Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Vs Munster buildup thread

• 19-03-2014 01:58PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Only a week and a bit away!

Hopefully we'll see two strong sides. Would like to see Munster go with:

15 Zebo
    14 GVDH
    13 Casey LLL
    12 Keatley
    11 Earls
    10 JJ
    9 Murray
    8 Cawwwlin
    7 TOD
    6 POM
    5 D Ryan
    4 POC
    3 BJ
    2 Casey
    1 Cronin

• Leinster by 60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

ah here can we not just get through this weekend's fixtures first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

ah here can we not just get through this weekend's fixtures first

That was my reaction but I think it's inevitable that the same arguments are going to keep coming up so maybe better to restrict it to a single thread?

I'll kick off the provincial mud-slinging so, shall I?

Leinster are, loike, way better than Munster, so they are. Discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

:( y u no like my thread

Although feel free to close if desired!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Ah sure we may as well have all the bitching in one thread.... :P

Defo think there'll be a little bit of sting in this fixture this year, as I imagine Schmidt will be in the stands and everyone wants to get in on the Schmidt train. Gonna be some massive moments I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I look forward to the logical, polite debate and unbiased views in this thread.

Teferi wrote: »
    I look forward to the logical, polite debate and unbiased views in this thread.

Banned.

.... There'll be no logic here, thank you very much.

Many people going to this? It'll be my first time at a Leinster/Munster clash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Should be a belter of a match. Both teams played pretty damn well when the internationals were off doing their thing and well we saw just what that thing was from the internationals. Also the small matter of tuning up for the matches against the two 'Toul's the week after too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Depending on how things go this weekend, I think Leinster team will be:

1. Healy
    2. Cronin
    3. Ross
    4. Toner
    5. McCarthy
    6. Ruddock
    7. Jennings
    8. Heaslip

9. Reddan
    10. Madigan
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. D'Arcy
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. McFadden
    15. R. Kearney

16. Strauss 17. McGrath 18. Moore 19. Cullen 20. Murphy 21. Boss 22. Gopperth 23. Kirchner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

The defending Pro 12 champions and current Six Nations Champions Vs the Leinster Castoffs :cool:

In all seriousness, I expect this to be a bigger/better match than usual. Munster players looking to show Joe what a mistake he made, Leinster incumbents looking to keep their place in the national team.

I suspect big games from Earls and JJ, and I think Zebo will be disappointed after the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

That was my reaction but I think it's inevitable that the same arguments are going to keep coming up so maybe better to restrict it to a single thread?

I'll kick off the provincial mud-slinging so, shall I?

Leinster are, loike, way better than Munster, so they are. Discuss.

Pfff, if you're going to be that half-hearted with your slinging, why bother.. ;)

It's Munster vs Ireland, with the Munster side - passionately bitter about being snubbed for Irish selection - taking to the field with the battlecry "Let's do it for Zebo".

Did I miss anything?

On a more serious note, I'm looking forward to this one, for a change! I don't think Leinster are quite where they were a season or two ago, while Munster seem to have something vaguely approaching a gameplan now. Should be a good contest.

:( y u no like my thread

cause from a mod point of view this is our week off between the cluster feck of the 6 Nations and the Munster V Leinster, and HEC weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Should be a cracking game.. For a change. I'd go with

6 Nations winner Healy
    6 Nations winner Cronin
    6 Nations winner Ross
    6 Nations winner Toner
    McCarthy
    6 Nations winner Ruddock
    Jennings
    6 Nations winner Heaslip
    6 Nations winner Reddan
    6 Nations winner Madigan
    6 Nations winner McFadden
    6 Nations winner D'Arcy
    6 Nations winner O'Driscoll
    6 Nations winner Dave Kearney
    6 Nations winner Rob Kearney

Munster, do your worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

Leinster should play the Acedemy team in prep for their A game the following week.

Toulon can wait.

Zebo to run riot against them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

yes

I have been to a couple of the previous Aviva games too and tbh I have been underwhelmed by the occassion

Much prefer RDS and Thomond Park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

I think Zebo will be disappointed after the match
    Why, will he only score two tries and miss out on the hattrick? :P

These games usually are great build up for the HEC matches that follow.
    As already said, Smith will be in the stand, so plenty will want to impress, esp considering Smiths comments on wanting to continue having a strong team/squad in Arg.

Tox56 wrote: »
    Munster, do your worst

I've a funny feeling they will be more thinking of it along the lines of
    6 Nations Hungover Healy
    6 Nations Hungover Cronin
    6 Nations Hungover Ross
    6 Nations Hungover Toner
    McCarthy
    6 Nations Hungover Ruddock
    Jennings
    6 Nations Hungover Heaslip
    6 Nations Hungover Reddan
    6 Nations Hungover Madigan
    6 Nations Hungover McFadden
    6 Nations Hungover D'Arcy
    Wait I thought I wasn't coming back here again O'Driscoll
    6 Nations Hungover Dave Kearney
    6 Nations Hungover Rob Kearney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Riskymove wrote: »
    yes

I have been to a couple of the previous Aviva games too and tbh I have been underwhelmed by the occassion

Whatever about the stadium, the quality of the match itself has been severely lacking in recent games. This is just set up to be a cracker, hopefully we get 2 first choice teams

yes

Even the first game wasn't great.

Would love to rotate with Ulster in the Aviva and beat Munster in RDS every second year. Much better craic.

Whatever about the stadium, the quality of the match itself has been severely lacking in recent games. This is just set up to be a cracker, hopefully we get 2 first choice teams

nah this will probably be as sh1t as usual. The importance of the following week's game will kill the spectacle of this match as per usual as nobody will want to show their hand and it will just become and slug fest

ssaye2 wrote: »
    Would love to rotate with Ulster in the Aviva and beat Munster in RDS every second year. Much better craic.

yes indeed, the day we beat Leinster 18-0 in the RDS was great craic alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

yes

Going too. I'd prefer the RDS as well, but derbys always get a good electric crowd, wherever they are.

I think this will probably be a bit more fiery than usual. However, it won't make a difference, some of the previous clashes have been really good games but have been over shadowed by the crowd who are mostly there to say they were there and just something to do before the drinks.

Kick up the arse we needed to win the HEC

Cheers

ssaye2 wrote: »
    Kick up the arse we needed to win the HEC

Cheers

you're welcome but....naah...that wasn't until a few months later when we did the double over ye in Thomond

anyways we were bored with HECs at that stage and were targetting the Great Magners League ( a much undervalued title)!

Going too. I'd prefer the RDS as well, but derbys always get a good electric crowd, wherever they are.

yes but at least in RDS and Thomond most know what rugby actually is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

1062.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Depending on how things go this weekend, I think Leinster team will be:

1. Healy
    2. Cronin
    3. Ross
    4. Toner
    5. McCarthy
    6. Ruddock
    7. Jennings
    8. Heaslip

9. Reddan
    10. Madigan
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. D'Arcy
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. McFadden
    15. R. Kearney

16. Strauss 17. McGrath 18. Moore 19. Cullen 20. Murphy 21. Boss 22. Gopperth 23. Kirchner
    Do you reckon he'll start Madigan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

Should be a very entertaining fixture. Both squads have essentially trained together for the last few months. Leinster's best performance this season has arguably been following the squad spending the Autumn training with Joe. On the other hand, there are numerous Munster players who will want to impress an onlooking Joe Schmidt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Hopefully this will be a dress rehearsal for a potential HC semi final in April..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I'm surprised people have JJ in their teams as it's been Keatley who has started at 10 for the recent big Rabo games (away to Lanelli and away to Ospreys) whereas JJ has started the easier games (home to Cardiff, and home to Zebre).

It's a big game I think for who will get the home SF and possibly even the home final.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I'm surprised people have JJ in their teams as it's been Keatley who has started at 10 for the recent big Rabo games (away to Lanelli and away to Ospreys) whereas JJ has started the easier games (home to Cardiff, and home to Zebre).

It's a big game I think for who will get the home SF and possibly even the home final.

JJ started away to Glasgow and put in a serious shift. I think Penney is giving real though to putting Keatley at 12 for Toulouse so I wouldn't be surprised to see JJ start at 10

I don't see it happening but as a Leinster fan I'd feel safer with Keatley at 10 and Downey at 12; more predictable and therefore easier to prepare for. If he did put JJ in at 10 and Keatley at 12, who knows what is going to happen?

But playing against Leinster in front of 50,000 people would be light years removed from anything Hanrahan has done so far so I'd say he'll stick with Keatley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

stephen_n wrote: »
    Do you reckon he'll start Madigan?

Personally, I would, but it depends on who he wants to start in Toulon. Whoever starts against Munster will start in Toulon.

It's risky, but I just think post Irish camp, Mad-Dog will be raring to go, with a bit of Josephication, he may regain his 2013 player of the year form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

The day Leinster beat Munster 30-0 in the RDS was more craic!

Bridge93 wrote: »
    The day Leinster beat Munster 30-0 in the RDS was more craic!

I'm sure it was .......but it's not as sweet as shutting out a rival in their home ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

I'm a watch at the ground Leinster v Munster virgin too.

Hopefully I can handle the excitement...

...I'll be coming early...

...but only to make sure I get to my seat on time.

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Hopefully I can handle the excitement...

...I'll be coming early...

they have pills for that now....allegedly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Think this is going to be Munster all the way. The majority of the Leinster lads are just back from a huge campaign and will find it difficult to give a toss - especially with Toulon the following week.
    Munster were really beginning to show some good form before the International break and must be chomping at the bit to prove a point.
    Munster by 10+ (damn me to hell)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Hard to call this one tbh. The Irish players will still be Schmidtified which should help Leinster more than Munster, but the Munster lads have played together more. I reckon it'll be tight enough and can't really call it right now.

Will be heading to the game myself. The Aviva games are nothing compared to the ones we had in the RDS. The atmosphere at those games was pretty electric.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭Zeebs

Should be a cracking game.. For a change. I'd go with

6 Nations winner Healy
    6 Nations winner Cronin
    6 Nations winner Ross
    6 Nations winner Toner
    McCarthy
    6 Nations winner Ruddock
    Jennings
    6 Nations winner Heaslip
    6 Nations winner Reddan
    6 Nations winner Madigan
    6 Nations winner McFadden
    6 Nations winner D'Arcy
    6 Nations winner O'Driscoll
    6 Nations winner Dave Kearney
    6 Nations winner Rob Kearney

Munster, do your worst

Can we really leave out 6 Nations winner and medalist Michael Bent?

I'm sure it was .......but it's not as sweet as shutting out a rival in their home ground

Must have been a pretty sweet feeling if it's lasted five and a half years.

Long time to be coming up to the big schmoke and going home empty handed while Leinster have been winning regularly at Thomond.

Clarification: I'm only kidding lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Zeebs wrote: »
    Can we really leave out 6 Nations winner and medalist Michael Bent?

I don't think 6N Medalist Michael Bent will make the squad if McGrath is fit. I doubt McGrath will play this weekend so he actually might be in line to start against Munster in order to keep him fresh, he's spent most of his time on the bench during the 6N.

Must have been a pretty sweet feeling if it's lasted five and a half years.

Long time to be coming up to the big schmoke and going home empty handed while Leinster have been winning regularly at Thomond.

Clarification: I'm only kidding lads.

Ah sure the two wins in 6 weeks including the Rabo final a couple of years later helps too

Btw this is the one game I don't need to travel to!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

A must-win from a Munster pov, we should be targeting this. We've had a good season, few blips which means we can't afford to drop many points.

Last few years Leinster have been better and easily won. Beating them in Thomond was a start, but I don't think it's impossible that we'd beat them in Lansdowne Road.

I'd go for:

Murphy, Earls, Casey, Keatley, Zebo, JJ, Murray
    Cronin, Casey, Botha, Ryan, POC, POM, TOD, Coughlan

Scannell, Killer, Archer, DOC/Foley, Dougall/Stander, Williams, Dineen/Hurley, GVdH

I doubt we'll see that exactly. It's great that we really do have loads of competition for places these days. I'd be happy with any of TOD, Coughlan, Dougall or Stander starting alongside POM in the back row; any of DOC, Ryan or Foley partnering POC.... Killer and Cronin have both been class, Casey has been a revelation.... we've got Murphy, Earls, Zebo and GvDH all playing well in the back 3.

I really hope he doesn't pick Downey, I think it'd be a mistake. The JJ-Keatley axis gives us a lot more creativity and our backline has been way better when they've played together.

SOB-less, I think we have a very good chance. I just don't think Leinster are clearly better than us anymore.

danthefan wrote: »
    I don't think 6N Medalist Michael Bent will make the squad if McGrath is fit. I doubt McGrath will play this weekend so he actually might be in line to start against Munster in order to keep him fresh, he's spent most of his time on the bench during the 6N.

broken collar bone no?

Leinster said it was minor injury so not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

LorMal wrote: »
    Think this is going to be Munster all the way. The majority of the Leinster lads are just back from a huge campaign and will find it difficult to give a toss - especially with Toulon the following week.
    Munster were really beginning to show some good form before the International break and must be chomping at the bit to prove a point.
    Munster by 10+ (damn me to hell)
    Dont see any world where Leinster will be entering this game, especially with Toulon the next weekend, with the mindset of finding it difficult to get up for the game. Firstly its Munster, secondly a loss means they go to second and probably third as Ulster should win up in Edinburgh.
    A lot of Leinster players and playing units have to get back into playing under MOC who is quite different to Schmidt
    Fireball07 wrote: »
    A must-win from a Munster pov, we should be targeting this. We've had a good season, few blips which means we can't afford to drop many points.

Last few years Leinster have been better and easily won. Beating them in Thomond was a start, but I don't think it's impossible that we'd beat them in Lansdowne Road.

I'd go for:

Murphy, Earls, Casey, Keatley, Zebo, JJ, Murray
    Cronin, Casey, Botha, Ryan, POC, POM, TOD, Coughlan

Scannell, Killer, Archer, DOC/Foley, Dougall/Stander, Williams, Dineen/Hurley, GVdH

I doubt we'll see that exactly. It's great that we really do have loads of competition for places these days. I'd be happy with any of TOD, Coughlan, Dougall or Stander starting alongside POM in the back row; any of DOC, Ryan or Foley partnering POC.... Killer and Cronin have both been class, Casey has been a revelation.... we've got Murphy, Earls, Zebo and GvDH all playing well in the back 3.

I really hope he doesn't pick Downey, I think it'd be a mistake. The JJ-Keatley axis gives us a lot more creativity and our backline has been way better when they've played together.

SOB-less, I think we have a very good chance. I just don't think Leinster are clearly better than us anymore.
    Agree its must win but as long as we're still at least second after the HEC QFs i'll be happy
    With way europe qualification has gone games we have against Connacht, Edinburgh are even more vital for them than any previous season
    I still worry every time with JJ/Keatley axis of potential injury and with both on pitch from start at same time the potential is much higher and with Toulouse a week later i dont think we should be doing it in that game
    Wouldnt pick both Keatley, JJ but not sure which i would pick to start and would pick Foley, Dougall, Dineen of the 3 you are unsure of on the bench