Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever feared for your life

• 28-04-2014 02:26PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭

I nearly drowned (or at least got into difficulty) swimming at a beach in Spain. Just for 5 -10 seconds I feared for my life.

Have you ever feared for your life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I dropped a plug in the middle of my bedroom in complete darkness one night, I just stood there till the morning for fear of standing on an upturned plug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

cannot even think about it...maybe later...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Graces7 wrote: »
    cannot even think about it...maybe later...

Right so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

When I walked into Coppers.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    When I walked into Coppers.

Wow. Feel 4 u hun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

Drowned and had to be given breath of life and all that when i was about 11.
    drifted out quite a bit from the end of a pier in the black sea in bulgaria on a lilo when i was about 13 - then had to paddle through a "school"(?) of jellyfish for about 15 minutes before getting back to land.

another time i nearly got hit (missed by about 6 inches) by a speeding stolen car in phibsboro.

another time i was electrocuted.

i fell out of a tree and fell unconcious another time as a kid.

took too many p!lls when i was 20 and thought i was going to die from palpitations.

nearly died in New York - that was the main one, and im not talking about that one.

Wow. Feel 4 u hun!

Yeah I got a woeful bang on the head and blacked out. It was scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

pundy wrote: »
    Drowned and had to be given breath of life and all that when i was about 11.
    drifted out quite a bit from the end of a pier in the black sea in bulgaria on a lilo when i was about 13 - then had to paddle through a "school"(?) of jellyfish for about 15 minutes before getting back to land.

another time i nearly got hit (missed by about 6 inches) by a speeding stolen car in phibsboro.

another time i was electrocuted.

i fell out of a tree and fell unconcious another time as a kid.

took too many p!lls when i was 20 and thought i was going to die from palpitations.

nearly died in New York - that was the main one, and im not talking about that one.

Judging by your avatar you've only two lives left.

Seriously though, are you just generally unlucky (or lucky I suppose) or clumsy? Glad you're stiull here with us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Most flights into Dublin, nice and serene from Europe, turbulence and jolting entering the Irish weather system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Kaycee2

When I was about 17 I was in a car with my boyfriend he must've thought he was driving on a rally track he was going so fast, I was giving out to him telling him to slow down that he'd kill us both, the words were only coming out of my mouth when we came around a sharp bend and were greeted by a wall, I can remember looking at the dashboard and then the wall in that split second and thinking I'm gonna break my nose and die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

iDave wrote: »
    Most flights into Dublin, nice and serene from Europe, turbulence and jolting entering the Irish weather system.

You just reminded me of landing in Geneva last month. About 30-45 minutes before landing another plane flew right across our path. I honestly think I was the only one who saw it as I was looking out the window at the time and nobody else reacted. I reckon we missed it by seconds. Flew right through his vapour trail. Then upon landing we had to pull up at the last minute as we made our descent at the wrong angle according to pilot.

Have had bad landings before and I'm usually a good flyer so that didn't bother me but the near miss had me frozen to seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Standing in the back of an open trailer while my Dad was driving up a hill he started to go up a route between two buildings where there was a metal wire hanging down that would have taken my head off. I ducked luckily with so little time to spare. I was about 12 at the time.

Also when I got hit by a bike I got caught in it and dragged up the road. I seemed to last for an eternity with my back being dragged across the road.

iDave wrote: »

I flew into Rome in the middle of a thunderstorm. I could see lightning hitting the plane outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

Collie D wrote: »
    Judging by your avatar you've only two lives left.

Seriously though, are you just generally unlucky (or lucky I suppose) or clumsy? Glad you're stiull here with us

not sure, i'd call it "luck" more than "unlucky" cos as you said, still here alive and well thank fook!! :P

i suppose i'd be clumsy enough - sure since january alone i've twisted my knee (out of action for a week or so with that) then i fractured my ribs, then when they healed over, i lasted about 2 days before i ripped a ligament in my chest muscles. OUCH.

i'm OK at the moment - no injuries at the minute! YAY! haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

An ex of mine drove me up a lane and told me he was going to kill me, I believed him, had to smash a cup (that was luckily lying on the car floor) into his face to escape the bollocks. Some farmer saved me on the road! Ah youth, good times! D:
    went too far with weed before, thought I was gonna have a stroke, got through and survived though :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

I nearly drowned (or at least got into difficulty) swimming at a beach in Spain. Just for 5 -10 seconds I feared for my life.

Have you ever feared for your life?

Yeah, was on a flight last weekend travelling to the UK, thought I'd never get off it. It was like the pilot was on crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Pa2k

Car crash out in the middle of nowhere , car flipped and ended up about ten feet below road height next to a river - seen it coming and couldn't do a thing but sit there and wait for it to happen.

Car crash again in the countryside friend showing off because he was trying to sell the car to some fella and it was a noisy yoke, giving it socks down a lane about 70 mph hit pothole, ditch, lands on roof then i could hear petrol coming from tank, couldn't see properly because of blood on my face after the air bag that must have been faulty trying to get seat belt off felt like eternity.

Had a few more scares including cancer, had chemo, surgery the whole lot, seem to be ok now and i'm only 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Twice, both times it was my fault. It's usually (but not always) the person's fault for getting themselves into that situation.

Pa2k wrote: »
    Car crash again in the countryside friend showing off because he was trying to sell the car to some fella and it was a noisy yoke, giving it socks down a lane about 70 mph hit pothole, ditch, lands on roof then i could hear petrol coming from tank, couldn't see properly because of blood on my face after the air bag that must have been faulty trying to get seat belt off felt like eternity.

Did yer man end up buying the car?:cool:

(Stay well Pa2k)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Pa2k

Did yer man end up buying the car?:cool:

(Stay well Pa2k)

Hahaha there wasn't much of the car left to buy!

I was also at a carnival one time, you know them dodgy carnivals that move around? Anyway, myself and the bf decided to go on this ride and the bar opened in the middle of it. We both slipped from our seats into the next seat, luckily the bar closed again or we were goners.

Most terrifying experience of my life. My arm was badly bruised the next day from trying to keep the bar down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭buyer95

pundy wrote: »
    not sure, i'd call it "luck" more than "unlucky" cos as you said, still here alive and well thank fook!! :P

i suppose i'd be clumsy enough - sure since january alone i've twisted my knee (out of action for a week or so with that) then i fractured my ribs, then when they healed over, i lasted about 2 days before i ripped a ligament in my chest muscles. OUCH.

i'm OK at the moment - no injuries at the minute! YAY! haha

I think you could go as far as to say you are clumsy! (I'm speaking from experience, and know a fellow clumsy person when I see them/read about their exploits on the internet.)

maguic24 wrote: »
    I was also at a carnival one time, you know them dodgy carnivals that move around? Anyway, myself and the bf decided to go on this ride and the bar opened in the middle of it. We both slipped from our seats into the next seat, luckily the bar closed again or we were goners.

Most terrifying experience of my life. My arm was badly bruised the next day from trying to keep the bar down.

There's nothing like the fear of feeling like your bar is the one they've forgotten to lock on a funfair ride.

In your case, this seems to have been a well founded fear though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I technically died in the back of an ambulance and was resuscitated, I was absolutely petrified as I could hear the moment I flatlined. I could also hear my mother loosing it and that was the worst as she is the most composed person I have ever met.

I also had a knife pulled on me in Gran Canaria, I didn't realise it at the time and it was only when the bloke was panned out that I saw the knife. I wouldn't have hit him if I had seen it. Very surreal as I was just sitting down at a hotdog cart and the bloke started acting very strange and getting in my face for no reason, he was off his head on something. Really knocked me for six and spent the rest of the holiday watching my back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Fell through the surface vegetation of a bog about 15 years ago. Ended up to my chin in a bog hole. It took close to 5 minutes just to get my arms free. Then only got out by slow steady pulling on a clump of grass. Left boots in the hole, stank to high heaven but was never so glad to get back on solid ground. Honestly thought my time was up as nobody knew I was in that area and it was too remote to even call for help.
    After the initial panic it was surprising how calm I became and I was even resigned to dieing if my attempts to drag myself out had failed. More that a few prayers were said during the incident and since I can tell you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Isolt

When skydiving. That moment you feel yourself fall from the edge of the plane. Very quickly the panic turns to acceptance and you have no choice but to go along with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Once, was chased by a bull, sounds funny but I thought i was a gonner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Isolt wrote: »
    When skydiving. That moment you feel yourself fall from the edge of the plane. Very quickly the panic turns to acceptance and you have no choice but to go along with it :)

yup, that initial moment when you roll out the plane door, survival instinct kicks in and the alarm bells are screaming in your head that this is very very wrong. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Had a gun pointed at my head during a robbery once, wasn't the most pleasant of experiences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Twice, I was one in a car driven by my aunt and she got a tyre blow out, thankfully she had been driving very slow as she didn't know the road so the car did not overturn or anything. I think the driver of the car behind us was more shocked. He told us afterwards he expected to find two bodies in the car.

Second time I was driving to work with a friend. There was a truck on the other side of road driving very fast. He hit a patch of ice and went skidding in across the road horizontally. He missed us by cms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Spent a year in Afghanistan, so quite a few times. Also had a gun pointed at my head by a drunk Abkhazian on Easter Sunday a couple of years ago who was convinced that I was a Russian who had just come across the border and therefore fair game to shoot. I take part in a few adventure sports too, which comes with inherent risk - been caught by an avalanche while climbing, and have had a a few minor paragliding incidents which have put the ****s up me for a few seconds before they resolved themselves.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Fell through the surface vegetation of a bog about 15 years ago. Ended up to my chin in a bog hole. It took close to 5 minutes just to get my arms free. Then only got out by slow steady pulling on a clump of grass. Left boots in the hole, stank to high heaven but was never so glad to get back on solid ground. Honestly thought my time was up as nobody knew I was in that area and it was too remote to even call for help.
    After the initial panic it was surprising how calm I became and I was even resigned to dieing if my attempts to drag myself out had failed. More that a few prayers were said during the incident and since I can tell you!

I agree with that. I ended up about 100m from the beach once, unable to swim back. I remember thinking wow, I knew I was going to die one day, is that it then. Then a stupid question came to my mind: ok what do I do now? HOW ABOUT TRYING NOT TO DROWN YOU FOOKIN TOOL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I fell while running away from mexican riot police at a WTA protest about 12 years ago. Thought I was a gonner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Yes. I shan't bore ye with the details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

I took a panic attack in the middle of an intense orgasm, being serious it was scary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

Yes. I shan't bore ye with the details.

Well, that was one thrill of a post to read!

My own: Being forced to buy huge amounts of hashish by Moroccan drug dealers in Morocco after they threatened to kill me. They said call the police if I want, they wont give a fúck. 2 days later I had a knife pulled on me by some homeless Moroccan dudes who then proceeded to steal everything I had

Also, going on buses/taxis up the Himalayas on these TINY NARROW roads, 10,000ft high... absolutely terrifying. This one taxi driver we had was stoned out of his tree and insisted on driving REALLY FAST up these tiny narrow roads in the middle of the fúcking Himalayas, was convinced we were going to swerve off. It was misty as fúck too.

Almost drowned as a kid but thats not that exciting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

turnikett1 wrote: »
    Well, that was one thrill of a post to read!

Thanks, I did try.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

When I was 8 and passed out after being bitten in the face by a German Shepherd. I woke up later in the school nurses' office covered in blood and thought I was going to die after looking down at myself. :eek:

That time my ex-husband choked me. :mad:

The mild heart attack I suffered a few years back. I could not get my breath.
    Recovery took a long time. Quite the wake up call too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Vote 4 Pedro

I have on 3 occasions,

1st I nearly drowned when i was about 9 swimming in a river, i remember going down and down and the light was fading away, i thought this is it mate..trying to swim back to the surface i blacked out, thankfully someone jumped into the river and pulled me out. i'd say i was only a few seconds away from death.

2nd time was when was 18, i got knocked of a bike by a drunken driver, when the car hit me i was thrown up in the air and i landed on the other side on the road, laying there looking at on coming traffic i shat my self...i was run over again and i lost a leg in that one.

3rd time we were on holiday in Dorset over in the UK, aged about 28 me and a friend bought one of those cheap inflatable dingy things and we set off from the beach to see how far we dare go out to sea, knowing it was only a cheap dingy we wasn't going to go far but anyway we set off and we got really far out to sea and could only just still see the shore line we set off rowing back to the beach but the sea was to strong and we were being taken further out, we were panicking a good bit by now and as the waves got bigger we were about 4 hours till we got back, it started as a joke but it was not funny. lesson learned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

I stood on Lego once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

RoboRat wrote: »
    I technically died in the back of an ambulance and was resuscitated, I was absolutely petrified as I could hear the moment I flatlined. I could also hear my mother loosing it and that was the worst as she is the most composed person I have ever met.

I also had a knife pulled on me in Gran Canaria, I didn't realise it at the time and it was only when the bloke was panned out that I saw the knife. I wouldn't have hit him if I had seen it. Very surreal as I was just sitting down at a hotdog cart and the bloke started acting very strange and getting in my face for no reason, he was off his head on something. Really knocked me for six and spent the rest of the holiday watching my back.

Can I just ask out of curiosity, what's being dead like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

When I was 18 yrs old, I was out with my mates. Anyway, at the end of the night outside of a nightclub, one of the lads bumped into a chap who he didn't like. Bad blood between these two for months at this stage and the inevitable happened, they started into it. There were only 4 lads in my group and 2 girls so we were seriously outnumbered. I sent one of the girls into the nightclub to call the security out and we tried to help out the mate who was boxing. The security came out in a serious hurry and the whole thing fizzled out.

Now, for us to get home, we had 2 options - walk through enemy territory to a taxi rank or call one of the lads' older brothers and come get us. We decided to call home and walked to a phone box (1995 - no mobiles) Myself and one of the girls headed off and left the rest behind. The phone box was only a 2 minute walk from the nightclub so we thought we would be safe enough. Just as we were approaching the phonebox we noticed a couple of lads in hoodies approaching from the other side. I noticed them as mates of the lad my buddy had been boxing with so I had a feeling there could be some bother. I was with one of the girls so was afraid for her safety obviously. We got to the phone box and I told her to get inside. I took off my jacket to get ready for business. Next thing one of the sh1theads pulls out a claw hammer from under his jacket. I swear to Jesus, I nearly crapped myself. Talk about blind panic.

I couldn't run as my girl mate was in the phonebox. I couldn't fight as there were two against 1 and they had a hammer. So what the fúck could I do. I bluffed. I called out to the lad with the hammer and the conversation went like this -

Listen fúckbrain, put down the hammer and don't be a complete ape. Are you really willing to use that on me. If you are, go ahead. But, if you do, you had better do a good enough job that I will never be able to come back at you. Because if I do, I will bring all my mates and my uncles and we will come into town and burn your family in their beds. Then we will go to after your cousins and your grandparents. We will not stop until we are finished with every last one of ye.

He was a cowardly little pr1ck because he put the hammer back under his jacket and they both walked away.

I have never been so frightened in my life........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭jiminho

Might sound daft but the very first time I got winded.

I must have been 3-5 years old and was playing footy. I was running around the place like a lunatic so i was already out of breath when my friends dad launched a shot (or a strong pass :P) into my stomach. I just remember being upset initially and the adults coming over to me before slowly everything became silent and i got very lightheaded, then i passed out.

I remember it clear to this day.

Can I just ask out of curiosity, what's being dead like?

It was very strange as I went into anaphylaxis, my heart went to 205 bpm before cardiac arrest and my tongue and throat were completely swollen. I could hear everything and my mind was racing. I could hear the ambulance men going from concern to all out 'save your ass' mode.

It was so scary but then I kind of just felt very peaceful, its hard to describe, it was like desperately trying to keep a hold of something until you realise you can't hold it anymore and you feel remorse but also a certain release as holding that thing was really painful and now your muscles can relax and there is a sense of warmth and relief.

That is about as close as I can describe, its just really really strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

RoboRat wrote: »
    It was very strange as I went into anaphylaxis, my heart went to 205 bpm before cardiac arrest and my tongue and throat were completely swollen. I could hear everything and my mind was racing. I could hear the ambulance men going from concern to all out 'save your ass' mode.

It was so scary but then I kind of just felt very peaceful, its hard to describe, it was like desperately trying to keep a hold of something until you realise you can't hold it anymore and you feel remorse but also a certain release as holding that thing was really painful and now your muscles can relax and there is a sense of warmth and relief.

That is about as close as I can describe, its just really really strange.
    Sounds so peaceful yet scary as hell at the same time........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Yeah, was on a flight last weekend travelling to the UK, thought I'd never get off it. It was like the pilot was on crack.

Ryanair? :D

Maphisto wrote: »
    Ryanair? :D

Yes. In their defence (not flying any flags for O'Leary), it was the first time I have had an unpleasant flight with them.

Jaysus, I'm getting queasy just thinking about it.

Sounds so peaceful yet scary as hell at the same time........

Yeah its very weird and this may sound morbid, but I used to really fear death, I mean I would get a panic attack thinking about it, but now, I don't fear it as much. Don't get me wrong, I love being alive but this incident has made me really change my outlook on life; I used to be lazy and didn't push myself whereas now I have goals that I set myself and I want to look back on my life with pride. I used to think I would live to 80 or so and there was plenty of time to achieve but it really puts the frailty of live into perspective so you need to live every day like it could be your last.

I was also extremely lucky as there was a lot of things that just fell in place that day that ensured my survival. If any of these circumstances didn't happen, I wouldn't have survived. I'm not religious but I really think there was somebody looking out for me that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Yes. In their defence (not flying any flags for O'Leary), it was the first time I have had an unpleasant flight with them.

Jaysus, I'm getting queasy just thinking about it.

I had a similar flight with Aer Arann, coming into Knock years ago. It was pouring rain and very strong winds and he kept circling the airport. The plane was bouncing about one chap had his rosary beads out and was doing an off putting chanty thing.

My wife said this is fun. I thought best not say "Goodbye" - Leave everyone happy. Next thing the plane dropped about 10 feet my wife screamed which set off two others. Next thing he smacked it down on the tarmac so hard a number that a number of over head lockers opened.

Taxied to a stop and everyone clapped. Fair play to the pilot.

The plane was a Fokker and I've never been on one since.

Maphisto wrote: »
    I had a similar flight with Aer Arann, coming into Knock years ago. It was pouring rain and very strong winds and he kept circling the airport. The plane was bouncing about one chap had his rosary beads out and was doing an off putting chanty thing.

My wife said this is fun. I thought best not say "Goodbye" - Leave everyone happy. Next thing the plane dropped about 10 feet my wife screamed which set off two others. Next thing he smacked it down on the tarmac so hard a number that a number of over head lockers opened.

Taxied to a stop and everyone clapped. Fair play to the pilot.

The plane was a Fokker and I've never been on one since.

Could have been worse, could have been flying with this crew:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/drunk-abusive-air-crew-caused-mayhem-266875.html
    In the complaint, Mr Jacobs said when he asked to speak to the purser (chief flight attendant) after hot tea was spilled on his wife, the flight attendant was “abusive, threatening and angry”, and “appeared to be quite intoxicated”.
    “When another passenger tapped Mr X on the arm to tell him he was out of line, the purser threatened to have the other passenger and several of us arrested,” Mr Jacobs said.
    The attendant’s report for Aer Lingus stated: “X then said ‘You are going to jail’. He charged through mid-cabin shouting loudly that the man was going to jail.”
    Mr Jacobs also describes how another flight attendant who “smelled strongly of whiskey” asked him to keep quiet. He was told by Mr Y that “the law was on the side of the flight attendants after September 11”.
    “About half an hour later, Mr Y summoned me to one of the galleys, where he and I were alone. He smelled strongly of whiskey,” said Mr Jacobs.
    “He told me that as long as I promised to keep quiet and not let the matter go beyond the flight, my wife and I would not be arrested upon arrival. He then told me that the passenger who had tapped Mr X on the arm would be arrested upon arrival for assaulting a flight attendant.”