Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Water meter protests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I hate the idea of water charges. People pay tax so the service of having fresh water in the tap should be free. As it was for many years. But the sad reality is that these meters are in. They cost the government alot of money doing so. They are going to get their return.

It was never 'free'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Lofty123

KOTSC wrote: »
    And that wasnt the only recent poll showing that a good per % of people oppose water charges.

Article (Public rage at water charges speeding Sinn Fein rise)

Yay, bring on the shinners, sure the rich will pay for everything! (not sure what we'll do when they all leave though) ;)

http://www.thejournal.ie/protest-taoiseach-water-1513867-Jun2014/

The protesters confronted the Taoiseach in Raheny earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,232 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

endacl wrote: »
    It was never 'free'.

But there wasnt 'water meters' years ago was there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,484 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Uriel. wrote: »
    When it comes to resources such as water people should pay for the service they use, as they use it - not some blanket cost to the exchequer. Paying for service on a polluter pays principle basis, helps to reduce waste, but also allows better management of finances. Why should a one person household pay the same as a 6 person household?

The more services that go this direction, coupled with reductions in general taxation the better we as a nation can finance our services and manage our national budget.
    but general taxation isn't going to go down, its going to go up and keep going up along with these service charges, thats the reality

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

But there wasnt 'water meters' years ago was there ;)

No, there weren't. I'd be anti the metering system, by the way. Just for clarity! On the other hand, there are a lot of people complaining that things 'used to be free'. They never were. They all had to be paid for.

I don't like to see an administration in essence saying to the people 'yeah, ye gave us loads of cash in taxes to run the place but we cocked it up. Give us more'. I'm not talking about the likes of motor tax here, but basic services that everybody uses.

The lack of meters didn't mean it was free. Just that it wasn't metered. It still cost money to get from the reservoir to your tap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

blackwhite wrote: »
    And a car that's parked up off the road can be exempted from motor tax.
    You only need to pay motor tax if you want to use it on the road (i.e. start polluting).
    Correction: I can pay for a minimum of three calendar months if I want to use it for 5 minutes. That's not quite the same.

No Pants wrote: »
    Correction: I can pay for a minimum of three calendar months if I want to use it for 5 minutes. That's not quite the same.

Arra, I'd chance it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

endacl wrote: »
    Arra, I'd chance it...

You mustn't have my luck. I'd drive out of my estate and into the middle of a Garda parade. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Just saw this posted on Reddit

http://i.imgur.com/gWADurN.jpg

Probally on overtime as well were there childeren a out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Coat22 wrote: »
    Of course this is the most hated of all austerity measures because there is no getting away from this one boys and girls. Not like USC, abolishing the PRSI ceiling and a property tax that only 50% of the country have to pay. This one is for everyone – no exceptions (yet) for the council house dwellers, those on undeclared income etc. The coping classes are not going to have to shoulder this one all on their own and its hurting the noisy neighbours

Yes exactly.

The only people who have a rational (but possibly selfish) reason for being against water charges are the ones who don't pay tax or who know they are using much more water than average - i.e. the people who are currently getting their "free" water paid for by the rest of the population through general taxation, and will lose this benefit.

In my view other people should reasonably support the change as if not a water charge it would inevitably have been a higher tax hike for them to swallow. But of course it still is an additional cost for them and there is no chance it will lead to lower taxation - which is probably pushing some of them to protest as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 ciarawira

Should we take your word that the water quality will get worse?

You still haven't answered the question by the way - would you be in favour of water charges is the meters were of better quality (and therefore more expensive, costing taxpayers more)?

And you haven't addressed my point that we are not paying enough taxes to cover water charges as it is.

From reading your posts, it seems like you're just parroting off objections that you've read on the Dublin Says No Facebook page to be honest.

the quality is worse where i am ,hense the reason for me protesting!

as i said before not necessarily as they would have to fix my water before i would consider paying.

well it's nice to know i am not alone !

It takes a certain type of mentality for these people to make a holy show of themselves; the type that craves attention for being the 'rebel' in society.

Everybody else accepts that it isn't the most welcome form of tax but that ultimately it is necessary and has to be dealt with like responsible adults.

We can have our say at the next elections, rather than disrupting people from doing their jobs just because you lot have a permanent chip of entitlement on your shoulder.

On this basis, I'll tar you all twice with the same brush and still have lots left over for same.

"These people" are you for real?!

just because you are more than happy to bend over and take it up the arse doesn't mean that we all have to!

i have my say at every election but not everyone is of the same mind ! i never disrupted anyone from doing their job as i just had a friendly word with the workers in my area and they said " that's grand , sure we don't care"!! Yes i have a chip of entitlement as I AM ENTITLED to quality water!!

Tar me all you like even though you haven't a clue about me or my situation!

ciarawira wrote: »

as i said before not necessarily as they would have to fix my water before i would consider paying.

But if everybody is like you and doesn't want to pay until things get better (being through water charges or general taxation), where is the money to improve your service going to come from?

So in what way is the cover harmful, dangerous or substandard?ld

well if you have kids in your area and the cover is smashed up be it from thugs/vandals or a car driving over it to park etc. it would shatter easily because it is plastic and with young children in the area they could get hurt ! And before you ask yes i have seen it happen but luckily i copped it before any harm was done!

Bob24 wrote: »
    Yes exactly.

The only people who have a rational (but possibly selfish) reason for being against water charges are the ones who don't pay tax or who know they are using much more water than average - i.e. the people who are currently getting their "free" water paid for by the rest of the population through general taxation, and will lose this benefit.

In my view other people should reasonably support the change as if not a water charge it would inevitably have been a higher tax hike for them to swallow. But of course it still is an additional cost for them and there is no chance it will lead to lower taxation - which is probably pushing some of them to protest as well.

i pay my taxes yet i am against water charges!and i preserve as mush as possible also use a water butt!

well if you have kids in your area and the cover is smashed up be it from thugs/vandals or a car driving over it to park etc. it would shatter easily because it is plastic and with young children in the area they could get hurt ! And before you ask yes i have seen it happen but luckily i copped it before any harm was done!

If I am to believe this Wikipedia article, the only other country in the world where water is free is Turkmenistan.

There are billions of meters which have been installed elsewhere in the world for decades. A number countries in the rest of the world must be using similar meters to ours.

Regardless of being in favour or against water charges, are you really saying their is evidence of them been that dangerous?

But if everybody is like you and doesn't want to pay until things get better (being through water charges or general taxation), where is the money to improve your service going to come from?

well they should of thought of that one before they started installing meters! where did the money for the meters come from? if they had of used the money instead of buying meters and used it instead to better the quality of water they could have brought in a blanket charge to pay for the meters! just my opinion !

the only other country in the world where water is free is Turkmenistan. A number countries in the rest of the world must be using similar meters to ours.

There are billions of meters which have installed elsewhere in the world for decades. Regardless of being in favour or against water charges, are you really saying their is evidence of them been that dangerous?

other country?
    we never had "free" water! i don't know if every other country in the world has meters!
    no i don't have evidence as the workers were close by so i got them to change it! don't take pictures of everything i see so didn't come to mind until it was said !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I'm not against water charges if they improve the water quality. But will it? It will me hole. :rolleyes:

other country?
    we never had "free" water! i don't know if every other country in the world has meters!
    no i don't have evidence as the workers were close by so i got them to change it! don't take pictures of everything i see so didn't come to mind until it was said !

You got what I meant - Ireland is one of the only 2 countries in the world where people don't have to pay for the water they are using, and in most countries it is charged based on meters. If they were that dangerous it would be clearly documented at this stage.

well they should of thought of that one before they started installing meters! where did the money for the meters come from? if they had of used the money instead of buying meters and used it instead to better the quality of water they could have brought in a blanket charge to pay for the meters! just my opinion !

So you'd be happy to pay a blanket charge? Surely the meters is a fairer system? Would you want to pay the same a year as say a household with 7 or 8 people in it?

If the money is used to improve the quality of water & the water infrastructure that's gotta be a good use of the money generated rather than just being profit for a company.

You got what I meant - Ireland is one of the only 2 countries in the world where people don't have to pay for the water they are using, and in most countries it is charged based on meters. If they were that dangerous it would be clearly documented at this stage.

i actually didn't get what you meant ,but do now,sorry.
    its the covers i am talking about if one is an acception to the rule so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

So you'd be happy to pay a blanket charge? Surely the meters is a fairer system? Would you want to pay the same a year as say a household with 7 or 8 people in it?

If the money is used to improve the quality of water & the water infrastructure that's gotta be a good use of the money generated rather than just being profit for a company.

Because there is no incentive at the moment not to waste water average usage in Ireland is much higher than in countries where it is metered and charged for. So one result of metering should be a reduction in the amount of water which has to be treated and supplied. Since the supply in the greater Dublin area is apparently on a knife edge this should help to ease matters until new infrastructure can be provided.

Just as an aside another "country" which doesn't charge for water is Northern Ireland but their infrastructure is very poor as evidenced by the disaster of the winter a couple of years back.

i didn't say i was happy to pay a blanket charge ! i was merely giving an example of how they could have done it! i am sure there are many different ways they could have gone about it !

that's a big if! who's to say they wont sell it off to a private company who will hike up the bill continuously for profit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

One could say that about every element that adorns our public Street. One should point the finger at the so called thugs. Incidentally Have you tested the covers.?

i didn't say i was happy to pay a blanket charge ! i was merely giving an example of how they could have done it! i am sure there are many different ways they could have gone about it !

that's a big if! who's to say they wont sell it off to a private company who will hike up the bill continuously for profit?
    Who is to say anything. Conjecture and fantasy won't convince many, no matter how dull their lives

One could say that about every element that adorns our public Street. One should point the finger at the so called thugs. Incidentally Have you tested the covers.?

yes one could and i am sure some do!without sufficient evidence i wouldn't be one to point my finger at anyone! no as i don't have one nor am i going to because i am not a vandal!

Who is to say anything. Conjecture and fantasy won't convince many, no matter how dull their lives

that goes for both sides of the "argument"

but general taxation isn't going to go down, its going to go up and keep going up along with these service charges, thats the reality

Which would indicate the reality that we aren't paying enough for the services we get. Which is true. We've taken two approaches in tandem during the "crisis" reduce expenditure and increase charges. It seems people aren't happy with either. Which is fine, but something must give. We can't continue as we are.

As much as it pains me, sometimes I wish the shinners would come to power, let everyone experience the poverty line for a whole, destroy the country, then let everyone come to their senses... Then I come to my senses