Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on building a small cattle shed.

• 05-08-2015 12:35PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭

Hi all. I am currently considering building a small loose straw bed cattle shed for approximately 10-12 weanlings. I'm just wondering if there's any kind of grant out there to assist with the building.. I remember hearing about a 40/60% grant there a while ago.
    Also wondering if anyone has any experience with an agricultural contractor building their shed for them and handling the grant applications?
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

You can apply for tams 2 grants online through department of agriculture website online services. 40% its 60% if you are a new farmer under 40 years with green cert.
    I have thought about building a small shed too but don't know if I'd be better off not bothering with grants.
    A lot of terms and conditions make it difficult and expensive to get eg. Planner engineering drawings planning permission department specifications safety coarse etc.
    There are small sheds on done deal from 900 to 3000 euros that a man could put up himself if he had time and could be planning exempt.
    I think it depends what you what you want to spend.
    If I was going for grant I would be going for tank slats new yard crush etc to justify other costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Justjens

burrenguy wrote: »
    Also wondering if anyone has any experience with an agricultural contractor building their shed for them and handling the grant applications?
    Thanks.

Haven't heard of that ever happening.

As djmc said would you not be better off tipping away with a diy shed and avoid the hassle, he's right in that if you're spending big money the grants are grand.

Last shed I did ('12) was a 2 bay slats with straw bed lie back, own/direct labour plus electric cost 17K after vat rebate, and no hassle from Dept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Justjens wrote: »
    Haven't heard of that ever happening.

As djmc said would you not be better off tipping away with a diy shed and avoid the hassle, he's right in that if you're spending big money the grants are grand.

Last shed I did ('12) was a 2 bay slats with straw bed lie back, own/direct labour plus electric cost 17K after vat rebate, and no hassle from Dept.
    That sounds dear with your own labour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Sam Kade wrote: »

I thought the same. I'd a four bay with lye back done for 22 or 23k doing some of the work myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

Jaysus them fuppin farmers, grants for absolutely everything it seems! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

ComfortKid wrote: »
    Jaysus them fuppin farmers, grants for absolutely everything it seems! :-)
    You're in the wrong profession :p You remind me of proinsias de rossa he once said that the fa fa fa farmers were ro ro ro rolling in it, imagine that a politician complaining about farmers income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Justjens

Sam Kade wrote: »

That was with a 38'x11'6"x7' deep tank and a 15' lie back, and a galv shed, with electric and barriers.

2012shed023_zpsa737cb8d.jpg

2012shed019_zpsd17256f8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭secman

Measure the small cattle and give them a bit of head room... That's the height sorted ☺

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Miname wrote: »
    I thought the same. I'd a four bay with lye back done for 22 or 23k doing some of the work myself.

That seems a great price. Would ya have any pics? Did you put much work into it yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭tomieen jones

Justjens wrote: »
    That was with a 38'x11'6"x7' deep tank and a 15' lie back, and a galv shed, with electric and barriers.

2012shed023_zpsa737cb8d.jpg

2012shed019_zpsd17256f8.jpg
    You should move that barrel or people might think it's for burning the bale plastic