Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Richard308

multi quote gone. 🤣😂🤣

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Multi-quote is there. You need only click on the quote icon in each post, individually, that you wish to quote. Example above.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Whoever thought of and sanctioned this makeover for the site has made a total balls of it.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,955 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Was it really that broke that it needed this amount of fixing?

Sigs are history too,I guess?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Lads, I don't have all the answers and frankly I don't understand half the tech talk explaining the problems.

Its been put to us like this. The old style forum was so old and outdated that it was patch after patch to keep it running. At some point the orignal forum is gone and the patches are failing. Keeping the old forum in its original format is not an option either given its 20 years old so going back to that level is beyond stupid as it simply wouldn't work.

The cleaner solution might have been to shut down the forum for a few weeks to a month with no access and let the guys and girls push the buttons needed, but there was uproar when it went down for the few days so imagine what would happen if it disappeared for a month.

So the site if working put constantly being updated as its being used. I have no idea what is involved in this, how its done and like ye the Mods (some of us anyway) are learning as we go too.

If I can answer a question regaridng the site I will, if not I won't. Don't expect too many answers from the admins because they're going to be up to their neck in it for the time being. When things start to settle, we'll get the updates and notifications we need. Until then we'll muddle on.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Just trying to get things back on track here!

First they came for the socialists...

Ah, FFS. It was so quiet, and nice, and did i mention quiet.

Comment today on FB...Two chimps sitting in a tree. One Chimp" I see a giant prick was launched into space today." 2nd Chimp" Yeah and his rocket is shaped like one too!"

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

I see the founder of our woes in gun ownership and for putting our sport into artificial hibernation in Ireland for 35 years, Dessie O Malley has gone to his just rewards. Knowing him personally and the family being back in the day great friends of the O Malleys in Limerick,he was a nasty little man with a Fuerher complex and not a patch on his uncle Donnach O Malley.,.

Courtesy of his Temp custody order, the Irish govt is now lumbered with civilian guns they cant get rid of, as it is Irish citizens private property, and someone just might show up to collect great granddads Webly or whatever.

As has happened with Lord Mountnattens.25 cal ACP baby Browning, found by chance in Athlone barracks a few years ago, by a soldier who was into historic arms and knew what he saw in the collection and Sir Shakeltons double rifles...Trouserd by a retiring Garda Superintendent, along with a few Lugers and Broomhandle Mausers apparently, as he thought they would look good in his private collection, and sure no one would ever be getting them back.🤗

So thanks to this foolish order that did nothing to stop the IRA from arming themselves, and near enough killing shooting sports in the Republic for 35 years, and even causing cruelty to animals...How many deer were injured or not killed outright by people shooting them with calibres like 22 Hornet and 22/250 in that 35 year period?😡. I can happily say...Good riddance! to this man.

Any thoughts on the electronic vaccine cert allowing for indoor dining? The stupidity of it as regards the people serving not being vaccinated aside, I see no issue with some people allowed to dine inside as part of a role out.

I see people crying about a two tier society, I don't see it as such. Just a practical way forward.

Except it was not intended to be used in this role.It was sold to us as a EU Travel pass,not as an internal EU passport to conduct normal life again.And there will be nothing "tempoary" about it either.As we see with "tempoary "things like the temp custody order of 1972.We've been sold a very dangerous pup here and we all signed up for it willingly.

My first reaction was to say, nah it'll be in for a while and that'll be it. However when I think how we were sold the first lockdown I'm not so sure.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,434 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

Medical apartheid, two tier society, segregation, discrimination take your pick.

All are pretty apt phrases to describe this latest authoritarian travesty.

In before all the "discrimination is good", "it isn't coercion", "comparing this to apartheid is wrong" crowd 🙄

Already seen a lot of it on social media, the people saying how it is "just temporary until everyone gets vaccinated".

Kindof forgetting that the vaccine is supposed to be optional at this point, as are all the talking heads on our MSM outlets.

There are a few dissenting voices, several businesses refusing to reopen indoor dining because of the segregation, others refusing to reopen at all in protest, several protests by business owners and customers against this.

Delighted to see a little less immediate capitulation from people than most gov measures of the past year and a half have induced, but needs to be more still.

EDIT - and as noted when this was voted for by our wonderful MEPs it was stated to never be used domestically.

Gee, what a surprise...

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

Comparing it to apartheid is a bit much in fairness. The vaccine is optional however that opt out comes with consequences, I don't see an issue with that. But then I fukcing hate non conformists with a passion, must be the fascist in me coming out.

As regards the MEP vote, if it was said it was not for domestic use, that needs to be pulled up on. Don't agree to something on one set of parameters and then change the goal posts.

Apartheid(outside SA) - segregation on grounds other than race. ie "gender apartheid". From the Oxford English dictionary.

Thus "Medical Apartheid" is accurate.

If something is optional I don't think it should be then used to segregate society.

Particularly with something as divisive as the covid vaccine(it's experimental/emergency use authorization status in several countries, it's questionable efficacy with variants, it's questionable longevity, blanket immunity from legal action for manufacturers, etc).

Opting on or out should not mean you get treated like a lesser person in society, ie you are forced to sit outdoors while your friend can sit indoors.

No matter what way you cut it that goes well beyond anything approaching fair or equal treatment, it rises to coercion to get people to take the "optional" vaccine.

It has begun as an international travel cert, now being used domestically for restaurants, what's next, no going into shops unless you have your cert?

No entering public buildings?

Reduction in access to public services?

If the consequences for not taking the vaccine were natural, ie potentially worse symptoms if you did get covid, rather than legislative(indoor dining, travel, etc) then I could agree with you that they come with consequences, but in this case the consequences are overwhelmingly legislative.

On the non conformist front, ask yourself is there any possibility that someone could have a good reason to choose not to be vaccinated?

If so, then I think you should respect their decision, similarly to me not standing with a banner outside the vaccination centres.

I don't care what medical decisions you make for yourself, but don't try and enforce those decisions on others.

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

Apartheid is an emotive word though so we if we can us it without any negative connotations then OK it's medical apartheid. But it's incorrect to use the word to stir up an emotive response.

On whether one person sits inside or another outside, are we trying to get rid of this thing or pander to people's feelings? (Totally excluding the madness of unvaccinated people serving food/drink inside.)

If someone has legit reasons for not getting vaccinated, fair enough, but let the rest of us get one with life, they can come to the party after this thing is gone. As for others with airy fairy notions about themselves as to why they aren't getting vaccinated, jog on yer not special, no one is. That's my biggest problem with people generally, they think they are special, they're not.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

You'll need a vaccine pass to eat or drink indoors but those serving you won't need one. Is that the case?

Yup. And assuming they aren't vaccinated nor can they after their shift has finished eat or drink indoors without one, in the same place.

They can eat their break meal indoors, but not any other kind.

For safety, apparently? 🙄

I think apartheid, or segregation if you prefer, always has, and should in this case too, have negative connotations.

Regardless of intent it has created a two tier society, placing people on different footings based on an arbitrary decision with very questionable underpinning logic.

By "trying to get rid of this thing" you mean eradicate covid then that is not possible. It will become like the flu, or any other number of viruses that currently exist in our world. There is zero chance of getting rid of covid in a permanent sense, nor has anyone put forward a proposal for same.

Thus there will be no "after this thing is gone". It now exists and thus is here to stay. The narrative has never included a zero covid island, let alone zero covid world, because it is not possible. Even those vaccinated can get covid, so there is no getting rid of even if everyone gets vaccinated(which will never happen).

What would you consider "legit reasons" for choosing not to take a, again supposedly optional, vaccine?

An underlying medial condition would be a legit reason. The "I don't feel like it" crowd can jog on IMHO.

So absent a medical condition preventing someone getting the vaccine then everyone else must?

So anyone who, for religious/cultural reasons or just skepticism of the, again, emergency use authorization vaccine must suck it up and take it?

If it won't end covid(vaccinated people can still get covid, spread it and have died from it) then why must they?

Also, from what you've said it more seems like you would be fine with forced vaccinations for all, with an exemption for those with medical conditions preventing same.

That is an utterly despicable position to hold.

This all makes zero sense to me, why can't people accept responsibility for themselves and stop trying to force others into doing what they want.

You didn't object to my points about eradicating covid, so bearing that in mind when does this medical apartheid end?

Never is the answer, until the next big boogeyman appears.

As regards Covid ending yer more than likely right, be around forever in some variant or other.

Also, from what you've said it more seems like you would be fine with forced vaccinations for all, with an exemption for those with medical conditions preventing same.

Why put words in my mouth? Forced vaccination, what?

As for despicable, it's pretty despicable not to take the vaccine to play ones part in suppressing/reducing it's spread? Why should someone who won't engage with the herd immunity get the same status as the rest? Typical cake and eat it mentality.

Can you point out those religious/cultural reasons? I ran a google search a coupe of very minor churches are against vaccinations.

I said based on what you were saying, which was that the legit reason for not taking the vaccine was a medical condition.

Thus the logical conclusion being that no other reason was legit. Wrong? Perhaps, but based on your comments correct.

Despicable I think sums it up pretty nicely when, again based on your comments, the only reason you countenance for not getting the vaccine is medical.

Free will not a valid thing anymore?

Playing ones part goes very little ways at this point. Even people who swallowed every piece of government/nphet propaganda from the start is now questioning things, including this latest segregation of society. This is the same tripe as "wear a mask to protect everyone else". Utter crap. You want to actually protect yourself? Stop relying on others to do what you think is the right thing and wear a properly rated mask, with eye protection(droplets), and be responsible for your own safety. Same thing at play here, the vaccine being touted as protecting others is rubbish, it is to protect(dubious, as mentioned) yourself.

So why try and coerce it onto others?

Religious - LDS, several sects of Islam & Judaism, even the Catholic church have flipflopped on vaccines depending on their contents or perceived contents.

Cultural - Post Tuskegee and similar atrocious activities a lot of African-Americans are very much vaccine sceptics, as are ~40% of white evangelical Protestants, 25% of all Americans, 28% of white mainline Protestants and 27% of nonwhite Protestants. Native Americans too are significant skeptics. Numbers are hard to find for Ireland because of all those lovely covid news payments media outlets are receiving, but extrapolate the numbers out to here. Any group, including in Ireland, who have suffered at the hands of the government tend towards hesitancy with regards to this vaccine, for very good historical reasons.

Even the Journal's poll(particularly pro government messaging) had nearly 53% of people saying everyone should be allowed indoors, regardless of vaccination. Speaks miles that on a very pro gov site's poll the majority are against segregation based on vaccine status.

And once again, if covid will be around forever then what point is the vaccine for everyone, particularly those without underlying co-morbidities and a healthy immune system.

For a virus with a ~98% survival rate it is astounding that these measures have gone as far as they have, and only getting worse long after there is data present to back up a significantly more moderate apporoach.

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

So anyone who feels unsure about taking an experimental vaccine, that the government has indemnified the manufactures, that does not guarantee immunity, that has recorded side effects, that you cannot be provided with an answer to how long it provides immunity( the level of which cannot be guaranteed) should in your opinion ''jog on''.. that is a very narrow minded opinion, if you want to take a vaccine no probs, if someone else doesnt no probs either. I know people who have been fully vaccinated and caught covid, I know people who havent been vaccinated, have been frontline working and tested weekly and have never caught covid(possibly immune) . My point is the vaccine is an option, and small minded attitudes like yours are disgusting and are the very reason the vaccine passport has moved from an external travel passport to what will now be an internal passport to live life like a free person rather than being segregated and shunned. If your so confident in this vaccine being the cure what have you to be worried about if the person beside you is unvaccinated, and if you think the vaccine doesnt fully provide you immunity then what point is there in taking it and also what difference will it make if 100% of the population is vaccinated as it can still spread.

Let people make their own choice , and that choice is no one elses business.

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

Why should someone who won't engage with the herd immunity get the same status as the rest?.....................

Someone without the vaccine is still engaging in herd immunity , their NATURAL immunity... which by the way they are as unsure about its longevity as they are they vaccinated immunity, ie people are catching covid twice.

Il state this in case you think I am 'anti vax' (although its nobody's business) I am vaccinated, mainly due to my employment reasons. I dont see why anyone not vaccinated should be treated any differently, its their choice and risk, just like its a vaccinated persons choice and risk to take an experimental vaccine.

Again Il ,ake the point that if you are vaccinated why does it worry you if someone else isnt? if you dont think your vaccine fully protects you then what is the point of it.

If you are vaccinated and can still catch covid and transmit it then you have as much to fear from being around vaccinated people as vaccinated people

And 1920s Soviet Russia,and 1930s onwards Maoist China...

That's a bit unfair! And anyway there's no need to wonder about compliance in 1930's Germany, the vast majority did.

It's very selfish and narrow minded to get the benefit of the vaccination via everyone else getting it. Lets all decide not to take it and remain in perpetual lockdown. While I agree, none of my business it does have an effect on everyone.

Free will is still a thing in so far as it always was, the state have being putting restrictions on free will since the start.

Religions - very very few actually say no to vaccinations.

Cultural - being a vax skeptic is not a culture.

As regards segregation due to vaccination status, I just see it as a practical approach, sorry if it upsets some peoples feels.