Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

residents asscoication want money but no address

• 14-10-2015 11:55AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭

Just wondered about a residents association where my friend lives. they put a newsletter in her door saying certain % have paid etc. She asked before to see their constitution but they do not seem to have one. The latest news letter has not even an address just mobile numbers.

So they expect people to pay money to someone who does not even give address though they do live somewhere in the estate. It seems funny to me not having an address. i wondered how it is legally even though i know they have no right to demand money

They do good work and my friend would give money if they had a constitution but she also does no like the way the letter says certain % have paid

At http://www.irishtimes.com/news/consumer/how-supermarkets-use-your-behaviour-against-you-1.2385622 it says
    One innovation of the UK nudge unit involved the use of something called “social leverage”. In order to make people more tax-compliant, letters were sent informing those in arrears that the majority of residents in the area had paid. People make the same decisions as the social group they identify with, and so they paid up

My friend is very independent and does not like to be subject to this social psychology tricks. If they are doing that it may be co incidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Is it a residents' association or a management company?

Very different beasts. The latter is probably entitled to the money. The former is not.

The lack of an address on the letter, while scrappy and unprofessional, is somewhat irrelevant. After all it's just a newsletter rather than a statement of account or an invoice.

Residents associations will rarely have constitutions or boards or anything like that. It'll typically be a handful of people who put together a list of things to do on the estate and then ask for voluntary contributions towards it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭JonJones

seamus wrote: »
    Is it a residents' association or a management company?

Very different beasts. The latter is probably entitled to the money. The former is not.

The lack of an address on the letter, while scrappy and unprofessional, is somewhat irrelevant. After all it's just a newsletter rather than a statement of account or an invoice.

Residents associations will rarely have constitutions or boards or anything like that. It'll typically be a handful of people who put together a list of things to do on the estate and then ask for voluntary contributions towards it.
    It is a residents' association.I understand they are suppposed to have a constitution
    https://www.google.com/search?q=residents+association+constitution+ireland&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8 have a look at the castle park one. They may not be obliged legally to have one but my friendfeels if they are asking for money people should have info about where it is going.

Well, if they continually put the newsletter in when told not to it is hardly voluntary payment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

To ask for money they would need an account and to set that up they would need a committee with a constitution an and address. No residents association should be taking any money without the correct structure in place.

Your friend is well within his rights to have info on who is on the committee, the constitution and minute's of the AGM where the fees for the year were agreed.

That said, residents associations are run by volenteers who selflessly do work on your behalf. While he is entitled to that info it doesn't mean he is not being a bit of an awkward d1ck for asking for it.

It's a huge pain in the neck and thankless task chasing people that won't contribute to the residents association. People don't have to contribute, but they should.

So either pay up, or don't, but causing additional work for the committee for the reasons outlined are just being difficult for difficulties sake to mask the fact they just want any excuse to not contribute. Being a independent person or whatever excuse was given doesn't cut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

To ask for money they would need an account
    Nope, they really don't.

It's a good idea to have the proper structures in place, not least because residents will know that their money isn't going into someone's back pocket.

But it's by no means essential. Nothing legally stopping one resident from collecting cash and keeping it in a jar in his house.

To ask for money they would need an account and to set that up they would need a committee with a constitution an and address. No residents association should be taking any money without the correct structure in place.

Your friend is well within his rights to have info on who is on the committee, the constitution and minute's of the AGM where the fees for the year were agreed.

That said, residents associations are run by volenteers who selflessly do work on your behalf. While he is entitled to that info it doesn't mean he is not being a bit of an awkward d1ck for asking for it.

It's a huge pain in the neck and thankless task chasing people that won't contribute to the residents association. People don't have to contribute, but they should.

So either pay up, or don't, but causing additional work for the committee for the reasons outlined are just being difficult for difficulties sake to mask the fact they just want any excuse to not contribute. Being a independent person or whatever excuse was given doesn't cut it.
    Nonsense. just because they are volunteers they have no right to demand money and asking who is on committe is not being a dick. being a dick is sending a newsletter with no address looking for money. it is also amateur and open to abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,825 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

JonJones wrote: »
    Nonsense. just because they are volunteers they have no right to demand money and asking who is on committe is not being a dick. being a dick is sending a newsletter with no address looking for money. it is also amateur and open to abuse

have they actually demanded money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭TheBlock

This sounds like a request for a donation not a demand. Not sure this is a legal question, is your friend really going to dispute this on legal grounds? If so then he doesn't have to pay it.

Sounds like a bit of an arsey way to do things considering he has conceeded they do a lot of work. Who does he think pays for this?

I pay a residents assoc fee of €50 yearly as the residents organise lots of activites for the kids over summer /Halloween and christmas. They also plant flowers and keep the estate looking great. Some stuff should be done by the Managment Associtaion but thats like getting blood from a stone so some of the residents took it upon themselves.

have they actually demanded money?
    they say "contact one of the numbers below to arrange payment" "
    "X% have paid"
    "If renting pass this to landlord"

"X% have paid"

so no, they haven't demanded money.

"X% have paid"

But do they say he owes this money or are they requesting a donation? Nothing in the above reads like a demand to me just providing information on how to pay and how many residents have paid and letting people who rent know they can pass this on to landlords if they wish.

so no, they haven't demanded money.
    the issue is the no address really and that seems a bit like a demand to me

TheBlock wrote: »
    This sounds like a request for a donation not a demand. Not sure this is a legal question, is your friend really going to dispute this on legal grounds? If so then he doesn't have to pay it.

Sounds like a bit of an arsey way to do things considering he has conceeded they do a lot of work. Who does he think pays for this?

I pay a residents assoc fee of €50 yearly as the residents organise lots of activites for the kids over summer /Halloween and christmas. They also plant flowers and keep the estate looking great. Some stuff should be done by the Managment Associtaion but thats like getting blood from a stone so some of the residents took it upon themselves.
    i think it is arsey to ask for money with no address and no constitution nas to how it is spent

Well don't give it then. It's a donation.

This all seems like much ado about nothing. If your friend has concerns about how the residents association is ran then perhaps they should get involved and help them regularise their affairs. alternatively just ignore the letter and still enjoy the benefits of other peoples money and effort.

TheBlock wrote: »
    Well don't give it then. It's a donation.
    if it is persistent lookig for donation it is demanding. They were told before no constitution=no money There should be an address the person can write to say stop delivering the flyer seeking a 'donation' and have a record of this not just a call.

I would suggest they have no idea who has paid and who hasn't their just dropping a reminder to all residents. Just bin it if he's not paying why get worked up we all get unsolicted post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

Your friend seems to want to enjoy the benefits of others efforts while justifying not contriuting financially to assist. They have the option available to join the committee and improve how it is run, but I get the impression that they won't be doing this either.

A2LUE42 wrote: »
    Your friend seems to want to enjoy the benefits of others efforts while justifying not contriuting financially to assist. They have the option available to join the committee and improve how it is run, but I get the impression that they won't be doing this either.
    and what should they do,close their eyes when driving by in case they see the flowers? people who run these committess have visions but want everyone to pay for them by their rules. if the place is so good with less than one third contributing imagine all the money they would have at 100 per cent payment. money they do not have to account for to the people who give it.

my friend would pay if given access to constitution and see how it is spent. these people want to make all the decisions and do things their way but have everyone pay for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

Sounds like your friend should get involved with the residents association and help them set it up the way she thinks it should be run....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

and what should they do,close their eyes when driving by in case they see the flowers? people who run these committess have visions but want everyone to pay for them by their rules. if the place is so good with less than one third contributing imagine all the money they would have at 100 per cent payment. money they do not have to account for to the people who give it.

my friend would pay if given access to constitution and see how it is spent. these people want to make all the decisions and do things their way but have everyone pay for it

Such a common theme in this country, sit on the sidelines and do nothing but complain when you have every opportunity to get involved and make it better.

You do make an excellent point though. Imagine what they could do at 100% payment. Three times as much work or have everyone pay a third of what the minority are currently paying to subsidise those who do not pay or get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,409 ✭✭✭✭L1011

if the place is so good with less than one third contributing imagine all the money they would have at 100 per cent payment. money they do not have to account for to the people who give it.

I'm secretary of a residents association

As payment levels increased in recent years (rented houses being bought by owner occupiers, primarily), we reduced the amount requested by 40% over two years.

The accounts are available for anyone to see and anyone can join the committee. I suspect your "friend" doesn't actually give a damn about doing either of these, as it'd reduce the chances to moan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭icjzfmq7ewon1t

Don't see the issue here, doesn't read like a demand to me. If your friend wants to donate a small amount towards the work been done in the estate he can and if he doesn't just ignore it.
    Even better he could get involved with the residents association and help them out I know from experience that extra bodies are always welcome

all the people involved with the ra's here do victim really well. whinging if everyone does not pay into their dream with no receipt.

There likely isn't an RA in the country that doesn't give receipts. Landlords would never pay without it, as its tax deductible against rental income.

If you"r friend" doesn't want to pay, don't. Don't moan if stuff doesn't get done, and stop imagining there's some grand conspiracy going on.

Also a member of a resedents association and this idea that they want to run an estate like some sort of personal Utopia is absurd. Its mainly trying to keep the grass cut, the lights lit, the roads swept and all that. Now the Tidy town folk, they are the ones that want everything to be oh so pretty and nice to a vision of theirs. But since having a tidy towns group keeping the place clean and lovely really does help keep property prices up and the place a desirable one to live in, they can be forgiven a bit of wanting others to play by their rules.

Everyone gets issued receipts. I honestly do not know any residents association that hasn't got a proper structure in place. At very least, goto an AGM and voice your concerns about how things are communicated even if you don't wish to be involved. All costs etc are openly discussed at every AGM and that's your time to have a voice in how things are run. Don't goto AGM, then STFU IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

Why doesn't your friend attend RA meetings or ask to be involved in the administration?
    Hope you can clear this up because obviously he doesn't want to live in a qaigmire of squalor but seems to feel that someone else should organise and pay for the upkeep of the communal areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Why doesn't your friend attend RA meetings or ask to be involved in the administration?

Because then he might have to pay some money.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Cant believe this post to be honest.In my experience most RA`s are full of self serving a**holes who have nothing better to do than harass residents for money that cant even be accounted for when asked.
    One on occasion they called to my door every night for a week looking for residents association "fees"

The so called "boards" are full of nosey people that watch everything you do,hassle you for money and actually get feck all done for residents.

Ive actually been told by one RA board member that and I quote this here "your children play on the green areas" aswell and you "should contribute to getting the grass cut".Next day I see a Council tractor cutting the grass.

I have absolutely no faith in the way these associations are run.

OP do what I do when they send these letters in--put them in the bin and ignore them.

Until these associations are legislated for I wont be paying any RA fees.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Next day I see a Council tractor cutting the grass.

I'd suspect you saw a tractor cutting the grass, as no council (and definitely not Kildare - they don't even have the kit to do it in the first place) cuts the grass in private estates.

Kildare CC give my estate's RA about 800 a year for grass cutting, which is roughly a tenth of the best quote we got for 2015.

If an estate has no RA, expect the common areas to go to wild grass pretty quickly. KCC will pay a contractor (as they don't have anyone to do it) to cut estates taken in charge once a year, usually in the late autumn, in these cases.

If you feel the RA isn't accountable, go to the AGM, ask to see the accounts, etc - don't rant about it with zero knowledge of the situation. You seem to have decided that money is being spent on something other than estate improvements but you have zero proof of that.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

L1011 wrote: »
    I'd suspect you saw a tractor cutting the grass, as no council (and definitely not Kildare - they don't even have the kit to do it in the first place) cuts the grass in private estates.

Kildare CC give my estate's RA about 800 a year for grass cutting, which is roughly a tenth of the best quote we got for 2015.

If an estate has no RA, expect the common areas to go to wild grass pretty quickly.

Well it had a big KCC sign on the side of it.
    €8000 a year for grass cutting??
    Thats madness.

Ill buy a tractor my self and lease it out to the RA`s in Maynooth at half of that!!!

Not sure what estate you look after but you seem the type of person that would tend to agree that transparency with RA`s is essential.

Ive raised numerous times an issue that sooner or later a child will be killed in our estate from drivers doing upwards of 80kmph on one stretch of road right in front of a green area where kids are playing football etc.
    I asked that ramps be put in but then you get that other residents dont want ramps near their property.
    Whats more important--a childs life or a few ramps?

They wont even consider the issue as it doesnt affect them as in my opinion most of them have grown up kids and its not in their interests.
    Ive even asked that a checkpoint be put in the estate to stop speeding motorists but that cant be done as its "private" estate.

Watch this space because sooner or later a child will be killed in our estate and then it will become news.

Cant believe this post to be honest.In my experience most RA`s are full of self serving a**holes who have nothing better to do than harass residents for money that cant even be accounted for when asked.
    One on occasion they called to my door every night for a week looking for residents association "fees"

The so called "boards" are full of nosey people that watch everything you do,hassle you for money and actually get feck all done for residents.

Ive actually been told by one RA board member that and I quote this here "your children play on the green areas" aswell and you "should contribute to getting the grass cut".Next day I see a Council tractor cutting the grass.

OP do what I do when they send these letters in--put them in the bin and ignore them.

Have you attended any AGM of your residents assn? Do you know what the money is required for? Do you even know all the activities that the residents assn do?

Of course you haven't... people who make posts like yours never do, they thrown names at the people who do all the work and grumble and groan whilst contribuiting absolutely nothing positive whatsoever.

If you feel the RA isn't accountable, go to the AGM, ask to see the accounts, etc - don't rant about it with zero knowledge of the situation. You seem to have decided that money is being spent on something other than estate improvements but you have zero proof of that.

I havent decided anything.Im basing it on what I see with my own 2 eyes.

The proof is in looking at the estate.
    From what I see nothing is being done in the estate.Unless the whole lot of it is going on grass cutting!!!

Well it had a big KCC sign on the side of it.

It wasn't KCC operating it, that I can assure you.
    €8000 a year for grass cutting??
    Thats madness.

Ill buy a tractor my self and lease it out to the RA`s in Maynooth at half of that!!!

And operate it (minimum of 13 times a year), collect the grass, perform weed control and other bits and pieces, and have public liability insurance? If you think you can make a profit on that, we'll sign up as your first customer as we're getting quotes for '16 now.
    Not sure what estate you look after but you seem the type of person that would tend to agree that transparency with RA`s is essential.

You'd be amazed how few people have ever actually come and asked to see any of the information (its none, actually).
    Ive raised numerous times an issue that sooner or later a child will be killed in our estate from drivers doing upwards of 80kmph on one stretch of road right in front of a green area where kids are playing football etc.
    I asked that ramps be put in but then you get that other residents dont want ramps near their property.
    Whats more important--a childs life or a few ramps?

Who have you raised this with? Its a council decision to put in ramps, but RAs can influence it. Either talk to the secretary/chair of the RA, or contact the council, or both.
    They wont even consider the issue as it doesnt affect them as in my opinion most of them have grown up kids and its not in their interests.

Its quite possible the RA hasn't got anyone with kids on it, if its an older estate. Nothing it stopping you from joining.

Ive even asked that a checkpoint be put in the estate to stop speeding motorists but that cant be done as its "private" estate.

If the estate is taken in charge, its a public road and the Guards can perform a speed check if they want to - but nobody can actually force them to. In this case all that can be done is ask, not even influence really.
    I havent decided anything.Im basing it on what I see with my own 2 eyes.

The proof is in looking at the estate.
    From what I see nothing is being done in the estate.Unless the whole lot of it is going on grass cutting!!!

Depending on how much is collected and from how many, its very possible the entire lot is going on grass cutting. If everyone has the same attitude as you they won't even cover that.

Also a member of a resedents association and this idea that they want to run an estate like some sort of personal Utopia is absurd. Its mainly trying to keep the grass cut, the lights lit, the roads swept and all that. Now the Tidy town folk, they are the ones that want everything to be oh so pretty and nice to a vision of theirs. But since having a tidy towns group keeping the place clean and lovely really does help keep property prices up and the place a desirable one to live in, they can be forgiven a bit of wanting others to play by their rules.

Everyone gets issued receipts. I honestly do not know any residents association that hasn't got a proper structure in place. At very least, goto an AGM and voice your concerns about how things are communicated even if you don't wish to be involved. All costs etc are openly discussed at every AGM and that's your time to have a voice in how things are run. Don't goto AGM, then STFU IMHO.
    and how does one go to an agm if they cannot even see the constitution. There is never any info about agm's only looking for money on their terms. and please do not abuse me
    I honestly do not know any residents association that hasn't got a proper structure in place. [/B
    now you do http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97390460&postcount=40

Because then he might have to pay some money.
    you do not know that you just show off your ignorance

Have you attended any AGM of your residents assn? Do you know what the money is required for? Do you even know all the activities that the residents assn do?

Of course you haven't... people who make posts like yours never do, they thrown names at the people who do all the work and grumble and groan whilst contribuiting absolutely nothing positive whatsoever.
    just because they do good work does not mean they can harrass everyone to pay for it or kept it secret.My friend asked to see the constitution to see what they were joining in to. That is reasonable

A2LUE42 wrote: »
    Such a common theme in this country, sit on the sidelines and do nothing but complain when you have every opportunity to get involved and make it better.

You do make an excellent point though. Imagine what they could do at 100% payment. Three times as much work or have everyone pay a third of what the minority are currently paying to subsidise those who do not pay or get involved.
    that assumes everyone wants to pay. some may not care of the grass is ten feet high

I'm secretary of a residents association

As payment levels increased in recent years (rented houses being bought by owner occupiers, primarily), we reduced the amount requested by 40% over two years.

The accounts are available for anyone to see and anyone can join the committee. I suspect your "friend" doesn't actually give a damn about doing either of these, as it'd reduce the chances to moan.
    So you are the "secretary" of an ra but your suspicions are wrong. My friend would pay if shown how it is used. Don't be so smug and arrogant with your "secretary" sh1te. you do not even know my friend. sounds like the ra she has have folk like you. arrogant and condescending and up their own behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

And if everyone contributed it could still look as good but with only 1/3 of the cost to each household.
    I live in a very tiny estate where we had no structure in place for a few years. The grass was cut on an ad hoc basis and it actually ended up in meadow one year. Some of us tried our best while a few households were either unwilling or unable to help.
    Eventually a few of us bit the bullet, invited everyone to a meeting and a ride on mower was bought, and a fee of €50 was set per year.
    Each house has paid each year so far and the place is looking much better. There is no constitution or bank account. One lady collects the money and when its needed for paint, weedkiller etc she hands it out. Our biggest expense would be service or repair of the mower. If some houses didn't cough up then the price for the rest of us would rise.

i agree. what the excusers here fail to see is i said my friend asked to see the constitution but they do not seem to have one. none was shown anyway

And if everyone contributed it could still look as good but with only 1/3 of the cost to each household.
    I live in a very tiny estate where we had no structure in place for a few years. The grass was cut on an ad hoc basis and it actually ended up in meadow one year. Some of us tried our best while a few households were either unwilling or unable to help.
    Eventually a few of us bit the bullet, invited everyone to a meeting and a ride on mower was bought, and a fee of €50 was set per year.
    Each house has paid each year so far and the place is looking much better. There is no constitution or bank account. One lady collects the money and when its needed for paint, weedkiller etc she hands it out. Our biggest expense would be service or repair of the mower. If some houses didn't cough up then the price for the rest of us would rise.
    are accounts kept and can everyone see how the money is spent. Is there an agm and can anyone go?

In fairness to the OP, Thats the type of setup his friend wants to avoid. With no formal organisation the person with the money can just do as they wish with it and there is no proper or fair decision making process.

There likely isn't an RA in the country that doesn't give receipts. Landlords would never pay without it, as its tax deductible against rental income.

If you"r friend" doesn't want to pay, don't. Don't moan if stuff doesn't get done, and stop imagining there's some grand conspiracy going on.
    your friend

So you are the "secretary" of an ra but your suspicions are wrong. My friend would pay if shown how it is used. Don't be so smug and arrogant with your "secretary" sh1te. you do not even know my friend. sounds like the ra she has have folk like you. arrogant and condescending and up their own behind

Has your 'friend' gone and even asked how its used?

Ranting and raving without asking doesn't solve anything, but its all you've done so far.

Asking to see a constitution - which is inevitably not going to exist - does not equate to this. It is deliberate evasion of actually asking the right things.

Has your 'friend' gone and even asked how its used?

Ranting and raving without asking doesn't solve anything, but its all you've done so far.

Asking to see a constitution - which is inevitably not going to exist - does not equate to this. It is deliberate evasion of actually asking the right things.
    your friend mister "secretary"
    A lot of them do have constitutions so you are wrong mister "sec". there are sample constitutions online

your friend mister "secretary"

Have the association been asked how the money is spent?

You are not answering this question. You are rabbiting on about a constitution - something that doesn't need to and won't exist.

Ask the association how the money is spent. Ask to see accounts if you want Decide whether or not to pay the fee. Don't continue assuming there's some conspiracy going on.
    A lot of them do have constitutions so you are wrong mister "sec". there are sample constitutions online

Lots of American ones. Where "residents association" or "homeowners association" often equates to a management company in Ireland, e.g. the actual freehold owner. Rather different situation.

Have the association been asked how the money is spent?

You are not answering this question. You are rabbiting on about a constitution - something that doesn't need to and won't exist.

Ask the association how the money is spent. Ask to see accounts if you want Decide whether or not to pay the fee. Don't continue assuming there's some conspiracy going on.
    I am not under any obligation to answer your questions. Who do you think you are. you are not in your RA now. i do not care what you think
    You are rabbiting on about a constitution - something that doesn't need to and won't exist
    wrong mister "sec" and by asking to see a constitution my friend was in fact asking to see how the money is spent. That is what a constitution is. It would be a bit rude to say imediately show me the books. ASsking about a constitution is more polite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

In fairness to the OP, Thats the type of setup his friend wants to avoid. With no formal organisation the person with the money can just do as they wish with it and there is no proper or fair decision making process.

Its 8 houses. We meet once a year for a cup of tea. Have a chat about what needs to be done and get on with it. I would say having a constitution, agm and all that entails would actually be counterproductive. We keep receipts for what we spend money on and if someone wants to check they can. We set a general date of springtime for people to drop in their money and it runs smoothly

I am not under any obligation to answer your questions. Who do you think you are. you are not in your RA now. i do not care what you think

You are ranting and raving as if money is being extorted and spent on coke and hookers, yet its pretty damn clear nobody has actually asked what its being spent on.

wrong mister "sec"

Grow up.

You are ranting and raving as if money is being extorted and spent on coke and hookers, yet its pretty damn clear nobody has actually asked what its being spent on.

Grow up.
    you started it it with your "friend" comment. I do have friends. So either stick to the point and do not make accusations or get lost.if you cannot see asking for a constitution is asking how its spent then i am ignoring all your future input