Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I induced a cow for first time tonight

• 05-01-2015 11:29PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭

Not a big fan of it but I went to vet tonight and got 20ml of rapidoxe (I think) and 2ml estrumate .. Within 36 hours she reckons .. Vaginal prolapse and I just want it out and stitch her ta hell .. 287 days today .. She close anyway but I'm off work tomorrow and need to be about when she calving as not straight forward with the prolapse

Injected at 21.00 .. Any predictions/ experience on how quick it kicks in ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Bodacious wrote: »
    Not a big fan of it but I went to vet tonight and got 20ml of rapidoxe (I think) and 2ml estrumate .. Within 36 hours she reckons .. Vaginal prolapse and I just want it out and stitch her ta hell .. 287 days today .. She close anyway but I'm off work tomorrow and need to be about when she calving as not straight forward with the prolapse

No experience whatsoever but hope it goes well for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭furandfeather

Have only done it twice to two heifers. First one went 18 hours and the second one was around the 20 hours. Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭DanielGibbons

It can literally kick in at anytime, we've had different results.

Only thing to watch for is that she cleans properly afterwards, they can be more prone to retain it when induced.

Besides that, good luck with it all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

4 hours in and she seems grand .. Has held in the prolapse since 8am and can pee perfectly etc so hopefully she be alright ! Will let ye know how I get on .. I left her in and have lube / gloves /ropes and jack all set for action should she need it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

We'd a big Ch cow with a prolapse a few years back. It looked at its worse when she was lying down. When she got sick to calve we thought it would get worse but it disappeared altogether when she got sick and calved away no problem.

We never induced a cow so far, though I've felt like if plenty of times.... Usually around 300 days ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,505 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

sometimes the calf's lungs mightnt be developed fully if induced, thought it took longer thn a day for injection to work for inducing them?

whelan2 wrote: »
    sometimes the calf's lungs mightnt be developed fully if induced, thought it took longer thn a day for injection to work for inducing them?

im not sure but she did say up to 36 hours! no gig out of her yet anyway

I know what you are saying about the calf but she 287 so should be fairly right and generally ive never done it ..but im just in a pickle with this one with work commitments and hard to ask neighbour or ole lad to watch this one as the first thing you'll get is "come home , there is a big red thing hanging out of her!"

hopefully get her calved today/tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Brass Tag

im not sure but she did say up to 36 hours! no gig out of her yet anyway

I know what you are saying about the calf but she 287 so should be fairly right and generally ive never done it ..but im just in a pickle with this one with work commitments and hard to ask neighbour or ole lad to watch this one as the first thing you'll get is "come home , there is a big red thing hanging out of her!"

hopefully get her calved today/tonight

Know only too well your predicament with work commitments and cows calving.
    Have a pen of 7 first time calvers this year. All calving at between 24 months and 26 months. 4 calved so far unassisted and no bother taking to calf.

Next one due next Tuesday. Shes out of CWI who is supposed to be good maternal bull. Only trouble being, she is showing very poor sign of springing in the udder dept. Rightly concerned she will have no milk:confused:
    And of course I have to be away first few days next week!! Just cannot get out of the work thing so fretting mad now about the heifer:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,505 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

the big red thing normally moves out of the way for calving, had one like that years ago. good luck with her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

whelan2 wrote: »
    the big red thing normally moves out of the way for calving, had one like that years ago. good luck with her

Had to section one with one of those last year. Massive calf as well so we didn't want to chance it in case if all went wrong for us.

Inducing times can vary a lot we have everything from 4 hrs to 4 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Brass Tag wrote: »
    Know only too well your predicament with work commitments and cows calving.
    Have a pen of 7 first time calvers this year. All calving at between 24 months and 26 months. 4 calved so far unassisted and no bother taking to calf.

Next one due next Tuesday. Shes out of CWI who is supposed to be good maternal bull. Only trouble being, she is showing very poor sign of springing in the udder dept. Rightly concerned she will have no milk:confused:
    And of course I have to be away first few days next week!! Just cannot get out of the work thing so fretting mad now about the heifer:o:o

Is there anyone that can look in on them at all ? Even if it was only to tell you when the water bag is out couldn't you ring the vet then to deliver ?

Still sitting pretty !
    Wrong pic!
    photo_zps47080c9f.jpg
    Here she is! Other heifer is a bit off yet but carrying very heavy
    photo_zpsbcb97c42.jpg

She prob go tonight but my dad will be on call tomorrow and I can come back worst case .. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Still sitting pretty !

photo_zps47080c9f.jpg

She prob go tonight but my dad will be on call tomorrow and I can come back worst case .. Thanks
    would you be worried that she would have no milk ?
    commenting on the wrong cow, she looks like she will have plenty,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Did that cow foster calves for you before bodacious or is my memory deceiving me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Durrus Boy

Routinely use 15cc Dexamethasone, mainly on first- calvers hitting 290 days. As a rule of thumb, 90% calve within 30-36 hrs after injecting. Find it a really useful mgt tool to be honest.

Kovu wrote: »
    Did that cow foster calves for you before bodacious or is my memory deceiving me?

No your memory is spot on she will rear any calf, she reared 3 bull calves in 12 months E1300, E930 and E870! E3100 gross! She only cost E450! End of the road for her now but I'll put a second suck on her for sure.. Not paying big money though

We're they calves you bought in ? They made great money if they were dairy X calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭limo_100

do you let her out with the cows in the summer time or do you keeping a spot on her own with meal?? surely she gets a fair bit of meal a year even just to keep her in tune. Is that your jersey cross cow??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭tanko

This mightn't proceed as a normal calving would. I wouldn't be afraid to put your hand in to see if anything is happening.
    I had to induce a cow who had a hernia a few years ago. She was calving but wasn't able to push the calf out. It was almost too late when I examined her but got the calf out ok in the end.

Bullocks wrote: »
    We're they calves you bought in ? They made great money if they were dairy X calves

No all suckler bred cattle .. She was bought originally as this lads mother put out the entire bed after an easy enough calving

photo_zps04ad5cde.jpg

Then a neighbours cow had twin lim x AA blue grey cow bull calves in sept so I bought them, pulled the white lad and stuck on the two blacks .. She great temperament and handy type of cow !

She not an eejit either though had her in field with 10 other cows/calves and she only fed the two she had bonded with

I'm not going senile yet at least! :D

limo_100 wrote: »
    do you let her out with the cows in the summer time or do you keeping a spot on her own with meal?? surely she gets a fair bit of meal a year even just to keep her in tune. Is that your jersey cross cow??

She got a bit of meal out all last winter with twins on her alright but nothing excessive .. She only small in stature wouldn't be a lot with 500kg ! She was nearly getting too fat on me towards end of this summer on grass with 2 on her but her milk was spent ! Then she done a stint on the hill ! Toughened her up !

whats she in calf to are you hoping for a heifer? O and waht weight did the white calf finish up at

A heifer calf in her from my own Ardlea Dan bull I had this year for heifers.

white lad was 525kg as a store bullock at 17 months.. he was lgl and I thought he'd have grown more but a super muscley fancy store but cattle were back at end of sept... sold him as a pair with another LGL

You need to be careful keeping a heifer out of a cow with a genetic predisposition to prolapse.

yeah and wouldn't be expecting a superstar out of this lady anyway.. JE in cow for sure

Durrus Boy wrote: »
    Routinely use 15cc Dexamethasone, mainly on first- calvers hitting 290 days. As a rule of thumb, 90% calve within 30-36 hrs after injecting. Find it a really useful mgt tool to be honest.

You'd have been on the money ..34 hours !

Black limo heifer calf .. Very light a bone but nice little calf .. Felt the feet first and thought she was having a lamb for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Black limo heifer calf .. Very light a bone but nice little calf .. Felt the feet first and thought she was having a lamb for me

Glad to hear all worked out for you Bod. Might be a small calf but if he's healthy that's the main thing. I've had plenty big soft calves this past few years that didn't want to know of any hardship.

Yeah happy out .. Small calf but alive and well Popped home at lunch time and she cleaned just as I walked into shed .. That's Timing!

I fed other cows and when she lied down again after cleaning prolapse showing .. I,be bolts disinfected and ready and will give her a local and take my time to get three bolts into original holes in vulva ... They held her together since August so hopefully work again !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Next stop factory?

I fed other cows and when she lied down again after cleaning prolapse showing .. I,be bolts disinfected and ready and will give her a local and take my time to get three bolts into original holes in vulva ... They held her together since August so hopefully work again !

Will ya need to stitch her with the pressure of pregnancy now gone?

that I don't know! she was showing it while lying down just after she cleaned.. but when I came home I had the warm water/ salvon and the bolts all ready and she had it in.. ill play it by ear. I bought her out of a parlour and she was milking away and no sign of it until she was 6 months in calf.. she never be bulled again anyway as JDI says factory when calves reared .. she owes me nothing

http://www.donedeal.ie/view/8446137
    red whitehead heifer

Sent from my iPhone

That is a nice calf. Good eye and quick on the ball to get her!

Been damn all calves on DD lately .. Few AA up in Sligo and dealer's calves in Westmeath .. Some lad looking for e600 for a char bull in Roscommon :-) wouldn't he be hard pushed to get 800 in oct !

She nicely marked and Hereford bull he has can only go on the cows as hard enough calved = sounds grand as I'll let her up slong with black lim currently on Fr .. Both should have milk and be good weanlings in oct/nov

Been damn all calves on DD lately .. Few AA up in Sligo and dealer's calves in Westmeath .. Some lad looking for e600 for a char bull in Roscommon :-) wouldn't he be hard pushed to get 800 in oct !

She nicely marked and Hereford bull he has can only go on the cows as hard enough calved = sounds grand as I'll let her up slong with black lim currently on Fr .. Both should have milk and be good weanlings in oct/nov

Well able for the mountain too if she's a stayer

yer man rang me that heifer calf was gone (must have got more money) i said id be there at 19.00 as i was working until 17.00.. " take your time you can come here up to 2am if you like!" i gave him what he asked a deal is a deal in my book.. very disappointed to say the least..

Sickening , same thing happened me a few months ago after I shook on the deal . I text on the herd number when I got home and he text me back that he wanted 50 a head extra . I said no because we shook on a price and he just text back that he had them sold to someone else in the meantime .
    Would you try athenry on Thursday morning for a calf ?
    I wouldn't bother with an overpriced calf at the minute as they seem dear but would get a strong fr calf that would suck at a cheap price

Bullocks wrote: »
    Sickening , same thing happened me a few months ago after I shook on the deal . I text on the herd number when I got home and he text me back that he wanted 50 a head extra . I said no because we shook on a price and he just text back that he had them sold to someone else in the meantime .
    Would you try athenry on Thursday morning for a calf ?
    I wouldn't bother with an overpriced calf at the minute as they seem dear but would get a strong fr calf that would suck at a cheap price

dirty scoundrel

never took down advert and no name up on advert and he said he had trouble on DD before .

I offered to text on my herdnumber lastnight for the permit and thinking back he said he'd leave the permit open.

he hard up for E50 to do that to a man.. id have given him the extra E50 as I liked the calf and my GF is from his Town!

Very annoying! Hate people who go back on their word like that. If I do a deal with someone I wouldn't renege on it for love nor money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

dirty scoundrel

never took down advert and no name up on advert and he said he had trouble on DD before .

I offered to text on my herdnumber lastnight for the permit and thinking back he said he'd leave the permit open.

he hard up for E50 to do that to a man.. id have given him the extra E50 as I liked the calf and my GF is from his Town!

I wouldn't be too worried, he'll get no luck for that.
    Casann an roth!

Very annoying! Hate people who go back on their word like that. If I do a deal with someone I wouldn't renege on it for love nor money.

Terrible ... That's twice now I got stung on DD!

Jesus if I ever had a son that went back on his word I'd be lifting him with a shoe in the hole

I for one won't do a deal with anyone with a motto like "Nie moj cyrk, Nie moje malpy" ;)

just do it wrote: »
    I for one won't do a deal with anyone with a motto like "Nie moj cyrk, Nie moje malpy" ;)

Ah g'wan. Just do it ;)

I wouldn't be too worried, he'll get no luck for that.
    Agree with that sentiment - it's bad karma.

Bod - I've a friend who I admire because he has a great capacity to just treat things as a business transaction when they go against him i.e. he doesn't allow it get to him emotionally. I wish I'd the same ability, although it's getting better with age (maybe due to getting kicked in the teeth enough times has something to do with it).

Ah g'wan. Just do it ;)

The username is a bit ironic all right. I did a 2 day management training day a few years back including various tests and quizzes that tell you what type of a personality and management style you have. For one of them we were asked if we thought of ourselves as spontaneous or highly analytical. I had myself down as spontaneous but the subsequent profile showed something quite different!!

just do it wrote: »
    Agree with that sentiment - it's bad karma.

Bod - I've a friend who I admire because he has a great capacity to just treat things as a business transaction when they go against him i.e. he doesn't allow it get to him emotionally. I wish I'd the same ability, although it's getting better with age (maybe due to getting kicked in the teeth enough times has something to do with it).

Fair played to your mate but it's kinda hard at times. I only part time farming but I'll tell ya it's hard to feel sorry for the farmers at times as they do tend to work outside the normal remit of business code at times .. Dodgy machinery, ringing lads saying heifers proved in calf .. Any dirty scheme possible to separate a man from his money seems to be the norm!

you should try a simmental heifer and you will be left with a great replacement, make better better cows than whiteheads

http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/simmental-heifers-egans-portlaoise/8446937

I no there not the best example but there are far squarer ones than them out there

you should try a simmental heifer and you will be left with a great replacement, make better better cows than whiteheads

http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/simmental-heifers-egans-portlaoise/8446937

I no there not the best example but there are far squarer ones than them out there

Fixed your URL :)

First whiter calf is the best of that bunch. Wonder if the turf comes with them:P

Fixed your URL :)

First whiter calf is the best of that bunch. Wonder if the turf comes with them:P

shes fairly good alrit was gona ring about her but i thinks the weather is a little hard to be buying calves just yet. maybe them calves are such good value there ****ting fuel :pac: