has to be said.

Sheehan moaning on twitter and now facebook about being robbed and Barnes and the like mouthing off about Nolan is a joke.

Now people are claiming Barnes was robbed which is laughable since he was well beaten.

I did a bit of boxing myself when I was younger and moaning and claiming you were robbed is rife throughout at all clubs, you always here it.

Sheehan sulking now claiming he has enough of the amatuer game and may consider going pro.