Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC signs Pro Wrestler CM Punk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

"I'm either here to win or get my ass kicked."

Durrrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭ASOT

There just going to sign some unknown fighter from some random organisation to feed him a win and sell some PPVs, whatever card he goes on will go well because of his cult following from WWE, great business move by the UFC. Should give him a shot against Weidman for the absolute lols and watch him be eaten alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

If he does well in UFC it's going to do a lot of damage to their credibility but it'll make money in the short-term and he'll talk himself into the casual fan's interest. A huge **** you to Vince McMahon though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

It was announced during UFC 181 earlier, he was on there being interviewed about it by Joe. Cant see him doing much, he was saying more than likely he will fight at middleweight. Hes very inexperienced when it comes to MMA but i guess time will tell how he progresses between now and his debut.

Axwell wrote: »
    It was announced during UFC 181 earlier, he was on there being interviewed about it by Joe. Cant see him doing much, he was saying more than likely he will fight at middleweight. Hes very inexperienced when it comes to MMA but i guess time will tell how he progresses between now and his debut.

Hes training with Big Country & Gracie apparently, and they said he obsess over whatever hes doing and think he will obsess over this which should get him to a decent level... Maybe decent for regional level but not UFC level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,259 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If he does well in UFC it's going to do a lot of damage to their credibility ...
    Why?
    ASOT wrote: »
    Hes training with Big Country & Gracie apparently, and they said he obsess over whatever hes doing and think he will obsess over this which should get him to a decent level... Maybe decent for regional level but not UFC level.

He's been training bjj for a while.
    This video is almost 3 years old and he isn't moving like a beginner.

I wouldn't be surprised if he grappling ability surprises a lot if people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

If he does well in UFC it's going to do a lot of damage to their credibility but it'll make money in the short-term and he'll talk himself into the casual fan's interest. A huge **** you to Vince McMahon though.

I have zero interest in wrestling so I don't know the politics involved in this but in what way is this a **** you to Vince Macmahon??

My understanding was that he had retired or am I way off??

John_D80 wrote: »
    I have zero interest in wrestling so I don't know the politics involved in this but in what way is this a **** you to Vince Macmahon??

My understanding was that he had retired or am I way off??

He had left the WWE, well had be fired after he went on a hiatus, he had a non compete with the UFC in his contract and as soon as that was all sorted out he jumped to the UFC. He was still one of the biggest draws in the WWE and the whole time he was gone they were all thinking it was just a work by the WWE and that he would be back soon etc. Massive FU to Vince because hes arguably after losing one of there biggest draws to more or less there direct competitor.

Thanks. Crazy that the UFC and WWE are considered competitors though.

Yeah I never taught much about it until recently when it came out that basically most WWE contracts have non competes with the UFC, I suppose it shows the state of Pro Wrestling at the moment. There haemorrhaging money after there version of Fight Pass called WWE Network basically bombed and done nowhere near as well as they taught, So losing any of there draws must be really bad for them, especially now when Brock comes back to the UFC after his contracts up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Mellor wrote: »
    Why?
    It pretty much shows reduces the image of really skilled, best in the world athletes to if you can make us money and have a competent MMA background you can fight for us. CM Punk is not a physically impressive man.

True but to be fair I don't think it even has to get to that. They've already made a mockery of themselves by signing him in the first place.

It's been a long long time since Bruce Buffer has announced a UFC fighter making their pro debut.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,877 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

True but to be fair I don't think it even has to get to that. They've already made a mockery of themselves by signing him in the first place.

It's been a long long time since Bruce Buffer has announced a UFC fighter making their pro debut.
    James Toney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

If he goes 0-3 and bombs every fight, sure it makes a mockery of the signing.

But if he turns up with some sort of real skillset and does well against proper opponents. Then I don't see how it does.

I don't see how anyone can judge his ability or credibility before we see him fight.

If he goes 0-3 and bombs every fight, sure it makes a mockery of the signing.

But if he turns up with some sort of real skillset and does well against proper opponents. Then I don't see how it does.

I don't see how anyone can judge his ability or credibility before we see him fight.

In fairness, his ability or indeed credibility isn't the issue here. If anything it's the credibility of the UFC that is being questioned by many.

He is a 0-0 fighter being signed by the premier MMA promotion on the planet, probably on a very generous contract.

In fairness, his ability or indeed credibility isn't the issue here. If anything it's the credibility of the UFC that is being questioned by many.

He is a 0-0 fighter being signed by the premier MMA promotion on the planet, probably on a very generous contract.
    He's instantly a bigger draw than a least half the roster, if not more. His contract deserves to be generous for that reason alone. Is it fair, probably not. But it's a basic fact if promotion. I thought everyone understood that these days, especially given McGregor's rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

On one hand I can see why guys who've been fighting for years would be upset that this newbie is getting way more money and higher billing than they are, which I suppose could lead to fighters looking to make a name from him.

Though it's easy to see UFC's point of view. They get a guaranteed draw, they gain mainstream media attention and the casual viewer is instantly interested to see how this "wrestling guy" gets on in a real fight. Does it call into question the company's legitimacy? Yes, but the financial rewards outweigh such questions.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,877 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

darced wrote: »
    And in fairness to Punk he can't do any worse than Toney did. I dont think Toney had ever even bothered to look at a MMA fight before in his life and had no interest beyond talking some thrash and collecting his 400k. You're right that you cant really compare the two, but the UFC has made a mockery of itself for years, this is nothing new.

I don't think Batista wanted to continue MMA after his first fight, I heard he is set to play the new Bond villain actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

Pro Wrestling fans: Punk's gonna get destroyed, I gotta see this.
    MMA Fans: Punk's gonna get destroyed, I gotta see this.

This is exactly the reason why he's signed. Instant PPV boost and He gets to tick it off his bucket list.

Anyway if all else fails, he's pretty damn good on commentary (did a stint on WWE Raw back in 2010 during an injury).

He's instantly a bigger draw than a least half the roster, if not more.

Regrettably, this is so very true. In fact let's call a spade a spade. More so than 90% probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

Its good for the UFC, people who have never watched before will tune in to check it out and some will stick around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

it makes money which i what the ufc is about

This in a nutshell, I have friends who are mad into wrestling now and loved punk who have already started talking about how they cant wait for him to fight etc, it will bring in a serious amount of viewers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Devastator wrote: »

well why the **** not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

well why the **** not

:confused: I dunno, just posting the link for others.

I didnt watch power rangers and gre out of wwf over 20 years ago which I'm guessing was before the punks time. I dont know who either of them are

Devastator wrote: »
    :confused: I dunno, just posting the link for others.

I didnt watch power rangers and gre out of wwf over 20 years ago which I'm guessing was before the punks time. I dont know who either of them are

it's about making money so i wouldn't be shocked by a gimmicky match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

darced wrote: »

I take it you don't watch wrestling then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

The UFC don't see WWE as competitors maybe, but the WWE sure as hell see the UFC as competitors as is evident from how the colour commentary in WWE changed post Brock Lesner fighting in the UFC.

Punk's an interesting guy imo, at 36 though? I know he has some BJJ and Kenpo to him but would not really want to see anything less than a credible fight for him. I'll reserve judgement until we see him in action, doubt we'll be getting a Mir v Lesner PPV from him though.

Bobby Lashley is on a 5 fight win streak too, though really hasn't fought anyone of note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,144 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I dunno who this punk fella is but looking at fighters twittet responses and 2 things stood out to me.

1: angela magana (tuf 20) put up a picture of her 2 fingers that had gone wrinkly after she heard the news. ...JAYSUS!

2: Pendred vs Punk actually makes a lot of sense in real world mma but I'm sure ufc want a more high profile fight. I don't think he'll get an ex ufc champ but it will be very interesting to see who gets the fight.

sheehy83 wrote: »
    I dunno who this punk fella is but looking at fighters twittet responses and 2 things stood out to me.

1: angela magana (tuf 20) put up a picture of her 2 fingers that had gone wrinkly after she heard the news. ...JAYSUS!

2: Pendred vs Punk actually makes a lot of sense in real world mma but I'm sure ufc want a more high profile fight. I don't think he'll get an ex ufc champ but it will be very interesting to see who gets the fight.

Im not quite sure how you can say that fight makes sense? Punk has no prior experience in fighting, small bit of training in kempo and jitz means sweet **** all. I dont even rate pendred but he would go through punk in seconds. The only fights that would make sense are against regional guys who would have to be brought in with records of 1/2-0 or similar which would be a farce. He will sell well regardless though, he has a massive following.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I knew I recognised him from somewhere! He's been in a good few of those Gracie Breakdown videos on youtube where the two gracie brothers show you how a submission win came. I can only assume he's got relatively high level BJJ then. Can't see it going well for him unless his striking game is... actually exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

calex71 wrote: »
    The UFC don't see WWE as competitors maybe, but the WWE sure as hell see the UFC as competitors as is evident from how the colour commentary in WWE changed post Brock Lesner fighting in the UFC.

Punk's an interesting guy imo, at 36 though? I know he has some BJJ and Kenpo to him but would not really want to see anything less than a credible fight for him. I'll reserve judgement until we see him in action, doubt we'll be getting a Mir v Lesner PPV from him though.

Bobby Lashley is on a 5 fight win streak too, though really hasn't fought anyone of note

Sorry if Off Topic but has there ever been talk of the UFC signing Lashley? Saw a few of his fights and he seems to gas very quickly - he is a very high level wrestler though IIRC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Its good for the UFC, people who have never watched before will tune in to check it out and some will stick around

Aye thats what happened with Lesnar and they are hoping lightning will strike twice. UFC are lacking in draws and they have lost an awful amount of name fighters in the last few years. Still with a 0-0 record & no background in combat sports its a risk. Lets hope he does better at MMA than the Gracie are at pro wrestling :D
    Heard Bisping has called him out already :rolleyes:

ERG89 wrote: »
    Aye thats what happened with Lesnar and they are hoping lightning will strike twice. UFC are lacking in draws and they have lost an awful amount of name fighters in the last few years. Still with a 0-0 record & no background in combat sports its a risk. Lets hope he does better at MMA than the Gracie are at pro wrestling :D
    Heard Bisping has called him out already :rolleyes:

Its not a risk imo, regardless if he wins or losses hes going to be a massive draw for atleast 3 fights minimum. He has a cult like following from the WWE its a bit mad. Dana said hell be getting him a fighter with basically the same record so 0-0, which basically means there going to feed him nobodies for 2/3 fights and hope he gets to a decent enough level to beat them. Its a kick in the face to prospects who have looked good but have yet to be signed to the UFC ala Pube Head Askren and the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

On one hand I can see why guys who've been fighting for years would be upset that this newbie is getting way more money and higher billing than they are, which I suppose could lead to fighters looking to make a name from him.

Though it's easy to see UFC's point of view. They get a guaranteed draw, they gain mainstream media attention and the casual viewer is instantly interested to see how this "wrestling guy" gets on in a real fight. Does it call into question the company's legitimacy? Yes, but the financial rewards outweigh such questions.

The irony being that 18/24 months ago he was that guy in WWE bitching and moaning about part-timers coming in above him on the roster, earning huge money and being hotly promoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,144 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Ah I was thinking of Cathal's UFC record 2-0, his pro record would be an awful matchup for Punk alright.

From Dana
    "[CM Punk] wanted to fight here," White told ESPN.com. "He wanted to give it a shot, so we gave him an opportunity. It's not like Brock Lesnar. We're not going to throw the kitchen sink at him. Lesnar had a wrestling background. [CM Punk] is going to fight a guy who is 1-0, 1-1, 2-1 -- something like that."

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Ah I was thinking of Cathal's UFC record 2-0, his pro record would be an awful matchup for Punk alright.

From Dana

Yeah there basically going to get some regional guys in to fight him, and with the training hes getting he SHOULD in theory be able to get to a fairly decent level, especially from what iv read he obsesses over training etc. Id be 99% certain hes going to debut in Chicago whenever that event is because thats his home time. Hell pretty much sell the majority of tickets imo through his following. Great business move by the UFC but its going to piss off the majority of fighters I reckon.

Beefy78 wrote: »
    The irony being that 18/24 months ago he was that guy in WWE bitching and moaning about part-timers coming in above him on the roster, earning huge money and being hotly promoted.

His main problem was that he had to work with these part timers and put them over and he had to come in the next day and work when they had left with their pockets full of cash... totally understandable. This is much different and I dont see how Punk can be criticized here, hes going pro and if there is someone in the wrong its the UFC IMO.

Agree with this 100%, He was getting screwed massively in the WWE and had the right to be pissed off at the locks of Brock & The Rock getting millions for there measly appearances throughout the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

Only for hes such a big name a stint on TUF wuld of been a good move for him. Fair play to him, I hope he does well

Was thinking this would be the route for him to go ala Kimbo Slice but guess its all about the $$$ and that would be a waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Agree with this 100%, He was getting screwed massively in the WWE and had the right to be pissed off at the locks of Brock & The Rock getting millions for there measly appearances throughout the year.

I'm not saying that Punk is in the wrong - or that anyone is in the wrong for that matter. It is a a great move for all parties. I'm just saying that whatever the right or wrongs of his spat with WWE isn't really the issue to be debated in a UFC thread but there are clear parallels with what is going on here now and what happened to him in WWE which he was unhappy about.

I'd be more of a wrestling fan than an MMA fan but I'll watch the show he debuts on and who knows that might be the show which converts me into more of a fan, which is clearly Dana White's thinking. That same thinking got Vince McMahon to put Dwayne Johnson is the main event of Wrestlemania 28 which is a booking decision that Punk has regularly criticised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I have nothing against CM Punk. But I find this incredibly ironic that in the same week that UFC have launched this new Reebok deal in order to show themselves as being "professional" and putting them on a par with the NFL, NBA etc., they decide to give a guy who is essentially an actor with a little bit of Martial Arts experience a contract?

It'd be like an NFL team giving someone a pro contract because they played an American Football player in a movie. It'd never happen, and this shouldn't happen either.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I have nothing against CM Punk. But I find this incredibly ironic that in the same week that UFC have launched this new Reebok deal in order to show themselves as being "professional" and putting them on a par with the NFL, NBA etc., they decide to give a guy who is essentially an actor with a little bit of Martial Arts experience a contract?

It'd be like an NFL team giving someone a pro contract because they played an American Football player in a movie. It'd never happen, and this shouldn't happen either.

f29s1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Probably because they were far bigger stars than him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Considering his age and lack of experience, MMA is going to look a bit of a joke if he has even moderate success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,927 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Considering his age and lack of experience, MMA is going to look a bit of a joke if he has even moderate success.

I doubt he will have much success. He may win a fight or two as they will put him in against very low level opposition. Even then I don't think it's guaranteed he even wins those fights.

This is all about selling PPV's and there will be a large curiosity factor at least for his first couple of fights.