Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you like to have a gun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭aaakev

worded wrote: »
    The best weapon against a burglar is a fire extinguisher. Non lethal and can be used at a distance.

I everyone could get a gun in Ireland, half the population would be dead and the other half in jail

Anyone can get one as long as they have a good reason, any idea how many there are licenced in Ireland at the moment? About 240,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have my nunchucks since 1985. Never goes out of style...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

A gun? No thanks. I'm always reminded of the adage that if you draw a gun, you'd better be prepared to use it.

There are too many horror stories surrounding guns in homes. There are very good reasons for the most part why burglars leave the gun at home.

SD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭lapua20grain

i have 6 no issues would have no compunction using any of them against someone that was threatening my family. have to point out i do not have them for that reason but for competition and game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I don't really feel that unsafe in my own home to warrant the buying of a firearm. And having a gun just lying by your bed in the unlikely case you become the victim of a home invasion? That just seems somewhat negligent, honestly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

i have 6 no issues would have no compunction using any of them against someone that was threatening my family. have to point out i do not have them for that reason but for competition and game.

I gotta tell ye, that was a difficult read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,239 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

It would be handy to kill burglars through the closed door of the bathroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Had one for hunting but sold it on. I don't feel unsafe enough to need one at home.

Plus I'd be ok to beat someone unconscious with my interpretive dance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,826 ✭✭✭dmc17

its very easy to say yes id rather have a gun.. but using it to shoot some one is a different story.. i reckon most would freeze up if they had to point blank shoot someone intruding in their house.

Nah, these modern guns don't tend to freeze up as much as the vintage ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

The only person that there'd be a chance of me using a gun on is myself, so I'd rather not have one anywhere near me, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭lapua20grain

whirlpool wrote: »
    I gotta tell ye, that was a difficult read.
    feckin computer bunched time for a new one i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

In the above scenario, a gun is pretty useless. Being awoken to find someone standing in your room is terrifying, no matter who you are or level of training. Waking from deep sleep, you are confused, anxious, near blind, frightened and weak. The chances of getting the drop on a prepared, wide awake, violent burglar are very much stacked against you.

If your room was locked and you knew someone was in the house, a firearm would certainly be of use, but ONLY if you had already trained and played out the same scenario many, many times, under stressful conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

whirlpool wrote: »
    Imagine it. The middle of the night, you're sleeping in your bed, when you're woken up by a burglar in your room with a baseball bat. The burglar threatens you...

Would you rather have a gun or not have a gun in that situation?

The Poll question is and the main question of this post is Would you like to have a gun?

No! I'd sooner puck the head of them with my hurley. If they used it against me at least greater chance I'd still be breathing with a machine, as opposed to having a gun used against me! :eek:

Now, one lickle sh!te of a child in the car in-front of me today started waving his gun out the back-seat window. Aren't kids supposed to be strapped into the back seat and not free to have some of their body out the window and wave a gun out around the place outside the window :confused:
    I once saw a child shoot a pellet-gun at the car directly in-front of mine and it ended up cracking their windscreen.
    This lickle sh1te scared the bajazus outta me today so he did! I kept trying to move myself outta their field of vision in event it was one of those pellet guns, but he kept manouvering his gun to point at drivers windscreen :mad:

How it this even allowed by the accompanying parents,
    kerry4sam

/that reminds me, I must locate my hurley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Ah gawd I'd love one. A nice assault rifle. See an intruder, tag him in the lower leg and rifle whip him with the butt.

My white vest would get ripped in the process and I would get bloodstains from the intruder. Walk out of the house like John maclane in a wet t shirt competition. To applause from the guards from the local precinct.

And find a fit lady who I grab and kiss passionately because my other half was killed in the scuffle.

Sun sets

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

As a keen target shooter I have firearms in my home.
    As with all of the people that I shoot with my firearms are disassembled and securely stored. I do this not only to comply with the law but also because I have children in my home and to ensure that criminals can't gain access to my firearms.
    This means that even if I wanted to use my firearms against an intruder it would not be possible as it would take too long to access more than one safe, assemble and load.
    If I felt I needed a firearm for protection in my home I would move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I totally understand the logic behind the strict gun laws here compared to in other countries, but saying that I would still love to own a gun myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

I'd like to try out all the assault rifles, shotguns, pistols, revolvers, sniper rifles, plasma rifles, uzis, and machine guns I'm so used to seeing in the movies and playing in games. In a safe a controlled environment like a shooting range mind.
    But to actually have a firearm in my home, no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,697 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Easily accessible is exactly what you don't want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭paddypowder

guns are easily accessed by criminals
    I think its about time people were allowed to protect themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

OP=Oscar Pistorius?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,222 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

I have two already but if I had the money etc. I'd have 5/6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I'd love to have a gun just to shoot the light out at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Problem with this scenario is that a person with morals is up against a skanger with none. The law abiding person will flintch where the skanger will not.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yep I'd like a Mauser C96 pistol in 7.63 please. I'm pretty OK with a rifle and a shotgun, but pistols not so much. I've had a go of a few types over the years and if you were 25ft away you'd be only marginally in danger, but for some reason the above antique old yoke was the only one I could get pretty decent groups and consistently too. Like at 50 ft I'd be breaking out the rosary beads if I were you. Dunno why. Feels nice in the hand, though heavy. You could use it to bludgeon the scumbag if you ran out of rounds. And it's Han Solos gun minus the add ons so bonus points there. Has the Judge Dredd vibe to it too. A space gun designed in the late 1800's. Very expensively made. No screws in the mechanism. Slots together ike a Chinese puzzle. The only screws are there to secure the grip. A custom made brand new one would be cool.

Or a Thompson submachine gun. Can't beat a Tommy gun for general mayhem. Never fired one, but did hold one. Weighed a bloody ton(tonne for the kidz).

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Had a shotgun but gave it to the guards years ago, no need for it.

There was some look of panic on the guard's face when I walked into the station with it.

I can imagine one of them reaching for the stapler and the other one firing elastic bands at you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I've a very large machete near the bed and a very large dog downstairs (and a little one to wake up the big one).
    pretty accurate for up close and less chance of hurting someone I don't want to hurt.

*also very handy in a zombie emergency

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

oldyouth wrote: »
    Problem with this scenario is that a person with morals is up against a skanger with none. The law abiding person will flintch where the skanger will not.

Ah, don't bet on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Wibbs wrote: »
    Yep I'd like a Mauser C96 pistol in 7.63 please. I'm pretty OK with a rifle and a shotgun, but pistols not so much. I've had a go of a few types over the years and if you were 25ft away you'd be only marginally in danger, but for some reason the above antique old yoke was the only one I could get pretty decent groups and consistently too. Like at 50 ft I'd be breaking out the rosary beads if I were you. Dunno why. Feels nice in the hand, though heavy. You could use it to bludgeon the scumbag if you ran out of rounds. And it's Han Solos gun minus the add ons so bonus points there. Has the Judge Dredd vibe to it too. A space gun designed in the late 1800's. Very expensively made. No screws in the mechanism. Slots together ike a Chinese puzzle. The only screws are there to secure the grip. A custom made brand new one would be cool.

Or a Thompson submachine gun. Can't beat a Tommy gun for general mayhem. Never fired one, but did hold one. Weighed a bloody ton(tonne for the kidz).

I had one of those Mausers in the UK, very nice weapon, heavy and steady. The luger sits even nicer in your hand btw, it is literally like pointing. They did nice gun in those days. A Walther p22 is another nice piece - small, light and compact, no recoil and very well made. I like the feel of a pistol, there's somthing very equalising about them. That or a big, squirty 12 gauge. Not much aiming required. I'm never too far from one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭...__...

I have two and a camera system one night about two and a half months ago i seen a guy about to go towards the house
    I had a few glasses of scotch in me and was in a bit of a panic. I rang my neighbour and the cops and ran out screaming armed gardai never once did I even contemplate getting a weapon. Its just too much bull**** if you did kill someone and if I did into a hole they would go as Im not having his scum relatives coming back to get me pretty sure burgulars dont discuss what houses there going to do that night in case they dont make it back.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

No but I'd like to be legally able to shoot our neighbours alarm. It's been going off a lot recently.